Austin, TX
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #11 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 630ft.   4 / 552ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Short Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fantastic Variety

1    12/27/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tee pads is a big plus and in most cases the play from the longer offered a much different look with added trees of other obstacles.

18 was a really fun hole. Its 1000 feet of left hand turn that ends into another set of challenges. Its unique and a good marque hole.

Overall the course offers a lot of different challenges and the local woods were in good shape. The course hole maps were all in pretty good shape and helpful for the first round through.

The course has a lot of throw variety and requires a lot of different throws.
Cons: While each holes offers a different look and play, really they all look the same. The course plays through some moderate woods and really doesn't come out. The view and play by connection really feels redundant after a while.
Other Thoughts: Overall if you can keep it in the fairways and out of the trees its a pretty straight forward course. Being said, doing that was pretty challenging on many holes. The challenge in the hole to hole play made the course a great play throughout.

It was a fun course but no real visual variety from hole to hole. It was a fun course I'll definitely play again when in the area.

This course plays as one of the best in Austin but certainly is not one of the best in the country.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in Austin

5+    10/10/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is the variety of the holes. Even though the course play fairly long from the short tees, it really doesn't feel like that long after playing from the long tees. There's a distinct difference to the feel of the course from short and long tees. I think it's a strength of this course.

The navigation is, for the most part, pretty good except for couple of spots where it may get a bit confusing. There's garbage cans being available at certain holes, which will help you if you need to dispose of whatever.

The shot selections required for this course are broad. Many players would be well-suited if they are capable of throwing forehand, backhand, and maybe even overhand throws. On some of the holes, some strategy planning will be required to achieve par or better. It makes the game more interesting.
Cons: There's not that many drawbacks to this course, considering how it's being laid out, and the natural features of the landscape.

Some people may bemoan lack of water hazards, but sometimes it's unavoidable because of the natural order of things here in Central Texas.

While I have lauded the navigation, I will concede that on at least couple of holes, the navigation may be a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: I'm torn between giving this course 4 and 4.5. I settled on 4, because I think it's only fair to be a tough "grader" until I have played other courses that are consistently rated at 4.5 or higher, so I can at least attempt to be more well-rounded in my reviews.

Who is this course catered toward to? I think, for most part, virtually everyone can enjoy this course. The very new players will be frustrated at the length of some holes, but the more advanced players will absolutely love the option of playing from the long tees.

The fun factor for this course is definitely high. When compared to other courses in Austin, I would think this course rank #1 in terms of playability for all skill levels.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

must play

1    7/27/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: skiper220
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: it provides a challenge with intricate shots and a hard turn right or left. no water hazards to worry about. most wholes a long and have a higher par. the longest whole is 18 (888 feet)
Cons: I dont recommend this course for a beginner. long wholes
Other Thoughts: its a great course to work on accuracy

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

1    3/22/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another awesome reason why Im so jealous of all the Austin golfers!! The shot selection here is great again and shows where this game needs to go to keep up with disc improvements. You have to be able to throw to A to get to B, and sometimes C. Two tee pads on every hole makes even the newcomers not feel overwhelmed with the difficulty here. The elevation and natural obstacles are present again not only on the greens but also many of the fairways and tees. The tee signs are great and help the guys never here navigate the course along with the worn trails. You will need all your shots and you will need to be throwing them well or you can get in trouble and can make for a long round. Plenty of shade helps the long round. Discatchers are always a bonus in my book and they are present here. The mulch is nice and helps with some of the soggy areas too. The fun factor alone was very high here which always helps.
Cons: Some of the baskets have tons of rusty chains. Almost all of them are higher then usually making the short game interesting. It's the hill country so there are lots of rocks and things so watch out if you have weak ankles/knees. Rough can get thicků.stay in the fairway;). People swimming in the creek 18 and after about 3 times of telling them to look out, and getting the "F" you response, you may just have to throw on em. Nobody was there when we got there but by the time we left it was packed, so Im sure it can get crowded which would make for a super long round.
Other Thoughts: As said before, the fun factor is high, combine that with the awesome scenery and great golf, it is another stop for sure if your in the area!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: freshlunker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shots available for all throwers. Plenty of distance required to achieve birdies. Great use of the landscape. Get ready to get technical. If you stay in the fairway, par should be attainable. Veering to either side of the fairway will result in bogey golf almost every time.
Cons: Some of the tee signs show a slightly different layout than the actual course."#3" Slow play on some days. Huge groups are often seen playing casually . It makes for a long round. The height of many of the targets seems too high. Hole 15 seemed to be at a more standard height.
Other Thoughts: Great to play in the winter. I think it will be more difficult to play in the spring and summer due to the growth of the trees and shrubs. Beware of the woods, sharp branches will cut you up if you find yourself searching for your disc. Great course for the true disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    3/8/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Interm. Player: Excellent course. Very diverse with the landscaping. Can't get lost (just stay to the pathway). Didn't get in anyones way. This course really helped me with my accuracy. Players area very friendly and helped with some disc selection for holes.
Cons: Played a little slow. You'll have to wait at times but for small groups the other players let us play through.
Other Thoughts: Would really like to play again and if I can afford to travel back. I would like to play some time this year for a tourney.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Terrain and then some

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Tee signs are great. Plenty of benches, trash cans, shady spots, etc. Alt tee pads on many holes. Nice development of the cuorse with walkways, bordering on paths and terrain support. many good options for shot selection. many different shots for a variety of disc applications. Course is generally trash free, kudos to the locals for maintaining and respecting this fine course.
Cons: Tee signs indicate next tee locations, but if you forget to look some transitions are tricky (remember to look). Some paths to the next tee are long 'nuf to be holes themselves. Some tee pads are a bit short for the hole lengths. I did not see spots for alt basket placements... but they might be here and I missed them.
Other Thoughts: I only played the front 9 as I was off to the airport and short on time, but walked the back 9 to the start/car. Overall a great course. Lacks a signature hole of some kind as a distinction, althought one of them (maybe 6) is a hard 90 deg. dog leg left that is sure to reslut in blown par. A few holes have interesting basket placements where a wayward putt will result in a second putt of greater distance than the first... Putt carefully... Use the practice baskets at the start (complete with fake turf) to sharpen up on your short game. Summer is hot. Bring water. This is both a disc golf course as well as a mid level hike. Wear the right shoes... plain tennies are not enough for the terrain.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    5/7/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1128  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Practice Baskets. Two baskets offer a variety of practice opportunities.

Tees. Concrete tee pads, dual options on most holes are all in great shape. Multiple locations not only offer length options, but several change the lines quite well.

Challenge/Variety of Holes. Each hole was a new adventure, I found myself walking the length of each hole to check out lines and landing areas to plan my shot, each hole required a variety of shots and line shaping skills.

Beautiful. The landscape is incredible, it's not only a disc golf experience but a hike through the "wilderness." Amazing enough to find an area like this so close to the city, but to have a great disc golf course in the middle of it - I thoroughly enjoyed my experience here.

Amenities. Located in a sports complex of a park, bathrooms are available at the beginning. Trash cans can be found on several holes.
Cons: Vandalism. Yeah, I noticed the graffiti and various broken tee signs, didn't detract from the overall experience, but it's sad to see such a lack of respect for such a beautiful area.

Though the tees themselves are level, the area around doesn't offer a runup for those that like 10 feet behind the tee.

Not for Beginners. For one, it is very challenging and would have frustrated me terribly as a beginner. If I survived that and still kept playing, I'd be let down by any other course that I played afterward in this area.

Wood Chips. I don't know why shredded wood is so popular in this area, but it is very difficult to skip, and it makes footing challenging in areas.

Crowded. This course is popular for a reason, and everybody knows it - there may be a wait on weekends or in the afternoons.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, it will be hot out there, and it is a hike - take your time and enjoy this beauty of a course. Well worth the stop, if in Austin make this course a priority.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

1    12/11/2009   12/12/2009
Review By: vaderdave
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A true testament to a course is for an "out of Towner" to show up and enjoy themselves, on the course. This is what I did, I drove 60 miles showed up with no course map or score card. This course is so easy to follow it's unbelievable, great signage and very easy trails to follow. I loved the use of rocks to make drainage paths, and the lined trails. This disc golf course is great; I really enjoyed the elevation change, and the use of wood chops in the landing area in the fairway, and around some of the baskets. The approach shot on 18 is something to behold, an up hill shot across the creek, to an elevated basket.
Cons: On 18 the before mention creek must be crossed by "tight rope walking" across a log that has been laid in the creek. Leaving the 12th basket the path crosses the creek, but on this day the creek was five ft. deep, and 20 ft wide. It took me about five minutes to walk around this flooded creek. Not all baskets are regulation in height
Other Thoughts: A lot of work has gone into this course, and the locals should be proud of what they have. I enjoyed playing circle c. It was worth the drive.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/8/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: austin aero
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Love the tee signs and wide tee pads. The large block benchs are a great idea. They fit into the feel of the terrain and no maintence. The new design gets out further into the woods. I like getting away from the park and the feel of being out in the country.
Cons: The limestone rocks are pretty rough on the ankles in some areas--but then welcome to the Texas hill country.
Is it my imagination or is the basket on #9 high?
Other Thoughts: First time I've played this course in several years. I miss some of the old holes but it is a better, more challenging course. This was one of my favorite courses and with the new setup, I think it may go to the top of the list.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.