Disc Golf Store
Austin, TX
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #8 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Long Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun course but quite challenging

5+    7/1/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Circle C is a wonderful course though it can be very challenging. The front 9 takes you through some wooded areas while the back 9 opens things up a bit. Overall the course has lots of great variety (up hill, down hill, turns, and so on).

I initially thought this course was insanely difficult but eventually I realized I just wasn't that good. It's definitely one of the tougher courses in the area but is still a lot of fun.
Cons: Not sure this is the best place to bring beginners. While the course itself is laid out wonderfully, it may frustrate beginners to the point where they do not wish to play. Also, several of the holes (such as 5 and 18) are quite long, and could be downright impossible for beginners to even bogey...forget about par.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to stay close to the paths. There are sometimes signs posted that warn about rattlesnakes. It should be a problem if you stay near the fairways but if you stray too far off you should be careful. Keep a close eye on your dogs, especially if they go exploring.

Stay hydrated, especially during the summer and try to not to get too frustrated on any particular hole. If you're not careful you can get sucked into the woods and be throwing at trees until you triple bogey. Just remember your mechanics, relax, and let the disc do the work. Sometimes it's better to eat one stroke just to throw out of the woods and setup a clean shot next time. And have fun!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best in Austin

5+    6/7/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bring your dog, bring your mom, bring your friend who doesn't know what a frisbee is (but don't let them play, just tell them to come for the walk). This place is awesome for more than just disc golf and there have been several times I've gone and people have come just for the walk. It is seriously beautiful.

The holes are extremely well marked, and the tee boxes are second to none (except for the new Roy G)

The design of the holes themselves is very intricate and is a great mix of both advanced tactics and plain fun shootin.

One of the main things I judge courses on is the risk/reward factor. When you have to think about your shots before you take them. If you decide to take a chance on a riskier shot, there is a chance you will be rewarded for it. If you play it safe, you'll enjoy yourself and come away with a respectable score.

This course provides plenty of this. The elevation changes are excellent and thoughtful.

Holes 1&2 require an accurate, deep drive and approach game and set up the course nicely.

Hole 4 requires some finesse driving, shooting through a low-hanging tunnel.

Hole 5 is awesome. Looong, varied drives (i usually flick my first drive then regular my second one. Then the box is hidden up on a hill making it really tough to birdie.

Hole 6 needs an incredibly accurate first drive, low through the trees.

Holes 9 & 10 are just way fun and gorgeous.

Hole 11 is a good, flowing hole that requires a couple long drives and an accurate putt/approach.

12-16 are all sort of classic disc golf holes, requiring a good drive and approach, but what sets them apart is the risk/reward. you're not just shooting to the basket. All of the baskets are protected somehow and you have to decide whether to go through, around, or over the trees. This is why this course gets the rating i give it.

Hole 17 is a nice par 3 breather for the monster you're about to face on 18.

18 requires two equally massive and accurate drives to set yourself up for an extremely difficult approach shot down a tunnel of trees and over a creek. If you can make those 3 shots, you'd damn well better make your putt because it's not very often that people will even have a chance of birding this hole. I've done it once and I don't even remember my score from that round because I was so ecstatic about birding 18.


You can tell that a lot of thinking and attention to detail went into not only the hole designs, but the entire experience. Heck all you have to do is look at the stonework on the paths between many of the holes to realize how much time and money went into this course.

That being said, KEEP IT CLEAN!
Cons: I'm sitting here trying to think of any cons, but it's tough. If there was a way to keep idiots off the course, it would be perfect. But most of the idiots go to searight anyway, so it's not that bad.

Only personal preference here, but I'm a sucker for water holes, and there aren't many on this course.
Other Thoughts: If you're coming to Austin, PLAY THIS COURSE. You won't regret it. Best course by far.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The best course in Austin

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a town with a lot of disc golf courses, Circle C is easily the best.

First things first: This course is awesome. Please do your part to pick up trash as you play and deposit it in one of the many receptacles.

The course has two practice baskets, a bathroom, a water fountain, and a soccer field immediately adjacent to the first tee.

The tee signs and tee pads are superior. A lot of work has gone into framing the tees, creating erosion controls, and laying attractive mulch. Between the red and blue tees the course provides a fun challenge for all skill levels. I'd recommend bringing anyone here from brand spanking newbie to 1040 rated.

This is a challenging, modern par 64 golf course. The course provides a complete challenge with a variety of hole shapes. Course management is important to score well here. Power and technical requirements are well balanced. There are several holes that are on the short list for the best holes in disc golf.

The park is near a busy road and large housing development, but it feels very much rural. The holes are visually isolated from each other and vary in look and challenge.

The routing is mostly intuitive. In most cases the course seems to draw players through with rock-lined paths with minimal thinking of where to go.

The fairways are eminently fair. (maybe just a tiny bit on the side of a bit too wide) The rough is punishing in regards to score, but isn't so thick as to make discs tough to find and/or result in cuts or snake bites.

Some of the highlights include:

Hole 1: I love for courses to open with a par 4 and this one is very attractive. It's a gentle S shape that requires a well placed drive to set up an approach to a basket tucked a bit into a chute with a bit of a drop-off behind. It's not the hardest hole, but getting a birdie 3 does require putting together two good shots.

Hole 5 is a medium-length, dogleg par 5. Turning the corner, the basket is wonderfully framed up on a hill with trees closely guarding on three sides. The hole is very fair, offers the chance for eagle 3 for the big, big guns,seems like a "should get" birdie for many players, but is not a gimmee. It's all on the player to string together three good shots.

Hole 6 is one of the most challenging holes on the course. It's a fairly short, dogleg par 4 with a very demanding, technical tee shot. This is one of the better risk/reward tee shots. Getting a birdie 3 requires a risky, well-executed 275ish shot. Getting deflected on the tee shot can bring a double bogey into play.

Hole 7 is a tricky, short par 3. It requires a sweeping, flip-up hyzer and has a fairly steep drop-off behind the basket.

Normally, I do not care for holes that are straight uphill. Hole 9 is an exception to that sentiment. It is simply one of the most gorgeous holes I have seen. I guess it's a personal preference, but I stood on that pad for several minutes just looking at the hole before I threw. (the picture on this site doesn't do it justice).

Hole 12 is a very unique, risk/reward par 4. The tee shot is one of the most challenging and interesting in all of disc golf. The tee shot provides a "safe" 4 option or varying degrees of risky, thrown off a cliff, blind over some very tall trees. The wind is very tricky to read up there. The hole can be eagled by a big arm that pures a big, risky shot.

Holes 14 and 16 are medium-long par 4's that are very nicely shaped. The baskets are beautifully framed from the tees and they just look really good.

Hole 18 is an amazing finishing hole on a fantastic disc golf course. It's a double-dogleg par 5 that can be eagled by some insanely sick superhuman, like Will Schusterick, but is very much a 3 shot par 5 for the rest of us mortals. The tee shot requires power and accuracy. The second shot must be well place to afford a good angle down a chute. The final shot to the basket over the creek is absolutely gorgeous. A birdie 4 is very much a possibility after three well-thrown shots and a will make your Circle C smile even bigger.



Cons: Very few.

The course doesn't loop back after 9 holes.

There's a lot of litter that could cause the course to get pulled.

There are a couple spots that could use "next tee" signs.

It's just a little light on the technical challenge.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

1    3/22/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another awesome reason why Im so jealous of all the Austin golfers!! The shot selection here is great again and shows where this game needs to go to keep up with disc improvements. You have to be able to throw to A to get to B, and sometimes C. Two tee pads on every hole makes even the newcomers not feel overwhelmed with the difficulty here. The elevation and natural obstacles are present again not only on the greens but also many of the fairways and tees. The tee signs are great and help the guys never here navigate the course along with the worn trails. You will need all your shots and you will need to be throwing them well or you can get in trouble and can make for a long round. Plenty of shade helps the long round. Discatchers are always a bonus in my book and they are present here. The mulch is nice and helps with some of the soggy areas too. The fun factor alone was very high here which always helps.
Cons: Some of the baskets have tons of rusty chains. Almost all of them are higher then usually making the short game interesting. It's the hill country so there are lots of rocks and things so watch out if you have weak ankles/knees. Rough can get thicků.stay in the fairway;). People swimming in the creek 18 and after about 3 times of telling them to look out, and getting the "F" you response, you may just have to throw on em. Nobody was there when we got there but by the time we left it was packed, so Im sure it can get crowded which would make for a super long round.
Other Thoughts: As said before, the fun factor is high, combine that with the awesome scenery and great golf, it is another stop for sure if your in the area!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

1    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the course I play when I want to bring a guest to play disc golf in Austin. The best mix of holes of any course. Some are long, some are short. But, as I say, a good mix. Best hole here? Number 18, of course. I call it the Beast because it is so long, but will try every shot you could think of trying. 888' from the long tee and 822' from the Am tee. I also like the mix of Pro tees as well as Am tees. This course is proof that you don't have to be fancy to have a great disc golf course. The only one I have found comparable to it is the Gold course down in Ingleside, Tx.
Cons: What cons? I would be hard pressed to find any. If there is one, it probably would be the long walks between some tees and the creek hazard on 18, but those are things that can be dealt with, right?
Other Thoughts: Great course and great fun. Just bring good walking shoes and a bag full of your best discs. This is a course worth playing and coming back to.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Circle C

5+    3/11/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed, well kept course
Lots of good lefts and rights, ups and downs
Great signs
Long and short tees on several holes
Cement Tee Pads
Stone benches
Trash cans every few holes
One water hazard
Friendly locals
Paths are well defined
Cons: Fairly crowded
Parking can be a pain on the weekends
Can get pretty muddy at times
Other Thoughts: Very fun but tough course, is definitely one of my new go-to courses. Not the best for beginners, but a fun course none-the-less

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a Place

5+    2/10/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: AceHunter
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wide variety of shots here and a great mix of short and long holes. More on the long side, but still a lot of fun.
-Course upkeep seems to be very good here and it is pretty clean. And the baskets are in good shape.
-2 practice baskets and a soccer field to warm up with near hole 1.
-Not a lot of water to worry about unless there is a really big rain and then just on hole 18.
-Concrete tee boxes for red and blue and great signage. Trash cans at a few holes and there is a bathroom and water fountains at the beginning of the course near the parking lot. Also, there a large stone benches at every hole.
-Doesn't seem to favor forehand or backhand.
Cons: -This course is a disc killer in my opinion. Lots of holes are loaded with rocks and your landings can easily chip your disc. Also, some of the tight tree lines on the front nine guarantee you'll occasionally hit one really hard on a bad drive.
-The course is so good that it is often crowded in the later part of the weekdays and on weekends (and some of the younger groups don't seem to fully get the etiquette).
-You will get random people walking on the course even though an effort has clearly been made to keep the trails separate from the course. It isn't too bad, though.


Other Thoughts: It really is easy to see why so many people love this course. It is so much fun to play and is very challenging - especially if you usually play the blue tees as I do. The front nine has several holes where the blue tee adds an extra tree obstacle. The park is very nice and despite the heavy tree lines along a lot of fairways, they seem to give a lot of friendly kicks. There have been many times after a drive where I thought I was buried really deep and ended up on the edge or barely in the bush.

Physically, the course isn't too bad. There are some holes that can be a bit rough to walk (mostly on the front 9) and you have to watch your step, but overall it isn't too bad. Sometimes the overall length can get to my arm towards the end. The two longer holes (5 and 18) can get really rough on those bad days, but I love the challenge.

If you're in Austin and haven't played it yet, GET THERE!


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: freshlunker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shots available for all throwers. Plenty of distance required to achieve birdies. Great use of the landscape. Get ready to get technical. If you stay in the fairway, par should be attainable. Veering to either side of the fairway will result in bogey golf almost every time.
Cons: Some of the tee signs show a slightly different layout than the actual course."#3" Slow play on some days. Huge groups are often seen playing casually . It makes for a long round. The height of many of the targets seems too high. Hole 15 seemed to be at a more standard height.
Other Thoughts: Great to play in the winter. I think it will be more difficult to play in the spring and summer due to the growth of the trees and shrubs. Beware of the woods, sharp branches will cut you up if you find yourself searching for your disc. Great course for the true disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

probably Texas' best

5+    12/27/2010   11/28/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing piece of land and fantastic design
-tons of variety and tons of fun
-dual concrete tees on most holes (6 shorter holes have 1 tee)
-great Houck signs, discatchers in good shape
-extremely challenging course
-legit par 4's & 5's with strategic landing zones
-wooded shots, open bombs, huge doglegs
-even some elevation, take what you can get in Texas!
-polished details: wood-lined tees, limestone seats, wood-chipped fairways, drainage channels, wood-lined paths and even some fairways
-2 practice baskets, tons of parking, huge multi-use park, water fountains and bathrooms at entrance
Cons: -no water, no alternate pins
-some very rocky terrain that can be tough on your plastic
-not too bad but it kills me to see trash out here
-navigation can be a little tricky here and there but there are well-traveled paths and next tee markers on the signs
-the wood-chipped fairways aren't very good for skip shots. maybe it was too rocky underneath and this was the better option?
Other Thoughts: This is quite simply one of the best courses I have played in Texas. It is truly an experience unto itself. The amount of variety and character packed into one well-designed and well-polished course is a testament to Olse, Houck, and the Austin DG scene.

The course is mostly carved out of the woods with well-defined fairways and many tree obstacles. There are also more open and grassy areas but the majority of holes have narrow to mid-sized fairways and thick rough. Several holes also have small gaps to hit, lots of early trouble. Doglegs right and left and make you work a variety of lines and distances range from 200' to 888' with six par 4's and two par 5's!

As if challenging golf and great variety were not enough, this is one of the most polished courses I have seen, and aesthetically pleasing too if you like the Texas hill country. The wood-chipped fairways, Houck signs, dual tees with wood lining, limestone seats on many holes, drainage channels, wood linings on paths and some fairways, a huge practice putting area with 2 baskets, and other park amenities give you very little to complain about here.

This is a challenging course but is still pretty fair to beginners as the short tees pretty accommodating. I'm sure anyone can come out here and appreciate this course. The short list of complaints include the lack of any water hazards and alternate pin locations, the latter of which is surprising for such a well-planned and well-executed course. Also, the wood-chipped fairways won't help you on your skip-hyzer shots but it does look nice and there is probably a lot of rocky soil underneath anyway.

There are endless good things to say about this course; it has just about everything you could ask for in a course. Absolutely a destination course and definitely the place to play if you can only choose one Austin-area course. A must-play!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course (layout and scenery!)

5+    8/16/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: js1573
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is such a beautiful course to play, in both the layout and the scenery. two tees, pro & am, so folks from the different skill levels can choose their tee. excellent course for a beginner or intermediate player to work on their drives and skill shots.
Cons: it's a hike around the course, be prepared (wear proper footwear, sandals won't do here!). parking can be a problem when the park is hosting soccer games (weekends, seasonal).
Other Thoughts: when driving through the subdivision (Circle C), make sure you don't speed... there are cops everywhere doing speed traps. course related, this is a definite course to play if you're in the Austin area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.