Cincinnati, OH 
Heritage Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
5 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

5+    5/10/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Newer course, great concrete pads, well keep fairways, great mix of open holes and natural challenges. Great course for beginners to intermediate players
Cons: Tall grass along many fairways make it easy to lose discs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A stroll in the park

1    3/12/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, Clean, Not crowded, Baskets, Tee pads, Tee signs, Well maintained, Design, Parking, Restrooms, Kiosk, and best of all its Free!
Cons: Very flat, short, no numbers on the baskets, Dog walkers?
Other Thoughts: When I played this course it just started snowing and it was hr before dusk. Despite what the park hours of use state on the signs (close at dusk) the gates were locked. That was the only obstacle I encountered the entire time.
I trekked roughly mi through the parking lot and onto the course and did not see any litter! This is the cleanest park and DGC I have ever set foot in.
First thoughts of the course were just another typical well maintained park setting course. Then add large tear-dropped shaped concrete tee pads with a "foul-line" stamped across the top along with the simple yet informative tee signs and you're on your way to a fun disc golf round. Most of the terrain is flat with a small rolling knoll near hole #12 and a slight incline on hole #13. Though I didn't encounter any tall brush on the course you can definitely see where it does pose a threat in conjunction with the O.B. throughout the course. I would imagine the water hazards on the back half are seasonal as is the tall brush. The course flows fairly well with hole #9 ending towards the front of the park and hole #18 finishes near the start. The most gratifying course a beginner could ever play and a great start for any future DG player.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Heritage Park

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: SteveDisc
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some challenging out of bounds areas. The tees are in great shape. The signs are pretty good hear, with clear directions to the next tee. It was my first time here, and I had no trouble finding the next tee. There are some baskets and tees that are a challenge for me as a new player.
Cons: The walking path comes into play on several holes, and if there are a lot of walkers, you have to be careful to be sure no one is in range. With the tall vegetation, it is necessary to walk out and check the path to make sure you have time to throw. There must be a gun range nearby, because the sound of shotguns was ever present in the near distance. I seemed to be able to block this out, and it was not an issue. I guess I am used to that sound.
Other Thoughts: I am not a disc golf expert, but it seems that many of the holes that are par 5s or par 4s could be truly a par 3 hole or par 4 hole. I have only played a few courses, and I have not seen par 5s under 300 yards. The out of bounds areas can really trip up a beginner like me who is not always accurate off of the tee, but I managed a 79 on a course listed as an 81. First time I have been able to do that anywhere. The holes are short enough that I can make up for a bad drive with a good second toss that gets me close. I really like this course, however, and plan to be back a lot. I recommend going when there are not many walkers on the walking path.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You get what you can get too

5+    9/14/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: CasualBrellow
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We keep coming back because it keeps making us laugh.

The tees are very nice.

If you are pretty good you will probably have a decent game.
Cons: If on the other hand (for most of us our lefts) you are less than good it's quite probable that you will lose your disc in one of the many giant super-dense brush and grass islands in the middle of your way. The brush is deceptively dense. The brush is so dense that you could spend an hour or more searching for it right under your nose. I would only use something super neon bright if you are worried about that. Even here now in september the grass and brush is still not dead enough to get into. You will hate it so much you'll only be able to laugh.

The second half of the course is actually very pleasant and redeems a bit the amount of time you spent crashing through a bunch of stinging nettle and dodging bees and wasps.

Part of the course is interrupted by a walking path and this is a very popular place for dog-walking.

The photos for this course are not accurate, all the brown areas are where they planted things and just let them go wild.
Other Thoughts: When we first played here we spent so much time searching for our discs that we decided the planners of the course must have modeled a course and just decided to place it down regardless of what was around because of how absurd some of the islands of weeds and brush are.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    8/12/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: EmJ124
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Appears to be a very easy course, but the Out of Bounds can make it very challenging if played right.
-Good course to learn on (I did!)
-Located in a beautiful, well-kept park with a walking trail, baseball diamonds, and a playground (only the walking trail is a factor in the course)
-The best tees I have ever played on. They are concrete, long, and in good condition, perfect for a long tee-off
Cons: -The par is ridiculously easy. I suggest playing everything either par 3 or par 4 depending on your skill level. (My boyfriend and I like to compete, but he can throw twice as far as I can, so that's how we account for that discrepancy)
-Not much variety in the first 7 holes
-Very easy to lose a disc, especially later in the season, due to the tall, thick weeds.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, fun course that is definitely worth a trip if you are in the area and want to have a relaxing game (unless you throw in the weeds..not so relaxing).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course

2-4    8/24/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: SUPERMARK513
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course to play.Well taken care of and visually appealing. While most courses typically have holes divided by trees, this course is mainly divided by tall grass, bushes, or shrubs that give it a distinct feel and appearance. This also lends itself to fairly tight fairways that tempt you to take the shortcut over the out of bounds "rough". The course has good tee signs and pads (ignore the fault line on pads), and port-a-johns and vending machines at the parking lot ($1 water). No problems with navigating this course.
Cons: If you try to take a short cut over the out of bounds areas, a bad throw can end up getting lost in the rough that at times can be very thick (watch out for stinging nettles). Keep an eye out for pedestrians and bikers as there is a nice path that winds throughout the course that was heavily used on the weeknight I was there. Many holes tend to look the same with either a dogleg left or right that hugs the out of bounds rough. The first time playing this course, you will spend a lot of time walking from the tee to see where the pin is placed (after first round, this is not a problem).
Other Thoughts: This course is alot of fun to play, and I am looking forward to playing it again. I have seen alot of reviews that said that is a good course to bring freinds/family that are new to disc golf. I would not necessarily disagree with this, just expect to spend alot of time searching for discs in the out of bounds areas.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner course

1    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -The sign at the tee box is very nice showing you the distance, the par, where the hole is located, and what is out of bounds
-The concrete launch pad at the tee is very nice
-On the concrete pad there is a line showing that if you step over it it will be a foul
-The course is well taken care of with fresh cut lawns and in general they just really take care of it
-There is a map at the beginning showing exactly where every hole is located
-On the sign at the tee they have an arrow pointing to the next tee
-There is a practice pin so you can get warmed up before you start to play
-It is located in a nice park with restrooms and with picnic tables all over
-They put some holes in the woods so you can try for some good accuracy on those holes
Cons: -Some of the weeds on the side are not cut too often so if your disc goes in there it may be tricky to find
-Sometimes you cant even see the pin from the tee box
-There are usually not many people there so the course doesn't get alot of use
Other Thoughts: This course is a great one for beginners. So if you are planning on playing disc golf this is definately a great one to go to. All of the holes here have too high of pars. I couldn't put that as a con. If a hole is 300 feet it is definately not a par 5. I would say that almost all of the holes should be par 3s. They maybe should have a par 4 in there every once in a while. But that is really the only thing they need to change, because besides that this is a phenomenal disc golf course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great first course

1    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flat and wide open, not a lot of dense woods or rough means you can find your discs pretty easily. Just pay attention to where it enters the Out of Bounds area as it is tall grass.

+A great place to practice accurate drives, as there are almost no trees except a couple holes on the back 9.

+Very nice tee pads and signage, clearly showing the way to the next hole.

+Plenty of parking and a vending machine right next to the course that sells bottled water for $1 in case you didn't bring your own.

+Just fun open drives, great for beginners who've never thrown a disc before.
Cons: -Not a lot of variety of holes

-The Out of Bounds can be punishing to newer players, when I took my friend out today I just let him play from it, it isn't too rough.

-There looks to be some great woods between the course and the river, but the course utilizes almost none of it, although there are a couple tee shots out of it through a couple trees, but only on the back 9

-Wide open means it's hot! It's also quite buggy being right next to the great miami river
Other Thoughts: Is this course worth driving to from out of town? No, but it's worth playing if you're from the greater cincinnati area. I'll probably go back with friends.

This is a great course to play "Who can get closest to the pin" on your tee shots, as there are no trees really and it's all just skill and technique. All the pins except two were reachable for me in one good drive.

One more thing to add is there has been a lot of vegetation added since the photos on here were taken, making the course more challenging than it looks in the photos if you play the Out of Bounds correctly! Challenge them all as par 3's as mentioned before and you'll have a good time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 96  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is just FUN!
It's totally flat and wide open, so if you hit a bad shot, it's not because you caught an errant tree limb, it's because you threw poorly.
Tee signs are impressive, as are the tees themselves.
Navigation is a cinch.
Well-maintained. Fairways are clean and cut shorter than the rough. OB is usually nice shrubs surrounded by mulch, instead of weeds and poison ivy.
Most holes are duece-able. In fact, I don't remember one that wasn't. (not possible for me, but others anyway :) )
Cons: Par is WAYYYY off! A wide-open, straight shot, under 300 feet, is NOT a par 5! Entirely too high of par listed for the course, even for a beginner having never thrown a disc, this par is silly. Just play it all as par 3 and you'll be happy.
Firing range nearby. Just loud bangs is all, shouldn't affect throwing much, you get used to it.
Little variety to be had here. No elevation change. Only a couple of gaps to hit, all on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Fun fun FUN! If you're in the Cincinnati area, have a nice time playing this course. Not worth it if you're just passing through, there are better courses, but if you live here, it's worth checking out.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Out of Bounds the Defining Characteristic

1    7/24/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: tfinley0
Played: 82  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice park near the Miami River. Course was well kept and had nice teeoffs. A good course to challenge par for players who play everything par 3. Out of Bounds makes course challenging to get under 3 par. Back nine provides some much needed variety in the course.
Cons: Front nine is similar on most holes with the only major challenge being the out of bounds. Some out of bounds areas are too close to the basket which may penalize a good shot that would normally be a putt. Some holes seemed to mislabel the distance by ~20 ft and some seemed to mislabel the out of bounds pictorially. Overall, the lack of variety in distance, elevation or obstacles makes playing this course feel somewhat mundane.
Other Thoughts: The foul line on the tee off pad was an interesting twist but unnecessary. Repeated and unceasing (for >1 hour) gunshots were heard in the woods...not sure if there is a firing range nearby. Of interest, a lady I met there said she was paid $4,000 to live in that area d/t a uranium enrichment plant that no longer exists. Would not travel to play this course, but may play if in the area.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.