Austin, TX
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #12 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 582ft.   4 / 474ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
killeen area discers

1    12/13/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: michelsea
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great mix of ling and short as well as straight and easy to very technical and difficult. Great scenery well maintained, and overall impressive
Cons: If you don't know what your doing this course may make you hate the sport. Rocky terrain and heavily wood so you may loose discs or destroy them if you aren't careful. It's also long as Hell so plan to make a day of it.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite course I've played in years and don't trust your god when you get close to the course the trails are hard to spot at first and they are rocky but if you dont mind the hike its awesome. The wide selection of holes makes it fun and challenging but this is no course for beginners.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

1    11/14/2009   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What's not to love? Elevation, trees, hazards combined with some excellent design make for an outstanding experience. Do not pass this one up!
Cons: Its 150 miles from home!
Other Thoughts: Had heard about this course before making the journey westward but WOW - this blew away our expectations of what DG should be like - makes my local courses seem kinda lame. I dream about this course at night sometimes.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best

1    5/31/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is a top quality course in just about every aspect of disc golf. To start there's a serious putting green with multiple warm-up baskets. Long and short tees are both good sized concrete pads. Tee signs are the best quality Houck signs with distances, pars, and maps. The fairways are groomed. The paths between holes are easily identifiable. The baskets are DISCatchers with the bright yellow band that makes the baskets easy to see at a distance. There were benches and trash cans along the course. Take a look at the Photo Gallery on DGCR to see how good looking this course is.

The redesign of the course by Mike Olse shows what good course design is these days. Much like he did at East Metro, Mike has designed a course that will challenge good players. There's a nice balance of lefy-righty holes and some really fun elevation shots including one that feels like your throwing almost straight uphill. I personally like that there were some holes that really let you air out your throws while still punishing you if they strayed off the fairway. This course is flat-out fun to play.
Cons:
Baskets were installed such that the tray is a bit higher than most courses which does a fair amount of messing with your putting. Course was crowded when we played early in the morning and some groups of six or more were not thrilled with letting a group of two play through.
Other Thoughts:
The care and upkeep that went into the course is obvious. This course kicked my butt the first time I played it! Several of the blind basket holes (#18 especially) would have been better off if I'd walked ahead first. Despite having "short" tees, beginners will probably be frustrated by the difficulty level of this course.

Absolutely a destination course for experienced players.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Terrain and then some

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Tee signs are great. Plenty of benches, trash cans, shady spots, etc. Alt tee pads on many holes. Nice development of the cuorse with walkways, bordering on paths and terrain support. many good options for shot selection. many different shots for a variety of disc applications. Course is generally trash free, kudos to the locals for maintaining and respecting this fine course.
Cons: Tee signs indicate next tee locations, but if you forget to look some transitions are tricky (remember to look). Some paths to the next tee are long 'nuf to be holes themselves. Some tee pads are a bit short for the hole lengths. I did not see spots for alt basket placements... but they might be here and I missed them.
Other Thoughts: I only played the front 9 as I was off to the airport and short on time, but walked the back 9 to the start/car. Overall a great course. Lacks a signature hole of some kind as a distinction, althought one of them (maybe 6) is a hard 90 deg. dog leg left that is sure to reslut in blown par. A few holes have interesting basket placements where a wayward putt will result in a second putt of greater distance than the first... Putt carefully... Use the practice baskets at the start (complete with fake turf) to sharpen up on your short game. Summer is hot. Bring water. This is both a disc golf course as well as a mid level hike. Wear the right shoes... plain tennies are not enough for the terrain.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    5/7/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1128  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Practice Baskets. Two baskets offer a variety of practice opportunities.

Tees. Concrete tee pads, dual options on most holes are all in great shape. Multiple locations not only offer length options, but several change the lines quite well.

Challenge/Variety of Holes. Each hole was a new adventure, I found myself walking the length of each hole to check out lines and landing areas to plan my shot, each hole required a variety of shots and line shaping skills.

Beautiful. The landscape is incredible, it's not only a disc golf experience but a hike through the "wilderness." Amazing enough to find an area like this so close to the city, but to have a great disc golf course in the middle of it - I thoroughly enjoyed my experience here.

Amenities. Located in a sports complex of a park, bathrooms are available at the beginning. Trash cans can be found on several holes.
Cons: Vandalism. Yeah, I noticed the graffiti and various broken tee signs, didn't detract from the overall experience, but it's sad to see such a lack of respect for such a beautiful area.

Though the tees themselves are level, the area around doesn't offer a runup for those that like 10 feet behind the tee.

Not for Beginners. For one, it is very challenging and would have frustrated me terribly as a beginner. If I survived that and still kept playing, I'd be let down by any other course that I played afterward in this area.

Wood Chips. I don't know why shredded wood is so popular in this area, but it is very difficult to skip, and it makes footing challenging in areas.

Crowded. This course is popular for a reason, and everybody knows it - there may be a wait on weekends or in the afternoons.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, it will be hot out there, and it is a hike - take your time and enjoy this beauty of a course. Well worth the stop, if in Austin make this course a priority.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 amazing, a must play!

5+    6/14/2009   6/7/2010
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: clearly marked signs, alternate tee pads that can really change how the holes play, all posion ivy is cleared out of woods, very risk reward friendly! woodchip fairways limestone sorrounded baskets (on a few holes) to add difficulty on approaches. Blast to play and very challenging!
Cons: challenging a few holes are very tough almost too tough not beginner friendly at all even am tees are tough to play just shoter distances. It's long so when its hot you may find yourself begging for the course to end.
Other Thoughts: this course was a blast because not only was it very challenging each hole had its own character with its own challenging layout. I've played there 10 times and not once has it become easy or boring, i always find a new challenge when i play there!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

2-4    5/30/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: cc0049
Played: 103  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course looks awesome right now! I played this course two years ago and it has come a long way since then. Props to whoever has been putting in all the work to improve the course because it looks awesome! There are concrete tees on every hole, many of which offer both a long and a short tee. The tee boxes have well manicured grass around the concrete on some and wood chips surrounding others. There are logs lining the outside of the tee boxes. There are good looking signs by each tee box showing the fairway, pin location, tee location, as well as par and distance. The tee boxes are a good length too. Baskets are Discatchers and are in great condition. There are trash cans at various locations, restrooms, and plenty of shade to be found. There are very well manicured pathways from each basket to the following tee box making it very easy to navigate even on your first time out and without a map. (A huge upgrade from the condition of the course two years ago when I first played it.) There are also rock benches by the tee boxes. There is a large area for putting practice before you start your round which is a huge plus.
This is a very challenging course that plays very fair. Good shots are rewarded. There are several par 4s and at least one par 5 that can be birdied or eagled with excellent shots. A variety of shots are offered from the tee boxes.
Cons: There aren't many cons to mention. There are some longer holes that you can't see the basket from on the tee box requiring you to walk ahead if you want to know where you are throwing, but the fairways are well defined, so in most cases just stay on the fairway and you will be fine. The ground is very rocky (as seems to be the case in most south Texas courses) taking the roller and a consistent skip shot out of your arsenal on many shots. The low trees make the overhand shot readily available on most holes, at least on an upshot. I'll take the overhand shot when it is there and there weren't too many times when I was forced to make a more difficult shot.
Other Thoughts: I was very impressed with this course. This may be the best course in Texas that I have played. It is definitely top 5 at the least. I can't think of anything else that could be done to improve this course. It plays very fun and very challenging. This course is definitely tournament caliber! (I did not see any problem with the height of the baskets even though other reviewers have mentioned that as a problem. I also did not notice much if any trash)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Read the rules

5+    5/10/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: 33130
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Great use of land
Wide range of shots needed
Perfect balance of challenge and fun
Cons:
Trash
Graffiti
Drunks
Soccer moms
Other Thoughts:
The other reviewers do a great job of covering the myriad things that make this a great course, but I'm surprised to find everyone claiming the baskets are not regulation. The baskets are all Innova DISCatcher Pros. They are regulation. Some of the basket sleeves are set high in the ground (6, 9, 16 off the top of my head) and at least one (15) is set low. This is intentional.

Know the rules before you accuse them of being broken.

http://www.pdga.com/files/doc...ds_121909.pdf

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic

5+    3/2/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super well-marked with beautifully detailed signs. Concrete tee pads for both amateur and pro level tees. Very fluid layout, making for a decent amount of exercise to go with your golfing. Fair amount of elevation change. Shot variety galore - despite what is ostensibly a very natural layout - a testament to how well thought out the course design is. Plenty of opportunities to let it rip, but also enough to go for that short and soft technical shot. In a large park/recreation area, but separate enough so that the casual crowd of nature-seekers never ambles through the course. Benches at almost every tee. Enough shade to stave off some of the Summer heat.
Cons: My only real gripe is something quite a few other reviewers touched on: that not all baskets are regulation height - some are higher, some are lower. By no means are there a lack of trash cans out here, but lazy slobs insist on tossing their garbage wherever they feel like. Has a tendency to attract large (6+) groups of players. Because of its length and the amount of people that do come out here, it can take a while to play 18.
Other Thoughts: Far and away my personal favorite course in Austin. More than any other course, this one has forced me to improve my game, mostly by the accuracy it requires. The requirement, however, is not a detriment, because the design is so purposefully and artfully done; rather, it makes you want to improve your shots so that you can come to appreciate the beauty of making the shots the course was designed for.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I said Niiice at every tee.

1    12/12/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: HoopHound
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: My absolute favorite course. Truly dolled up - what pay to play ought to be, but its free. Short long tight wide - just a pleasure to experience every hole you come to. Stipping stones in the paths between holes - huge rocks make benches at tees - 18 was my favorite hole.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Go play this course. Somebody put on a tournament after the first - I'll bring eight or ten from San Angelo!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.