Little Rock, AR
Reservoir Park Share
Uploaded By: TheShadow Hole #12 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 243ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
pines so fine

1    3/11/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Number one pro for me was the beauty of this pine forest--this is a very new course and the woods are clean and nice looking. I loved that entire woods is blanketed in pine needle mulch and the trees are green year round.

tight, but well defined fairways with good variety of shapes and lengths

great tees

awesome elevation. I absolutely love steep elevation with wooded fairways.

nice signs

seems to have its own pavillion, parking, kiosk area

practice basket
Cons: no system on signs to mark which location the basket is in. this can be solved quite simply with stickers or painted screws on the signs. it is super annoying to have to walk the fairway to find out the basket position. better to have only one pin positon if there is no way to mark which pin is in use.

all par 3s
Other Thoughts: this is a new course and a lot of clearing of trees has been done since the first reviews were posted. It is still super tight and a couple holes, could use a few more trees taken out, but I still love it as is. I am sure the rating will go up. This is the must play course in Little Rock in my opinion. I can't wait to play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tight

1    3/13/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. A very pleasant surprise. A lot of work has been done recently to open up the fairways. Apparently a lot of trees have been taken out. Even with the work, these fairways are very tight and narrow. But, the fairways are distinct, and, although difficult, are fair. Nice cement tees and signs. Really great elevation makes it difficult and fun. This is a great course.

This is an absolutely beautiful course. I loved it.
Cons: Each hole has two basket locations. This is a nice nice touch. However, the signs don't say which hole location is being used, so we had to walk down each fairway to find out. This was a bit of a pain. This is an easy fix that I imagine will be taken care of soon.

This is not a beginners course. Extremely tight fairways, and they are tight for hundreds of feet, turning left, right, and straight.

Lots of downed trees. Not a problem unless you leave the fairway. I imagine this will be cleared up in time.

Other Thoughts: All of the holes are wooded. There is nowhere to air it out. Not a big problem, this is not an open course, so don't expect it. One of the funnest wooded coursed I have played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pinpoint accuracy

1    3/11/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Summary: This course is relatively short, Great design, challenging NARROW wooded fairways requiring pinpoint accuracy. Nice use of considerable elevation changes.

Very creative and exciting course. Each hole is different and presents you with unique problems. If you pride yourself on shaping a midrange or fairway driver and hitting 12' gaps that are sometimes 60 to 160 feet away then this is the place for you. Nice feature: Most holes indicate that there can be a second pin location. Tees are concrete and fairly level.

The area is scenic and beautiful. Great parking right next to the 1st tee. There are a few little streams and puddles here and there throughout so waterproof shoes would be recommended especially in March.
Cons: I played this course on a disc golf road trip and it was the last course the six of us played. One frustration was that most baskets are not readily visible from the tee and the sign gave no indication which basket location was in use. We had to waste time walking most of the fairways to find the basket location.

Not a great beginner course. Fairways and landing areas are very narrow and the surrounding forest is thickly populated with trees.

This course has every shape of narrow wooded hole imaginable which is cool. However, two or three more restful open holes would add interest and relief.
Other Thoughts: Overall an enjoyable course and worth the time for any intermediate to advanced placement player.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tight, Wooded, And Fun!

1    2/21/2013   3/10/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Brand new course!
- Nice Concrete tee pads that are wide enough and long enough
- Beautiful pine trees throughout the course
- Brand new DGA Mach 2 baskets
- Lots of elevation. There were holes that were extreme downhill, light downhill, big uphill, slight uphill, and some valley shots. This course uses the land well by usuing the elevation change to make it more challenging.
- Different lengths of holes and every shot is different. There was any kind of hole you could imagine and this course will make you bring out every throw you might have.
- Tee Signs are very accurate
Cons: - Navigation. After some holes, we spent at least 5 minutes looking for the next teepad.
- Hole 18 ends far away from parking at tee 1
- Lots and Lots of trees. There are no open holes to throw bombs. In some areas, it seems that there are TOO many trees and some need to be taken out.
- On Some of the holes, there isnt a distinct line to the basket
- A few baskets are 10 feet away from the next tee which can be dangerous
Other Thoughts: Overall, This is an amazing course in my opinion. Lots of challenging shots and great views. This course is very fun to play and is worth your time to play it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Will improve in time

5+    11/20/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: NPCTour
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a Funzy course at best. If you enjoy playing a round of disc golf through a tightly wooded course without the distance of a championship course, this is for you. Players love this course due to the fact you can go out there and shoot a hot round without hitting too many trees or you can hit every single tree along the way. It keeps me coming back for more to see how well I can come out in the end.
Cons: Too many trees, but what can you expect when your playing through a forrest. Some of the locals are going out there trimming branches and brush a little at a time, so it won't be long until it becomes a slightly open course. The baskets on many of the multiple pin placements are blind. You have to guess where it is. Signs are on each hole, but directional signs are yet to be added. The baskets are in locations surrouned by dense brush or trees. A great shot *if you didn't hit the trees* could not be rewarded due to the baskets tucked in those tight surroundings. A few holes have a 10ft surrounding of trees with not putt available. Multiple pin placements were added to a few holes which has eliminated the possibility of course records.
Other Thoughts: This course will be a great test to all levels of players trying to become more accurate in their game. I found myself hitting great shots off the tee and other times having to pull out trick upshots to get towards the basket. Tomahawks and Thumbers are thrown more here. Once you finish hole #9, do not go straight to hole #16. Hole #10 is backtracked to the right of #9 basket.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/7/2012   11/7/2012
Review By: PRESCO
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New everything. Good cardio round as course rolls throughout park. Nice tee pads. Good use of park roads and trails. You'll use a lot of shots through your round..
Cons: Needs trash cans. Water spiket on #1 works but,not fountain. #18 to #1 a bit far away. NEED directional signs!
Other Thoughts: Course will thin out as it gets more play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

sweet little course

1    8/13/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - nice tee boxes
- tee signs for all holes
- new baskets
- nice elevation changes
- several good holes
Cons: - VERY hard to find hole #1, it is up by a pavilion that the road was closed to get to it.
-VERY long walk from hole 18 to hole 1
- One thing this course needs is direction signs to the next hole. I had a hard time on several holes trying to find the next hole. It was no marked on the tee signs or anywhere near the baskets.
- Some of the airways are a little too tight.
- This course is still new so the rough is very rough.
Other Thoughts: In all this is a very enjoyable course. Most of the holes play a lot longer than the tee signs were marked, mostly because of the tight fairways.

Most of the holes were blind shots, i could not see the baskets from the tee's.

Now if this Texas Disc Golfer could only learn how to not hit a tree on just about every single drive, I could have a lot of fun on this course.

I will be back for more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Maybe a bit too tight

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 120  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a nice little park and plays up and down a hillside through the woods. In general it is a deuce or die style course with several holes in the 250' and under range. If you are really dialed in you could walk away with several birdies making this a pretty fun course to play. You really get to work on some shorter controlled throws that will serve you well as you travel to other courses and need to really nail an upshot. Concrete tee pads are nice and a good size. The signs are clear and the distances posted seem to be fairly accurate. Overall I enjoyed my trip to Reservoir Park and I plan on being back when I come back to town.
Cons: Primary con is that some holes are a little too tight. Not always a very clear line with trees in the middle of the fairways on several holes. I found myself getting birdies on some bad shots and taking pars or bogeys on some pretty good shots. Any time that the lines that you are trying to hit are only a few feet wide, I find that luck plays too large a role in scoring and this course did fit that bill. A couple places that I had a hard time navigating (particularly after hole 9) and finding the next hole and several blind baskets meant that you will be doing a little bit of extra walking up and down the fairways than you want. I couldn't find a map online or at the course, but that could help solve that issue.
Other Thoughts: A couple things (map, benches, next tee signs) could improve this course, but overall it is a fun course to play on a nice piece of land. The fresh smell of the pine forest as I enjoyed my walk on a beautiful sunny day really reminded me why I play disc golf. Go out and enjoy the nice natural environment on a fun course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tight, wooded challenge.

1    7/14/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: euclidbr549
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent tee pads and baskets, nice signs next to tee pads, variety of elevation shots.
Cons: No signage from baskets to next tee, no real distance shots.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on Saturday, July 14. There was a party going on in the pavilion next to the first and fourth tee pads. People were standing in the fairway for the first hole, oblivious of myself and a second group of disc golfers. My son was with me, and he ran ahead of me on a lot of holes to find the baskets that were not visible from the tee pads. The signage was helpful, and the concrete tee pads were nice.
The main comment I have about the course overall is this-it is short but difficult. I played the entire course using nothing but one distance driver (a low-speed turnover driver), a stable fairway driver, a midrange (Buzzz), and my putters. I threw a putter off the tee more often than not, and not because I have a big arm. There are a lot of tight shots and left-to-right corners. There are absolutely zero wide open holes for bombing max distance. The course would likely favor a left handed thrower.
I would characterize the course as fun for a competition (tournament round or club mini), but not nearly as fun to play for recreation as Burns Park Blue or the Russellville courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A tight, wooded blast to play

5+    12/2/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is quite new so there are brand new pads with sod around them and brand new baskets. Also, brand new signs were just installed. It is Little Rock's first true 18 hole course, designed by locals who actually play. This course is a blast to play, it oozes technicality. There are lots of well placed (left) trees to force specific lines and some pre-throw thinking. The course begins in the main park area with a short downhill, a tunnel shot, and then a right dogleg. From there a basket lurks behind a large bush next to the parking lot, then it is into the forest from there. Most of the shots in the forest are quite technical, lots of small tunnels, and some great elevation. Designed by a local player, this course has it all. Up, down, left, right, this place makes you work for it. You will not be let down by this course, it is lots of fun and is teeming with variety. You are likely to run into the designer out there picking up trash and playing with his group.
Cons: Lots of trees and limbs, might frustrate some. No open bomber holes. Lots of elevation, not an easy walk if you tire easily. Some hikers also use the trail and can be quite oblivious to the game. Water fountain at pad 1 is not functional. It is easy to lose a disc if you leave the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Park by the softball field as this is where you will finish. Once you park, walk right up the street and take a left up the hill. Pad 1 is by the pavillion and plays down the hill. Until some arrows get put up, the course is tricky to navigate in a couple areas. Please pick up your trash and take out your butts as someone has already set the course on fire. Nearby residents are not wild about the course yet, so please be courteous.

*There is a working water source by the pavilion.

*benches are now on some holes and the some of the very rough has been managed with more planned.

*alternate pin positions have been installed on multiple holes

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.