Austin, TX 
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Long Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Roy Guerrero

1    5/13/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 8/24/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hole and course design are great. Excellent variety of holes and some holes were especially picturesque (17). In addition the course is beautiful. Most holes have trees providing a lot of shade and give the feel of a woodsy course even though most fairways are relatively clear. Another big plus is that this course has very distinct fairways. The holes have been made so that there is a very clear distinction between the fairway and the rough. Makes for a challenging and very enjoyable course.
Cons: The rough mentioned above is almost entirely high beggar's lice, which sticks to clothes like none other. It becomes frustrating when on later holes the stickers poke or prod when about to throw. There were also a few tee signs missing from the final few holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is great but presents a significant challenge. I gave it a high rating because that's what it deserves; it really is an awesome course. However, playing here on a day where your drives are off can result in a very frustrating day. Seriously a great course though, definitely one of my favorites. I would recommend it to any disc golfers that are able to consistently keep their drives in the fairway. The most important thing to keep in mind when playing this course is that it was designed to be a course for professional level players who can throw really far without losing accuracy. I would earnestly recommend playing from the red tees unless you are extremely good.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Challenging and Scenic

1    5/27/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tree cover is great and does a good job shielding the sun and adding a lot of variety to the course.

The natural setting is top-notch and we saw lots of cool birds and it felt isolated even though it is surrounded by city.

Fairways are more like a golf course then a disc course and are well-kept and well-designed. Loved the way the trees are shaped on this course to force shots while also allowing for each person to play it in their style.

Best teeboxes I have seen (huge pads, stamped concrete makes it feel more natural, stone benches, great signs).

Great course that I think anyone can play and enjoy. Will be hard for a beginner but nothing too bad.
Cons: Signage between pins and next teeboxes need to be added for #5, #15, and #18. There are random signs posted saying "Smoke-free course" so not sure why having a simple sign saying "next tee w/arrow" added to those holes would remove confusion for 1st timers. Granted on each tee-box sign it has an arrow pointing in direction of next hole we did not even notice those until much later because almost all of the holes are easy to find.

Short-tees are really nice on most holes (especially the front 9), but a few holes seem less useful as the hole is 600+ and the tee barely felt any shorter; I think it would be cool if a 3rd tee was added to a few holes to give a different angle on the course (specifically #15).
Other Thoughts: I have only played the course once as I was visiting from Colorado. Reading the reviews I was prepared for it to be very long and be repetitive. After playing I was surprised at how varied the course is considering it is mostly long and flat. I am used to a lot more elevation change but the trees really made this course for me; big canopies forcing shots to be low, to huge dog-legs, to straight alley-shots, all added-up to be a very fun course that I hope I can play again. Even the big holes had quite a bit of variety and weren't just all huge hucks. Biggest challenge is ensuring your drive doesn't smack a tree as it is hard to recover after that.

First off the weather was near perfect while we played which helped immensely (recent heavy rains made the grasses really green, partly cloudy, mid 80's, mild humidity). We played on Memorial day starting at 10am and there was barely anyone on the course.

There was three of us and it took 2:30hrs which was us taking our time with a small puppy and one beginner player (and no one in front of us). Hole #1 is easy to find if you read the Local Directions. Also the walk back from 18 to the parking lot was no more then 3-5 mins and not a big deal at all.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    3/12/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow this is a marvelous course. You can tell that they took a lot of time and effort to make this a top notch course. The course was clean with no trash anywhere.The tee signs are beautiful. They are big and colorful with distances for both the shorts and the longs. The tee pads are big and have bricks around it to fight the erosion. Also, the putting greens are nice and fight erosion as well. This is a long wooded course that make you put multiple shots together to shoot a good score. The navigation is really easy because they have paths that lead you between each hole. You know this is a good course when after hole 11 I said, " what I just finished hole 11? It feels like I just started." I think that is a good thing when playing a course because you are enjoying yourself that much. Hole 17's view was awesome. I appreciated the canopy keeping some of the sun from beating down on me but still not too tight that you can let a disc fly.
Cons: Finding the course was a complete nightmare. They need to put a sign in the parking lot. Even finding hole 1 is difficult. Also, it is quite a walk from 18's basket to parking lot. I always appreciate a mixture of longer and shorter holes. I felt like there were only longer holes. Like many have said before a few of the holes became repetitive, There were 2 tee signs missing and people already started with vandalism on some of the rocks that support the tee signs. If a short was missing its tee signs the long still had it but quit taking tee signs people. I'm sure this was fixed before texas states but the grass on 16 was very high.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course that with a few mild adjustments like signage to the first tee and even the parking lot could be competing with slaughter creek as the best in Austin. I wish I lived closer so I could play this often, I just hope vandalism doesn't trash this course like so many others (Z-Boaz in Fort Worth) because this course is gorgeous.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed course for 2012

2-4    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Roy G is just about everything you could want in a Texas course. The concrete tee pads are very large with paver stones surrounding them to prevent erosion and provide throwers with solid footing before and after the concrete. The baskets are Innova DISCatchers with triple chains and the bright yellow top band that aids in locating baskets 800+' off the tee box. The holes are varied in both distance and lefty/righty mix. However, the course favors distance throwers with decent accuracy; that's probably a good thing for new course construction in this age of Blizzard technology. Many of the holes have multiple lines where a riskier line could reward you with a better second shot. The off-fairway rough is filled with trees but none of the nasty thorns and brush that make getting to your disc a nightmare; but throw off the fairway or hit a tree on the edge and there's a decent chance you'll lose a stroke. There's obvious paths, many lined in stone or logs, leading from one hole to the next; so no need for a course map, even for first timers. Stone benches at each tee box for setting your bag or your weary self to combat the inevitable back-ups that will occur at this soon-to-be uber popular course. The course is mostly blanketed by trees shelter you from the hot Texas sun. Maps on the tee signs provide a very accurate description of the hole layout and make finding the baskets easy. Dual tee boxes for long vs. short throwers. Nice steps laid out where necessary and logs placed in fairways to help control erosion. Hole #17 is a beautiful hole with the city skyline in the background.
Cons:
Not much to complain about on this brand spankin' new course. The issue that glares to me the most is the long vs. short tees are often insignificantly different which is a shame considering the large amount of effort that went into the beautiful tee pads. Seems like it would have been better to have the short pads be more than 50' different on holes 500-800'.

When I laser measured the distances from the long tees the were often far longer than what's posted on the tee signs. (Numbers on DGCR are updated with laser values.)

The very large mulch chips in the fairway can be ankle twisters if you're not watching your step. They also have the potential to generate some erratic disc skips. That'll fade over time.

Long walk between #1 and #18 will be annoying to shotgun start tournament players.

No real elevation or water in play.
Other Thoughts:
This is a pack-it-in/pack-it-out course so there are no trash cans. There's a parking lot convenient to tee #1 and another lot convenient to basket #18... so you get to chose whether you want the long walk before or after your round. Roy G is a great course and I enjoyed my round there a lot. The holes are challenging, but never did I feel like I was playing a "stupid" hole. The holes on which I carded big numbers were my own fault for bad shots and I knew it. This is a destination course if you're in the area, but do your best to play at the crack of dawn or you're likely to face mobs of players and 4+ hour rounds. Pack lots of water in the Summer because there's no where to refill on the course.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  Very Nice, Very Long

1    6/20/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Emoedog1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout that requires every shot in your bag. Great tee pads and signs, along with nice stone benches to sit on and rest or wait on the group in front of you.

The lines on this course are some of the most beautiful I have seen, great variety of lines on almost every hole that really lets you play the game you are comfortable with.

The baskets are all very nice and protected on the majority of holes, and the paths to the next holes are easy to see and follow.

The course is on a beautiful piece of property that has a different look than most centex courses. No Cedar and no limestone mountains to climb or roll an ankle on.
Cons: No trash cans, I know its a pack in pack it out course, but no trash cans is a con for me because that means I will end up carry at least a 6 pack of beer cans in my bag by the end of the round that are not MINE.

Elevation change, there is none.

That's about all I can think of, the walk back to the parking lot as some have mentioned is not ideal, especially in the Texas heat, but knowing the background as to why the course is laid out how it is does not seem like a con to me, it actually seems like pro in the long run.
Other Thoughts: This course is long, this course is difficult, and this course is the future of disc golf. You either jump on board and do some field work or keep playing Searight and Zilker.

This is a must play top 3 course in centex imo.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 AMAZING!

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: NEW!
Perfectly groomed
Alternate tees
Map on every hole
Great flow
Some decent elevation changes
Allows you to work on every type of throw
Cons: No water fountain
No trash cans

Other Thoughts: This course takes a good 2 1/2 to 3 hours to complete so make sure you have the time and the fluids! Tons of signature holes, but the entire course is amazing. This is a MUST PLAY if you are anywhere near it!

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Great Addition, Difficult!

2-4    6/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: Lightning
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 31.5 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aside from being a new awesome disc golf course? Well....

1. Choose Your Own Adventure! - Lots of holes have multiple lines. There's plenty of alleyways that will reward a well thrown shot, but unlike Slaughter or East Metro and like some of the previous viewers, throwing your disc into the rough won't result in a lost disc. Although BEWARE of the brambles on the left side of #18. That's some nasty, nasty stuff.

2. There are some really nice pin placements, ones that really make the hole.

3. There are lots of cross paths that allow you to say, get to 3 easily if there's a line at the 1 tee. These are all over the course.

4. Lots of shade, lots of wildlife, lots of fun
Cons: 1. Very little elevation changes. I realize that's out of the control of the designers, but it still is something that this course lacks that you can get at ARBC or East Metro.

2. I would have like more variation on the lengths. There are no Par 3s under 275, and no holes longer than 775 or so (no Par 5s). So it's hard for amateurs to bird out there, and there's no hole that makes your jaw drop in terms of distance. Just one killer Par 5 (a la Metcenter 10, Slaughter 18, Old Settlers Par 5s) would have been sweet. But as it is, playing with intermediate players, they were a bit annoyed with the longness.

3. At this point, the mulch messes up your footing and your rollers.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a very good to great course. I've enjoyed playing, and I look forward to playing the hell out of it all summer (AND I look forward to hopefully less crowds at other Austin courses thanks to Roy).

That being said, I think the idea of this course being "great for new and experienced players alike" is perhaps giving it too much credit. As I said, these are long holes. If you can't consistently get 300ft off the tee, then you may have yourself a difficult time out there. The holes require and reward great shotmaking as well: getting two good throws on the Par 4s will still leave a lot of players with a sizable up and down for par.

But with THAT being said, it doesn't matter how many strokes you get, you will have fun, you will marvel at the beauty of the course, and you will pinch yourself at just how centrally located the course is. Long live Austin, Disc Golf Capitol of the World!!!

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.