Austin, TX 
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #16 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 636ft.   4 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Beautiful, Well-Maintained

1    3/24/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Michler
Played: 232  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First-off, this course is extremely well-maintained down to the small details. It's in an enormous, multi-use park in what appeared to be a pretty nice suburb of Austin. There are 2 sets of generously sized cement tee-pads for all of the longer holes. The tees are nicely framed to prevent erosion. Walking paths are fairly easy to follow though the wooded portions of the course.

Approximately 50% of the course consists of reachable Par 3 holes that demand accurate shots through tight fairways. There are also several legitimate Par 4 and Par 5 holes that require both distance and placement. For the most part, I would describe these longer holes as fairly open, but still requiring a great deal of accuracy in your shot placement. There are plenty of trees and obstacles in play, but also room to work a variety of shot types. Both distance and accuracy are needed to score well.

Hole 18 is the signature hole!! Tight tee-shot to a wide open area. Then the approach to the pin is through a tunnel and over a ravine. Hole looks awesome and plays even better!!

The course is challenging, but also makes for a very fun round of golf. Not a lot of underbrush on the wooded holes, so losing discs is not much of an issue. Tee signs with the hole-maps are great!
Cons: As I was playing here for the first time, course routing was a bit of an issue in a couple spots. Some signage pointing to the next hole would be appreciated.

The terrain is a bit rocky in some areas, with Hole 1 probably being the worst. Not a big issue in my opinion, but perhaps worth mentioning as a few fairways are less than ideal.
Other Thoughts: Played without a map. Only got confused for any significant period of time in 1 spot. Would recommend bringing a map if playing blind though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

On the Ranch

1    5/3/2014   5/8/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Tons of variety in not only forcing you to use different shots but over varying lengths that go from short and technical to long bombs. I really liked how the course would give you a monster hole then a few shorter par 3's before sending you back to another fantastic par 4/5.

The strength of this course which has many is definitely the par 4/5's. Some of the absolute best holes I've ever played are on this course, not only from a technical standpoint but from a pure fun factor.

I really liked how the course sets up for varying skill levels. There are two pads on most holes and on the shorter par 3's the long pad doesn't usually add all that much distance but puts the pad in a place where your shot requires more skill going through an early gap or cutting an angle harder.

Also, on the long holes the obstacles range out for people of varying distances. The guy I played with had a shorter arm and was having to manage early gaps and turns while I was worrying about making a corner 400'+ and landing not in the super thick rough.

Adding on to that last part there is a good amount of risk/reward here. If you do try and stretch one out to far and get offline the rough is punishing and can force a lot of simple pitch outs. Trying to throw on to greens from distance is difficult here as well due to all the rocks and skips that can happen.

Really well designed green areas is another plus. It seems the basket was always tucked in a really nice spot to make you think about your approach or where you need to be to approach on the longer holes. I liked how in some places the basket would sit near the treeline in a place where you might easily skip in there if you're not careful how you're landing.

There's a bit of elevation change throughout the course, no big ups or downs but a few holes used it well to create difficulty.

I don't usually use this area of the review to mention holes but 18 is seriously amazing. Your drive requires power and accuracy and then from there on it's anybodies guess to how you'll play the hole. You can throw it up the shoot or try the big hyzer over the top. Wish I could play that hole all the time.

Equipment - Nice concrete pads that are framed in. Houck teesigns which in my opinion are some of the best. Baskets seemed in okay shape, not the best or worst.

There's practice baskets at the beginning along with a bathroom and water fountain.

Atmosphere - It's beautiful in it's own right. I haven't been to this part of the country a lot so I really enjoyed the Texas ranch vibe, felt like I was playing in a western movie.

The locals have done a nice job adding stonework to parts of the course to give it some character. I ended up meeting a local and getting a great guide for the round as well, everyone I met in Austin seemed to be really nice people.
Cons: Layout - Not to many cons really but some of the par 3's were a bit lacking in technicality and length. Overall the course isn't all that technical which isn't really a bad thing because it allows play from a wider variety of players; although if you come here looking for the ultimate challenge it isn't really that.

Some of the transitions were longer and I did have to stop and wait for my guide to show me where to go next. (although I'll add I wasn't paying attention to the next tee markers on the tee signs due to having a guide)

The course has some elevation but it's still relatively flat compared to some of the courses I play on the east coast.

Equipment - Some of the teesigns were missing when I was there.

Atmosphere - Even for a hot day the course was packed when I was there and I got stuck behind a big group which made the round even longer. You can not blame people for wanting to come here but keep that in mind if you want to come in and play from out of town.

It's dry and super rocky here, again not something I'm used to and you can only build on what you have so I don't blame the course at all. Just remember bring water and think twice before throwing base plastic here.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and it's clear most of the people in Austin do as well. If you want to play some true par 5's this course has them. I really wish I had just one course near me like Circle C.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Circle C

2-4    12/28/2013   1/22/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 5/18/2014
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Where to start! Well maintained, very wide variety of holes. Some right to left, some left to right, some straight shots, some tight fairways, some uphill some downhill, this course has it all! Not only is the hole variation and design of the course great but the property it's set on is beautiful as well. Course is clean with plenty of benches, tee signs, and trash cans around.
Cons: Only thing I can possibly think of is the navigation from hole 5 to 6 can be tricky. If there was one more sign to direct toward that hole then this course would be better.
Other Thoughts: Such a great course, definitely my favorite course in Austin. Probably my favorite course I've ever played. I recommend this course to any and all disc golfers!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best in Central Texas

5+    10/1/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is truly an amazing course - on the Pro/Advanced level of difficulty, this course will test all your shots and your will. Short and Long concrete tee boxes offer players of all skill levels an opportunity to compete. There are tee signs on every hole/tee. If you are looking for a challenge, you are at the right course. Stay in the fairway and you will be well on your way to a great time in ATX. This is one of the most challenging courses in Central Texas, next to Manor of course...
Cons: You may not want to throw your favorite plastic on this course. The rocky ground almost guarantees some level of carnage, so choose your shots wisely. Straying from the fairway will punish even the most adept players. My only real problem is the abusive amount of jagged rock, but that is just the terrain for ya.
Other Thoughts: Although it may be futile, everytime I play this course I kick or throw as many rocks as possible to the edge of the fairway. There have been some recent improvements in reference to several of the targets, I look forward to my next visit as I had to play the course without a few of the baskets in the ground. Still, always a treat to play Circle C. This course would get 5 stars for the quality of Tee Boxes, Signage, and Playability of the Course, however, the rocky fairways eat plastic.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bring your A game

2-4    6/10/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Dale W
Played: 82  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost everything. I played short pads first then the long pads to see just what the course had to offer. Lets start:
Requires every kind of shot: RHBH, RHFH, thumber, roller....I even threw a couple left handed.
No course favoritism for righties or lefties. Short holes, long holes, uphill, downhill, technical and open holes.
The long holes aren't just long to be long - require accuracy as well as distance.
You have to be able to plan and place your shot to set up the next shot.
You will need a good pair of hiking boots/shoes as the paths from hole to hole (as well as many of the fairways) are large natural rock.
Navigation is pretty easy, especially if you pay attention to the signage as it tells you the direction of the next hole and you will be able to see the path.
If you go into the rough, your best bet is to take your lumps, dump a shot out to the fairway (if you can), and play on. The rough isn't so dense as to make it impossible to find your disc, but it will punish you for a bad throw.
You think you have a decent score going, then you get to 18. A BEAST of a hole (over 800' even from the short pad, almost 900' from long). It isn't a straight, open 800+ either: Slight right to start in relative technical setting, opening up and arching left, ending in a tunnel over a creek to an elevated basket. Mean, but awesome hole to finish with.
Cons: I'm going to have to be pretty picky to find many cons.
Some signs are missing (9 and 10), but these are shorter holes and you can see the basket.
Trash cans are only set out every 4 or 5 holes but there is signage to tell you when the next set of cans are available.
Several of the holes have pretty long walks to the next tee.
Many blind holes as they are long and "L" shaped (right or left) or even a horseshoe.
A lot of the trees could use a haircut as they are in some cases hanging directly over the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: The main reason I gave this course a 4.5 instead of a 5 is the fairways. With many of the fairways being large natural rock, it will eat your disc up for lunch - that's just the nature of the location. Overall, one of the best and most fair courses (righty vs lefty) I've played even if it does kick your butt.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Circle C

1    8/17/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shots provides a challenge, however still very enjoyable
-Trash cans placed throughout the course
-Course is well used, and has great signage
-Very easy to navigate
-amazing practice baskets
-big stones provide great seats at every hole
-great tee pads
Cons: -course can be hard to find
-hardly any grass on the front 9 gets tiring walking on large gravel
-course can be very crowded on weekends
-parking is too far from the first hole and putting baskets
Other Thoughts: Amazing course and a must play!! Course is also very close to disc nation!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What a Course!

5+    6/16/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Circle C might be the best course in Austin, if not its a close second to ABR. I have played it 50 times plus and live close by.

Pros:
-Well planned and layed out blue and red tees boxes.
-Beautifuly done tee boxes and rock benches.
-Very challenging a dirverse shots and length of holes. Amazing design.
-Great for all levels of players.
-Always very well maintained.
-Multiple practice baskets.
-Trash cans throughout the course.
-Very friendly local players.
-Great signage, easy to follow.

Cons: Not much to compalin about.

-A lot of white rock throughout the course that tears up discs.
-No water hazards when they could have had a few.
-Can be very crowded on the weekends, but what do you expect its a great course.
Other Thoughts: Circle C is an amazing course. You can't ask for anything else out of a design. Especially since the remodel. If you are anywhere close and have never played this course you should get in the car and come right now. If you are not close make some plans.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

2-4    6/12/2011   7/12/2012
Review By: Preach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 38.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout of this course was fantastic! The holes offered multiple tees, so you could take it easy or really challenge yourself. The holes offered a pleasant mix of layout. Some of the holes are wide open so you can give it all you've got, while others were much tighter and required a great deal of finesse.
For the most part the rough was not so tough as to loose your disc but challenging enough to make you work to get out.
The pictures for this course tell much of the story. Enjoyed the fact that most of the time you were in relatively shaded areas, helped with the heat.
Cons: On one of the days we went they were having soccer games and it was tough to find a parking place. But the effort was well worth it.
Other Thoughts: When we were in Austin, the area had been without rain for some time. Most of the course reflected this as there was very little water. I have no clue what it would look like if they had received more rain.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course but quite challenging

5+    7/1/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Circle C is a wonderful course though it can be very challenging. The front 9 takes you through some wooded areas while the back 9 opens things up a bit. Overall the course has lots of great variety (up hill, down hill, turns, and so on).

I initially thought this course was insanely difficult but eventually I realized I just wasn't that good. It's definitely one of the tougher courses in the area but is still a lot of fun.
Cons: Not sure this is the best place to bring beginners. While the course itself is laid out wonderfully, it may frustrate beginners to the point where they do not wish to play. Also, several of the holes (such as 5 and 18) are quite long, and could be downright impossible for beginners to even bogey...forget about par.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to stay close to the paths. There are sometimes signs posted that warn about rattlesnakes. It should be a problem if you stay near the fairways but if you stray too far off you should be careful. Keep a close eye on your dogs, especially if they go exploring.

Stay hydrated, especially during the summer and try to not to get too frustrated on any particular hole. If you're not careful you can get sucked into the woods and be throwing at trees until you triple bogey. Just remember your mechanics, relax, and let the disc do the work. Sometimes it's better to eat one stroke just to throw out of the woods and setup a clean shot next time. And have fun!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Austin

5+    6/7/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bring your dog, bring your mom, bring your friend who doesn't know what a frisbee is (but don't let them play, just tell them to come for the walk). This place is awesome for more than just disc golf and there have been several times I've gone and people have come just for the walk. It is seriously beautiful.

The holes are extremely well marked, and the tee boxes are second to none (except for the new Roy G)

The design of the holes themselves is very intricate and is a great mix of both advanced tactics and plain fun shootin.

One of the main things I judge courses on is the risk/reward factor. When you have to think about your shots before you take them. If you decide to take a chance on a riskier shot, there is a chance you will be rewarded for it. If you play it safe, you'll enjoy yourself and come away with a respectable score.

This course provides plenty of this. The elevation changes are excellent and thoughtful.

Holes 1&2 require an accurate, deep drive and approach game and set up the course nicely.

Hole 4 requires some finesse driving, shooting through a low-hanging tunnel.

Hole 5 is awesome. Looong, varied drives (i usually flick my first drive then regular my second one. Then the box is hidden up on a hill making it really tough to birdie.

Hole 6 needs an incredibly accurate first drive, low through the trees.

Holes 9 & 10 are just way fun and gorgeous.

Hole 11 is a good, flowing hole that requires a couple long drives and an accurate putt/approach.

12-16 are all sort of classic disc golf holes, requiring a good drive and approach, but what sets them apart is the risk/reward. you're not just shooting to the basket. All of the baskets are protected somehow and you have to decide whether to go through, around, or over the trees. This is why this course gets the rating i give it.

Hole 17 is a nice par 3 breather for the monster you're about to face on 18.

18 requires two equally massive and accurate drives to set yourself up for an extremely difficult approach shot down a tunnel of trees and over a creek. If you can make those 3 shots, you'd damn well better make your putt because it's not very often that people will even have a chance of birding this hole. I've done it once and I don't even remember my score from that round because I was so ecstatic about birding 18.


You can tell that a lot of thinking and attention to detail went into not only the hole designs, but the entire experience. Heck all you have to do is look at the stonework on the paths between many of the holes to realize how much time and money went into this course.

That being said, KEEP IT CLEAN!
Cons: I'm sitting here trying to think of any cons, but it's tough. If there was a way to keep idiots off the course, it would be perfect. But most of the idiots go to searight anyway, so it's not that bad.

Only personal preference here, but I'm a sucker for water holes, and there aren't many on this course.
Other Thoughts: If you're coming to Austin, PLAY THIS COURSE. You won't regret it. Best course by far.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.