Hildebran, NC 
Hildebran Community Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #4 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 107ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short course that's in good shape.

1    3/30/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for practicing midrange/putter shots. Good use of elevation. Can be played very quickly. Nice baskets, decent pads.
Cons: Not a huge variety of shots here. They placed the baskets around some trees, so avoiding those is the major challenge in most cases, as otherwise they're generally straight shots. Pads are a bit small.
Other Thoughts: It looks like they've made some improvements to the course, as they now have full signage/baskets/pads. The fairways/walkways are in nice shape as well. If you're looking to air out some discs, this is not a course for you, but if you want to play a quick round and try to get an ace, it's a fun course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice for a quickie

1    7/26/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: Warthog
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Everyone is giving this new course bad grades but for what it is intended to be I like it. I can play a round here when I only have 20 min to play. Beginners like myself don't feel overwhelmed and I can bring friends who have never played and introduce them to disc golf. The course it's self is very short but plays well and is lots of fun which is why I play.
Cons: Being new I think it is still a work in progress. Not all the tees (#7) are well marked. There could be a problem with walkers and children interfering with flow of game.
Other Thoughts: There is also a Bocce court right next to the course. This is a plus in my book.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Newbie Review

5+    1/5/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: TomClark
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Small course layout allows you to use finesse, getting around trees and such. I've only been playing for less than 6 months so I don't know how much my review is worth. It's almost like Glenn C. Hilton Jr.
Cons: Tee pads are absent, when on the drive shot, I've tripped over roots and stumps throwing off my throw.
Other Thoughts: Some people use the playground and walking trail, so be careful when throwing. Most have never seen anyone play disc golf so you may get some spectators.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

5+    1/5/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: Travisglenn1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: For the size, the holes are very good.
The course brings trees into play on every hole
I aced number 5 but I still don't know how
Cons: Need to update tee boxes and signs
To close to private property
Too small and tight to have a tournament
Other Thoughts: I nice course to play
Be mindful of park walkers and kids playing
I great way to practice multiple short shots

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good for beginners and kids, everyone else play Glenn Hilton

2-4    10/13/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hildebran is a beginner friendly, pitch-n-putt nine hole course. For those looking for a challenge, the good news is that Glenn Hilton is only 10 minutes away.
- This is pretty simple layout, meaning what you see is what you get. For such a small piece of land, you do get a decent variety of holes: a couple uphillers (#2 & 6), a good downhill hole (#7 - the best hole on the course), a couple of dog legs and straight ones as well. As is this case with most simple courses, the biggest obstacle is to place a basket behind, or close to, trees, which you see on #4, 7 & 8.
- Nice, brand new baskets.
- Very beginner and kid-friendly. With no holes longer than 131 feet (although #6 at 125 plays longer because it's uphill), even if someone has never thrown a disc before, length will not be an issue. Even beginners should see some 2s and 3s on their scorecards.
- Good practice course for more seasoned players. I don't see this course getting a lot of traffic, so it would probably be pretty easy to pick any spot on the course and throw to almost any hole you want.
- Nice, clean neighborhood park. There isn't a lot here - playground, picnic area and restrooms - but it's all new. There is also a course map next to the main parking lot; however, there's a small lot with a couple spots by hole #1, so you might not see it. Not that you really need a course map.
Cons: There aren't many cons at this course, at weird as that may seem.
- Course needs to be cleaned up and, well, finished. There are a lot of small shrubs, roots, plants that need to be cleared away. On #4 &6, especially, these plants are all around the baskets, so if you land in it, you might spend an extra 30 seconds searching for a disc. It also and perhaps more importantly, limits possible skip shots.
- Navigation needs to be improved. Yes, there are arrows pointing to the next tee; however, there aren't clearly defined tee areas. So, if you're a perfectionist, and need to find the precise tee spot based on hole length, it'll drive you crazy. If you see an area around where the tee should be, and decide that's good enough, you'll be fine. Even simple flags or brick markers would solve this problem.
- Along the lines of navigation, some holes play on top of each other. You pass #4's basket to get to (the general area) of #3's tee. On other holes a stray shot is going to land in a different hole's fairway. And as others have mentioned, #2's basket is way too close to someone's yard.
Other Thoughts: To its credit, Hildebran manages to squeeze 9 holes in a tiny piece of land. Even if they tried, I don't see how any hole could be more than 200 feet at this course. So for that, they did a decent job. To see a bad version of squeezing 9 holes into no land, visit Marion DGC, 40 minutes to the west.
- As mentioned already, yes, this course was clearly aimed at beginners and the most casual of players. If you come to this course carrying more than two discs, you're bringing too many.
- The course is less than 3 minutes from I-40, so you can stop here for a quick round. If you're here alone, you should be able to play through twice in about 25 - 30 minutes.
- If I was rating this course in a vacuum, it did a good job in achieving its goal, so I might give it a B or C grade. But, comparing it to all courses, this course is essentially a mini-golf version of a real course. If I lived across the street, I'd practice here all the time. It reminds me a little of Fewell Park in Rock Hill (around the corner from Winthrop), in that they offer some fun in the pitch-n-putt, one or two disc needed variety. You'll enjoy the ace chances, and that's the extent of it.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One for your kids

1    7/12/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout - If you need a place to practice approach shots in the 80-130ft range with a bit of elevation changes and a few trees in your way here you go; because this course is just 9 holes in that range and most are straight on and open.

If you like to put all of your aces in your sig here you go, rack em up.

If you've got a kid you want to teach the game here you go, this course has got to be designed for small kids.

If you like to hit little kids with discs while they're learning DG or exercising on little gyms here you go.... wait.....

Atmosphere - Looks like a nice little park area for kids.

Equipment - Brand spanking new baskets and no tee pads, yeah tee pads are completely unnecessary here.

Cons: Layout - This course is obviously designed for kids so I hate to rip in to it but...

They put tee pad areas really close to baskets.. and they had to because there are 9 holes on about an acre of property which is on a hillside. Not to mention that #9 plays with the basket 15' in front of a exercise gym built for kids.

For a course that looks to be for kids they sure did make it dangerous. They should literally take at least 3 baskets out to use the space in a more interesting and safe manner.

They did try to add some variety in terms of hole design but most are just straight on open shots.

I wouldn't even bring new players here that are older, they'll think disc golf is a joke.

Equipment - Tee pads aren't needed but signs are. It's not exactly clear where all of the tees are.
Other Thoughts: It's a course built for kids.. how many times can I say that? I'd like to say well it's intended for a certain skill level and with that in mind it's a solid course but it's not. I honestly wouldn't bring my kid here to learn with the way it's set up.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 first time players course

1    7/7/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: gvdg jake
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: short course, no need for much more than a mid range disc or putter.
Cons: short, no tee boxes or signs. alot of holes almost overlap with each other. can be kind of confusing on where to tee from.
Other Thoughts: fun little course with the area they had to work with.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

"Cubby" Aces and Putter Upshot Practice

2-4    6/15/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- That it's There. Hildebran is a small community on the outskirts of Hickory, NC. The park the course is in is just as small as the community it is in. It's a "pro" when disc golf reaches small communities and courses are installed… even if they are extremely short putter courses.
- Great for Beginners and Advanced Putter Practice. Hildebran would be a great place for a beginner to learn to throw some shots… and a decent enough place for an advanced player to practice their approach game.
- "Cubby Aces" and "Birdies" All Day. With holes ranging from 80'-130', you could have 10,000 "aces" if you played here all the time. I played the course with 4 Aviars… throwing each of them off the tee-pads, trying to get "Cubby" aces and park jobs. I got one "Cubby" ace (Hole 5)… and of the 36 drives I threw, I think only 3 of them would not have yielded me a 2.
Cons:
- Ridiculously Short. I realize the course is for beginners, but this course was ridiculously short… You could easily use a jump-putt on several of the holes as your "drive". But, then again, the designers did what they could with the land that was available (the entire park is extremely tiny… maybe 6 acres). And, if you simply look at the course as a putter-upshot-practice course, the shortness is forgivable. Just pretend that the tee-pad is where your first shot landed on a regular course… and try to get up and down to save Par.
- Extremely Raw. This course has only been in the ground for a few months and therefore is still extremely raw. The fairways haven't fully healed from the clearing, tee-pads have not been officially installed (there were some construction flags on some of them, but not all).
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Hildebran is an extremely short 9-hole course that is in a small community. It is a great place for extreme beginners to learn to throw a disc, or for more advanced players to practice upshots. Being right off the I-40, it's a decent little stretch your legs stop if you're making a long drive (i.e. on your way from Raleigh to Asheville, but without enough time to stop at Hickory or one of the other courses). Hopefully this course will introduce lots of beginners to the game and give them a place to learn before having to go to Hickory and other harder courses. I will stop by here again, as I drive the I-40 corridor a lot for work and often want to stretch my legs - looking for "Cubby" aces.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A warm-up for Glenn Hilton.

1    6/7/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New (just built and opened June 2nd 2012), very nice baskets, easy to find, it was in the woods so some trees to navigate round, quick play/warm-up if you are headed to Glenn Hilton in Hickory which is nearby.
Cons: VERY short, played more like a Par 2 course (nothing states what Par is for this course), no tee pads or designated start points (as of this review), one hole was right next to a house that had a large NO TRESPASSING sign to scare off would-be disc retrievers.
Other Thoughts: I realize it's still very new and there may still be some work to be done in the future but as of this update this course is no more than either a warm-up for Glenn Hilton or a time filler if you took your kids to play at the park. It's too short to do much else with it, so even with the addition of tee pads the distance will remain the same. I consider myself a scratch player and the first time through (calling each hole a Par 3) I shot a 6 under. We played through twice and I finished with a 9 under.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 putter course

5+    7/8/2013   6/4/2012
Review By: doink32
Played: 79  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: brand spanking new baskets in a new park.Very aceable holes.Designed with the beginner in mind.Small tee pads and new distance signs have been added which help the athstetics of the course,alo this track can be played in 20minute if you are crunched for time.
Cons: Compact design.Limited space in a multi -use park.Beware of pedestrians as the walking path surrounds the course.
Other Thoughts: All I can say is "heads up" if there is more than one group playing the course.Favorite holes 4,6,7.Hardest holes 4,7,9.The course has enough room that you could pik your own spots to lengthen some holes.I recomend this course as a good place to practice putting,a few of the pins are nice and shaded and there is some elevation to work on uphill and downhill situations.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.