Austin, TX 
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #9 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 202ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Worth the drive

2-4    11/23/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: mattrowe
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course for experienced golfers. The scenery is beautiful, and the course rewards you for staying on the fairway. I haven't played many Austin courses, but the locals consider this one of the best in town. There is a wide array of tee shots, and the course is easy to navigate.
Cons: There are a lot of holes that are reachable with a putter, and there are a handful of "bomber" holes... There aren't many 350-ish holes where a well-placed fairway driver rewards you with a drop-in birdie (which is my favorite type of hole). I feel like I threw either putters or distance drivers here, not too many midranges or fairway drivers.
Other Thoughts: Don't bring a beginner here for his/her first round. Do bring water! You'll do a bit more walking/hiking here compared to most courses.

The 18th hole is super long challenging, and a difficult par 5. If you need a birdie on 18 to beat your buddies (or set a personal best), you'll need 4 perfect shots. It's probably a little easier to make up a throw by being aggressive on 17.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Does it get much better?

5+    9/11/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: lynxonyx
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course for intermediate to expert players. Pro distance and amateur tee boxes that are well maintained. Nice variety of shots with 6 par 4s and 2 par 5s. You will use every disc in your bag on a typical day here.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing and navigating the course the first few times can be confusing on certain holes. The yelling of soccer matches can be a bit of a distraction. Easy to turn an ankle here due to the many loose rocks that make up much of the terrain (especially when looking around for your disc).
Other Thoughts: The course seems to progressively get more difficult as it goes. The pinnacle of this difficulty is the super long horseshoe shaped 18th hole that will make or break your round (I'm happy when I par it).

Stand out holes are: Hole 1 - nice par 4 that is easy to birdie with good disc placement. Hole 5 - big par 5 with a dog leg to the right and elevated green. Hole 6 - par 4 with a really tough tee shot through a thick grove of trees. Hole 9 - a tremendous uphill shot through a narrow tunnel of trees. Hole 12 - long par 4 with a huge tree in the fairway.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bring water and "A" game

5+    6/20/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lived in Circle C Ranch for years so this is the course I've grown up on. This course taught me how to play. The shot selections are critical and good judgement with high accuracy are key. This course can eat your lunch on some holes so stay focused. Detailed tee markers and dual tees are great. Trash cans at most holes or at least every other hole. Two warm-up putting areas before hole one is a nice touch especially with wide open soccer fields right next to them so you can warm up your drives as well. Distance varies from shorter, accuracy minded holes to long "grip it and rip it" par 4's and 5's. If you're doing well out here chances are you're ready for any course around. They have continued to maintain this course consistently over the last 15 years. That is a real commitment and the course shows it. If you're up for a challenging trek through the rocky wooded hills and the long semi-open (hot) fields then this is a course worth trying. As stated, hole 18 is a great way to end a round. Super challenging and super creative. Whomever put together this hole deserves a pat on the back. Now go play this course already!!
Cons: Texas heat will take it's toll on you so bring water. There is a lot of rocky hiking through the front 9. As stated, a couple of spots can cause you to get disoriented when trying to find the next hole but just follow your instincts and you'll get there. Otherwise was great.
Other Thoughts: Play this course. It's worth your time and effort. Warm up at the beautiful soccer fields and nice putting area under the oak trees. Bring plenty of water and stable shoes. Have fun with the short hole, long hole, short hole flip flopping. Keeps you're arm from being blown out in 4 long holes in a row. Can't wait for you to see the final approach to 18. So cool.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Variety

1    12/27/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tee pads is a big plus and in most cases the play from the longer offered a much different look with added trees of other obstacles.

18 was a really fun hole. Its 1000 feet of left hand turn that ends into another set of challenges. Its unique and a good marque hole.

Overall the course offers a lot of different challenges and the local woods were in good shape. The course hole maps were all in pretty good shape and helpful for the first round through.

The course has a lot of throw variety and requires a lot of different throws.
Cons: While each holes offers a different look and play, really they all look the same. The course plays through some moderate woods and really doesn't come out. The view and play by connection really feels redundant after a while.
Other Thoughts: Overall if you can keep it in the fairways and out of the trees its a pretty straight forward course. Being said, doing that was pretty challenging on many holes. The challenge in the hole to hole play made the course a great play throughout.

It was a fun course but no real visual variety from hole to hole. It was a fun course I'll definitely play again when in the area.

This course plays as one of the best in Austin but certainly is not one of the best in the country.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in Austin

5+    10/10/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is the variety of the holes. Even though the course play fairly long from the short tees, it really doesn't feel like that long after playing from the long tees. There's a distinct difference to the feel of the course from short and long tees. I think it's a strength of this course.

The navigation is, for the most part, pretty good except for couple of spots where it may get a bit confusing. There's garbage cans being available at certain holes, which will help you if you need to dispose of whatever.

The shot selections required for this course are broad. Many players would be well-suited if they are capable of throwing forehand, backhand, and maybe even overhand throws. On some of the holes, some strategy planning will be required to achieve par or better. It makes the game more interesting.
Cons: There's not that many drawbacks to this course, considering how it's being laid out, and the natural features of the landscape.

Some people may bemoan lack of water hazards, but sometimes it's unavoidable because of the natural order of things here in Central Texas.

While I have lauded the navigation, I will concede that on at least couple of holes, the navigation may be a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: I'm torn between giving this course 4 and 4.5. I settled on 4, because I think it's only fair to be a tough "grader" until I have played other courses that are consistently rated at 4.5 or higher, so I can at least attempt to be more well-rounded in my reviews.

Who is this course catered toward to? I think, for most part, virtually everyone can enjoy this course. The very new players will be frustrated at the length of some holes, but the more advanced players will absolutely love the option of playing from the long tees.

The fun factor for this course is definitely high. When compared to other courses in Austin, I would think this course rank #1 in terms of playability for all skill levels.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 must play

1    7/27/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: skiper220
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: it provides a challenge with intricate shots and a hard turn right or left. no water hazards to worry about. most wholes a long and have a higher par. the longest whole is 18 (888 feet)
Cons: I dont recommend this course for a beginner. long wholes
Other Thoughts: its a great course to work on accuracy

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

1    3/22/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another awesome reason why Im so jealous of all the Austin golfers!! The shot selection here is great again and shows where this game needs to go to keep up with disc improvements. You have to be able to throw to A to get to B, and sometimes C. Two tee pads on every hole makes even the newcomers not feel overwhelmed with the difficulty here. The elevation and natural obstacles are present again not only on the greens but also many of the fairways and tees. The tee signs are great and help the guys never here navigate the course along with the worn trails. You will need all your shots and you will need to be throwing them well or you can get in trouble and can make for a long round. Plenty of shade helps the long round. Discatchers are always a bonus in my book and they are present here. The mulch is nice and helps with some of the soggy areas too. The fun factor alone was very high here which always helps.
Cons: Some of the baskets have tons of rusty chains. Almost all of them are higher then usually making the short game interesting. It's the hill country so there are lots of rocks and things so watch out if you have weak ankles/knees. Rough can get thicků.stay in the fairway;). People swimming in the creek 18 and after about 3 times of telling them to look out, and getting the "F" you response, you may just have to throw on em. Nobody was there when we got there but by the time we left it was packed, so Im sure it can get crowded which would make for a super long round.
Other Thoughts: As said before, the fun factor is high, combine that with the awesome scenery and great golf, it is another stop for sure if your in the area!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: freshlunker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shots available for all throwers. Plenty of distance required to achieve birdies. Great use of the landscape. Get ready to get technical. If you stay in the fairway, par should be attainable. Veering to either side of the fairway will result in bogey golf almost every time.
Cons: Some of the tee signs show a slightly different layout than the actual course."#3" Slow play on some days. Huge groups are often seen playing casually . It makes for a long round. The height of many of the targets seems too high. Hole 15 seemed to be at a more standard height.
Other Thoughts: Great to play in the winter. I think it will be more difficult to play in the spring and summer due to the growth of the trees and shrubs. Beware of the woods, sharp branches will cut you up if you find yourself searching for your disc. Great course for the true disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    3/8/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Interm. Player: Excellent course. Very diverse with the landscaping. Can't get lost (just stay to the pathway). Didn't get in anyones way. This course really helped me with my accuracy. Players area very friendly and helped with some disc selection for holes.
Cons: Played a little slow. You'll have to wait at times but for small groups the other players let us play through.
Other Thoughts: Would really like to play again and if I can afford to travel back. I would like to play some time this year for a tourney.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Terrain and then some

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Tee signs are great. Plenty of benches, trash cans, shady spots, etc. Alt tee pads on many holes. Nice development of the cuorse with walkways, bordering on paths and terrain support. many good options for shot selection. many different shots for a variety of disc applications. Course is generally trash free, kudos to the locals for maintaining and respecting this fine course.
Cons: Tee signs indicate next tee locations, but if you forget to look some transitions are tricky (remember to look). Some paths to the next tee are long 'nuf to be holes themselves. Some tee pads are a bit short for the hole lengths. I did not see spots for alt basket placements... but they might be here and I missed them.
Other Thoughts: I only played the front 9 as I was off to the airport and short on time, but walked the back 9 to the start/car. Overall a great course. Lacks a signature hole of some kind as a distinction, althought one of them (maybe 6) is a hard 90 deg. dog leg left that is sure to reslut in blown par. A few holes have interesting basket placements where a wayward putt will result in a second putt of greater distance than the first... Putt carefully... Use the practice baskets at the start (complete with fake turf) to sharpen up on your short game. Summer is hot. Bring water. This is both a disc golf course as well as a mid level hike. Wear the right shoes... plain tennies are not enough for the terrain.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.