Austin, TX 
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 516ft.   4 / 462ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Short Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 What a Place

5+    2/10/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: AceHunter
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wide variety of shots here and a great mix of short and long holes. More on the long side, but still a lot of fun.
-Course upkeep seems to be very good here and it is pretty clean. And the baskets are in good shape.
-2 practice baskets and a soccer field to warm up with near hole 1.
-Not a lot of water to worry about unless there is a really big rain and then just on hole 18.
-Concrete tee boxes for red and blue and great signage. Trash cans at a few holes and there is a bathroom and water fountains at the beginning of the course near the parking lot. Also, there a large stone benches at every hole.
-Doesn't seem to favor forehand or backhand.
Cons: -This course is a disc killer in my opinion. Lots of holes are loaded with rocks and your landings can easily chip your disc. Also, some of the tight tree lines on the front nine guarantee you'll occasionally hit one really hard on a bad drive.
-The course is so good that it is often crowded in the later part of the weekdays and on weekends (and some of the younger groups don't seem to fully get the etiquette).
-You will get random people walking on the course even though an effort has clearly been made to keep the trails separate from the course. It isn't too bad, though.


Other Thoughts: It really is easy to see why so many people love this course. It is so much fun to play and is very challenging - especially if you usually play the blue tees as I do. The front nine has several holes where the blue tee adds an extra tree obstacle. The park is very nice and despite the heavy tree lines along a lot of fairways, they seem to give a lot of friendly kicks. There have been many times after a drive where I thought I was buried really deep and ended up on the edge or barely in the bush.

Physically, the course isn't too bad. There are some holes that can be a bit rough to walk (mostly on the front 9) and you have to watch your step, but overall it isn't too bad. Sometimes the overall length can get to my arm towards the end. The two longer holes (5 and 18) can get really rough on those bad days, but I love the challenge.

If you're in Austin and haven't played it yet, GET THERE!


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: freshlunker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shots available for all throwers. Plenty of distance required to achieve birdies. Great use of the landscape. Get ready to get technical. If you stay in the fairway, par should be attainable. Veering to either side of the fairway will result in bogey golf almost every time.
Cons: Some of the tee signs show a slightly different layout than the actual course."#3" Slow play on some days. Huge groups are often seen playing casually . It makes for a long round. The height of many of the targets seems too high. Hole 15 seemed to be at a more standard height.
Other Thoughts: Great to play in the winter. I think it will be more difficult to play in the spring and summer due to the growth of the trees and shrubs. Beware of the woods, sharp branches will cut you up if you find yourself searching for your disc. Great course for the true disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

probably Texas' best

5+    12/27/2010   11/28/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing piece of land and fantastic design
-tons of variety and tons of fun
-dual concrete tees on most holes (6 shorter holes have 1 tee)
-great Houck signs, discatchers in good shape
-extremely challenging course
-legit par 4's & 5's with strategic landing zones
-wooded shots, open bombs, huge doglegs
-even some elevation, take what you can get in Texas!
-polished details: wood-lined tees, limestone seats, wood-chipped fairways, drainage channels, wood-lined paths and even some fairways
-2 practice baskets, tons of parking, huge multi-use park, water fountains and bathrooms at entrance
Cons: -no water, no alternate pins
-some very rocky terrain that can be tough on your plastic
-not too bad but it kills me to see trash out here
-navigation can be a little tricky here and there but there are well-traveled paths and next tee markers on the signs
-the wood-chipped fairways aren't very good for skip shots. maybe it was too rocky underneath and this was the better option?
Other Thoughts: This is quite simply one of the best courses I have played in Texas. It is truly an experience unto itself. The amount of variety and character packed into one well-designed and well-polished course is a testament to Olse, Houck, and the Austin DG scene.

The course is mostly carved out of the woods with well-defined fairways and many tree obstacles. There are also more open and grassy areas but the majority of holes have narrow to mid-sized fairways and thick rough. Several holes also have small gaps to hit, lots of early trouble. Doglegs right and left and make you work a variety of lines and distances range from 200' to 888' with six par 4's and two par 5's!

As if challenging golf and great variety were not enough, this is one of the most polished courses I have seen, and aesthetically pleasing too if you like the Texas hill country. The wood-chipped fairways, Houck signs, dual tees with wood lining, limestone seats on many holes, drainage channels, wood linings on paths and some fairways, a huge practice putting area with 2 baskets, and other park amenities give you very little to complain about here.

This is a challenging course but is still pretty fair to beginners as the short tees pretty accommodating. I'm sure anyone can come out here and appreciate this course. The short list of complaints include the lack of any water hazards and alternate pin locations, the latter of which is surprising for such a well-planned and well-executed course. Also, the wood-chipped fairways won't help you on your skip-hyzer shots but it does look nice and there is probably a lot of rocky soil underneath anyway.

There are endless good things to say about this course; it has just about everything you could ask for in a course. Absolutely a destination course and definitely the place to play if you can only choose one Austin-area course. A must-play!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course (layout and scenery!)

5+    8/16/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: js1573
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is such a beautiful course to play, in both the layout and the scenery. two tees, pro & am, so folks from the different skill levels can choose their tee. excellent course for a beginner or intermediate player to work on their drives and skill shots.
Cons: it's a hike around the course, be prepared (wear proper footwear, sandals won't do here!). parking can be a problem when the park is hosting soccer games (weekends, seasonal).
Other Thoughts: when driving through the subdivision (Circle C), make sure you don't speed... there are cops everywhere doing speed traps. course related, this is a definite course to play if you're in the Austin area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/29/2010   7/29/2011
Review By: CKR-JK
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tee pads.
Alotof time and money went into this course.
Hole 18 is sick. If you can get a 4, you da man.
Cons: Litter.
Long waits when its a nice day with so many casuals.
Have to carry alot of water on hot days.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Austin.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Slaughter Creek ALLRIGHT!!

1    1/16/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Large dual concrete tees are always appreciated on any course, but especially on one as challenging as this one.

2) Discatchers in great shape and the yellow bands are helpful in the woods to find the basket . . . they catch well and look good too.

3) Lots of the walk paths are lined with trees and stuff to help guide you from one hole to the next.
This is a navigation aid, but it also looks good in my opinion.

4) Mulch used all over this course helps to cut down on the compaction while improving the visual appearance of the course too.

5) Signs are typical Houck signs which lead the pack as far as I am concerned. All of the info like Par, distance, Hole #, and a map of the hole are included.

6) Artificial turf placed around the first tee as well as the practice basket. I wrote this down on my sheet of paper of notes for my review, but the picture on the course doesn't show any turf . . .Im not 100% or perhaps there has been a change.

7) Multiple practice baskets allow for putts and even some short approaches. Great warmup facility if you ask me.

8) Plenty of garbage cans around the course to throw your trash away.

9) Maintenance seems to be a priority on this course and from the sounds of it it is not just volunteers but the parks department is involved . . . something you dont see enough of in disc golf.

10) Plenty of benches for those slow or hot Texas days!

11) Multiple signature holes . . . I was excited to get to the next tee after every hole and htis doesnt happen on all course.

12) Plenty of property in this park . . . hoping maybe they would put in more holes at some point or perhaps that land is for other uses down the road or just for natural habitat, but they could have a ton of great holes out there if they wanted to expand.

13) Interesting feature on #4 with the stack of stones in the fairway.

14) Nice variety in holes distances, foliage density, shot shaping, disc selection, etc etc etc . . . bring it ALL!

15) Nice restroom facility and I think I saw a water fountain also.

16) Moderate elevation changes on some holes make the shot selection change from time to time and I like that.

17) Water comes into play a couple times but it might depend ont he time of year you play this course.
Cons: 1) Lots of rock on this course . . . mulch covers a lot of the rocky soils, but there still are areas where you need to watch your step to avoid hurting an ankle.

2) Some of the mulch was laid too thick . . . it makes runups difficult and could lead to twisted ankles here or there.

3) Seems to be a little vandalism but all in all not terrible. There probably are enough good people out there to yell at the idiots doing any of the vandalism.

4) Not really beginner friendly but multiple tees help out slightly.

5) Really tough thick rough in some areas can definitely lead to lost discs.
Other Thoughts: There just aren't many weaknesses on this course. I mentioned a few and the rest seem almost nitpicy because disc golf is always a little rough around the edges. I am sure it is always busy and I am sure it gets a lot of play. It is a wonderful challenge and each hole presents something for you to worry about.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging to say the least.

1    11/28/2010   4/8/2011
Review By: QBeaver
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful surroundings! This is one of the prettiest courses I've played. Very challenging shots, with lots of trees to navigate. This course is not for the novice player in my opinion. Concrete tees, and good baskets. Some long distance holes for those big arms out there, but remember the shots are pretty technical too.
Cons: Difficult course all around. Trees are in your way off of most tees, and the woods along the fairways will devour discs, never to be seen again I'm sure. I would recommend, even with the heat and humidity of Austin, that you wear pants, lots of prickly things out there, and you will definitely be shooting from within the woods at some point.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to visit the area again, one of the most challenging courses I've played, and I've played DeLaveaga in Santa Cruz and Sipapu Mountain in New Mexico (2 very challenging courses).

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    3/8/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Interm. Player: Excellent course. Very diverse with the landscaping. Can't get lost (just stay to the pathway). Didn't get in anyones way. This course really helped me with my accuracy. Players area very friendly and helped with some disc selection for holes.
Cons: Played a little slow. You'll have to wait at times but for small groups the other players let us play through.
Other Thoughts: Would really like to play again and if I can afford to travel back. I would like to play some time this year for a tourney.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/24/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great use of every shot you have. Long tight and technical fairways with a lot of nice pin placements.
Cons: Don't go to far off the fairway or you will be punished. I would agree with everyone that says not for beginners. I had been playing for almost 4 years before playing this course and it frustrated the hell out of me.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Circle C

1    2/16/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: backward_axis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: By far, this course has the best upkeep I've seen yet. Some group (Austin Parks & Rec?) really takes time to care for this course. There is incredible shot variety throughout; with almost every hole different from the last. There are trails leading to the next box and signs everywhere, so I only had to use my map a couple of times. The entire course is set up in this park in such a way that no other park aspect (jogging trails, soccer fields, picnic tables, playgrounds) ever interferes with the playing of disc golf.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This course is a "must visit" if you're ever in the Austin area. My lame description can't do it justice; you have to check it out for yourself. It is awesome and I wish I lived closer.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.