Disc Golf Store
Shelby Township, MI 
Stony Creek Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: PallMall Hole #14
3 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Awesome

1    7/4/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes of fun legit disc golf
-Forces you to make good drives, upshots, putts
-To shoot a low score you must birdie certain holes
-Punishes you for bad shots
-Long bombers and tight woods give you diversity
-Good mix of right/left, long/short holes
-Challenging from start to finish (We played from the AM tees with the exception of accidentally playing one PRO tee. I can see this course being even tougher from the longs)
-Parking and pay booth right at hole 1
-Trash cans at each tee along with many benches
-Seemed to be well groomed
-Bugs surprisingly not bad at all
-Most people will let you play through and some will even help look for lost discs.
-Secluded feel given that this is a huge park with lots of other activities.
-Easy to navigate. The scorecards helped with a map and location of AM and PRO tees.
Cons: Big potential to lose discs here. Keep it in the fairway. Even the short rough can have you searching. MUST use spotters on almost every hole which can be bothersome when having to walk up.

Some tees were sandy. I know of two strokes I lost when slipping on tees. I started to dust them off and had no issue. A broom at each tee would be helpful.

Hole 27 seemed out of place. It does not lend to a fun walk back to your car. You must climb back up that gigantic hill to either play again or go home. No Fun and killed the final flow of the overall course.
Other Thoughts: Very busy. I did not put this in the cons because given how sweet this course was I don't doubt the heavy traffic it gets.

Pay to play: It was worth it and well worth it if I spent an entire day there. I did not get to play two rounds :(

Fantastic course that rivals those in the top ten on DGCR!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

5+    11/20/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: PallMall
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Excellent design
-Fun
-Challenging from the start.
-Booth close to parking
-Hole 1 close to parking
-Plenty of parking
-Grass cut weekly
-Rarely do you find poison ivy,oak etc.
-Bugs not bad
-Most people will let you play through if your group is faster than theirs.
-random deer not afraid of humans walk the course its nice to see them sometimes
-Ballgame free
Cons: -little kids that think destroying the park is cool.

-they got rid of my favorite 2 holes to extend 1 hole.
r.i.p. hole 9 and 10.

-random bikers, hikers and kids in strollers.

-in the warmer weather the course is packed and it may take hours to play half the course
Other Thoughts: pay to play enforced. not bad price for yearly. keeps most vandals away. or you can pay 2 dollars a day

YOU DO NOT need signs laying out the holes for the majority of the holes you can see the basket you are aiming at with the exception of the long holes over 500ft

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Stoney Creek

1    6/16/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 65  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Pro Calibur 27 holes, so much variety, bring lots of water.
Cons: None, except you better bring your a game, massive 27 hole course, has wooded, huge fields, practice challenges, everything you need.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play I believe.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Fun

2-4    5/27/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: kw83028
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 Holes
-Option to play only 18
-Very long, very short, and average hole lengths
-Well Maintained
-Nice long concrete teepads
-Uses just about every shot type for me
-Some open holes, some wooded tight holes
-Option for some short tees
-Flows very well
Cons: -Could be a con to some is the length. It is a very long course
-Some would say pay to play is a con, but I don't mind paying when the upkeep is this good
-There is quite a bit of very nasty, thick, thorny brush on the wooded holes if you don't stay in the fairway
-It would be nice if the new tee posts had signs showing the layout of the hole
Other Thoughts: Wow, this new layout is excellent in my opinion. They changed a lot of stuff. I think they made it a lot more challenging on the new holes. This course is well maintained. It has all new tee posts on all holes with distances. It would be nice if the posts had hole layout signs though, but I know the layout fairly well. Bring your whole bag of shots with you here because you will definitely use them all!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.