Austin, TX 
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Long Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

1    5/24/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is well maintained and fairly easy to navigate. Mix of long and short holes as well as varying shot types makes this a challenging and fun course to play (I played from pro tees).
Cons: Minor con: Little bit of a walk from parking lot to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: This is a must visit course if you're in the Austin area.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course, bring Deet/OFF

1    6/19/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update 8/27/2014: Freshly mowed, trimmed etc. I think they even added a trash can or two. Didn't feel like I was holding on to trash as long as the first time we played it. August heat is really subdued here thanks to all of the tall trees. Foot traffic is really low too. We only ran into a few people. Not sure why that is?! Maybe I should give bad reviews so I can keep this gem to myself ;) Really falling in love with this course.
Original Review: Pro and regular tee boxes. No cedar trees. Designed around the large beautiful oak, pecan and hack-berry trees the area is known for. The trees can be disc magnets or they can give you a rush as you miss a bunch of them through tiny holes. Was super fun when that happened. Fairways are nicely cut down (still a lot of grass to catch and stop a disc so very few bounces yielded additional yardage). Not overcrowded, yet. The clientele was not as shady and drunk as you'll find over at Mary Moore Searight. Sorry, but that's truth. Long course with long shots required. Definitely championship course. Obviously a lot of work went into this course. Super challenging but super fun.
Cons: Mosquitos, flies, nats, etc. Bring Deet or OFF because you'll be sorry if you didn't. Few trash cans (I think two as of 6/19/2014). Be prepared to pack it in and pack it out. If you send something off the fairway be prepared to end up with a ton of sticker burrs in your shoe laces and socks. By the end of a decent round you'll still probably end up with quite a few. The rest was very positive.
Other Thoughts: Bring a good amount of water. The forest is dense in places and thanks to the Austin humidity and high temps it can get a bit stifling in there. Really take in how beautiful trees and tall canopies. It's a lot of fun to sling a disc on this course. You need to have length to your game if your going to par these holes. I definitely recomend this to the seasoned player. I'd send someone who is playing for the first time to Zilker Park or Mary Moore instead as those are shorter holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Roy Guerrero

1    5/13/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 2/22/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hole and course design are great. Excellent variety of holes and some holes were especially picturesque (17). In addition the course is beautiful. Most holes have trees providing a lot of shade and give the feel of a woodsy course even though most fairways are relatively clear. Another big plus is that this course has very distinct fairways. The holes have been made so that there is a very clear distinction between the fairway and the rough. Makes for a challenging and very enjoyable course.
Cons: The rough mentioned above is almost entirely high beggar's lice, which sticks to clothes like none other. It becomes frustrating when on later holes the stickers poke or prod when about to throw. There were also a few tee signs missing from the final few holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is great but presents a significant challenge. I gave it a high rating because that's what it deserves; it really is an awesome course. However, playing here on a day where your drives are off can result in a very frustrating day. Seriously a great course though, definitely one of my favorites. I would recommend it to any disc golfers that are able to consistently keep their drives in the fairway. The most important thing to keep in mind when playing this course is that it was designed to be a course for professional level players who can throw really far without losing accuracy. I would earnestly recommend playing from the red tees unless you are extremely good.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A well built course with a lot of length and the need for accuracy.

1    10/17/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: brittfrey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was very little pedestrian traffic to worry about, and the course itself was not crowded at all, even on a beautiful day. Pretty much the entire course is in woods, but the fairways are well cleared. There's no water to speak of, and the underbrush is light enough that you don't have to worry to much about losing a disc, as long as it's colored. I played a few days after heavy rains in Austin and only had one bit of mud, between holes 15 and 16 where you have to cross a creek.

Overall, the signage is very nice and it's easy to see the path to the next tee. The tee boxes and pins are well constructed, sturdy, and should last a long time.
Cons: Considering the combination of length and trees, I'd say that par on most holes was underrated by 1.

A few of the fairways could stand to be trimmed down.

It does get repetitive by the end, as someone else said. It's mainly long fairways through somewhat narrow tree clearings, but not a lot of strategy involved.
Other Thoughts: This may be the physically longest course I've ever played. Most of the 18 holes were over 600 feet, maybe even over 3/4 of the holes; several were over 700 feet. At a fairly steady pace with no lost discs, it took me about 1.25 hours to play the whole course.

The signage on hole 12 was missing, but someone helpfully drew on the stone to show you that the pin was about 315 feet and slightly to the left. Hole 17 signage was missing and there was other vandalism around the tee; it's 350 feet straight forward. The amateur tee box on hole 18 is missing signage, but the pro tee has it - 675/750 feet, pretty much straight ahead.

Buses 300 and 320 stop at the park entrance, about 1/2 mile from the tee for hole 1. They only come every 30 minutes or so, though, so try to keep an eye on the clock.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Championship length but not quite championship quality...

2-4    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is indeed of excellent quality, as several have mentioned. Great big tee pads, beautiful signs, and several great hole placements, #1 and #17 coming particularly to mind.

It's long and difficult, and usually pretty fair. It's a course that certainly you should have played if you live in Austin.
Cons: However, I do think this just isn't quite the level of a few other courses in Austin like East Metro, Circle C, or Bible Ridge.

As others have mentioned, the holes are extremely repetitive, particularly on the back nine. Look at the hole lengths - with one exception, all the par 3s are between 325 and 405, and all the par 4s are between 720 and 849.

Pretty much every hole that comes to mind on this course is on the front nine. It feels like more work went into that. I mean, hole #1 is a championship level hole on every level. It's gorgeous. #4 is great. #7 with its dual fairways is fantastic.

But the back nine is just a slog through the woods and gets a bit unfair. The particular problem I have is the number of holes with early chokepoints, which are basically just accuracy tests without adding any strategic interest to the course. And 18 is just obviously an "OK, we got to the picturesque hole, now we need to head back to the parking lot" hole.

And this isn't their fault but the total lack of elevation change really hurts the course. It very much plays into the lack of variety.

That's a loooooong way to say this is a great course with a few flaws that keep it from being the best in Austin.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Roy Good!

1    3/24/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 318  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roy G. Guerrero is a very large multi use park near downtown Austin. The disc golf course is pretty much the only activity in that area. This is the new style of disc golf. Many par 4's.

The tee pads are awesome. Plenty large, flat, and 2 per hole. They have a nice brick outline around them too.

The tees signs are the best in the game. Houck tee signs rule!

Brand new shiny yellow Innova Discatchers.

Stone benches on every hole!

I brought a map but did not use it once. The flow was very easy to follow.

Having 2 tees per hole tests all skill levels. This is a wooded course but the fairways are very fair. If you keep it in the fairway you will score well here.

The view on hole 17 is very awesome. Check out the picture with Downtown Austin as the back drop.

The greens are very open, clear, and flat. If you are a good putter you are going to love the greens.

Most of the course plays under the trees so you are in the shade most of the time.
Cons: The course is rather flat and lacks some interesting characteristics to take it to the next level. Some holes become repetitive.

The walk from #18 back to the main parking lot near the bridge to #1 is quite long. Finding #1 can be a challenge.

You have no opportunity to stop by the parking lot. Once you get on the course you are there for the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The sign at the start of the course is very deceiving. It only took me about 1.5 hours to play the short tees by myself.

Unfortunately some D Bags have already vandalized the course in a few areas. They've ripped off a few tee signs and tagged some of the large stones. What a shame!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tired me out!

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Strategic layout of the course, challenging shots that test your accuracy, open enough on most holes to really let er' rip on drives, nice scenery, well manicured, concrete pads, benches on every hole.
Cons: Course is really flat, too many long holes, hole variety varies little. walk from hole 18 to hole 1 is long
Other Thoughts: This course will wear you out, the strategic layout catches you off guard, the holes are long and some very difficult. You think you have a lot of energy, then the course keeps getting longer and required a lot of throws. Other than the fact that it's tiring its a great course that is tons of fun. Go play it if you are in the Austin area.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too Long For a Lot of Players

1    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: greg_lange
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very nice course. There are clearly defined fairways on each hole. The course has very nice trees. The trees are tall with no low limbs. So, they mostly only interfere with shots that leave the fairway or those that are thrown too high. There was a lot of work put into this course and it shows.
Cons: The course is too long for average players. My group has been playing for about 4 years and we really struggled with the length. We aren't bad players. We just don't have the length to play this course. We played the short tees. However, they are not much shorter than the long tees.
Other Thoughts: Great course for players that have the length to play it.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    6/30/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of shade amongst the numerous trees. Nice layout with out much traversing adjacent holes. Pads are large and each hole is laid out beautifully. Signage is excellent with directions to the next tee box. A fare course but just long. Plenty of parking behind Krieg Fields.
Cons: No trash cans. They had a trash pickup crew in front of us for most of the back nine. Played at 9am, the crowds. Should shoot for 8 am or better to finish under 3 hours. Course was slow with lots of waiting to tee off & second and third shots. No potable water for golfers.
Other Thoughts: Not a course for the meek or beginners. I am an avid disc golfer with 20+years of playing and this course was tough. With an average arm you need precise shots (stay in fairway) and solid putting to score well. Great course Par 5's elsewhere are Par 4's. I wish they could move the "short" pads up on the Par 3's.

For first timers, unless you know exactly where this the course is located you should know that there are signs indicating where to go. Alas, they are behind the softball fields a Krieg, Parking is adjacent to sand volleyball courts.

Did I say this is a long course?

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Guerrero finally HERE!

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: oldaustingolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 28.8 Years
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I AM AMAZED that the City of Austin actually fulfilled their promise to build a replacement for PEASE! Very nice landscaping done in the crucial areas of Tee boxes, greens and mulch-chipped areas. Pretty wide fairways for the most part. Benches and concrete tee pads are the norm here, which is great. Great idea to surround the basket with a large circular 'board' to maintain the surface. Course navigation easy for the most part; good flow with few exceptions and nice Hole Maps on Tee Rocks.
Cons: Not a lot of difficulty here except for the length of the holes relative to par. Many holes don't turn until after 200 ft, making it challenging to hold a good line. No trash cans yet; no doubt they'll be coming soon. No water hazards or elevation challenges either. I got a little confused on directions on Holes 14-16.
Other Thoughts: A rather long and flat course. Bring plenty of water. Parking was easy and I felt safe leaving me car in the lot. The course doesn't not compare to the late Pease course (it would be hard to), but it's nice to have a new course, especially in this area of Austin! Now go play it yourself and enjoy!

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.