Austin, TX 
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 594ft.   4 / 492ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Short Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    8/18/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Circle C earns a solid 4.5 because it is phenomenal. Things that would be required to earn a perfect 5.

1) Couple baskets need to be re-set to meet PDGA regulations. At least one basket is high and one basket is low off the top of my head

2) A/B/C holes - There is plenty of room to add additional holes. I personally appreciate the ability for a course to change. Also nice for large tournaments and future maintenance..

3) Multiple basket locations - Lots of opportunity for multiple placements on this course. I also like the ability for holes to change up, i.e., long placements for summer and shorts for when the days get shorter, etc. Also nice to be able to change up holes for tournaments.

Nice park facilities, bathroom, tap water, plenty of parking, restaurants nearby. Course looks great despite being a young course (new layout) Will look better once it grows in.
Cons: 1) Despite some really nice trash cans (3 cans as a unit about every 3 holes or so) there's too much trash for such a young course. I realize that's just part of disc golf but I would like to see a can at every teebox.

2) Some baskets not set to correct heights - as mentioned.

3) Good deal of sun exposure. Crowds can make for slow play.

4) Lots of pedestrians that don't always stay to the paths or aren't concerned about it. You could get the guy walking his dog down the middle of a fairway, clueless that it's a dg course.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who plans a dg trip to Austin will have this course on their list, the hype is well warranted. I though Mike Olse hit a homerun with Manor (East Metro Park - also worth playing) but he hit it out of the park at Circle C. Many of the transitions between the holes are artfully done. Lots of really nice rock work and drainage and just small details. Plenty of mulch in the fairways. Well marked holes/paths. Nice flow to a really difficult and challenging but rewarding course. Even if this course kicks your butt your game will improve. Figuring out the holes, what to throw and how to throw it is all something that I look forward to learning over time.

I will just key on some things that may not be covered in other glowing reviews.

Adjacent soccer field is perfect for stretching out the arm, finding your drive, etc. Trust me you'll need it.

Bathrooms located near the path to the practice baskets/parking lot.

Since the initial rush to play since the renovation, the crowd isn't quite as bad as it used to be. The heat could have something to do with that. To avoid the crowd you may have to play when it's hot or when it's really early but it's worth it. The course offers a decent amount of shade but you will get your share of sun playing this course. Bring lots of water to stay hydrated. The only course that I've ever found with people on 1 before me and it was 6:40am.

Circle C takes about 1.5 hours to play from the champ tees, casual round. Probably the same from the am tees. Tournaments can take 3-4 hours depending on the crowd. I personally like the lines better from the champ tees but to each his own. Par 64 seems to be about right on for this course. Some insane par 5s, some tough par 4s, some fun par 3s. Spacious teeboxes, easy to read and accurate signage.

Think cedars, oaks, limestone and fields. Some shots over the trees, some under the trees, uphill, downhill, left, right, long, short it's got it all. A sure to be championship course for years to come. No water hazards to worry about for the time being.

Many players will devote a round here and there to picking up trash. This is not an organized activity, it's just something that frankly, the level of quality and beauty of this course brings out in people. This is a special course and will surely pull down some big PDGA events. I am glad it's in central Texas near my home. Please pack your trash folks and enjoy this gem!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Play!

1    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole design, variety of shots needed, professional feel, T signs / boxes, overall experience
Cons: ummm - the heat? a bit more righty friendly holes than lefty -(guess what I am). Wear sturdy shoes with good ankle support - some rocky fairways to navigate. nothing bad really - just things to note.
Other Thoughts: Not that I have played that many courses but I have never played a course that was this well maintained, supported etc.. so many other courses in parks make you feel like you are the second or third option for the use of the space (if that high up the priority list) - but this place feels like it was put together for disc golf and the rest revolves around it. Wow - it just has such a quality to every thing about it. The holes are quite diverse in length, design, flight paths and elevation - (for Texas anyway). I was in the area for my son's graduation from basic training in San Antonio and arrived early to check out the scene in Austin ( music, food, disc golf). I played Pease Park one day and enjoyed it alot - very fun city course. Stopped by the Disc Nation disc golf store, picked up a few discs, threw a few on their practice range (you can throw all you want) and got some tips from one of the Pro's there (forgot his name, but very nice guy - rookie of the year last year) and then asked which course I "must" play - I had researched all the courses in the area listed here and he steered me toward Circle C - saying it had just been renovated. The work put into this place blew me away. Pro and Am tees on every hole - concrete pads, each tee had a T sign with relative distances (for Pro and Am). Well worn paths from hole to hole - may "groomed" and landscaped - with steps, retaining timbers, etc.... There are several ace run holes with tight lines, and several par 4-5 holes that snake around. There always seems to be one big oak that you have to contend with on even the most open holes. Most fairways are tight and not quite straight - so be sure you have a good selection of over and understable discs for different distances. The guy I played with was pretty successful with monster tomahawks (he had the shoulder for it) and I even threw a couple - which i rarely do. Despite the requirement for accuracy - I don't see a high risk of lost discs - the "rough" tends to knock things down pretty fast. But if you do go deep off the fairway -plan on playing it safe and getting back into the fairway anyway you can.

I absolutely loved this course - and my home course is #3 rated Beaver Ranch (on this site) - I would take any excuse to get back down here to play it again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots to Love!

1    8/8/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean park. Facilities and trash cans everywhere. Easy to navigate, big concrete tee boxes. Signs at both tee boxes. Bark mulch in fairways and around baskets. Baskets in great shape. Logs outlining various parts of the course.
Cons: Got a little congested in the middle holes, because of big groups. Pretty crowded on the weekend. A few tee boxes have very little or no shade.
Other Thoughts: Overall, its hard to say anything but praise for this course. The scenery is awesome and I love the variety of holes and elevation. Hard course, but I will definitely be back!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Pinnacle of Hill Country Golf

2-4    8/2/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Circle C Metro Park at Slaughter Creek has undergone some major changes in the last year. It has all the basic amenities located in a community park with bathroom facilities and ample parking. The flow is good with a few minor scenery filled walks between holes. It has also become a serious disc golf course that will challenge any skill level and force you to use a variety of shots and become a become player.

There are even various wood structures reminiscent of Indian burial grounds throughout the course making me think some of the workers were higher than others. They're unnecessary, but still a fun addition to the rustic scenery.

In what will certainly be known as one of the most challenging and audacious finishing holes in all of disc golf, hole #18 is an 888' par 5 that separates the weak from the strong. As if symbolically engraining the course name in your brain, hole #18 plays out in a giant C that takes three good shots for most players just to get a look at the pin in the final 275' that could be a challenging hole by itself. The final 75' caps off in a rising tiered putting area guarded on three sides by trees, and in front a creek bed that could certainly be an issue in non-drought years. This intense hole will break ties, patience, and your stamina. Harry Myers #3 is the only possible comparison I can make to this juggernaut, so be prepared after a long round in the hot Austin hot to love or hate it - or maybe a bit of both.

BEST HOLE/S: #18
Cons: Circle C, in my opinion, has one obvious con that may not be an issue to most recreational players - but drove me crazy. A number of pins are set noticeably high and are not placed to any PDGA height guidelines. I think what makes this worse it the simple fact that thousands of man hours have gone into revamping this course into one of the premier courses in the state, and yet something so simple and easy to fix is the most glaring negative. In fact, this is the only reason in my book not to award this course with a perfect five discs, but it certainly comes close.

WORST HOLE/S: #13
Other Thoughts: If God is in the details, some divine intervention surely occurred in the revamping of Circle C. Holes come complete with Texas Limestone seating areas, mulched and groomed fairways, high quality Houck signs, and long concrete tees encased in mulch and log ties to help prevent erosion. From the practice on, the over-whelming thought is how much time, labor, and love has been poured into this course.

People will surely argue this, but I believe this has become the best public course in the greater Austin area, and even at the state level; so any golfer owes it themself to make the pilgrimage. Sure, Pease Park is more popular and East Metro is outstanding, but Circle C is simply better.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Best Overall Course in Austin

5+    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: mrstiggy
Played: 78  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As you arrive at circle C, you approach the well done practice baskets and you know you are going to be in for a treat. The two practice baskets are perfectly distanced apart to make you successfully warm up your short and mid game. One basket is off into the shade, the other right out in the sun. Using the facilities here would be a good idea if you don't have a strong bladder, or mind going in the woods. There is also an open soccer field adjacent to the practice area for you to work the kinks out of your drives, you are going to need it. After a short warm up, you are ready to take on #1, where Circle C just gives you a glimmer of what you are in for. Hole one greats you with a smashing 492 ft par four from the Am tees, or you can go for 594 from the pros if that is your thing, either way, this is just the courses way of letting you know what is in store. #2, #3, and #4 are all nice ace runs, and give you a nice break before trying to conquer a mammoth of a par 5 on #5. As you make your way though those 3 holes, you will begin to notice how much care and pride was put into the re-design of this course, it is obvious the creator was out to design a course of championship caliber and its well displayed by man made tree sculptures that can leave you wondering if the Blair Witch has got you. #5 is when you really realize this is'nt your mommas course, a legitimate par 5 with 732 from the reds and 870 from the blues. After that hole puts you in your place, you continue on a well sculpted path that always seems to lead you in the right direction to #6. Another long legit par 4 that is a massive dogleg left through a circus of trees that continue to provide you optimal shade in the Texas heat through out the course. When you finally make your way over to 7 you are relived to see a short hole that again can test your ace game. Hole 8 is a well sculpted up the gut par 3 that will give you yet another breather before Circle C again releases her fury on you. As you make your way to 9 you are again reminded of the shear beauty of this course and the hard work the folks who sculpted it put into it. Rocks laid out to sculpt out every pathway, long concrete tee-pads you can land a plane on that are cased in by huge logs to give them a bit of elevation. 9 is one of the shortest yet most satisfying holes on the course that still has its own way of testing your skills. A 202 uphill drive that will land you in one of 2 log cut out green areas where its easy to get one of the few birdie ops for an am on this course. 10 is a nice downhill play to support the elevation change and bring you into the back half of the course. After a nice little batch of par 3s, the circle is back to remind you where you are on hole 11. Yet another long par 4 that dogs slight left before making its way back right. And on it goes for 12, a 582 ft hike from the pros with a hard right followed by a hard left. 13 gives you a small break with a long par 3 followed by you guessed, another long 4 on 14. 15 is one of the most interesting holes on the course, a reachable par 3 that a buddy of mine hit the chains on, although looking at it from the tee, it looks impossible. By the time you reach 16 you feel like you have already played 20 holes and it slaps you in the face with a 636 up the gut pro rumbler. 17 is your last ace op, with a bit of a long par 3. At this point Circle C has sent you on a roller coaster of frustrating, and most memorable shots of your disc golf days. You would expect to be rewarded with a under 200 aces shot, instead you are hit with a par 5 that sits 832 from the basket from the reds and a massive 888 from the blues. The approach on 18 is your last glimpse of what a spectacular course this is, you have had a great day.
This course is well spread out and not as busy as it could be, for the most part, you wont have to let people play up, or have to wait for people. If you do, they are most respectful. There are concrete benches at every hole to take breathers, and great trash cans on the holes that they are available.
Cons: There are very few to mention, it only depends on the type of disc golf you want to do that day, this is not a quick hour lunch play. There are many long walks between holes, and if you have a dog like many disc golfers do, you will be required to carry a cooler to keep your fury friend cool. Lack of trash cans on the back half of the course could be a bit of use. Once you start, you are pretty much committed to finish, there is only 1 quarter mile hike out after you finish 10.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the Austin area. Austin has one of the best disc golf scenes in Texas, and many other great courses to play. It also helps that University of Texas is close by and there is nearly always eye candy on the course. Bring water, and be prepared to fetch your disc out of the rough a few times. Some of the other courses in the area reverse the pins and the tee boxes in the winter, I think this course would benefit from trying that out, the well balanced changes in elevation would support it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Circle C Metro Park

1    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual concrete tees for almost every hole. Signs were the best of the best, Houck Designs. I played alone this morning, and there were two other groups playing, so it was a breeze of a round. Bathrooms and water fountain at the beginning of the course. The course is beautiful, with a great mixture of shots, and it makes you use them even if you aren't particularly comfortible with them. Unless you sky it into the woods, I don't know how you could lose a disc. No chance of getting lost because of the paths from each basket to the next tee. Elevation changes were decent, the only hole I remember with a fun use of elevation is #9, driving straight up the hill... The two par fives will put you to work, if you can't drive really far, which can be fun. Really nice round, I was having such a good time, I even jogged some of it, even in the heat.
Cons: There isn't much to penalize it for.

Like I said I was jogging off and on, so this might not apply to everyone as much. The paths are rock, so you have to pay attention to your steps. Don't hurt any ankles or crack any skulls. There are quite a bit of stumps and other things to trip on in the course too. Just be careful and this isn't really that bad.

A single sign was missing; I don't remember which hole it was, but it was on the short tee anyway.
Other Thoughts: There was a good amount of trash cans, but they were only at certain points during the round... I didn't have anything to throw away, but that bugs some people.

I also played Pease Park while in Austin. They are both great courses, but I liked this one better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course I've Ever Played.... PERIOD

1    7/4/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok let me first preface this by saying that I realize what it means to give a course a 5/5. I am not a reviewer who gives this rating lightly and as I've played more and more my apprecation for great course design, application, and brilliance has gone up. With that being said I can think of no other course more deserving of the coveted 5 disc rating then Circle C in Austin, Texas.

From the minute you walk up to the practice baskets you will be impressed. There are two baskets to throw back and forth on, with one being out in the open susceptible to wind and the other guarded by trees. This seemingly menial thing is indicative of what makes this course great, a superp attention to detail. From there you stroll over to the first teebox, elevated and surrouned by beautiful cedar, each box has been maticulously crafted. I say crafted because Waterloo Disc Club did just that. From the large limestone, rectangular bolders, that provide a place to place your bag or your rear. To the fantastic Houck tee signs that perfectly illustrate your path to the basket. To the pathways that have been lined with large beautiful stones and strairways that make a hike to even the most precarious of tee's a breeze. To the clearly defined fairways on almost every hole. To the varying heights on cages, taking into consideration elevation and angle. This course was not just redesigned it was refined and polished into a spectacular display of great disc golf course design.


So "what about hole layouts" you ask? Well to me this is by far the most challenging yet balanced course I have ever had the honor to play. Each hole has a pro and am tee and each one has its own set of challenges. There are typically at least two paths to the basket for each hole and the par ratings are extremely fair. An example of this is hole #7 a seemingly straight forward shot and a very aceable run, it is also a shot you could easily shoot 2 up on.

Here in lies the brilliance of Circle C. Holes that have depth and variety rarely seen in all the other courses I have played. I loved the up hill shot on #9 and the corresponding downhill shot on #10. I found the pin location on #5 to be outstanding (its set up on a small cliff). I was so impressed by the stone work in the creek on #2. I could type all day about the things I loved on each and every hole this course had to offer.
Cons: Honestly I have a hard time finding anything wrong with this course and feel like when I do I'm just nitpicking. I think the transistion between #5 and #6 is a little confusing, but just bring a map the first time and you will have no problem at all finding it. Also if you type in the GPS coordinates for this course into Google Maps it will give you directions to a private neighborhood and this is not where the course resides. Just remember to stay on Slaughter and the course is on the left. The only other problem I had, has nothing to do with the course at all. When you play this course you really start respect all the hard work and effort that Waterloo DG Club and Austin Parks put in and it just sickens me when I see trash scattered around. Now there are adequate trash cans but this disrespect is atrocious and a place like this should be revered not crapped on.
Other Thoughts: I can type all the pretty, big words I want to describe how great this course is, but I think instead I will just tell a story. I decided to head to Austin and play a few courses with a buddy who almost never plays. He is a winebag and is always complaining about this and that, how unfair pars are on some of the courses we played or how crappy the baskets are and stuff like that. Well lets just say that he had nothing bad to say about this course. This is saying alot for a pure rec player with little experience and even less game. He felt the course was fair and extremely well kept and couldn't stop raving about it. Now this praise came from a guy who shot 20 over now imagine what a Pro or Am player would think. Thank you so much Waterloo DG club, you guys are amazing, bravo. This course is as close to perfect as you will find in Texas and for the love of God play it already.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Re-design is a success

2-4    5/11/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: jdawg2008
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The redesign and upgrade allows for better flow through the course as well as better sustainability for the large amounts of golf traffic.

The new tee boxes are fantastic. The Am tees are challenging but not frustrating. The added markings for trails is a plus. The clearing of foliage helps a ton. Once the tee signs are in, it will be even better.

Overall, the best parts of this course are:
* shot variety throughout the course
* long and challenging holes: 5,18
* great hole (re)design: 14, 16
Cons: Saturday mornings are extremely crowded with soccer games on the adjacent fields. The course can be crowded which can cause a round to take up to 3 hours. It is long, and some old-schoolers expressed distaste at the large pars counts (two 5s, many 4s)
Other Thoughts: New or changed holes.....
* 11: Redesigned from the original hole 12. The Am tee is longer than it used to be. Good hole with some length to it.
* 12: Redesigned from the original hole 14. The Pro tee is still on the hill (thank goodness), but the Am tee is no farther away.
* 13: Brand new hole, ace-able look at the basket from pro tee. Nice placement of a par 3 in between a couple of par 4's.
* 14: Formerly hole 16. The only real changes are that some of the overgrowth is gone, so there is this real sweet look at the basket from the Pro tee.
* 16: Resigned with portions of the former hole 18 and 19 to make this one. Long open fairway, with the basket behind a line of trees. Many lines available and a good addition to the course.
* 17: Redesigned from former hole 20. I loved home 20 for its ace-ability (or bird-ability in my case), but no the basket is tucked onto a green that is further left. Overshoot the basket and you go off of a small ledge for a tougher putt than before.

Holes removed (by former hole numbers): 7, 13, 15, 19.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Course Changes

1    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: dgdoctor
Played: 89  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Circle C is now an 18 hole course with, dual concrete tee boxes for the majority of the holes. (note: the pro box for 12 is up the hill form the amateur box). All the others are easy to spot.

As you leave the baskets for holes 4 and 10 you will see the amateur boxes for 5 and 11 straight out from the basket. The pro boxes are further back to the right and left respectively. So before stepping out it is wise to make sure the pro box is clear so you do not get hit with a disc.

The course has a good variety of long and short drives, but the short drives are in tight allies.

The baskets are clearly marked with numbers and wood chips mark the fairways for the baskets that are not directly in view.

Hole 18 is a giant horse shoe that plays up hill into a group of trees and bushes. Out into an open field and from the field there is a fairway surrounded by trees to the basket.
Cons: There are no tee signs to mark the basket locations or distances yet. There are poles in the ground for future sign placement.

This is not necessarily a con, but the course is very busy so be prepared to spend a couple of hours playing. Even if some groups allow you to play through.
Other Thoughts: For first timers, I would suggest printing out the map of the new layout prior to playing the course.

I never got to play the original design, but I found the course very challenging and well designed. I would highly recommend playing the course if you are in the Austin Area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/30/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes of beauty! First time I have played the new 18 hole set up and I would have to say I loved it! Get out there and play, the new tees make the course 100 times more fun and the marked paths take away a lot of getting lost. Still is a nice hike. Located not far from Searight and Zilker Park.
Cons: Not any cons except there needs to be a swimming pool some where around hole 11!
Other Thoughts: ***Already some signs of vandalism and that's just plain sad. Keep an eye out for idiots.*** One of the hardest but enjoyable courses that I have ever played. I bump it up in ranking with the new design. I'm not sure if I will ever give a course 5, but this is close.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.