Austin, TX 
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 768ft.   4 / 831ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

1    5/24/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is well maintained and fairly easy to navigate. Mix of long and short holes as well as varying shot types makes this a challenging and fun course to play (I played from pro tees).
Cons: Minor con: Little bit of a walk from parking lot to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: This is a must visit course if you're in the Austin area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course, bring Deet/OFF

1    6/19/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: SigLane
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update 8/27/2014: Freshly mowed, trimmed etc. I think they even added a trash can or two. Didn't feel like I was holding on to trash as long as the first time we played it. August heat is really subdued here thanks to all of the tall trees. Foot traffic is really low too. We only ran into a few people. Not sure why that is?! Maybe I should give bad reviews so I can keep this gem to myself ;) Really falling in love with this course.
Original Review: Pro and regular tee boxes. No cedar trees. Designed around the large beautiful oak, pecan and hack-berry trees the area is known for. The trees can be disc magnets or they can give you a rush as you miss a bunch of them through tiny holes. Was super fun when that happened. Fairways are nicely cut down (still a lot of grass to catch and stop a disc so very few bounces yielded additional yardage). Not overcrowded, yet. The clientele was not as shady and drunk as you'll find over at Mary Moore Searight. Sorry, but that's truth. Long course with long shots required. Definitely championship course. Obviously a lot of work went into this course. Super challenging but super fun.
Cons: Mosquitos, flies, nats, etc. Bring Deet or OFF because you'll be sorry if you didn't. Few trash cans (I think two as of 6/19/2014). Be prepared to pack it in and pack it out. If you send something off the fairway be prepared to end up with a ton of sticker burrs in your shoe laces and socks. By the end of a decent round you'll still probably end up with quite a few. The rest was very positive.
Other Thoughts: Bring a good amount of water. The forest is dense in places and thanks to the Austin humidity and high temps it can get a bit stifling in there. Really take in how beautiful trees and tall canopies. It's a lot of fun to sling a disc on this course. You need to have length to your game if your going to par these holes. I definitely recomend this to the seasoned player. I'd send someone who is playing for the first time to Zilker Park or Mary Moore instead as those are shorter holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A well built course with a lot of length and the need for accuracy.

1    10/17/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: brittfrey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was very little pedestrian traffic to worry about, and the course itself was not crowded at all, even on a beautiful day. Pretty much the entire course is in woods, but the fairways are well cleared. There's no water to speak of, and the underbrush is light enough that you don't have to worry to much about losing a disc, as long as it's colored. I played a few days after heavy rains in Austin and only had one bit of mud, between holes 15 and 16 where you have to cross a creek.

Overall, the signage is very nice and it's easy to see the path to the next tee. The tee boxes and pins are well constructed, sturdy, and should last a long time.
Cons: Considering the combination of length and trees, I'd say that par on most holes was underrated by 1.

A few of the fairways could stand to be trimmed down.

It does get repetitive by the end, as someone else said. It's mainly long fairways through somewhat narrow tree clearings, but not a lot of strategy involved.
Other Thoughts: This may be the physically longest course I've ever played. Most of the 18 holes were over 600 feet, maybe even over 3/4 of the holes; several were over 700 feet. At a fairly steady pace with no lost discs, it took me about 1.25 hours to play the whole course.

The signage on hole 12 was missing, but someone helpfully drew on the stone to show you that the pin was about 315 feet and slightly to the left. Hole 17 signage was missing and there was other vandalism around the tee; it's 350 feet straight forward. The amateur tee box on hole 18 is missing signage, but the pro tee has it - 675/750 feet, pretty much straight ahead.

Buses 300 and 320 stop at the park entrance, about 1/2 mile from the tee for hole 1. They only come every 30 minutes or so, though, so try to keep an eye on the clock.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Championship length but not quite championship quality...

2-4    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is indeed of excellent quality, as several have mentioned. Great big tee pads, beautiful signs, and several great hole placements, #1 and #17 coming particularly to mind.

It's long and difficult, and usually pretty fair. It's a course that certainly you should have played if you live in Austin.
Cons: However, I do think this just isn't quite the level of a few other courses in Austin like East Metro, Circle C, or Bible Ridge.

As others have mentioned, the holes are extremely repetitive, particularly on the back nine. Look at the hole lengths - with one exception, all the par 3s are between 325 and 405, and all the par 4s are between 720 and 849.

Pretty much every hole that comes to mind on this course is on the front nine. It feels like more work went into that. I mean, hole #1 is a championship level hole on every level. It's gorgeous. #4 is great. #7 with its dual fairways is fantastic.

But the back nine is just a slog through the woods and gets a bit unfair. The particular problem I have is the number of holes with early chokepoints, which are basically just accuracy tests without adding any strategic interest to the course. And 18 is just obviously an "OK, we got to the picturesque hole, now we need to head back to the parking lot" hole.

And this isn't their fault but the total lack of elevation change really hurts the course. It very much plays into the lack of variety.

That's a loooooong way to say this is a great course with a few flaws that keep it from being the best in Austin.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Roy Good!

1    3/24/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roy G. Guerrero is a very large multi use park near downtown Austin. The disc golf course is pretty much the only activity in that area. This is the new style of disc golf. Many par 4's.

The tee pads are awesome. Plenty large, flat, and 2 per hole. They have a nice brick outline around them too.

The tees signs are the best in the game. Houck tee signs rule!

Brand new shiny yellow Innova Discatchers.

Stone benches on every hole!

I brought a map but did not use it once. The flow was very easy to follow.

Having 2 tees per hole tests all skill levels. This is a wooded course but the fairways are very fair. If you keep it in the fairway you will score well here.

The view on hole 17 is very awesome. Check out the picture with Downtown Austin as the back drop.

The greens are very open, clear, and flat. If you are a good putter you are going to love the greens.

Most of the course plays under the trees so you are in the shade most of the time.
Cons: The course is rather flat and lacks some interesting characteristics to take it to the next level. Some holes become repetitive.

The walk from #18 back to the main parking lot near the bridge to #1 is quite long. Finding #1 can be a challenge.

You have no opportunity to stop by the parking lot. Once you get on the course you are there for the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The sign at the start of the course is very deceiving. It only took me about 1.5 hours to play the short tees by myself.

Unfortunately some D Bags have already vandalized the course in a few areas. They've ripped off a few tee signs and tagged some of the large stones. What a shame!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tired me out!

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Strategic layout of the course, challenging shots that test your accuracy, open enough on most holes to really let er' rip on drives, nice scenery, well manicured, concrete pads, benches on every hole.
Cons: Course is really flat, too many long holes, hole variety varies little. walk from hole 18 to hole 1 is long
Other Thoughts: This course will wear you out, the strategic layout catches you off guard, the holes are long and some very difficult. You think you have a lot of energy, then the course keeps getting longer and required a lot of throws. Other than the fact that it's tiring its a great course that is tons of fun. Go play it if you are in the Austin area.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too Long For a Lot of Players

1    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: greg_lange
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very nice course. There are clearly defined fairways on each hole. The course has very nice trees. The trees are tall with no low limbs. So, they mostly only interfere with shots that leave the fairway or those that are thrown too high. There was a lot of work put into this course and it shows.
Cons: The course is too long for average players. My group has been playing for about 4 years and we really struggled with the length. We aren't bad players. We just don't have the length to play this course. We played the short tees. However, they are not much shorter than the long tees.
Other Thoughts: Great course for players that have the length to play it.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    6/30/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of shade amongst the numerous trees. Nice layout with out much traversing adjacent holes. Pads are large and each hole is laid out beautifully. Signage is excellent with directions to the next tee box. A fare course but just long. Plenty of parking behind Krieg Fields.
Cons: No trash cans. They had a trash pickup crew in front of us for most of the back nine. Played at 9am, the crowds. Should shoot for 8 am or better to finish under 3 hours. Course was slow with lots of waiting to tee off & second and third shots. No potable water for golfers.
Other Thoughts: Not a course for the meek or beginners. I am an avid disc golfer with 20+years of playing and this course was tough. With an average arm you need precise shots (stay in fairway) and solid putting to score well. Great course Par 5's elsewhere are Par 4's. I wish they could move the "short" pads up on the Par 3's.

For first timers, unless you know exactly where this the course is located you should know that there are signs indicating where to go. Alas, they are behind the softball fields a Krieg, Parking is adjacent to sand volleyball courts.

Did I say this is a long course?

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Guerrero finally HERE!

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: oldaustingolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 28.6 Years
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I AM AMAZED that the City of Austin actually fulfilled their promise to build a replacement for PEASE! Very nice landscaping done in the crucial areas of Tee boxes, greens and mulch-chipped areas. Pretty wide fairways for the most part. Benches and concrete tee pads are the norm here, which is great. Great idea to surround the basket with a large circular 'board' to maintain the surface. Course navigation easy for the most part; good flow with few exceptions and nice Hole Maps on Tee Rocks.
Cons: Not a lot of difficulty here except for the length of the holes relative to par. Many holes don't turn until after 200 ft, making it challenging to hold a good line. No trash cans yet; no doubt they'll be coming soon. No water hazards or elevation challenges either. I got a little confused on directions on Holes 14-16.
Other Thoughts: A rather long and flat course. Bring plenty of water. Parking was easy and I felt safe leaving me car in the lot. The course doesn't not compare to the late Pease course (it would be hard to), but it's nice to have a new course, especially in this area of Austin! Now go play it yourself and enjoy!

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Look out Charlotte, here comes Austin!

1    6/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2013
27 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Roy G flies sweet, right out of the box. This course provides a strong challenge, an enjoyable walk, some very beautifully framed fairways, and a low chance of lost discs. The course has had a great opening as a virtually finished product. The designers and constructors are true professionals in their craft. The course has a broad appeal to all levels of players. If you're fortunate enough to have the opportunity to play Roy G, PLEASE leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

There are some amenities that stand out right away. The tee pads are the best that I've ever played on, hands down. The throwing surface is bordered with bricks to prevent the inevitable erosion and cracking that occurs on pads that aren't properly framed. The tee areas have several large benches that are well positioned. The tee signs are the industry gold standard. Many places on the course have large rocks that have been moved and arranged to increase the beauty of the course. The second half of the course offers a decent amount of tree canopy.

The designers have implemented many progressive erosion control measures. Having the foresight to anticipate future wear and implement solutions is another testament to their professionalism.

The fairways are appropriately wide for the required length of shots. There are no random pimp trees. The course is eminently fair and players are fully responsible for their success or lack thereof at Roy G. The rough is punishing on the score, but not the body and finding discs is fairly easy. There are two sets of tees to accommodate a range of player skill levels.

The holes are well spaced, providing adequate safety and visual buffer with only one exception. The routing flow is very intuitive and rock-lined paths draw players through the course with minimal effort. Roy G is the second best course in Austin, behind Circle C.

Some of the highlights include:

Hole 7 is a picture postcard from the tee. I stood there and imagined that I was living in a Monet. The hole is a dead straight, medium-long par 4 with two routes off the tee. Nothing tricky, just a gorgeous tree-canopied corridor and a fair challenge.

Hole 9 is a 340 ft par 3 that bends sharply left about halfway down. It is difficult to "park" the hole using an overstable disc. The optimal shot needs to be thrown with hyzer with a disc that will slowly flip up and bank gently left. Not enough disc golf holes require this degree of subtle disc flight manipulation.

Hole 10 is a 330 ft par 3 with one of the tightest routes on the course. It's played straight up the gut to a well-framed basket. It's not so tight to be unfair, but does produce some anxiety on the tee pad as it is much tighter relative to the rest of the course.

Hole 14 is a very demanding medium-long par 4. The tee shot is fairly tight for a power drive and requires a slight left to right shape to set up a realistic chance for a birdie 3.

Hole 15 is a 700 ft par 4 that plays looong. The tee shot is another picture postcard moment at Roy G. Take a moment to soak in how wonderfully framed this hole is from the tee. There are two main routes down the second half of the hole. The left route is much more direct, but tighter. It's one of the best risk/reward decision moments on the course.

Hole 17 is a beautiful reward for having played most of the way around this tough track. The hole is perfectly framed with the river behind the basket and Austin skyline in the distance.
Cons: I feel like I'm beating a dead horse on this issue, but the fact that this course does not have two loops of nine holes that bring players back near the parking area is a con. This could have been easily incorporated here, affording players the opportunity to play 9, 18, or 27 holes and replenish supplies as needed. The first tee is a good hike from the parking lot and it's also a long hike back from hole 18's basket.

The course is difficult to locate in the back of the park without any directional park signs. There isn't a main course sign, practice basket, or warm-up area near the first tee. Although the navigation is largely intuitive, there are a couple places which could use "next tee" signs.

I'm on the fence about the decision to not provide any trash receptacles at Roy G. The course has only been open for 3 days now and is quickly accumulating litter.

The course is not well balanced in terms of power and technical requirements. While it is by no means "wide open", it does over-reward power. The crush, crush, crush nature of the course gets a little redundant. Many of the blue tees are a bit too long and are actually gold. Likewise, many of the white tees are actually blue.

The course has only minimal elevation changes. The course offers very little in terms of dynamic putting situations with drop-off's near baskets.

While the course is beautiful, fair, and challenging overall, it falls short of Circle C, Austin Bible Ridge, and East Metro in terms of great memorable individual holes.

Hole 15's tee pad is right on the edge of hole 14's fairway and exposed to incoming shots.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.