Austin, TX 
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 339ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Big course with long shots

1    3/14/2016   3/15/2016
Review By: Av8rga
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good scene with many players. Maybe its sxsw week.. Bring your big shoes this course will test every driver in your bag. Lots of shade. Front 9 plays better than the back 9. After 5, bang a left on the dirt road if you follow the worn path you can find you way around easily. I played solo, the groups let me play through so thanks. Great boxes and all the approach areas have a fresh layer of mulch. All pins have a nice mat.
Cons: I couldn't find the course. No signs anywhere just a general area of where to park. Tagged behind some guys with bags, across some broken bridge to #1 from there i was good.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Austin Course

1    1/18/2016   1/21/2016
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 174  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Without a doubt, Roy G is a monster course that will challenge every skill level. It is challenging, but every fairway and tee shot is "fair," meaning I did not feel that there were randomly placed trees off the tee or in the fairway that needed more luck than skill. To put it in more simple terms, each tee has a defined shot off the tee.

The fairways were wide and almost gave a ball golf feel to the course. Off of the fairways, the rough is thick, but not thick enough to lose a disc or have a hard time throwing out.

The tee pads were great. The longer holes had "shorter" tees, which had sets of concrete pads with bricks on the border. They were some of the best tee pads I have ever played on.

Navigation was very easy. Most of the times, there were a path bordered with rocks leading you to the next tee from the previous basket.

The course is relatively clean even without any trash cans on the course. Pack it in, pack it out. The view of the Austin skyline over the Colorado River on Hole #17 is pretty cool.
Cons: As of playing in mid-January 2016, many of the tee signs had been removed from the rocks that they were initially pasted to. With the huge fluctuation of distances from hole to hole, it made knowing the distances impossible.

The course had virtually no elevation or water to speak of, which I felt made the course seem a little bland all together. There was no hole where I thought to myself "This is the signature hole of the course," and from looking at other peoples' reviews, I am not alone in saying that there is a lack of signature hole.

The long walk from Hole 18 back to the parking lot/hole 1 was a bit of a nuisance.
Other Thoughts: Like previously mentioned, this course is a monster and should be treated as such. Give yourself ample time to play, and if the course is busy, be prepared to wait to throw your shots.

All in all, this is a great course in the Austin area. Personally, I prefer Circle C, the other premier course in the area, to Roy G.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course, would play again

1    11/27/2015   11/30/2015
Review By: maceireann
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great signage, you never have to wonder if you are going the right way. Challenging holes, with a substantial investment in the benches, tree clearing, trash cans, etc.
Cons: Some signs were missing or vandalised. It's a bit muddy in the rain. Maybe could use some gravel or other drainage solution in low-lying spots.
Other Thoughts: Probably 15 mins from the airport. If you have a long layover, this is a good one.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

This Course was only 3 miles from my hotel!

1    12/2/2014   5/12/2015
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 360  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice tee pads, they were a pleasure to throw from. Shorts and longs on most every hole.
+Great signage, among the best that I've seen. I played alone on a December morning with hardly another soul in the park and I never had any issues finding the next tee or basket. Signs are big and colorful.
+When I played it was pretty empty but I imagine this park being popular and a very fun atmosphere to play in.
+The woods are the perfect density. There are multiple gaps for you to try and hit and if you don't, the woods aren't likely to swallow your disc. The undergrowth is much worse at many courses that I play in the midwest.
+Lots of great holes that you have to throw far and accurately more than once. Not a pitch and putt ever.
+Trash cans, bathrooms, ample parking. Nothing too special but everything that you really need.
+The trees would be nice for shade on hot Texas summer days.
+A solid variety of holes. Nothing felt repetitive and it was definitely fun.
+Nice benches, some might need those during a long round on a hot day.
+Baskets are nice and new
+Shouldn't lose a disc here.
Cons: -No ace runs! ;)
-Overall, a bit too long for my personal preference. Many like this kind of course and I do every once in awhile but I would struggle to play here every day.
-Some trash issues but not too bad, I've seen much worse at other big metro area courses.
-There is a lot of walking involved. I think that I may have especially felt like this since I had to run (I'm a runner) just over 3 miles each way in order to play this course.
-Some vandalism was evident. It wasn't the worst but I don't know why any has to be done.
-As some have said, not a lot of variation between short and long tees on some of the bigger holes. A third set or just more variation between the two would be good.
Other Thoughts: +As I mentioned before, I had to run to and from this course. I was in Austin for a convention and only had 3 discs and no car. I often play with a small bag so this didn't really affect my review.
+Definitely worth a stop if you are a serious disc golfer. Due to the length of the course, plan a few hours to play. Especially if it might be busy.
+If you are a very new player, be careful about coming here. It is challenging and long.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    3/30/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: DHempe
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Plenty of garbage cans! (Keep our courses beautiful people!)
-Great variety of holes will let you pull out the full arsenal of discs!
-Real long course, overcrowding isn't a real issue
-Easy to follow
-Pros and beginners will have a good time here, thanks to the double concrete tees
-Hole 17 has you driving towards a pretty gnarly view of the city

Cons: -Lots of trash piling up around the trashcans, park department doesn't change it enough
-Can get overgrown, making finding discs a challenge
Other Thoughts: Another favorite of mine in Austin! Shoot me a DM if you're looking for someone to play with!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    5/24/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course is well maintained and fairly easy to navigate. Mix of long and short holes as well as varying shot types makes this a challenging and fun course to play (I played from pro tees).
Cons: Minor con: Little bit of a walk from parking lot to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: This is a must visit course if you're in the Austin area.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course, bring Deet/OFF

1    6/19/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update 8/27/2014: Freshly mowed, trimmed etc. I think they even added a trash can or two. Didn't feel like I was holding on to trash as long as the first time we played it. August heat is really subdued here thanks to all of the tall trees. Foot traffic is really low too. We only ran into a few people. Not sure why that is?! Maybe I should give bad reviews so I can keep this gem to myself ;) Really falling in love with this course.
Original Review: Pro and regular tee boxes. No cedar trees. Designed around the large beautiful oak, pecan and hack-berry trees the area is known for. The trees can be disc magnets or they can give you a rush as you miss a bunch of them through tiny holes. Was super fun when that happened. Fairways are nicely cut down (still a lot of grass to catch and stop a disc so very few bounces yielded additional yardage). Not overcrowded, yet. The clientele was not as shady and drunk as you'll find over at Mary Moore Searight. Sorry, but that's truth. Long course with long shots required. Definitely championship course. Obviously a lot of work went into this course. Super challenging but super fun.
Cons: Mosquitos, flies, nats, etc. Bring Deet or OFF because you'll be sorry if you didn't. Few trash cans (I think two as of 6/19/2014). Be prepared to pack it in and pack it out. If you send something off the fairway be prepared to end up with a ton of sticker burrs in your shoe laces and socks. By the end of a decent round you'll still probably end up with quite a few. The rest was very positive.
Other Thoughts: Bring a good amount of water. The forest is dense in places and thanks to the Austin humidity and high temps it can get a bit stifling in there. Really take in how beautiful trees and tall canopies. It's a lot of fun to sling a disc on this course. You need to have length to your game if your going to par these holes. I definitely recomend this to the seasoned player. I'd send someone who is playing for the first time to Zilker Park or Mary Moore instead as those are shorter holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Roy Guerrero

2-4    3/7/2016   5/13/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 35  Reviewed: 21
This review was updated on 3/9/2016
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hole and course design are great. In addition the course is beautiful, offering several extremely picturesque holes(17). Course is especially beautiful in the spring as that is when the grass covered fairways are the greenest. Most holes have trees providing a lot of shade and give the feel of a woodsy course even though most fairways are relatively clear. Another big plus is that this course has very distinct fairways. The holes have been made so that there is a very clear distinction between the fairway and the rough. Makes for a challenging and very enjoyable course.
Cons: The rough mentioned above is almost entirely high beggar's lice, which sticks to clothes like none other. It becomes frustrating when on later holes the stickers poke or prod when about to throw. There were also several tee signs missing from holes all along the course. The course can get repetitive later on in the round. There are plenty of different left, right and straight variations, but there is very little elevation change and nearly every fairway requires a low tight shot. Many of the par 4s are also simply too long to be fair unless you can throw 450+ consistently on a perfect line.
Other Thoughts: This course is great but presents a significant challenge. I gave it a high rating because that's what it deserves; it really is an awesome course. However, playing here on a day where you are a little off can result in a very frustrating round. Seriously a great course though, definitely one of my favorites. I would recommend it to any disc golfers that have been playing for a little while. The most important thing to keep in mind when playing this course is that it was designed to be a course for high level players who can throw far without losing accuracy. Also, I would earnestly recommend playing from the red tees unless you are a touring pro.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Roy Tree Guerrero

5+    0/0/0000   4/21/2014
Review By: discgolfATX
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well rounded course. Nice challenge of backhand and forehand.
Hole 7 is picturesque
Cons: Rough can be a little tall on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water and avoid the rough.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A well built course with a lot of length and the need for accuracy.

1    10/17/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: brittfrey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was very little pedestrian traffic to worry about, and the course itself was not crowded at all, even on a beautiful day. Pretty much the entire course is in woods, but the fairways are well cleared. There's no water to speak of, and the underbrush is light enough that you don't have to worry to much about losing a disc, as long as it's colored. I played a few days after heavy rains in Austin and only had one bit of mud, between holes 15 and 16 where you have to cross a creek.

Overall, the signage is very nice and it's easy to see the path to the next tee. The tee boxes and pins are well constructed, sturdy, and should last a long time.
Cons: Considering the combination of length and trees, I'd say that par on most holes was underrated by 1.

A few of the fairways could stand to be trimmed down.

It does get repetitive by the end, as someone else said. It's mainly long fairways through somewhat narrow tree clearings, but not a lot of strategy involved.
Other Thoughts: This may be the physically longest course I've ever played. Most of the 18 holes were over 600 feet, maybe even over 3/4 of the holes; several were over 700 feet. At a fairly steady pace with no lost discs, it took me about 1.25 hours to play the whole course.

The signage on hole 12 was missing, but someone helpfully drew on the stone to show you that the pin was about 315 feet and slightly to the left. Hole 17 signage was missing and there was other vandalism around the tee; it's 350 feet straight forward. The amateur tee box on hole 18 is missing signage, but the pro tee has it - 675/750 feet, pretty much straight ahead.

Buses 300 and 320 stop at the park entrance, about 1/2 mile from the tee for hole 1. They only come every 30 minutes or so, though, so try to keep an eye on the clock.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.