Austin, TX 
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #15 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 276ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Long Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Bring water and "A" game

5+    6/20/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lived in Circle C Ranch for years so this is the course I've grown up on. This course taught me how to play. The shot selections are critical and good judgement with high accuracy are key. This course can eat your lunch on some holes so stay focused. Detailed tee markers and dual tees are great. Trash cans at most holes or at least every other hole. Two warm-up putting areas before hole one is a nice touch especially with wide open soccer fields right next to them so you can warm up your drives as well. Distance varies from shorter, accuracy minded holes to long "grip it and rip it" par 4's and 5's. If you're doing well out here chances are you're ready for any course around. They have continued to maintain this course consistently over the last 15 years. That is a real commitment and the course shows it. If you're up for a challenging trek through the rocky wooded hills and the long semi-open (hot) fields then this is a course worth trying. As stated, hole 18 is a great way to end a round. Super challenging and super creative. Whomever put together this hole deserves a pat on the back. Now go play this course already!!
Cons: Texas heat will take it's toll on you so bring water. There is a lot of rocky hiking through the front 9. As stated, a couple of spots can cause you to get disoriented when trying to find the next hole but just follow your instincts and you'll get there. Otherwise was great.
Other Thoughts: Play this course. It's worth your time and effort. Warm up at the beautiful soccer fields and nice putting area under the oak trees. Bring plenty of water and stable shoes. Have fun with the short hole, long hole, short hole flip flopping. Keeps you're arm from being blown out in 4 long holes in a row. Can't wait for you to see the final approach to 18. So cool.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, Well-Maintained

1    3/24/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First-off, this course is extremely well-maintained down to the small details. It's in an enormous, multi-use park in what appeared to be a pretty nice suburb of Austin. There are 2 sets of generously sized cement tee-pads for all of the longer holes. The tees are nicely framed to prevent erosion. Walking paths are fairly easy to follow though the wooded portions of the course.

Approximately 50% of the course consists of reachable Par 3 holes that demand accurate shots through tight fairways. There are also several legitimate Par 4 and Par 5 holes that require both distance and placement. For the most part, I would describe these longer holes as fairly open, but still requiring a great deal of accuracy in your shot placement. There are plenty of trees and obstacles in play, but also room to work a variety of shot types. Both distance and accuracy are needed to score well.

Hole 18 is the signature hole!! Tight tee-shot to a wide open area. Then the approach to the pin is through a tunnel and over a ravine. Hole looks awesome and plays even better!!

The course is challenging, but also makes for a very fun round of golf. Not a lot of underbrush on the wooded holes, so losing discs is not much of an issue. Tee signs with the hole-maps are great!
Cons: As I was playing here for the first time, course routing was a bit of an issue in a couple spots. Some signage pointing to the next hole would be appreciated.

The terrain is a bit rocky in some areas, with Hole 1 probably being the worst. Not a big issue in my opinion, but perhaps worth mentioning as a few fairways are less than ideal.
Other Thoughts: Played without a map. Only got confused for any significant period of time in 1 spot. Would recommend bringing a map if playing blind though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So good

1    5/9/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: slamminsammy
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As almost every review says, this course is awesome! So many different types of holes that are all a challenge. Truly a top notch course that anyone who remotely likes disc golf will enjoy.

I am not an especially good at disc golf (I shot a +14 here) but I still had an absolute blast here so don't be intimidated by the difficulty, it's still fun!

Well maintained course. There was very little trash in the trees lining each hole and lots of trash cans. Also the tee pads are kept very nice and each has a bench to take a quick break on.
Cons: Long course with lots of walking. Not really a con, but something to be ready for when you go. Took me and a friend 2+ hours to play it and our legs were definitely tired after.
Other Thoughts: If your skill level isn't high, don't be scared to use the front tees. I started off using the back tees, but had a much better time when I moved to the front tees after the first couple holes.

Bring water and maybe a snack. Course is long and takes a while to play, don't want to be caught thirsty out there.

This course is a must if you are going to be in the Austin area, or anywhere in Texas for that matter. You will be challenged but have a lot of fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

On the Ranch

1    5/3/2014   5/8/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Tons of variety in not only forcing you to use different shots but over varying lengths that go from short and technical to long bombs. I really liked how the course would give you a monster hole then a few shorter par 3's before sending you back to another fantastic par 4/5.

The strength of this course which has many is definitely the par 4/5's. Some of the absolute best holes I've ever played are on this course, not only from a technical standpoint but from a pure fun factor.

I really liked how the course sets up for varying skill levels. There are two pads on most holes and on the shorter par 3's the long pad doesn't usually add all that much distance but puts the pad in a place where your shot requires more skill going through an early gap or cutting an angle harder.

Also, on the long holes the obstacles range out for people of varying distances. The guy I played with had a shorter arm and was having to manage early gaps and turns while I was worrying about making a corner 400'+ and landing not in the super thick rough.

Adding on to that last part there is a good amount of risk/reward here. If you do try and stretch one out to far and get offline the rough is punishing and can force a lot of simple pitch outs. Trying to throw on to greens from distance is difficult here as well due to all the rocks and skips that can happen.

Really well designed green areas is another plus. It seems the basket was always tucked in a really nice spot to make you think about your approach or where you need to be to approach on the longer holes. I liked how in some places the basket would sit near the treeline in a place where you might easily skip in there if you're not careful how you're landing.

There's a bit of elevation change throughout the course, no big ups or downs but a few holes used it well to create difficulty.

I don't usually use this area of the review to mention holes but 18 is seriously amazing. Your drive requires power and accuracy and then from there on it's anybodies guess to how you'll play the hole. You can throw it up the shoot or try the big hyzer over the top. Wish I could play that hole all the time.

Equipment - Nice concrete pads that are framed in. Houck teesigns which in my opinion are some of the best. Baskets seemed in okay shape, not the best or worst.

There's practice baskets at the beginning along with a bathroom and water fountain.

Atmosphere - It's beautiful in it's own right. I haven't been to this part of the country a lot so I really enjoyed the Texas ranch vibe, felt like I was playing in a western movie.

The locals have done a nice job adding stonework to parts of the course to give it some character. I ended up meeting a local and getting a great guide for the round as well, everyone I met in Austin seemed to be really nice people.
Cons: Layout - Not to many cons really but some of the par 3's were a bit lacking in technicality and length. Overall the course isn't all that technical which isn't really a bad thing because it allows play from a wider variety of players; although if you come here looking for the ultimate challenge it isn't really that.

Some of the transitions were longer and I did have to stop and wait for my guide to show me where to go next. (although I'll add I wasn't paying attention to the next tee markers on the tee signs due to having a guide)

The course has some elevation but it's still relatively flat compared to some of the courses I play on the east coast.

Equipment - Some of the teesigns were missing when I was there.

Atmosphere - Even for a hot day the course was packed when I was there and I got stuck behind a big group which made the round even longer. You can not blame people for wanting to come here but keep that in mind if you want to come in and play from out of town.

It's dry and super rocky here, again not something I'm used to and you can only build on what you have so I don't blame the course at all. Just remember bring water and think twice before throwing base plastic here.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and it's clear most of the people in Austin do as well. If you want to play some true par 5's this course has them. I really wish I had just one course near me like Circle C.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

1    1/3/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Everything!
Cons: -Fairways can beat up your discs with lots of rocks
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough good things about this course, this is a fantastic course! It is no easy course though, you have to bring your A game even to come out all even. Tons of shot variety, some short some long, some open some very tight, right to left, left to right, uphill and downhill. You'll need every type of shot to do well here. Long and short boxes on most holes. Bring your water bottles because this course is long. Hole 18 is a monster, and the signature hole of the course, it's over 900 feet from the long box. Fairly open in the beginning leading to a slight bottleneck before opening up and heading left, then slightly tightening back up and crossing over a decently wide creek that almost always has some water in it. If your in ATX I highly recomend playing here!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Circle C

2-4    12/28/2013   1/22/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 5/18/2014
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Where to start! Well maintained, very wide variety of holes. Some right to left, some left to right, some straight shots, some tight fairways, some uphill some downhill, this course has it all! Not only is the hole variation and design of the course great but the property it's set on is beautiful as well. Course is clean with plenty of benches, tee signs, and trash cans around.
Cons: Only thing I can possibly think of is the navigation from hole 5 to 6 can be tricky. If there was one more sign to direct toward that hole then this course would be better.
Other Thoughts: Such a great course, definitely my favorite course in Austin. Probably my favorite course I've ever played. I recommend this course to any and all disc golfers!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best in Central Texas

5+    10/1/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is truly an amazing course - on the Pro/Advanced level of difficulty, this course will test all your shots and your will. Short and Long concrete tee boxes offer players of all skill levels an opportunity to compete. There are tee signs on every hole/tee. If you are looking for a challenge, you are at the right course. Stay in the fairway and you will be well on your way to a great time in ATX. This is one of the most challenging courses in Central Texas, next to Manor of course...
Cons: You may not want to throw your favorite plastic on this course. The rocky ground almost guarantees some level of carnage, so choose your shots wisely. Straying from the fairway will punish even the most adept players. My only real problem is the abusive amount of jagged rock, but that is just the terrain for ya.
Other Thoughts: Although it may be futile, everytime I play this course I kick or throw as many rocks as possible to the edge of the fairway. There have been some recent improvements in reference to several of the targets, I look forward to my next visit as I had to play the course without a few of the baskets in the ground. Still, always a treat to play Circle C. This course would get 5 stars for the quality of Tee Boxes, Signage, and Playability of the Course, however, the rocky fairways eat plastic.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bring your A game

2-4    6/10/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Dale W
Played: 74  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost everything. I played short pads first then the long pads to see just what the course had to offer. Lets start:
Requires every kind of shot: RHBH, RHFH, thumber, roller....I even threw a couple left handed.
No course favoritism for righties or lefties. Short holes, long holes, uphill, downhill, technical and open holes.
The long holes aren't just long to be long - require accuracy as well as distance.
You have to be able to plan and place your shot to set up the next shot.
You will need a good pair of hiking boots/shoes as the paths from hole to hole (as well as many of the fairways) are large natural rock.
Navigation is pretty easy, especially if you pay attention to the signage as it tells you the direction of the next hole and you will be able to see the path.
If you go into the rough, your best bet is to take your lumps, dump a shot out to the fairway (if you can), and play on. The rough isn't so dense as to make it impossible to find your disc, but it will punish you for a bad throw.
You think you have a decent score going, then you get to 18. A BEAST of a hole (over 800' even from the short pad, almost 900' from long). It isn't a straight, open 800+ either: Slight right to start in relative technical setting, opening up and arching left, ending in a tunnel over a creek to an elevated basket. Mean, but awesome hole to finish with.
Cons: I'm going to have to be pretty picky to find many cons.
Some signs are missing (9 and 10), but these are shorter holes and you can see the basket.
Trash cans are only set out every 4 or 5 holes but there is signage to tell you when the next set of cans are available.
Several of the holes have pretty long walks to the next tee.
Many blind holes as they are long and "L" shaped (right or left) or even a horseshoe.
A lot of the trees could use a haircut as they are in some cases hanging directly over the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: The main reason I gave this course a 4.5 instead of a 5 is the fairways. With many of the fairways being large natural rock, it will eat your disc up for lunch - that's just the nature of the location. Overall, one of the best and most fair courses (righty vs lefty) I've played even if it does kick your butt.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Variety

1    12/27/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tee pads is a big plus and in most cases the play from the longer offered a much different look with added trees of other obstacles.

18 was a really fun hole. Its 1000 feet of left hand turn that ends into another set of challenges. Its unique and a good marque hole.

Overall the course offers a lot of different challenges and the local woods were in good shape. The course hole maps were all in pretty good shape and helpful for the first round through.

The course has a lot of throw variety and requires a lot of different throws.
Cons: While each holes offers a different look and play, really they all look the same. The course plays through some moderate woods and really doesn't come out. The view and play by connection really feels redundant after a while.
Other Thoughts: Overall if you can keep it in the fairways and out of the trees its a pretty straight forward course. Being said, doing that was pretty challenging on many holes. The challenge in the hole to hole play made the course a great play throughout.

It was a fun course but no real visual variety from hole to hole. It was a fun course I'll definitely play again when in the area.

This course plays as one of the best in Austin but certainly is not one of the best in the country.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in Austin

5+    10/10/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is the variety of the holes. Even though the course play fairly long from the short tees, it really doesn't feel like that long after playing from the long tees. There's a distinct difference to the feel of the course from short and long tees. I think it's a strength of this course.

The navigation is, for the most part, pretty good except for couple of spots where it may get a bit confusing. There's garbage cans being available at certain holes, which will help you if you need to dispose of whatever.

The shot selections required for this course are broad. Many players would be well-suited if they are capable of throwing forehand, backhand, and maybe even overhand throws. On some of the holes, some strategy planning will be required to achieve par or better. It makes the game more interesting.
Cons: There's not that many drawbacks to this course, considering how it's being laid out, and the natural features of the landscape.

Some people may bemoan lack of water hazards, but sometimes it's unavoidable because of the natural order of things here in Central Texas.

While I have lauded the navigation, I will concede that on at least couple of holes, the navigation may be a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: I'm torn between giving this course 4 and 4.5. I settled on 4, because I think it's only fair to be a tough "grader" until I have played other courses that are consistently rated at 4.5 or higher, so I can at least attempt to be more well-rounded in my reviews.

Who is this course catered toward to? I think, for most part, virtually everyone can enjoy this course. The very new players will be frustrated at the length of some holes, but the more advanced players will absolutely love the option of playing from the long tees.

The fun factor for this course is definitely high. When compared to other courses in Austin, I would think this course rank #1 in terms of playability for all skill levels.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.