Layout Extinct

Hudson, OH 
Hudson Springs Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
4 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Great view of the lake

2-4    7/18/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very pretty and well maintained; gorgeous lake view. Great beginner course, nothing too hard. Realistic recreational pars posted on tee signs. Pretty easy to stay on the fairways on almost all holes. Very close parking. Both the first nine holes and the last nine holes conveniently start and end right at the parking lot.
Cons:
About the worst concrete tee pads, only ~4ft x 4ft square. Not that challenging, in my opinion a bit too easy (I shot 55 the first time out there). Poison ivy on the off chance you land in the woods (#12 & 13). Walking path crosses several fairways, be careful, decent probabilty of pedestrian interference. No course map posted at welcome center. Several of the tee signs were confusing as they appeared to be reversed vs. how the hole was actually layed out.
Other Thoughts:
Hole #4 can be played to the wrong basket by first-timers. The concrete tee pads were ridiculously small such that no run-up of any sort was feasible. Most tee pads had a grooved in dirt spot beside them as evidence of all the people tee'ing off with a run-up. Nice playground for the kiddos.

This was a fun course to play and I could see it growing on me with repeated visits.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Home course, and a fave.

5+    6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 49  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2009
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of great scenery, good mix of technical and distance holes. Hilly in spots, but nothing too exerting.

City park, so it's well-maintained. Usually they sell inexpensive generic course-branded discs at the entrace kiosk, but not always in stock.
Cons: The park runs along an interstate, so it kills the setting for some of the holes.

As a multi-use park, there are playgrounds near some of the holes on the back nine (#9 & #17 mainly), and others use some of the open areas on the back nine of course for other activities at times. Usually everyone is respectful of each other though.

Tee pads are concrete and too short. There's a lot of worn-to-the-dirt patches around every tee pad because of this.

Tee signs have maps, but are beat to hell, some more than others.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I may be a bit biased, but overall I prefer to play here over some of the other courses in the area due to the full 18 hole course, and the good mix of skill required. The short drive for me doesn't hurt either though!

There's not much in the way of monster-length holes or anything excpetionally technically challenging, however there is a nice mix of skills needed and the flow of the holes is perfect - no backtracking and the front & back nines form a figure 8 so you always end up back at the parking lot.

There is a fair amount of poison ivy around the park, mostly in the out-of-bounds wooded areas but also all over some of the trees on the front nine. That said, neither me nor any of the regulars I play with have gotten any major ivy rashes from playing out there, even back when we had to dig our poorly-thrown discs out of the woods on holes 11-13 :)

Lately the course has been getting much busier, so you may have a short wait - especially on the days with nicer weather. Since it's on a muti-use park, there's a higher percentage of casual players. Great for the sport and the park, not so much so for tee times.

** after having played many more courses in the past year, I am downgrading my review from 3.5 to 3.0

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course, Make a day of it

1    6/11/2008   6/11/2008
Review By: basmith42
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2008
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 are technical enough to challenge any player but forgiving enough for beginners. Back 9 is long and open.
Cons: Multi-use facility. The back 9 crosses the walking patch twice. Yield to joggers or face dirty looks. The fairway for the 10th hole is used by a local rugby team to practice some evenings. I've skipped this hole twice because of this.
Other Thoughts: This is a mixed use park with a very good play ground. If you're coming in from out of town, make a day of it. Play the course, play in the park, and then head to downtown Hudson for some shopping, etc.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.