Millington, TN 
Bud Hill - The Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Conar7 Hole #16 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    4/10/2014   4/15/2014
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 2nd 18-hole course is a great complement and contrast to the original Bud Hill course. It is primarily a short wooded technical style course. Baskets are all quality and navigation was a breeze. Each hole has a basic numbered tee sign beside the short tee. Every hole supposedly has a 2nd longer tee (I saw most of them, but since we were playing from the signs, I just forgot to find them all.) For most holes, a 3 is fairly easy, but here the battle is for birdies, and quality shot making is required to score low.

Though you can get by with only mids and putters, the course still requires a variety of shots- straight, left, right, up, down, level. Fairways are well-defined and narrow enough to require an accurate line to get your birdie. There are several mando trees to avoid "short-cuts" to the holes around the bigger bends, adding to the risk/reward factor of these holes- go for birdie or risk a mando penalty. There are opportunities to get creative off the tee and try shots you might not use regularly (side arm, tomahawks, high hard cuts, etc.)

The basket locations are superb, tucked away around a corner, placed behind trees, on the ridge by the pond, etc. I don't generally prefer hanging baskets, but the one on this course just makes sense being on a downhill slope makes you really think about going for it or playing it safe.
Cons: The signs didn't have distances, which I would have liked, but since the holes are all under 200' one should be able to judge distance with the eye.

The tees are either natural or rubber pads (concrete to me is always preferred, but are not really necessary here as a run-up drive is not needed, and I totally understand not pouring concrete all over this privately owned wooded hillside.)

There were 2 newer trial holes inserted in around hole 4, but these 2 holes play in a wide open field and to me, being a different style from the rest of the course, detract just a little. But they are set up to where these holes are optional with no extra walking or confusing the navigation.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be really fun as: 1) it was not exhausting physically or mentally, 2) it still requires thought-out and well-executed shots, and 3) it features many ace runs and birdie chances. The Ridge is designed to be exactly as it is, and I believe is an excellent example of how to design a course of this style.

It only takes about an hour or less to play this course, and is a nice warm-up to or change of pace from the original course. Danny, as always, was great and so kind to open his courses for play. Having 36 holes at Bud Hill only makes this an even better destination area and one of the best places to play disc golf in the country.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Ridge

1    1/19/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 5/18/2014
Pros: Great small course to work on accuracy as opposed to distance. Some very tight fairways with lots of mandos requiring accurate shots on every hole. Many birdie opportunities and ace runs. Pin locations are great and flow naturally with the landscape. Navigation is also extremely easy.
Cons: Sadly there were no holes at all for any sort of distance driving. If you're playing this course there's no need to bring anything other faster than a mid range. However, this really isn't much of a problem considering the original Bud Hill contains some longer holes right next door.
Other Thoughts: A solid course. Well maintained and very fun to play. If you have the extra time play the Ridge, but honestly I would probably play the Original course twice rather than play each once.

Nice Addition

1    11/22/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: nightwing
Played: 98  Reviewed: 22
Pros: Nice short addition to the full-length Bud Hill.
Good 'Skill Check' for Big Arms.
Many women and ams use the course.
Fun walk in the forest.
Many challenging putts.
Cons: SOOO many left to right shots!
Other Thoughts: Keepin it short cause 'Mr Mirth' gets it all right on. See his review. I would again add though: Nearly every shot is left to right. Otherwise, a really nice addition to the longer Bud Hill course. And the overall Bud Hill complex is one of the best ANYWHERE. A must visit. Try to get to the 2 Forest courses just down the road too. You can get a full 3-4 day visit in without running out of great disc golf.

Bud Hill Plan B

1    9/26/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bud hill is a disc golf mecca. The original course is a strong 5 star course. This is an interesting little course to add to your visit. Very tight and heavily wooded. A few mandos, which I don't necessarily love, but which make the course work.
Cons: This feels like a work in progress, and it is not as good as the original course.
Other Thoughts: We sped through the course on my visit, so I am not sure I got a full feel for it. Having this little pitch and put makes Bud Hill all that greater.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Quick Compliment

1    3/7/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Ridge serves as quirky little bro to Bud Hill, proffering a rapid fire challenge through thickly forested hillside. Largely left to right narrow lines with constant elevation, some extreme doglegs and numerous mandos, each shot requires thought and skill. Don't be misled by the short length of these holes (all but one less than 200') as you must hit the lines to get the birdies! It's not poke n hope: Throw straight or expect a pitch out; Miss the mando, take a stroke and putt from the drop zone; Hit the mando long or wide and expect a challenging upshot/ putt, or worse, suffer a hard kick with likely "plinko" effect. A few tricky pin placements (steep incline, enveloped in bush, guarded), a handful or more ace runs, a hanging basket and arching tree tunnel, all bolster this tee-to-green experience.
Most tees are of adequate size with rubber surfaces, although the pro pads are natural, not entirely finished and subject to change. Several tees are wooden decks with non skid surfaces protruding from the hillsides; necessarily, these make for some fun downhill, aroundhill, uphill lines. Baskets are a decent mix match of hand me downs from big bro and catch as expected. The signs say merely "hole1, hole 2, hole 3, etc." with the distances written on them. Never the less, the course flows well enough and is easily followed.
Cons: Ordinarily I might criticize the signs, the tees, the potential for throwing onto or "plinko" into other holes, but this course makes for a fun challenge and a fine contrast to its big brother. Although a little immature and rough around the edges, The Ridge will no doubt grow into something worthy of Bud Hill's brotherly pride.
Other Thoughts: 18 holes in 43 minutes was, I think, a first for me. All but one of my tee shots, and a handful of single step forehands, was a stationary throw. The holes flew passed (pun intended) and I enjoyed the fast flowing challenge of these short, technical, skill-honing touch shots. Leave your bag and have a drink before teeing off, you'll be back soon enough. Pick a putter, perhaps a mid, maybe a multipurpose disc; One or two is all you'll need with this quirky quick compliment.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 shady retreat

2-4    9/7/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Number one pro: it's at Bud Hill AKA disc golf heaven
Shady. On those hot summer days you'll stay a little cooler in here than out on the original 18 at Bud Hill.
Technical. Tight, turning fairways that force you to shape shots, however, even though the fairways are tight, they are well defined--it is not a pinball type course.
Short. If you feel like throwing long, play the original 18. The short Ridge provides a nice contrast to the main course.
Adequate signage with hole number and length.
Adequate tees.
Foolproof flow. Hard to get off track.
Great elevation changes.
Plenty of seating.
Cons: There are far more right turning fairways than left turning. I actually really like this about the ridge because it is a great opportunity to work on my forehand (I am a righty). However, in a competitive situation (I know at least some womens divisions play this course during at least one tournament.) it would give an advantage to Either LHBH or RHFH players.
Other Thoughts: I am trying to be objective, but I love Bud Hill.
The Ridge 18 was just completed this year so it is still very wild. Over time it will become more "beat in" and manicured like its older brother. The high rating is by virtue of being part of a 36 hole complex complete with club house.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.