Layout Extinct

Hudson, OH
Hudson Springs Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9
4 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great for starters

1    7/30/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rated 2.5 - Decent/Typical

+There is some variety...minor elevation, few trees, mostly open or limited tree usage. More trees used on the front 9 than the back 9.
+The course is well kept, grass is mowed etc.
+ Simple design for families and beginners
+ The course is fairly easy to follow, #10 pin is hidden in the trees on the left.
Cons: - Tee pads are worthless, too small for much, might as well tee off in the grass/dirt from the side.
- Tee signs are getting old and faded.
- Too many short holes for an advanced player, there are several long holes, but not many and nothing difficult
- A couple holes come in contact with the walking/biking path, just watch out for other people
- Lots of geese/duck pooh
Other Thoughts: This course is well maintained and fun to play. Not very challenging, but fun non the less. It's worth to check out if you are in the area. It's not a "putter" course. per say. If it had more difficult holes it would be much better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: tnbruisers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and is a good course for beginner s. Front nine are short with a few trees. Back nine wide open.
Cons: Tee pads worthless. Tee signs are pretty babged up.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course for new players.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = As average as the come

1    8/27/2005   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/13/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very beautiful park. Not the most challenging holes . Most holes are grip rip .
Hole 2 is deceptively short . If you over shoot the hill you'll be in the street or worse .

The lake is not really in play(14 &15) ,unless your trying to hit it.
Cons: Tee pads...there are none! Tee signs are pretty banged up. Been to this park several times and it usally pretty crowded.
Holes 1 & 9 overlap each other.
Other Thoughts: Stay out of the pines entering the back. Sticky sticky Sticky! Disc eater non the less, because looking for discs in pine trees and high grass is not fun.

Good park if planning a big day or cook out.
Park is definitely kid friendly. Offers fishing , nice playground, The best bathrooms for a disc golf course. Boat launch , walking paths, and pavillions.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    4/10/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course with variety. The course uses the woods and open areas nicely. Even the large lake comes into play on a couple of holes.

The park is really pretty. It has nice amenities, including a large playground that is a perfect place to leave the wife and kids while you play. You can play the entire back nine and most of the front without ever being more than a couple of hundred yards from the playground.

The terrain is rolling and offers some interesting shots. The lake snuck up on me the first time it came into play. Be careful on 14! It's worth the long walk up the hill to see where you're headed. Whatever you do, keep it to the right of the flagpole in the distance, or you'll be swimming!!!

This might be a perfect course for a "casual" round. Very laid back atmosphere. Course is easier but not boring. It's a nice walk, but not demanding. You can get around the course in less than 90 minutes if you have to.
Cons: All together now: TEE PADS! They're about 4 ft x 4 ft. Completely worthless. Most of them are about an inch above the ground level so you can't even do a run up and release your disc from the pad without risking injury.

When we went, it had rained recently. Because of that rain, the area around the tee pads was muddy and it made it really difficult to get even 80% on your throw (of course, this is also attributable to the crappy tee pads). This is definitely a course that should be played in good weather.

On 10 and 18, the playground is definitely in play. My tee shot on 10 would've killed someone if it were a nice day. Of course, if it were a nice day I wouldn't have slipped. Of course, if there were decent tee pads, it wouldn't have mattered if it were a nice day or not. Am I beginning to sound like a broken record? Good. The squeaky wheel gets the grease.
Other Thoughts: This isn't going to make anyone's list of 100 greatest courses unless it's a sentimental favorite, but if you live within a couple of hours of the course, it's worth playing at least once. Your family might enjoy the other amenities that the park offers enjoyable enough that it becomes a popular place to go on a regular basis.

If I lived nearby, I'd be here all the time. Nice park!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I keep coming back

5+    11/10/2008   1/26/2009
Review By: smythransom
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A good variety of holes throughout the 18 holes. The front is good for beginners (shorter throws), while the back allows you to open up.
Cons: The pars on the back 9 are inflated and they are not that difficult, just straight, open fairway shots.
Other Thoughts: The overal mix of diffrent holes is nice. I have played 30+ courses in Ohio, New York, and PA and I keep coming back here thats got to mean something.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, technical, if not raining...

5+    10/8/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: DRKPRNC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical front 9, wide-open back 9 except for Hole # 14. Scenic (sans the interstate), rolling hills and a great family atmosphere.
Cons: As the others before me, Tee Pads!!! This would be a great time of year for the upper crusty folks of Hudson to put out for some respectable pads. Muddy run ups on rainy days.
Other Thoughts: The pads, and their lack of usability greatly affects the play if it isn't completely dry and void of mud. To me, this creates some cushion for where the disc will travel. The front 9 is the most crucial of where it will fly, based on where you tee off. Hole #4 is easily a birdie, especially if you tee-off 15'+ from behind the tee.
Good overall course, but it would be considered 'excellent' if the tee pads served any purpose, other than frustration.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/23/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: Behace
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well laid course. The front nine consists of mostly shorter hole that required more skill shots than power. The back nine is wide open and requires more power than skill. The course has signs on every hole that give you a pretty good idea of where you are going. The course is always maintained very well.
Cons: While the course does have concrete tees they are very short and cant really be thrown off of. Some holes play over each other, so you have to wait sometimes. Some holes also play very closely to a playground, which means sometimes there can be kids playing where you want to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that can be challenging.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but not Great

8/2/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The back nine are long(ish) with some interesting challenges, while the front nine offer some birdie opportunities. The lake adds to the aesthetic appeal of the course.
Cons: The front nine may actually be a little too easy for experienced players. Also, we saw lots of people on the course (disc golfers and regular park patrons), which made it seem congested.
Other Thoughts: I don't think there are a lot of course options in the Akron area, so this might be your best bet...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Misunderstood

1    6/21/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: Dave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2008
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Two types of course. The front nine are technical, but playable. The back nine are mostly long & open. A figure 8 layout brings you back to the car after 9 & 18. Very nice park.
Cons: Tee Pads, Tee Pads, Tee Pads
Other Thoughts: I've heard some players complain that the course is too technical & others complain that it is too open. So, I say pick the 9 you like & play them twice. I want variety, so I play them all. The front nine play fast, so I like to play all & then play the front 9 again. Did I mention the Tee Pads?

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.