Lake In The Hills, IL 
Linda K. Fischer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tek34 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 The grass may be greener on the other side of the fence, but you still have to mow it

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 21.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fischer Park is a little neighborhood park that looks recently developed. It looked to be a single use park, as I didn't notice anything there but a disc golf course. It had nice elevation changes, especially for the area. The site was largely open so the elevation is key to making some fun golf out of the site. There are a couple of cool shots like #1 and #6 where the few trees that are on the site were used well. # 4 was a fun "throw at it" elevated tee shot. It wasn't great golf, but the shots could make for a fun round. There is a cool little barn between #3 and #4 that gives the park a nice feel. The pads were concrete and the baskets are DISCatchers, and it had OK tee signs. The course flowed well and there were no long walks between holes, so it wasn't hard at all to find your way around. There is a big course map at the entrance that will help first-time visitors figure out the flow. It could be an fun local course.
Cons: It's a tall grass course, but the fairways were not mowed wide enough and the mowed area around the baskets didn't even cover the 10M circle. The area to shoot for needs to be much larger. Actually calling it "grass" is deceiving as it was thick, knee-high (in some places shoulder-high} scrubby weeds. #7 is a blind hyzer shot up a hill, and we spent 10 minutes with five people looking for a disc that disappeared into the tall weeds. Once we found it, the disc was in the circle. All those weeds do nothing to make the course play any harder, it just backs up play and makes the whole experience of playing a round frustrating. The day I was there, the course would have been unplayable for a novice player due to how narrow the mowed area was and how high and thick the weeds were.

Given all the tall weeds, it a buggy course. There were a lot of bees in the weeds in #4's fairway, enough that I had to seriously think about whether I was going in there for my disc or not.

While the shots were pretty fun, the course is too open to really force you to use a lot of shots or really be very challenging. It's a rec-level course.
Other Thoughts: There is no parking lot for the park, just street parking. There is a port-a-potty on the site.

Just from a design perspective, Fischer Park is a nice local course with some fun shots. Properly maintained, it could be a nice addition to the area. The issue is the lack of maintenance of the park and the small size of the mowed areas for golf. Those issues would make the course extremely frustrating to play for recreational-level players, yet the course is designed for that type of player. As it stands the course is not challenging enough for Open/Advanced players and Intermediate/Recreational players will avoid it due to the frustrating factor of searching for basically good shots in the tall weeds. I'm afraid that unless the mowing issue is addressed, it will not be a very popular spot for disc golf.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Surprise on a Hill

1    6/25/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 150  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While the surrounding area is flat, you will be throwing up or downhill on several holes here.

As a brand new course, the baskets and teepads are in great condition. There is also a port-a-potty close to #1.

#1 is one of the few flat holes here, but the low ceiling adds a bit of a challenge unless you have a good tomahawk or other overhand shot.

While some may view this as a con, I enjoyed the fact that the basket is not visible from the teepad on #2, #3, #5, #6, #7, #8 and #9. I'm not sure any other course I have played to date included nearly 80% of the holes with this type of feature.
Cons: The rough is very rough. I'd like to find out if this is intentional by the course designers to add some challenge. Either way, newer players will probably spend a lot of time looking for discs.

While there is a nice view of the lake/pond from #4's teepad, the water really does not come into play on any hole.

It seemed like the holes were too close to each other. Errant shots may be a problem here, especially on windy days.
Other Thoughts: Navigation is a little tricky between some holes. Next Tee signs would be very helpful on this course.

I would play this course again if I make it back to the area. It was good to see multiple groups of beginners here because there are no "quality" courses in this neighborhood.

***WILDLIFE ALERT***
In the area between the teepad for #6 and the basket on #7, there are red-winged blackbirds who have a nest in one of the trees. If you are not familiar with theses birds, they are very territorial and they will not hesitate to dive-bomb your head if you get too close.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising Hills

1    6/7/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 341  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in the middle of a subdivision. The land is very surprising for it's location. The course has minor elevation, tall rough, and one hole with water sort of in play. It's really rough and rugged land. This isn't your typical Chicago suburb park.

The flow of the course is pretty good. As long as you get a picture of the map you'll know where you are going. There are no long walks.

It has a really neat small red barn that sits behind basket #3.

Hole 1 is a nice tunnel shot with an option to throw an overhand over the top.

Hole 6 is a short fun downhill shot.

Brand new Innova Discatchers.

Nice tee signs and course map.

Tee pads are cement, level, and plenty large.
Cons: The course is very open and I found myself throwing 7 righty hyzers. They could have blocked off the hyzer on #3 by moving the tee pad a little to the right.

I wish they would have put the water into play a little more and added a par 4 hole.

I didn't have problems but beginners are going to hate the rough. They need to mow the fairways a little wider and open up the greens. Some greens have less than 10 feet from the rough.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a good addition to the area. Like smyith said I wouldn't drive too far out of the way to play it though.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Needs alot of Mowing!!!

1    5/29/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: smyith
Played: 174  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Layout
Innova Baskets
Nice Level Cement Teepads
Good Flow and easy to navigate
Tee signs but no hole over-view
Water is kinda in play (would have to be a really poor choice on shot)
ELEVATION CHANGE!!!!!
Trees in play a few holes
Deuces are there on every hole but most have to be earned.
Cons: Needs to be MOWED!!!!!
The fairways, greens, and landing zones are 10-15ft wide. The grass next to it is long and full of itchy and prickly stuff.
*UPDATE 7/12/12* - Fairways have been mowed larger!
BE CAREFUL in the rough on a few holes. Tractor wheel ruts are all over. Twisted/rolled Ankles are likely there.
Other Thoughts: Play if your local. I wouldn't go out of my way to though.
I would easily move this to a 2.5 if they would at least mow the greens bigger. If you're not spot on you'll be searching more than playing....thats lame.
*UPDATE 7/12/12*
I have risen the rating to 2.5 as stated. The course is much more fun and the fairways are probably another 10-15ft wide where it matters.
Hole 6 is down the hill and just to the right. You have to walk down the hill about half way to see it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.