Austin, TX
Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #17 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 345ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >
 Best Overall Course in Austin

5+    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: mrstiggy
Played: 78  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As you arrive at circle C, you approach the well done practice baskets and you know you are going to be in for a treat. The two practice baskets are perfectly distanced apart to make you successfully warm up your short and mid game. One basket is off into the shade, the other right out in the sun. Using the facilities here would be a good idea if you don't have a strong bladder, or mind going in the woods. There is also an open soccer field adjacent to the practice area for you to work the kinks out of your drives, you are going to need it. After a short warm up, you are ready to take on #1, where Circle C just gives you a glimmer of what you are in for. Hole one greats you with a smashing 492 ft par four from the Am tees, or you can go for 594 from the pros if that is your thing, either way, this is just the courses way of letting you know what is in store. #2, #3, and #4 are all nice ace runs, and give you a nice break before trying to conquer a mammoth of a par 5 on #5. As you make your way though those 3 holes, you will begin to notice how much care and pride was put into the re-design of this course, it is obvious the creator was out to design a course of championship caliber and its well displayed by man made tree sculptures that can leave you wondering if the Blair Witch has got you. #5 is when you really realize this is'nt your mommas course, a legitimate par 5 with 732 from the reds and 870 from the blues. After that hole puts you in your place, you continue on a well sculpted path that always seems to lead you in the right direction to #6. Another long legit par 4 that is a massive dogleg left through a circus of trees that continue to provide you optimal shade in the Texas heat through out the course. When you finally make your way over to 7 you are relived to see a short hole that again can test your ace game. Hole 8 is a well sculpted up the gut par 3 that will give you yet another breather before Circle C again releases her fury on you. As you make your way to 9 you are again reminded of the shear beauty of this course and the hard work the folks who sculpted it put into it. Rocks laid out to sculpt out every pathway, long concrete tee-pads you can land a plane on that are cased in by huge logs to give them a bit of elevation. 9 is one of the shortest yet most satisfying holes on the course that still has its own way of testing your skills. A 202 uphill drive that will land you in one of 2 log cut out green areas where its easy to get one of the few birdie ops for an am on this course. 10 is a nice downhill play to support the elevation change and bring you into the back half of the course. After a nice little batch of par 3s, the circle is back to remind you where you are on hole 11. Yet another long par 4 that dogs slight left before making its way back right. And on it goes for 12, a 582 ft hike from the pros with a hard right followed by a hard left. 13 gives you a small break with a long par 3 followed by you guessed, another long 4 on 14. 15 is one of the most interesting holes on the course, a reachable par 3 that a buddy of mine hit the chains on, although looking at it from the tee, it looks impossible. By the time you reach 16 you feel like you have already played 20 holes and it slaps you in the face with a 636 up the gut pro rumbler. 17 is your last ace op, with a bit of a long par 3. At this point Circle C has sent you on a roller coaster of frustrating, and most memorable shots of your disc golf days. You would expect to be rewarded with a under 200 aces shot, instead you are hit with a par 5 that sits 832 from the basket from the reds and a massive 888 from the blues. The approach on 18 is your last glimpse of what a spectacular course this is, you have had a great day.
This course is well spread out and not as busy as it could be, for the most part, you wont have to let people play up, or have to wait for people. If you do, they are most respectful. There are concrete benches at every hole to take breathers, and great trash cans on the holes that they are available.
Cons: There are very few to mention, it only depends on the type of disc golf you want to do that day, this is not a quick hour lunch play. There are many long walks between holes, and if you have a dog like many disc golfers do, you will be required to carry a cooler to keep your fury friend cool. Lack of trash cans on the back half of the course could be a bit of use. Once you start, you are pretty much committed to finish, there is only 1 quarter mile hike out after you finish 10.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the Austin area. Austin has one of the best disc golf scenes in Texas, and many other great courses to play. It also helps that University of Texas is close by and there is nearly always eye candy on the course. Bring water, and be prepared to fetch your disc out of the rough a few times. Some of the other courses in the area reverse the pins and the tee boxes in the winter, I think this course would benefit from trying that out, the well balanced changes in elevation would support it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Circle C Metro Park

1    7/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual concrete tees for almost every hole. Signs were the best of the best, Houck Designs. I played alone this morning, and there were two other groups playing, so it was a breeze of a round. Bathrooms and water fountain at the beginning of the course. The course is beautiful, with a great mixture of shots, and it makes you use them even if you aren't particularly comfortible with them. Unless you sky it into the woods, I don't know how you could lose a disc. No chance of getting lost because of the paths from each basket to the next tee. Elevation changes were decent, the only hole I remember with a fun use of elevation is #9, driving straight up the hill... The two par fives will put you to work, if you can't drive really far, which can be fun. Really nice round, I was having such a good time, I even jogged some of it, even in the heat.
Cons: There isn't much to penalize it for.

Like I said I was jogging off and on, so this might not apply to everyone as much. The paths are rock, so you have to pay attention to your steps. Don't hurt any ankles or crack any skulls. There are quite a bit of stumps and other things to trip on in the course too. Just be careful and this isn't really that bad.

A single sign was missing; I don't remember which hole it was, but it was on the short tee anyway.
Other Thoughts: There was a good amount of trash cans, but they were only at certain points during the round... I didn't have anything to throw away, but that bugs some people.

I also played Pease Park while in Austin. They are both great courses, but I liked this one better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course I've Ever Played.... PERIOD

1    7/4/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 91  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok let me first preface this by saying that I realize what it means to give a course a 5/5. I am not a reviewer who gives this rating lightly and as I've played more and more my apprecation for great course design, application, and brilliance has gone up. With that being said I can think of no other course more deserving of the coveted 5 disc rating then Circle C in Austin, Texas.

From the minute you walk up to the practice baskets you will be impressed. There are two baskets to throw back and forth on, with one being out in the open susceptible to wind and the other guarded by trees. This seemingly menial thing is indicative of what makes this course great, a superp attention to detail. From there you stroll over to the first teebox, elevated and surrouned by beautiful cedar, each box has been maticulously crafted. I say crafted because Waterloo Disc Club did just that. From the large limestone, rectangular bolders, that provide a place to place your bag or your rear. To the fantastic Houck tee signs that perfectly illustrate your path to the basket. To the pathways that have been lined with large beautiful stones and strairways that make a hike to even the most precarious of tee's a breeze. To the clearly defined fairways on almost every hole. To the varying heights on cages, taking into consideration elevation and angle. This course was not just redesigned it was refined and polished into a spectacular display of great disc golf course design.


So "what about hole layouts" you ask? Well to me this is by far the most challenging yet balanced course I have ever had the honor to play. Each hole has a pro and am tee and each one has its own set of challenges. There are typically at least two paths to the basket for each hole and the par ratings are extremely fair. An example of this is hole #7 a seemingly straight forward shot and a very aceable run, it is also a shot you could easily shoot 2 up on.

Here in lies the brilliance of Circle C. Holes that have depth and variety rarely seen in all the other courses I have played. I loved the up hill shot on #9 and the corresponding downhill shot on #10. I found the pin location on #5 to be outstanding (its set up on a small cliff). I was so impressed by the stone work in the creek on #2. I could type all day about the things I loved on each and every hole this course had to offer.
Cons: Honestly I have a hard time finding anything wrong with this course and feel like when I do I'm just nitpicking. I think the transistion between #5 and #6 is a little confusing, but just bring a map the first time and you will have no problem at all finding it. Also if you type in the GPS coordinates for this course into Google Maps it will give you directions to a private neighborhood and this is not where the course resides. Just remember to stay on Slaughter and the course is on the left. The only other problem I had, has nothing to do with the course at all. When you play this course you really start respect all the hard work and effort that Waterloo DG Club and Austin Parks put in and it just sickens me when I see trash scattered around. Now there are adequate trash cans but this disrespect is atrocious and a place like this should be revered not crapped on.
Other Thoughts: I can type all the pretty, big words I want to describe how great this course is, but I think instead I will just tell a story. I decided to head to Austin and play a few courses with a buddy who almost never plays. He is a winebag and is always complaining about this and that, how unfair pars are on some of the courses we played or how crappy the baskets are and stuff like that. Well lets just say that he had nothing bad to say about this course. This is saying alot for a pure rec player with little experience and even less game. He felt the course was fair and extremely well kept and couldn't stop raving about it. Now this praise came from a guy who shot 20 over now imagine what a Pro or Am player would think. Thank you so much Waterloo DG club, you guys are amazing, bravo. This course is as close to perfect as you will find in Texas and for the love of God play it already.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Re-design is a success

2-4    5/11/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: jdawg2008
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The redesign and upgrade allows for better flow through the course as well as better sustainability for the large amounts of golf traffic.

The new tee boxes are fantastic. The Am tees are challenging but not frustrating. The added markings for trails is a plus. The clearing of foliage helps a ton. Once the tee signs are in, it will be even better.

Overall, the best parts of this course are:
* shot variety throughout the course
* long and challenging holes: 5,18
* great hole (re)design: 14, 16
Cons: Saturday mornings are extremely crowded with soccer games on the adjacent fields. The course can be crowded which can cause a round to take up to 3 hours. It is long, and some old-schoolers expressed distaste at the large pars counts (two 5s, many 4s)
Other Thoughts: New or changed holes.....
* 11: Redesigned from the original hole 12. The Am tee is longer than it used to be. Good hole with some length to it.
* 12: Redesigned from the original hole 14. The Pro tee is still on the hill (thank goodness), but the Am tee is no farther away.
* 13: Brand new hole, ace-able look at the basket from pro tee. Nice placement of a par 3 in between a couple of par 4's.
* 14: Formerly hole 16. The only real changes are that some of the overgrowth is gone, so there is this real sweet look at the basket from the Pro tee.
* 16: Resigned with portions of the former hole 18 and 19 to make this one. Long open fairway, with the basket behind a line of trees. Many lines available and a good addition to the course.
* 17: Redesigned from former hole 20. I loved home 20 for its ace-ability (or bird-ability in my case), but no the basket is tucked onto a green that is further left. Overshoot the basket and you go off of a small ledge for a tougher putt than before.

Holes removed (by former hole numbers): 7, 13, 15, 19.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Course Changes

1    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: dgdoctor
Played: 89  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Circle C is now an 18 hole course with, dual concrete tee boxes for the majority of the holes. (note: the pro box for 12 is up the hill form the amateur box). All the others are easy to spot.

As you leave the baskets for holes 4 and 10 you will see the amateur boxes for 5 and 11 straight out from the basket. The pro boxes are further back to the right and left respectively. So before stepping out it is wise to make sure the pro box is clear so you do not get hit with a disc.

The course has a good variety of long and short drives, but the short drives are in tight allies.

The baskets are clearly marked with numbers and wood chips mark the fairways for the baskets that are not directly in view.

Hole 18 is a giant horse shoe that plays up hill into a group of trees and bushes. Out into an open field and from the field there is a fairway surrounded by trees to the basket.
Cons: There are no tee signs to mark the basket locations or distances yet. There are poles in the ground for future sign placement.

This is not necessarily a con, but the course is very busy so be prepared to spend a couple of hours playing. Even if some groups allow you to play through.
Other Thoughts: For first timers, I would suggest printing out the map of the new layout prior to playing the course.

I never got to play the original design, but I found the course very challenging and well designed. I would highly recommend playing the course if you are in the Austin Area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/30/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes of beauty! First time I have played the new 18 hole set up and I would have to say I loved it! Get out there and play, the new tees make the course 100 times more fun and the marked paths take away a lot of getting lost. Still is a nice hike. Located not far from Searight and Zilker Park.
Cons: Not any cons except there needs to be a swimming pool some where around hole 11!
Other Thoughts: ***Already some signs of vandalism and that's just plain sad. Keep an eye out for idiots.*** One of the hardest but enjoyable courses that I have ever played. I bump it up in ranking with the new design. I'm not sure if I will ever give a course 5, but this is close.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course Closed for Redesign

5+    5/31/2008   1/20/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2011
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: After the revamp and slight redesign, Circle C is the premiere Austin disc golf course and my personal favorite of any course I've ever played. There are so many pros it's going to be hard to list, but I'll give it a shot:

-Every hole has a concrete teepad, with most holes having dual concrete tees.

-On most holes, the difference between the long and short tee not only adds distance, but it adds a much more difficult line that needs to be hit.

-Limestone block-benches located at most teepads.

-Detailed teesign for every teepad.

-Mulch in the fairways, mulch around the baskets, rock drainage areas, and rock paths between holes keeps the mud situation after a rain quite manageable and makes this course the best in the area to play after recent rains.

-The diversity of this course is simply unmatched. Between uphill, downhill, tunnels, bombers, technical, right turning, left turning, 2 par 5s, and multiple par 4s, this course has it all. The only golf shot not found at this course is a wide open field shot like you see on many holes at Old Settler's or #16 at Pease.

-There is a field hockey/soccer field right next to the first tee that is usually unoccupied and great for warm-up drives. That's in addition to the two warm-up baskets that you'll find before the first tee.

-Everything is in excellent condition from the baskets to the tee pads to the trimmed limbs along the fairways to the branch sculptures to well...everything.

-Space-age trash cans every so often, but oddly some people still prefer to use the ground as their waste receptacle.

-Restrooms located right before the first tee.

-The difficulty level of this course is high, especially from the long tees. Every hole from the short 200 footers to the 900 foot bombers require accuracy and precision. Even on the long holes it is more important to have precision. Long-arms that are not accurate are going to be punished heavily on this course. Every shot actually requires you to think before you throw, especially considering the rough out here is usually quite difficult to shoot out of.

-The landscaping out here is really top notch. From the earlier mentioned rock walkways and drainage ditches to the terraced hills and erosion-preventing tee-pads that are bordered by cedar logs embedded in the ground and many other nuances separate this course from others in the area.

-For the most part this course flows well and it is never more evident then playing the course when it is crowded, which oddly doesn't happen as much as some other courses in town.
Cons: I've been trying to think of a con for quite some time and I just can't come up with any. I've heard of people that complain about a few of the baskets not being regulation height, but I really don't see this as a "problem" or "con." On the uphill tunnel hole the basket is elevated above some double-terraced landscaping. For me, this actually adds to the overall intimidating feel of the hole as the basket looms high on the hill overlooking your measly attempt of landing on the green.

Another aspect of this course that may be considered a con are the jagged rocks near the basket and in the fairway of #7, but that would be like giving a con to mother nature and I just can't do that.

Honestly, I have no cons for this course, and this is the ONLY course that I can say that for.
Other Thoughts: The only negative that I can think of is that my 2 favorite teeboxes are located on the same hole (#12).. I've played this course hundreds of times and every time I play it I actually end up liking it more. This is not the closest course to where I live, but I'm more than willing to drive a few extra miles to play a course of this caliber.

I've gotta give props to the location of the long teepad on #12. It is the absolute best teebox location of any hole I've ever played. It's up on this hill and there is a safe straight fairway that you can take, or for those willing to risk it, there's an amazing over-the-tree-tops line that you can take. The further right you aim, the closer to the pin you can possibly land, but the more trees that you have to shoot over. It is the definitive risk-reward type of shot because the level of risk scales with how big your balls are. Many a disc have been lost in those woods from people (myself included) not clearing the tree tops or cutting the disc too far right.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/23/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course with plenty of large shady oaks to protect you from the brutal Texas sun and plenty of rocks and cactus to help you remember you're in Texas.

The newly re-designed course is very balanced with about the same number of right, left, and must throw straight holes.

This course is probably second only to Manor in difficulty level in the Austin area.

Dual concrete teepads on every hole.

Large rectangular rocks for benches at almost every hole.

Plenty of trashcans.

Restroom at the parking area.

There is a thin layer of cedar mulch on all the fairways which may be a con to some folks.
Cons: No signs but there will be soon. There is an updated map of the new layout you may need the first time you play.
Other Thoughts: The city did an amazing job on the re-do of this course. It is now in the top 4 Austin courses and I would put it right up there with Pease, Manor, and Wilco.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 out in the country

1    4/8/2008   4/8/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a tree lined and long course. For those of you who get the reference it was very much like Seatac DGC in Washington. The alleys were mostly long and the vegetation was a mix of cedars and large bushes. It was easy to recruit a tour guide because the park was relatively busy. The trees make the course. They are the beauty and bulk of the shot variety. The course is more desert jungle than it is park, the round I played felt like I was out in the countryside far from the city. The length was the sort of length that you can put on your big arms, but the course made you have to think about your big arms too. There was very little if any congestion, each hole is in its own area of the park. Once you get on the course there is almost no signs of any life, they tuck the golfers safely away from the soccer and football fields, a local complained about running trails, but I didn't see anyone but golfers.

UPDATE improvments have made this course one of my hands down top 5. I will write in more detail in the future. I just wanted to correct my grade for this course now that its been upgraded so well.
Cons: The course is long, bring water. The start was a bit hard to find. For a disc golf crazy city I would think that at least one of their course would have cement tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Experiencing the Austin disc golf scene in full force was amazing! This town loves disc golf. I have held off from writing review of Austin because I don't feel like I should be the person to write the line on their courses but, Slaughter Creek was quality!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.