Sarasota, FL 
Payne Park Share
Uploaded By: Iowa420DG Hole #9 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 161ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well maintained open course

2-4    6/16/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice landscape with a few changes in elevation. Nice pads and baskets.
Cons: Short holes.
Other Thoughts: My review is short and sweet. This course is good for beginners or just a quick round, being that it's only a nine hole. Holes are short so a putter and midrange is about all you'll need except for a couple other holes. Nice park. Good little course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Landscape

2-4    2/24/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 84  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This park is absolutely beautiful!
-Located in Downtown Sarasota it is close to various stores and restaurants.
-DGA Mach Vs are great!
-Dual tees for all holes. All tees are concrete.
-The water hazards add some difficulty and a fun challenge.
-Fountains and hills (despite it being a Florida course).
-Well-manicured!
Cons: -Way too open!
-Fairly short course
-Shots/holes are somewhat redundant
-Some transitions between holes are a little long.
-No signs by the alternate tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This course is gorgeous with fountains, Palm trees, Spanish moss, and well-manicured grass. It's worth a play if you're in the area and is a great compliment to North Water Tower Park as it offers a completely different look.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/30/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: heartman
Played: 57  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice multi-use park with concrete sidewalks and gravel multipurpose path. Large playground and skatepark are available as well. Well manicured green spaces and clean for the most part from what I could see.

- Central location

- Baskets are in 'new' condition

- 2 sets of concrete tees: shorts good for beginners/children, longs are not challenging for MA1 and above players but still entertaining

- Course makes good use of limited elevation and water. For a wide open location, the designer managed to use what trees are present to shape some holes very nicely (Hole 5 is somewhat of a tunnel shot, Hole 8 has trees between the pin and tee forcing a RHBH anny, RHFH, or my favorite: thumber)

- I really like the pin location for Hole 1 on the crest of the large hill. Very fun RHBH spike hyzer shot. (also fun to throw from the large hill to any basket you can see for safari holes)

- Felt like a mini Fountain Hills with the two fountains (from what I've seen of FH on videos). Hole 4 is a fun/easy water carry.
Cons: - Next tee signs would have been nice (could be as indiscreet as an arrow sticker on the pole of the basket). Navigation was pretty straightforward without a map, but knowing exactly where the next tee is located would be nice.

- Lots of people. Obviously have no control of the # of people present but I did have to wait a couple times for people to walk by on the paths. No biggie though
Other Thoughts: - As a disc golfer, I'd love if the classic gray DGA baskets were brighter/more visible ... HOWEVER ... I like the overall aesthetics of the park with the gray baskets and no garishly bright colors sticking out randomly on the landscape.

Overall a fun, solid little 9-holer. Felt like a 3.25, but as that's not an option, I gave it a 3.

Worth a stop if in the area. Nice contrast to woodiness of North Watertower Park

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Go back and update your reviews.

1    3/30/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: 1978
Played: 167  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (0 rated reviews were removed after I created this review)

Me, my girlfriend, and our 7YO really enjoyed this park. Payne park DGC plays through a multi use urban park that has a lot to do. There is a "large" hill that is used 4 times and 2 ponds that come in to play on 4 holes. There isn't much risk but there is a water carry from the long that could be challenging. I used a fairway driver a few times but a putter and stable/overstable mid are all you need. I reviewed this course based on my enjoyment factor. No, it did not really challenge me, but I really enjoyed relaxing and throwing (with a few pucker water areas) Discs seemed like they could be retrieved from the ponds easily if that is allowed.

Hole 1 throws from between the playround and skate park up a hill, 2 back down then you are in the back of the park. 3 is closer to the pond than you think and 7 is farther. I think this park is open into the night and would make a really neat glow course, however, I am unsure how safe it is at night.
I think any skill level of player can find fun in this course...Safari golf can satisfy people looking for more challenge. Concrete pads are fair, level, and grippy. Signage is great.
Cons: I can see how this could be a crowded park. There is a really cool red gravel lighted walking path, but this comes into play on a number of holes, 2,3,8,9. Big bombers and tight technitions will find this course a bit bland, multiple tee pads really only add variety for beginners.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice multi use park. The playground is top notch and the walking/jogging path was really cool.
With all the amenities...there was a random negative that wouldnt effect the course normally. As we started playing ~6:30 PM. A group of kids was setting up for a rave. They had giant speakers. They set up right at hole 9 and were using the top as a mini raised dance floor/tall seat. They had glow sticks and everything...kind of odd...at the same time the skate park had a death metal music event going. The music was VERY loud and full of cursing. Not suitable music for a multi use park so close to the playground. It might bother some people if they were there at the wrong time. We will play this course every time we are in town. We really enjoyed it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Course Complete!

1    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are in, the concrete tee pads are in, and the tee signs are in!

The course plays through a very scenic, multi use, inner city park. There is a big hill (big by SW Florida standards), and two ponds that also come into play. Various trees are also used to force some different shot lines. Hole 5 is an interesting tunnel shot on top of a ridge.

Nice, new baskets, and two sets of tees.

Very friendly locals and curious non golfing park users.

Plenty of benches and trash cans.
Cons: Not too many cons. The course may be a little short for the big guns, and it can be very windy.
Other Thoughts: This course has a very high fun factor and is noob friendly.

I would recommend going down Adams St, past the Main Sarasota police station, and parking across from the parking garage in the street side parking. Hole 1 is behind the skate park. Bathrooms are in the skate store, and they said that they might start selling discs.

This is a multi use park, and heavily used, so one must be watchful of other park users.

Overall this is a fun course, and a nice addition to the Sarasota area disc golf scene!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Start

1    1/2/2013   1/2/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Great usage of available hills and trees.
* Good length variety
* Park is beautiful and well maintained
* There are two sets of tees
* Nice use of water, and a well, thought out tunnel shot
* Ace chances, and a few clever, near water pin positions....
Cons: There really aren't too many cons here. The teepads aren't in yet, but the tees are clearly marked with flags and paint. Signs aren't here yet, but I'm sure they are coming. There is a proposed layout with lengths between hole nine's basket, and one's tee.
Other Thoughts: There was a lot of space out here, and at first I thought this would be a lot of wide open shots. But, the course designer did a good job of choosing his/her land features wisely. The pond comes into play on three holes, and there is a lovely tunnel shot. The first and last hole are very "aceable" and all the holes have a nice fun factor. I wasn't sure what to expect when driving out here, but it was a very nice, enjoyable experience. Most holes have birdie potential, and the hazards are interesting. There is an apartment complex with a privacy fence very close to the tunnel shot so be careful there. Because of the openness of the park, the wind really scours the place, so choose your days to play. If you have young kids, there is a fantastic playground to use, and all in all its a wonderful park. I hope to get back soon!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.