El Paso, TX 
Lionel Forti Park Share
Uploaded By: suncitydiscgolf Hole #6 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 199ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Newbies Happy

1    3/16/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: Amp'd X
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We, me and my wife, are beginners and this is a very good course to start with. 3 different tees for each hole made this course very friendly to new golfers. It is also an excellent place to practice as there is almost an unlimited number of yardage combinations you could come up with for honing your game.
Cons: Hole 7 tee was hard to locate at first. Printing a map would have solved the problem though.
Other Thoughts: We will make this a regular course to improve our games.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Forti Park DGC

1    3/7/2014   3/7/2014
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 9-hole disc golf course in a multi-use park that is good for the selection of courses that are available within a 50-mile radius. Considering what Las Cruces, N.M. has to offer, this one is better than those two combined. There aren't that many challenges here, but what there are, can challenge the most ardent disc golfer to try and keep the disc inbounds and still land within reasonable distance of the basket. Hole 1 is a good example: The basket is on the other side of a 80-foot concrete spillway. All of the spillway is OB of course. There are just enough trees in this park to create a few obstacles to work around. There are multiple tees for all skill levels, but because of the limited room in the park, some have you throwing from OB territory for the added footage. If there is a signature hole here, I imagine it would be 8. That has a thrower shooting from beside the sidewalk to a basket that is by the park entrance sign in a small grove of trees at the park entrance. Navigation here is okay. I say it wouldn't hurt to print the map found here for guidance. After once playing here though, successive plays should not be difficult. There are trash cans here and some restrooms not far from hole 5 basket. I would also suggest bring some water for hydration and your best overstable discs as this park is mostly open and wind can definitely be a factor here.
Cons: There are not many challenges here, which can be a plus or minus depending on your view of things and your throwing ability. Some gold tees could be in better places. Hole 4 gold tee has a shooter throwing over the ballpark bleachers and the restroom building to try and reach the fairway. Hole 8 gold tee has the shooter throwing down a narrow sidewalk and hoping the disc doesn't go over the fence next to the thrower into the reservoir area. No way to retrieve a disc out of that.
Other Thoughts: In a nutshell: This is a good place to practice your disc golf game, especially on those windy days. This course is especially good to practice control shots. And, of course, there is always places to practice your putting. Not a destination course, but the best this general area has to offer for miles around.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

It is what it is

1    2/23/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: MikeK
Played: 180  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: This is a decent little course crammed into a small municipal park, that is best played early in the morning before the park gets crowded with other activities. The designer did a good job with what he had to work with; there just isn't a whole lot to work with out there. There are maybe 35 trees in the entire park, so the baskets are placed extremely close to OB concrete or roads to make the course more challenging. I'm not a fan at all of baskets being placed less than 10 feet from OB but when there are no trees, options are obviously limited. The pro tees are often very close to the last hole's basket, and from the pro tees the fairways often overlap, but this will only be a problem if a tournament were held here and I doubt there will be. These pro tees are another example of the designer trying to make the course more interesting with the limited space and sparse trees. I wouldn't go out of the way to play this course but if you're in El Paso and want to play, it's interesting enough to get in some practice.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average

1    9/20/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: Weezee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to find where the tees and holes are, and there really aren't too many hazards to worry about losing discs in.
Cons: Not really challenging. If one isn't careful, a disc can easily go into traffic on the 8th hole.
Other Thoughts: There's no surprise that there's only one course in El Paso, and that it is a completely average course with no frills. It's good for beginners, but not much of a challenge for anyone with experience. If you're looking to go throw the discs around and don't want to drive out of town, this is your spot. It's playable, not the worst course out there, but nothing to tell your friends from out of town about.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not cutting it

2-4    5/2/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: didgjedi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Access and Price. The chance to exercise your imagination.
Cons: Almost everything.
Other Thoughts: This course is horrible. When I visit I find myself trying to invent shots that offer me some obstacles. This course offers very little to challenge even the newest player. Why this course rates better than the dead Album Park course, I couldn't guess. Not that Album was great, but at least the trees allowed one to practice shots with actual obstacles.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Down In El Paso!

1    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 673  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The DG course in Lionel Forti Park utilizes the entire park. There are two sets of tees, the Blues (Longs) and the Reds (Shorts). I was short on time and daylight so I played from the Reds. Once I get orientated, the course was pretty simple to navigate. All I had to do was to look around for the red pole sticking out of the ground. The poles gives the hole #, distance and points to the basket. The pads are natural and are pretty rough and worn in places.
There were a couple of fun ACE runs from the REDS. # 5 is 251' downhill. You just need to put a little hyser on your shot to clear a post. Unfortunately, the West Texas wind put a lot of hyser on my shot.
The course starts and finishes at the same parking lot.
Cons: The baskets are showing their age. The natural pads are pretty rough in places. Luckily, I don't think this course gets a lot of play. At 6 PM on a lovely Friday night, I had the course to myself.
I didn't really like Red # 3 which has you throwing over the baseball field. There was a team practicing so I attempted to roll around the outfield fence. Just trying to be a good citizen!
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by this course. The wind was blowing pretty hard at times but I understand that's pretty standard fare for playing in West Texas so get used to it. The course is in a nice hilly park, fairly green and grassy for hereabouts. I wish I would have had the time to play from the Blues!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: Banshee174
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tee boxes and distance changes. Played it early in the morning (9-11) and had the whole park to myself.
Cons: Didn't like hole 9 since you have to throw across the street plus not sure what the mando's were on that hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is much, much better then the old one at Album park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great updates to course

2-4    6/3/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: chriso07
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: both red and blue tees make this course great for all skill levels.

lots of long drives
Cons: park is used for other events other than golf and its sad that noone after these events cleans up there trash
Other Thoughts: had a blast on my tour of the course with its designer played 9 holes from long boxes and had a wonderful time

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.