Springfield, OH
Wittenberg University Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #8 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful campus, use caution

2-4    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 150  Reviewed: 121  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (updated with the assistance of cad77: thanks!) The 18 chain DGA baskets on the hills of Wittenberg's campus in Springfield, Ohio, have some very interesting lines of attack. Because the campus is uphill, yet has a nice large 'valley' behind the main building, there are opportunities to see how breezes and elevations affect disc flight. There is a great deal of distance on most of these shots, particularly for the on-campus setting. And it really is a beautiful site to play disc golf!

The course obviously evolved as a challenge to some bigger, accurate arms. Holes 3-6 & 9 appear to be a nice place to play a few holes where you can pretty much see any passersby before throwing. Once I had a little help visualizing where all the tees and fairways are, the course flow reveals itself to be quite simple, with no long walks between holes.

There were once some brick tees where the pattern showed the hole number. Butů
Cons: Because they continually shifted in the soft soil, those brick tees became more dangerous than helpful, and have now all been removed, and replaced with some mulch. So someone coming here for the first time will have NO idea how the course lays out if they don't print the map (needs signs indicating direction, obstacles, cautions, and distances). I was absolutely mystified about the location (and even the very existence!) of the 'seventh' basket, until I got some local help (thanks again!), because the 7th basket has a '6' sticker on it. Unfortunately, the 'lost' tees might mean even more of a tendency to just throw safari golf, making all the baskets on the front hill a dangerous proposition.

The very first hole, if played from the 'intended' tee position, drives high speed right at a lamp post, and hyzers (rhbh) uphill across the street to the corner of a campus building. Then the intended hole two plays very long, uphill and blind, crossing multiple paths en route. Of course, I've never been a fan of crossing fairways, and hole 8 flies across hole 2, with the rhbh hyzer line from a high speed drive easily shanked at the 9th tee.

I think one of the main challenges of this course is that many holes play very long, some blind, and cross the campus walkways, streets, and building corners.
Other Thoughts: There do appear to be some folks on here who play the course regularly, so I hope they continue to have the opportunity. It truly is a pretty campus, and there are some fun shots available here.

If campus is busy with pedestrians, or if this sort of course isn't your cup of tea, you're reasonably close to Buck Creek to the East, and not too far from two others: a fun 'double nine' down at Cedarville, and a nice new course (Melvin Miller) just north in Urbana.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Tinymac12
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course does have some nice elevation changes. Throwing downhill and uphill.

The scenery is really nice. The old-fashioned buildings add a nice touch to the lay of the land.
Cons: I had trouble with finding each and every tee. First they aren't marked at all. They are just there with no signs at all.

Also the tees are made of brick. So while they looked nice once upon a time, they are falling apart and could actually cause injury if someone were to trip.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't even able to find a tee even with using pictures given here.

Basically, adding signs and fixing the tees is all that's stopping this quaint course to becoming popular.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

On campus 9 hole

1    4/9/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This on campus course, has some nice elevation changes too it...nicely spread out, with brick tee pads. No signs to the next tees though.
Cons: Needs signs to better navigate where the tees are..
Other Thoughts: This course has some nice elevation changes too it..just needs some signs for the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great campus course

5+    6/14/2006   2/18/2013
Review By: salmondisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting and lots of nice elevation changes are the best things about this course. Lots of really big oak trees throughout the course. Hole 4 is always fun to throw, pretty wide open and way down hill.
Cons: Only 8 holes. Difficult navigation. No tees or signs. There can be students walking on the paths if you play at the wrong times.
Other Thoughts: For hole 6 we always teed off from near the observatory to the left and up the street from zimmerman hall in the course map picture. Basket 9 used to play across the street straight south, but was moved due to cars being hit. Then you could play another hole back to that basket from the sidewalk near the alumni house to the east. That gave you a full 9 holes.

This was the course that I first was introduced to disc golf on. It is a great course for learning the sport.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Close to home

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: ShadoeKnight
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Campus setting
-Lots of shade for those with fair skin (like me)
-Minimal chance of losing discs
-Good place to practice driving
-Close to where I live
Cons: -Course is crossed by several sidewalks for students
-1st hole crosses a street with occasional traffic
-1st hole also has a sewer streetside drain where you could lose your disc right where your drive might go
-No markers for tees or par on holes
-Dirt tees
Other Thoughts: After playing at Buck Creek I really understand how nice it is to not have forest on either side of the fairway. Even though the trees can occasionally be in the worst paces, the course is open enough to allow a novice like me to practice driving without worrying about losing a disc. There are quite a few disc golfers who show up and run the course so there's usually a couple of people to chat with.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

gt700

1    7/11/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: gt700
Played: 74  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice campus setting with lots of trees. As others have said, good elevation changes & the grass is cut regularly. Some of the baskets still have numbers on them.
Cons: There are no tee signs or real boxes. There is dirt areas for most holes, but some are hard to locate.
Other Thoughts: Hole one is to the left of basket 9 and when throwing, you throw to the basket across the road. Hole 2 goes in front of building. Hole 3 is along side of building and holes 4-7 are behind building using hills. Hole 8 & 9 are back out in front of building & finish by fountain. Fun course. I wrote this to hopefully help people find the holes. I had help from local, but wanted to assist others. This is my first review, I hope it helps.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

5+    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a flat hole on the course. Elevation changes add to the beauty and make for a pleasant walk.

Every hole has a unique layout. The course design takes advantage of the small area and makes for a great round of disc golf.
Cons: Tees are non-existent. There are a few worn spots in the grass that resemble tees. Other than that, you are pretty much on your own to figure out where to tee off.

No information or directions. The first time played, we had to walk the course hunting for the baskets to figure out the course. Luckily a local player helped point out one of the holes we could not find.

The baskets can be hard to see with no color markings at all.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful location, quick play, and relatively easy for beginners (once you know the course layout).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sat. Mornings

1    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great campus sitting. Great elevation changes. The grass is thick and well maintained. Plenty of shade but enough openings for great shot selection. Don't have to worry about losing discs.
Cons: Needs better identification of tees and hole layout. A little difficult for first timers. Baskets could use some yellow paint around the top for better visibility.
Other Thoughts: Great 9 hole course in a beautiful sitting!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 could be great

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of elevation changes
-great looking college campus
-very unique layout
-great shot selections
-no wait to throw
Cons: -no tees
-no tee signs
-impossible to navigate if 1st time
-likely heavy traffic during the school year
Other Thoughts: if this course had tees, or even just had signs it would be great! i threw it by myself and had no idea where to throw from so i just played basket to basket. if they ever add tees and signs, i will switch my rating from a 1.5 to a 3.5 - 4.0.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Watch for Students

9/10/2007   3/10/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful campus, a few good looking coeds (not as many as you'd hope but it is springfield), quick nine whole course
Cons: Students take their time to walk the campus or might stop in the middle of a fairway to talk. Original tee blocks stolen or removed so a player has to either make up his or her own course or play with someone who knows (I've been playing this course since the late 90's) The original course was great some people play a different way and it is not nearly as good

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.