Grantham, PA 
Messiah College Share
Uploaded By: MapsFly Hole #14 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: rmiller44
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/17/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets I could find were nice and shiny...
Cons: Not fun. The course map was useless, no placards at the tees (when I could even find the tees). Perhaps the campus construction projects this summer affected the course layout. A real shame because the campus is just gorgeous.
Other Thoughts: Sorry for being so negative. I had wanted to play this course for months, so it was a huge disappointment to spend most of my time wandering around the campus looking for something to throw at.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/20/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: sghdba
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of potential...lots of elevation changes, about half of the holes are wooded.
Cons: Currently only about 9 holes are in passable condition. It appears that the caretaker has possibly given up or moved away? the holes in the woods have tees marked and baskets and basic clearing, but nothing has been done this season to improve after the initial course was setup. The holes that are playable are mostly around the sports fields on campus, so sometimes are not playable due to other activities.
Other Thoughts: I live close to this course, so I hope that the college/someone begins to care and complete the holes so that it is playable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Lot of Potential

1    8/19/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The campus the course is located on is very scenic. The elevation changes found throughout the course are very good. Elevated tee pads are found quite a bit but they are so high to where your throwing "top of the world" shots. Basket locations on some holes provide very nice "risk reward" shots. Concrete tee pads on some holes were nice and I'm a fan of the trapezoid shaped concrete pads.
Cons: The maintenance over the summer on the course needs to be improved. Holes 7 and 8 specifically. The weeds and brush around the baskets was so bad it completely covered the basket. And although it looked kinda cool, it's a problem that needs to be fixed. The course layout was the most backwards thing I have ever seen. I've played about 20 courses now and I have never seen the flow of playing a course get so interrupted from the layout. Signs need improvement. Laminated sheets of paper will not cut it for an outdoor course. The arrows found on the trees sometimes pointed me in the wrong direction. Even with a map I found myself lost at times. Natural teepads were very uneven and even rocky at times. I sometimes just looked for an even area around to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: This course has A LOT of potential. The course winds it's way all around the campus and the layout is a huge negative to the course just because of the long walks between holes. The elevation changes is good as well as the concrete tee pads. With cleared off fairways (logs, weeds, brush, rocks) and better signage this course could easily become a 3-4 star course. Hopefully when I come back and play during the school year the course will have been improved.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potential

1    12/3/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: zubeala
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation difference, which is unusual for a campus course. Elevated tees are fun. Very tight and technical for the most part. A few wide open holes in the back nine.
Cons: Poor course marking. Too much debris.We probably, overall, spent 30 minutes looking for the next tee. Hopefully when all the tees are in it will be better. The course is very spread out over 3 distinct parts of the campus.
Other Thoughts: This course would be impossible in the spring or summer in full foliage. You would need a spotter on every hole. On most of the holes you can't see the basket, even in December.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.