Austin, TX 
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 516ft.   4 / 462ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best in Central Texas

5+    10/1/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is truly an amazing course - on the Pro/Advanced level of difficulty, this course will test all your shots and your will. Short and Long concrete tee boxes offer players of all skill levels an opportunity to compete. There are tee signs on every hole/tee. If you are looking for a challenge, you are at the right course. Stay in the fairway and you will be well on your way to a great time in ATX. This is one of the most challenging courses in Central Texas, next to Manor of course...
Cons: You may not want to throw your favorite plastic on this course. The rocky ground almost guarantees some level of carnage, so choose your shots wisely. Straying from the fairway will punish even the most adept players. My only real problem is the abusive amount of jagged rock, but that is just the terrain for ya.
Other Thoughts: Although it may be futile, everytime I play this course I kick or throw as many rocks as possible to the edge of the fairway. There have been some recent improvements in reference to several of the targets, I look forward to my next visit as I had to play the course without a few of the baskets in the ground. Still, always a treat to play Circle C. This course would get 5 stars for the quality of Tee Boxes, Signage, and Playability of the Course, however, the rocky fairways eat plastic.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bring your A game

2-4    6/10/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Dale W
Played: 82  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost everything. I played short pads first then the long pads to see just what the course had to offer. Lets start:
Requires every kind of shot: RHBH, RHFH, thumber, roller....I even threw a couple left handed.
No course favoritism for righties or lefties. Short holes, long holes, uphill, downhill, technical and open holes.
The long holes aren't just long to be long - require accuracy as well as distance.
You have to be able to plan and place your shot to set up the next shot.
You will need a good pair of hiking boots/shoes as the paths from hole to hole (as well as many of the fairways) are large natural rock.
Navigation is pretty easy, especially if you pay attention to the signage as it tells you the direction of the next hole and you will be able to see the path.
If you go into the rough, your best bet is to take your lumps, dump a shot out to the fairway (if you can), and play on. The rough isn't so dense as to make it impossible to find your disc, but it will punish you for a bad throw.
You think you have a decent score going, then you get to 18. A BEAST of a hole (over 800' even from the short pad, almost 900' from long). It isn't a straight, open 800+ either: Slight right to start in relative technical setting, opening up and arching left, ending in a tunnel over a creek to an elevated basket. Mean, but awesome hole to finish with.
Cons: I'm going to have to be pretty picky to find many cons.
Some signs are missing (9 and 10), but these are shorter holes and you can see the basket.
Trash cans are only set out every 4 or 5 holes but there is signage to tell you when the next set of cans are available.
Several of the holes have pretty long walks to the next tee.
Many blind holes as they are long and "L" shaped (right or left) or even a horseshoe.
A lot of the trees could use a haircut as they are in some cases hanging directly over the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: The main reason I gave this course a 4.5 instead of a 5 is the fairways. With many of the fairways being large natural rock, it will eat your disc up for lunch - that's just the nature of the location. Overall, one of the best and most fair courses (righty vs lefty) I've played even if it does kick your butt.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Variety

1    12/27/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tee pads is a big plus and in most cases the play from the longer offered a much different look with added trees of other obstacles.

18 was a really fun hole. Its 1000 feet of left hand turn that ends into another set of challenges. Its unique and a good marque hole.

Overall the course offers a lot of different challenges and the local woods were in good shape. The course hole maps were all in pretty good shape and helpful for the first round through.

The course has a lot of throw variety and requires a lot of different throws.
Cons: While each holes offers a different look and play, really they all look the same. The course plays through some moderate woods and really doesn't come out. The view and play by connection really feels redundant after a while.
Other Thoughts: Overall if you can keep it in the fairways and out of the trees its a pretty straight forward course. Being said, doing that was pretty challenging on many holes. The challenge in the hole to hole play made the course a great play throughout.

It was a fun course but no real visual variety from hole to hole. It was a fun course I'll definitely play again when in the area.

This course plays as one of the best in Austin but certainly is not one of the best in the country.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in Austin

5+    10/10/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is the variety of the holes. Even though the course play fairly long from the short tees, it really doesn't feel like that long after playing from the long tees. There's a distinct difference to the feel of the course from short and long tees. I think it's a strength of this course.

The navigation is, for the most part, pretty good except for couple of spots where it may get a bit confusing. There's garbage cans being available at certain holes, which will help you if you need to dispose of whatever.

The shot selections required for this course are broad. Many players would be well-suited if they are capable of throwing forehand, backhand, and maybe even overhand throws. On some of the holes, some strategy planning will be required to achieve par or better. It makes the game more interesting.
Cons: There's not that many drawbacks to this course, considering how it's being laid out, and the natural features of the landscape.

Some people may bemoan lack of water hazards, but sometimes it's unavoidable because of the natural order of things here in Central Texas.

While I have lauded the navigation, I will concede that on at least couple of holes, the navigation may be a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: I'm torn between giving this course 4 and 4.5. I settled on 4, because I think it's only fair to be a tough "grader" until I have played other courses that are consistently rated at 4.5 or higher, so I can at least attempt to be more well-rounded in my reviews.

Who is this course catered toward to? I think, for most part, virtually everyone can enjoy this course. The very new players will be frustrated at the length of some holes, but the more advanced players will absolutely love the option of playing from the long tees.

The fun factor for this course is definitely high. When compared to other courses in Austin, I would think this course rank #1 in terms of playability for all skill levels.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Circle C

1    8/17/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shots provides a challenge, however still very enjoyable
-Trash cans placed throughout the course
-Course is well used, and has great signage
-Very easy to navigate
-amazing practice baskets
-big stones provide great seats at every hole
-great tee pads
Cons: -course can be hard to find
-hardly any grass on the front 9 gets tiring walking on large gravel
-course can be very crowded on weekends
-parking is too far from the first hole and putting baskets
Other Thoughts: Amazing course and a must play!! Course is also very close to disc nation!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 must play

1    7/27/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: skiper220
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: it provides a challenge with intricate shots and a hard turn right or left. no water hazards to worry about. most wholes a long and have a higher par. the longest whole is 18 (888 feet)
Cons: I dont recommend this course for a beginner. long wholes
Other Thoughts: its a great course to work on accuracy

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 What a Course!

5+    6/16/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Circle C might be the best course in Austin, if not its a close second to ABR. I have played it 50 times plus and live close by.

Pros:
-Well planned and layed out blue and red tees boxes.
-Beautifuly done tee boxes and rock benches.
-Very challenging a dirverse shots and length of holes. Amazing design.
-Great for all levels of players.
-Always very well maintained.
-Multiple practice baskets.
-Trash cans throughout the course.
-Very friendly local players.
-Great signage, easy to follow.

Cons: Not much to compalin about.

-A lot of white rock throughout the course that tears up discs.
-No water hazards when they could have had a few.
-Can be very crowded on the weekends, but what do you expect its a great course.
Other Thoughts: Circle C is an amazing course. You can't ask for anything else out of a design. Especially since the remodel. If you are anywhere close and have never played this course you should get in the car and come right now. If you are not close make some plans.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

2-4    6/12/2011   7/12/2012
Review By: Preach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 39 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout of this course was fantastic! The holes offered multiple tees, so you could take it easy or really challenge yourself. The holes offered a pleasant mix of layout. Some of the holes are wide open so you can give it all you've got, while others were much tighter and required a great deal of finesse.
For the most part the rough was not so tough as to loose your disc but challenging enough to make you work to get out.
The pictures for this course tell much of the story. Enjoyed the fact that most of the time you were in relatively shaded areas, helped with the heat.
Cons: On one of the days we went they were having soccer games and it was tough to find a parking place. But the effort was well worth it.
Other Thoughts: When we were in Austin, the area had been without rain for some time. Most of the course reflected this as there was very little water. I have no clue what it would look like if they had received more rain.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course but quite challenging

5+    7/1/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Circle C is a wonderful course though it can be very challenging. The front 9 takes you through some wooded areas while the back 9 opens things up a bit. Overall the course has lots of great variety (up hill, down hill, turns, and so on).

I initially thought this course was insanely difficult but eventually I realized I just wasn't that good. It's definitely one of the tougher courses in the area but is still a lot of fun.
Cons: Not sure this is the best place to bring beginners. While the course itself is laid out wonderfully, it may frustrate beginners to the point where they do not wish to play. Also, several of the holes (such as 5 and 18) are quite long, and could be downright impossible for beginners to even bogey...forget about par.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to stay close to the paths. There are sometimes signs posted that warn about rattlesnakes. It should be a problem if you stay near the fairways but if you stray too far off you should be careful. Keep a close eye on your dogs, especially if they go exploring.

Stay hydrated, especially during the summer and try to not to get too frustrated on any particular hole. If you're not careful you can get sucked into the woods and be throwing at trees until you triple bogey. Just remember your mechanics, relax, and let the disc do the work. Sometimes it's better to eat one stroke just to throw out of the woods and setup a clean shot next time. And have fun!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Austin

5+    6/7/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bring your dog, bring your mom, bring your friend who doesn't know what a frisbee is (but don't let them play, just tell them to come for the walk). This place is awesome for more than just disc golf and there have been several times I've gone and people have come just for the walk. It is seriously beautiful.

The holes are extremely well marked, and the tee boxes are second to none (except for the new Roy G)

The design of the holes themselves is very intricate and is a great mix of both advanced tactics and plain fun shootin.

One of the main things I judge courses on is the risk/reward factor. When you have to think about your shots before you take them. If you decide to take a chance on a riskier shot, there is a chance you will be rewarded for it. If you play it safe, you'll enjoy yourself and come away with a respectable score.

This course provides plenty of this. The elevation changes are excellent and thoughtful.

Holes 1&2 require an accurate, deep drive and approach game and set up the course nicely.

Hole 4 requires some finesse driving, shooting through a low-hanging tunnel.

Hole 5 is awesome. Looong, varied drives (i usually flick my first drive then regular my second one. Then the box is hidden up on a hill making it really tough to birdie.

Hole 6 needs an incredibly accurate first drive, low through the trees.

Holes 9 & 10 are just way fun and gorgeous.

Hole 11 is a good, flowing hole that requires a couple long drives and an accurate putt/approach.

12-16 are all sort of classic disc golf holes, requiring a good drive and approach, but what sets them apart is the risk/reward. you're not just shooting to the basket. All of the baskets are protected somehow and you have to decide whether to go through, around, or over the trees. This is why this course gets the rating i give it.

Hole 17 is a nice par 3 breather for the monster you're about to face on 18.

18 requires two equally massive and accurate drives to set yourself up for an extremely difficult approach shot down a tunnel of trees and over a creek. If you can make those 3 shots, you'd damn well better make your putt because it's not very often that people will even have a chance of birding this hole. I've done it once and I don't even remember my score from that round because I was so ecstatic about birding 18.


You can tell that a lot of thinking and attention to detail went into not only the hole designs, but the entire experience. Heck all you have to do is look at the stonework on the paths between many of the holes to realize how much time and money went into this course.

That being said, KEEP IT CLEAN!
Cons: I'm sitting here trying to think of any cons, but it's tough. If there was a way to keep idiots off the course, it would be perfect. But most of the idiots go to searight anyway, so it's not that bad.

Only personal preference here, but I'm a sucker for water holes, and there aren't many on this course.
Other Thoughts: If you're coming to Austin, PLAY THIS COURSE. You won't regret it. Best course by far.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.