Lake In The Hills, IL 
Linda K. Fischer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whitechocolate Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Narrow Chicago 9'er!

1    6/30/2016   7/4/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.5 Years
Pros: There is a disc golf sign out on Haligus Street. This small course is in a fairly small park with trees, hilly terrain and lots of brushy rough.
There is a nice course map at the beginning with map as well as a nice bench and garbage can. The tee signs show the hole #, par and distance. There are nice sized concrete pads. The baskets have pretty orange rims which say' "Lake In The Hills" and then Rotary Club on them.

There's not a comfortable throw on the course. Every hole is tight and technical or overgrown or bordered by prairie grass or a blind shot with hazards abounding. For a very accurate thrower, the course might be acceptable, as long as you have a spotter or two. Playing by myself, I played extra cautiously and just hustled through my round. And I still had to spend timing hunting for discs that were just off the fairway.

# 1 is a 280' low, tight tunnel shot to a visible basket. # 2 is a 345', par, with no visible line to the basket.
# 4 was a 340' downhill annie shot with deep grass on the right.

# 5 is a 210; tight uphill that is overgrown.
# 8 throws 305' down a narrow fairway. The basket sits behind a large, clumpy bush surrounded by tall grass.
# 9 throws back to the beginning down a narrow fairway with tall grass on the left and the Haligus Street on your right.
Cons: Tight fairways with tall grass rough.
Overgrown in some places.
Blind shots requiring spotters.
Not a quite to play along.
Not beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: It's too bad because with some selective pruning and cutting, this could turn into a fun little course. Take away the tall grass and some of these tight holes would be much more enjoyable. I agree with Three Putt that this course is designed for recreational play but recreational players will not enjoy their round here. Without a fairly substantial amount of cutting and mowing, this course will remain languished in mediocrity for the ages.

 Bring the Lawn Mower!

5+    11/6/2014   11/7/2014
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads
-Fun elevation changes
-A couple wooded holes
-Many open holes
-No waiting time
-Relatively secluded on the course, but as soon as you leave the course you are surrounded by suburbia.
Cons: -Fairways are way too narrow. Even for experienced disc golfers. I play a couple times a week and am pretty accurate with my throws. I land in the tall grass quite a bit on this course. The grass is also THICK. I've thrown a disc on this course, saw it land, walk to the spot and spend 5 minutes looking for the disc. Only to find the disc buried under grass.
Other Thoughts: This course has grown on me. I first played the course about 2 years ago when it first opened. I went on a July day and the grass was crazy thick. I lost my Surge on hole 4. I didn't return until this past August. I like to play this course if I have an extra set of eyes with me. It makes the round much more enjoyable when someone else can help find a disc in thick grass. I have been playing the past couple weeks and the course is in better shape since much of the grass is thinner. I even found an old disc that I lost!

I'll play this course when I don't want to wait at Lippold. It has elevation that Lippold does not have and there are no crowds.

Bring a friend, it will be much more enjoyable for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Course

5+    10/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Slow_Disc
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Elevation unmatched in Area
- Enjoyable in Fall/Winter
- Concrete Tee Pads / Signs
Cons: - Grass Growth makes it unplayable in Spring/Summer
- Tall Grass
- Disc can be hard to find
Other Thoughts: It can be hard to find discs as they say, but when the tall grass dies and gets beaten down it can be an enjoyable play for winter players. The shots are tough and technical and the #1 tunnel shot is best in area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Frustrating?

2-4    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: naterob
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Some fun use of elevation which is uncommon in this area.
*High risk/reward hole placement if that is your thing.
*easy to follow
*you find random discs while searching for your own
*a lot of course packed into a small area
Cons: *you will be spending time searching for your disc
*narrow fairway and rough roughs
Other Thoughts: This course tempts you to "go for it" but then beats you down if your line is just a little off. You need to be mindful of each and every shot with this course. If you just go out there and wing it you will be frustrated. I think a lot of people downrate this course because of the frustration of searching for discs. If you play the course thoughtfully and within your limits there is a lot of fun to be had.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 search party

1    7/23/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Jagidlund
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-short course for a quick game
- varied elevation throughout course
-hole 1 is a nice straight tunnel shot
-bathroom near 1st/9th holes
Cons: -fairways are way too narrow
-cannot see most baskets from tees
-tall thick grass on either side of fairways gobble up discs.
-no long holes
-very buggy. bring cutter. You'll need it while searching for your disc.
Other Thoughts: I live in the area and have only played this course once. It's a good thing I went with a couple friends though because even intermediate players like myself will lose a disc or two. Be prepared to comb the course on almost every hole, at least on your drives because the baskets are not visible from the tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad little course

1    5/27/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Harry Manback
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: -Fairly easy
-Good practice course
-Nice warm up round
Cons: -Not very challenging
-Tall grass can make for a frustrating round
-No long holes
Other Thoughts: I found myself not needing a driver for this course, anything longer than a Mid/Fairway would be too long. The longest hole is 360' but plays shorter because it is downhill. The course layout seems like they designed it for beginners but they let the grass grow too thick so I would not recommend this for a beginner because it would be very frustrating. Nice course if you are in the area but not worth the drive if you live too far away.

 It's a nice warm up

5+    9/19/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: Stankyjahnke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course if u wanna work on your straight line throw or hyzer. Not alot distance pretty open expect the thick grass on both sides of the fairways. If you wanna add some random discs to your collection walk around in the grass on hole 2 and you'll probably find something. Theres a nice basket there to practice putting.
Cons: This looks like it wasn't designed by someone who plays disc golf. This course eats discs like that's it job makes you not wanna try to make it to the basket on your drive. Most of the baskets can't be seen from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course if you live In the area wouldn't take someone there for their first time playing. You'll be looking for discs more then playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

1    6/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 231  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and signage. The innova discatchers are swell. The first hole may be the best, a low tight tunnel shot although I do think someone with a decent overhand could make this hole play different. Elevation comes into play on several holes. 7 is a right to left uphill shot that is ok.
Cons: This course is rather short and open. It lacks challenge. On a couple holes the over the top hyzer is there for the taking.
Other Thoughts: Not much you can do with the land here but I think this could have been designed a little better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disc eater

1    7/4/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small hilly park with no other park uses to interfere with disc golf. Several holes have some minor to moderate elevation changes, with a couple fun downhill shots and a couple tricky uphills. Two holes play through enough trees that you have to hit a technical line. The tee signs are adequate, with hole number and distance. The concrete tees and new dispatchers are in nice shape.
Cons: The course is very open, 7 of the holes don't have enough trees in play to dictate a specific line so you can get by without much in the way of line shaping skills. The fairways are narrow and surrounded by tall grass, a recipe for frustration especially on a course aimed mostly at newer players. The tall grass is thick enough to make discs disappear, and it's often in play right inside the circle.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the distances reasonable, but the rough is a recipe for turning new players off from the sport. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of interesting challenges other than the two wooded shots, and even better players who place their shots in the circle off the tee will likely end up searching for discs. This would be a fun quick round in the winter when the grass isn't grown in, in the summer it's definitely not worth going out of your way.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/4/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on a small piece of land within a neighborhood. It doesn't seem like there are any other activities going on here, other than a stray pedestrian or someone on a sidewalk. Should be free and clear for DG.
- Patches of woods are present in a few spots to force some lines here, starting with a low ceiling tunnel shot on hole #1 that opens up into prairie. Ending up in the rough before clearing the forest can be a major hazard. #2 has numerous bushes in the fairway, #4 has a gap to hit (or a forest to hyzer over), #6 shoots downhill into the woods with the basket tucked to the right. #5 also has trees on both sides to knock down errant shots.
- The area is situated on and around a decent sized hill, so there are plenty of elevation changes. #3, #5, #7, and #9 all are uphill shots of varying difficulty. #5 is the most dramatic, it is a long 210'. #4, #6, and #8 are all downhill shots, with two over 300'. #6 slopes down quickly in the woods.
- Decent mix of lines and distances here, a lot of RHBH hyzers, but not all. Elevation changes make some hole play a lot longer, like #7 at 335' and #9 at 340'. Should be plenty of distance for all but the biggest arms.
- Great amenities, baskets, signs, and teepads are all top-notch.
Cons: - A lot of holes are pretty wide open here, with any line open to the basket. The biggest challenge is usually just staying out of the tall grass. If you have the arm to reach the hole, there will be little to no challenge.
- Tall grass can be a pain, be sure to keep an eye on your shot!
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty good course that has a good variety. The elevation changes definitely make it; the downhill shots are fun but still tricky, and the uphill shots test distance, with accuracy as well. There are many places to get into serious trouble here, with tall grass, but also with some nasty patches of dense trees/woods. Beginners should take care here to not lose discs, intermediate players should find it fun and challenging.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.