Austin, TX 
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #8 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Circle C

1    8/17/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shots provides a challenge, however still very enjoyable
-Trash cans placed throughout the course
-Course is well used, and has great signage
-Very easy to navigate
-amazing practice baskets
-big stones provide great seats at every hole
-great tee pads
Cons: -course can be hard to find
-hardly any grass on the front 9 gets tiring walking on large gravel
-course can be very crowded on weekends
-parking is too far from the first hole and putting baskets
Other Thoughts: Amazing course and a must play!! Course is also very close to disc nation!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

must play

1    7/27/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: skiper220
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: it provides a challenge with intricate shots and a hard turn right or left. no water hazards to worry about. most wholes a long and have a higher par. the longest whole is 18 (888 feet)
Cons: I dont recommend this course for a beginner. long wholes
Other Thoughts: its a great course to work on accuracy

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

What a Course!

5+    6/16/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Circle C might be the best course in Austin, if not its a close second to ABR. I have played it 50 times plus and live close by.

Pros:
-Well planned and layed out blue and red tees boxes.
-Beautifuly done tee boxes and rock benches.
-Very challenging a dirverse shots and length of holes. Amazing design.
-Great for all levels of players.
-Always very well maintained.
-Multiple practice baskets.
-Trash cans throughout the course.
-Very friendly local players.
-Great signage, easy to follow.

Cons: Not much to compalin about.

-A lot of white rock throughout the course that tears up discs.
-No water hazards when they could have had a few.
-Can be very crowded on the weekends, but what do you expect its a great course.
Other Thoughts: Circle C is an amazing course. You can't ask for anything else out of a design. Especially since the remodel. If you are anywhere close and have never played this course you should get in the car and come right now. If you are not close make some plans.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

2-4    6/12/2011   7/12/2012
Review By: Preach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 38.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout of this course was fantastic! The holes offered multiple tees, so you could take it easy or really challenge yourself. The holes offered a pleasant mix of layout. Some of the holes are wide open so you can give it all you've got, while others were much tighter and required a great deal of finesse.
For the most part the rough was not so tough as to loose your disc but challenging enough to make you work to get out.
The pictures for this course tell much of the story. Enjoyed the fact that most of the time you were in relatively shaded areas, helped with the heat.
Cons: On one of the days we went they were having soccer games and it was tough to find a parking place. But the effort was well worth it.
Other Thoughts: When we were in Austin, the area had been without rain for some time. Most of the course reflected this as there was very little water. I have no clue what it would look like if they had received more rain.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course but quite challenging

5+    7/1/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Circle C is a wonderful course though it can be very challenging. The front 9 takes you through some wooded areas while the back 9 opens things up a bit. Overall the course has lots of great variety (up hill, down hill, turns, and so on).

I initially thought this course was insanely difficult but eventually I realized I just wasn't that good. It's definitely one of the tougher courses in the area but is still a lot of fun.
Cons: Not sure this is the best place to bring beginners. While the course itself is laid out wonderfully, it may frustrate beginners to the point where they do not wish to play. Also, several of the holes (such as 5 and 18) are quite long, and could be downright impossible for beginners to even bogey...forget about par.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to stay close to the paths. There are sometimes signs posted that warn about rattlesnakes. It should be a problem if you stay near the fairways but if you stray too far off you should be careful. Keep a close eye on your dogs, especially if they go exploring.

Stay hydrated, especially during the summer and try to not to get too frustrated on any particular hole. If you're not careful you can get sucked into the woods and be throwing at trees until you triple bogey. Just remember your mechanics, relax, and let the disc do the work. Sometimes it's better to eat one stroke just to throw out of the woods and setup a clean shot next time. And have fun!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Austin

5+    6/7/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bring your dog, bring your mom, bring your friend who doesn't know what a frisbee is (but don't let them play, just tell them to come for the walk). This place is awesome for more than just disc golf and there have been several times I've gone and people have come just for the walk. It is seriously beautiful.

The holes are extremely well marked, and the tee boxes are second to none (except for the new Roy G)

The design of the holes themselves is very intricate and is a great mix of both advanced tactics and plain fun shootin.

One of the main things I judge courses on is the risk/reward factor. When you have to think about your shots before you take them. If you decide to take a chance on a riskier shot, there is a chance you will be rewarded for it. If you play it safe, you'll enjoy yourself and come away with a respectable score.

This course provides plenty of this. The elevation changes are excellent and thoughtful.

Holes 1&2 require an accurate, deep drive and approach game and set up the course nicely.

Hole 4 requires some finesse driving, shooting through a low-hanging tunnel.

Hole 5 is awesome. Looong, varied drives (i usually flick my first drive then regular my second one. Then the box is hidden up on a hill making it really tough to birdie.

Hole 6 needs an incredibly accurate first drive, low through the trees.

Holes 9 & 10 are just way fun and gorgeous.

Hole 11 is a good, flowing hole that requires a couple long drives and an accurate putt/approach.

12-16 are all sort of classic disc golf holes, requiring a good drive and approach, but what sets them apart is the risk/reward. you're not just shooting to the basket. All of the baskets are protected somehow and you have to decide whether to go through, around, or over the trees. This is why this course gets the rating i give it.

Hole 17 is a nice par 3 breather for the monster you're about to face on 18.

18 requires two equally massive and accurate drives to set yourself up for an extremely difficult approach shot down a tunnel of trees and over a creek. If you can make those 3 shots, you'd damn well better make your putt because it's not very often that people will even have a chance of birding this hole. I've done it once and I don't even remember my score from that round because I was so ecstatic about birding 18.


You can tell that a lot of thinking and attention to detail went into not only the hole designs, but the entire experience. Heck all you have to do is look at the stonework on the paths between many of the holes to realize how much time and money went into this course.

That being said, KEEP IT CLEAN!
Cons: I'm sitting here trying to think of any cons, but it's tough. If there was a way to keep idiots off the course, it would be perfect. But most of the idiots go to searight anyway, so it's not that bad.

Only personal preference here, but I'm a sucker for water holes, and there aren't many on this course.
Other Thoughts: If you're coming to Austin, PLAY THIS COURSE. You won't regret it. Best course by far.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The best course in Austin

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a town with a lot of disc golf courses, Circle C is easily the best.

First things first: This course is awesome. Please do your part to pick up trash as you play and deposit it in one of the many receptacles.

The course has two practice baskets, a bathroom, a water fountain, and a soccer field immediately adjacent to the first tee.

The tee signs and tee pads are superior. A lot of work has gone into framing the tees, creating erosion controls, and laying attractive mulch. Between the red and blue tees the course provides a fun challenge for all skill levels. I'd recommend bringing anyone here from brand spanking newbie to 1040 rated.

This is a challenging, modern par 64 golf course. The course provides a complete challenge with a variety of hole shapes. Course management is important to score well here. Power and technical requirements are well balanced. There are several holes that are on the short list for the best holes in disc golf.

The park is near a busy road and large housing development, but it feels very much rural. The holes are visually isolated from each other and vary in look and challenge.

The routing is mostly intuitive. In most cases the course seems to draw players through with rock-lined paths with minimal thinking of where to go.

The fairways are eminently fair. (maybe just a tiny bit on the side of a bit too wide) The rough is punishing in regards to score, but isn't so thick as to make discs tough to find and/or result in cuts or snake bites.

Some of the highlights include:

Hole 1: I love for courses to open with a par 4 and this one is very attractive. It's a gentle S shape that requires a well placed drive to set up an approach to a basket tucked a bit into a chute with a bit of a drop-off behind. It's not the hardest hole, but getting a birdie 3 does require putting together two good shots.

Hole 5 is a medium-length, dogleg par 5. Turning the corner, the basket is wonderfully framed up on a hill with trees closely guarding on three sides. The hole is very fair, offers the chance for eagle 3 for the big, big guns,seems like a "should get" birdie for many players, but is not a gimmee. It's all on the player to string together three good shots.

Hole 6 is one of the most challenging holes on the course. It's a fairly short, dogleg par 4 with a very demanding, technical tee shot. This is one of the better risk/reward tee shots. Getting a birdie 3 requires a risky, well-executed 275ish shot. Getting deflected on the tee shot can bring a double bogey into play.

Hole 7 is a tricky, short par 3. It requires a sweeping, flip-up hyzer and has a fairly steep drop-off behind the basket.

Normally, I do not care for holes that are straight uphill. Hole 9 is an exception to that sentiment. It is simply one of the most gorgeous holes I have seen. I guess it's a personal preference, but I stood on that pad for several minutes just looking at the hole before I threw. (the picture on this site doesn't do it justice).

Hole 12 is a very unique, risk/reward par 4. The tee shot is one of the most challenging and interesting in all of disc golf. The tee shot provides a "safe" 4 option or varying degrees of risky, thrown off a cliff, blind over some very tall trees. The wind is very tricky to read up there. The hole can be eagled by a big arm that pures a big, risky shot.

Holes 14 and 16 are medium-long par 4's that are very nicely shaped. The baskets are beautifully framed from the tees and they just look really good.

Hole 18 is an amazing finishing hole on a fantastic disc golf course. It's a double-dogleg par 5 that can be eagled by some insanely sick superhuman, like Will Schusterick, but is very much a 3 shot par 5 for the rest of us mortals. The tee shot requires power and accuracy. The second shot must be well place to afford a good angle down a chute. The final shot to the basket over the creek is absolutely gorgeous. A birdie 4 is very much a possibility after three well-thrown shots and a will make your Circle C smile even bigger.



Cons: Very few.

The course doesn't loop back after 9 holes.

There's a lot of litter that could cause the course to get pulled.

There are a couple spots that could use "next tee" signs.

It's just a little light on the technical challenge.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

1    3/22/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another awesome reason why Im so jealous of all the Austin golfers!! The shot selection here is great again and shows where this game needs to go to keep up with disc improvements. You have to be able to throw to A to get to B, and sometimes C. Two tee pads on every hole makes even the newcomers not feel overwhelmed with the difficulty here. The elevation and natural obstacles are present again not only on the greens but also many of the fairways and tees. The tee signs are great and help the guys never here navigate the course along with the worn trails. You will need all your shots and you will need to be throwing them well or you can get in trouble and can make for a long round. Plenty of shade helps the long round. Discatchers are always a bonus in my book and they are present here. The mulch is nice and helps with some of the soggy areas too. The fun factor alone was very high here which always helps.
Cons: Some of the baskets have tons of rusty chains. Almost all of them are higher then usually making the short game interesting. It's the hill country so there are lots of rocks and things so watch out if you have weak ankles/knees. Rough can get thicků.stay in the fairway;). People swimming in the creek 18 and after about 3 times of telling them to look out, and getting the "F" you response, you may just have to throw on em. Nobody was there when we got there but by the time we left it was packed, so Im sure it can get crowded which would make for a super long round.
Other Thoughts: As said before, the fun factor is high, combine that with the awesome scenery and great golf, it is another stop for sure if your in the area!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

1    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the course I play when I want to bring a guest to play disc golf in Austin. The best mix of holes of any course. Some are long, some are short. But, as I say, a good mix. Best hole here? Number 18, of course. I call it the Beast because it is so long, but will try every shot you could think of trying. 888' from the long tee and 822' from the Am tee. I also like the mix of Pro tees as well as Am tees. This course is proof that you don't have to be fancy to have a great disc golf course. The only one I have found comparable to it is the Gold course down in Ingleside, Tx.
Cons: What cons? I would be hard pressed to find any. If there is one, it probably would be the long walks between some tees and the creek hazard on 18, but those are things that can be dealt with, right?
Other Thoughts: Great course and great fun. Just bring good walking shoes and a bag full of your best discs. This is a course worth playing and coming back to.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Circle C

5+    3/11/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed, well kept course
Lots of good lefts and rights, ups and downs
Great signs
Long and short tees on several holes
Cement Tee Pads
Stone benches
Trash cans every few holes
One water hazard
Friendly locals
Paths are well defined
Cons: Fairly crowded
Parking can be a pain on the weekends
Can get pretty muddy at times
Other Thoughts: Very fun but tough course, is definitely one of my new go-to courses. Not the best for beginners, but a fun course none-the-less

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.