Macon, GA 
Bowden DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #1 (Taken 7/2014)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 535ft.   3 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun and challanging

1    1/1/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent baskets.
6 X 12 Concrete teepads.
Good design.
Seperated from other non-disc golf activities.
Cons: Extremely difficult to navigate due to poor or missing signage.

No benches or rest areas.

Still needs some "love". See notes.
Other Thoughts: Overall Bowden is a good course that is still being broken in towards a goal of being an established course. Aesthetically speaking the course is not very remarkable. The terrain is pretty much the same, so visually speaking the course does not alter much from hole-to-hole.

The designers did a good job with the course. There really is some nice variety despite the lack of changing scenery mentioned above. I really appreciated the use of the burns and mounds that were on the course for teepads, and pin locations.

Besides signage, the course still needs some prep "love" to take it to another level. Many of the greens need to be cleaned up so that low-lying limbs don't obscure some of the longer putts that happen from time-to-time. At least one of the teepads (3 maybe?) was on a raised burn, and because of the soil, erosion control will be needed to prevent the teepad from cracking.

This course is worth the $3 to play it. I don't recommend taking newer players to it because it is a longer course to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Updated information

2-4    11/24/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Sasquatch
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course with some thought required before throwing.
Cons: lack of signs. The map is a necessity.
Other Thoughts: About 1/3 of the tee pads have been poured and about 1/3 have been formed for pouring. Signs much needed. It took me 2 hrs to play the 1st time, about 1 hr the 2nd time through. When all the pads are ready, permanent signs installed, and they stop borrowing sand from fairway #1, this will be a good course to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bowden

1    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice use of what used to be a par 3 ball golf course converted to disc golf. This is still mainly a ball golf course, however all the amenities are available to us disc golfers. There is a nice selection of discs available in pro shop. The people working here were all nice and very helpful. I did not have an opportunity to inquire in the pro shop about a disc golf pro but that would be a nice addition. Grab a map in the pro shop you will need it. There is a great 850 foot driving range available. Nice addition I have not seen in other courses.
Course design makes good use of the rolling mounds and elevated tees from the previous ball golf layout. This is by far the longest course I have played, definitely designed with the advanced player in mind. If you have a big arm this is the course you have been dreaming of. There is a good mix hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots with enough trees to punish an errant shot while being mostly open so you can really air it out. Most holes offered multiple lines to make you think about how you want to play the hole. I liked that most of the baskets positions were protected by either trees or a mound to make you think about your up shots. There is really not any elevation change here, I would describe as rolling mounds or hills, enough to add character to many of the holes. Not really up or down hill shots. You will definitely have your skills tested here.
Cons: This is a course that is yet completed so we need to keep that in mind.
Here are the "cons" as the course is currently constructed. Signs, there are temporary tee and next tee signs out however I still had some difficulty finding some tees. A few more next tee sign or better paths would really help here. It was difficult picking lines on a few holes as I was not sure where the basket was. Again better signs would help. I understand that concrete tees are coming and this will help a lot as the ground is very sandy and the tees are chewing up pretty quickly. Benches would have really been appreciated on this hot August day and trash cans to help keep the course clean. There quite a few briars or thorns in the grass to watch for. There is enough room and would be nice to see an actual "fairway" cut into the grass, this would also help on those holes where you can't see the basket from the tee. Once again I understand this is a work in progress so I expect most if not all will be rectified in the future.
Other Thoughts: This is most definitely not the place to bring a newbie. A new player will be discouraged trying to play this course. If you have some experience and can throw at least 250 with control you can handle this course. However to really score well you will need a big arm with control. There are some opportunities for improvement but this is still not completed so I am sure they will be addressed in the future. Nice to see an advanced player course in the state and as improvements are made this course has the potential to be a jewel.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy with Charm

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: Ghazlehurst
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is laid out with a good mix of distances and types of holes. The use of the natural terrain is outstanding considering what they had to work with.
Cons: Hot with not much tree cover for shade, Sandy terrain with cactus, briers, and other sticky items.
Other Thoughts: A lot of potential once the course is developed further with concrete tee pads, bench's, sign's. Be prepared for the heat and have you map handy. Great late fall, winter, early spring course.

The walk in to course is current not really marked well.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.