Austin, TX
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #6 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 327ft.   3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Pro/Am Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The New Standard

5+    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -"ball golf" type course
-extremely well defined fairways, and you better stay in them
-amazing concrete tees surrounded for water run off
-long and challenging
-green(the putt) areas built specifically to help fight erosion, some solid putting ground
-enough traffic now that mulch is finally good and worked into the ground, better fairway throws now
-great canopy cover still allowing for height on throws while providing shade for the majority of the course=HUGE PLUS
-challenges your game to the fullest, a place to really test and improve skills in accuracy, holding a line, and ability to shape great shots
-extremely fair course, offering lines for leftys, rightys, backhand, and sidearm but all equally as difficult
Cons: -long walk to 1, long walk off, i suggest parking by softball fields where you exit out of 18 and make the extra distance to 1, you will be happy when your car is right there when your off the course
-no putt practice area
-bamboo grows fast and tall really clogging up fairways and putting areas, recently been maintained, so awesome now, but really frustrating when its overgrown
-tee sign distances are significantly off, consesus among the ppl i play with is they are anywhere from 8-12% off
Other Thoughts: a "true" golf course, a new standard i believe. championship calibur, people talk about the lack of elevation, but the course plays so difficult that i dont believe thats even an issue. pack your bag with stable to slightly understable discs, you can manage the course by shooting straight and staying in the fairway, and playing aggresively will require alot of big flexing slowly flattening annies and ones that break out and S out at the end of flight=alot of slight annie angles, and stable to understable hyzers that barely flip and then back to hyzer for extra left break that you cant get from overstable discs that want to find the ground to quickly. it seems they built the course to require the hardest shots in disc golf=AWESOME.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Heaven

1    6/22/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 30.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played a hundred courses across the country and this is the best. The tee boxes are absolutely the best anywhere. Each hole is challenging and fair.

There are usually at least two routes to the hole - and sometimes more - and multiple combinations involving these routes. It keeps you thinking and requires good shot making.

The mulch around the holes keep a long shot that lands close to the hole from skipping off in the wrong direction.

The natural beauty of the course is staggering. The view of Austin, the lake, etc. is amazing. I expect the course will actually become even more beautiful as the grass grows in now that the underbrush has been cleared.

Some people complain about the lack of water. This is not ball golf. It's one thing to lose a $1 golf ball in the lake. It's another thing to lose a $15 disc. That is just an invitation to go swimming in a pool of questionable safety. In my opinion, the lack of water is a good thing. There is plenty of challenge here for everyone.

I played on a Friday. No crowds. Just the opposite. I estimate there were fewer than twenty people on the entire course.

With all the underbrush cleared, you can get offline some and not be completely dead, just challenged by the trees. I've played too many courses that are unreasonably punitive if you get slightly off the correct line. This course got it right in my opinion. An errant shot is penalized, but not excessively so in most cases.
Cons: It may be a bit long, but this is hardly a complaint. It just extends the enjoyment. Hey, I'm sixty one years old and don't have quite the length I once had. I played this course in 98 degree heat. It was a good test, but it wasn't too long. OK, tomorrow I may be a little sore, but no complaints. If you're not a little sore the next day the course didn't really test you, right?

The real question is whether the holes are too long for the par indicated. Most holes are right on. But the course could be improved somewhat by adding a third set of slightly shorter tees for each hole.
Other Thoughts: This course sets a new standard for disc golf. Many years ago it was hard to find a par four hole. Ball golf may have some lessons for us. They usually have four par 3's, ten par 4's and four par 5's. I think this would be the mix to strive for in disc golf. This course doesn't quite get there, but it has the right idea in my opinion.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    6/10/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: Mike12HawK
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: [1] new course to the rotation
[2] fresh mulch (no rocks in the FW)
[3] unique teepads (long and shorts)
[4] defined fairways
Cons: [1] lack of trashcans --- I know it's a "pack it in, pack it out course" but I'm afraid that the "casuals aka Lone Star bandits" will just leave their beer cans on the course.
Other Thoughts: [1] bring plenty of water
[2] should consider a cart since it is a long course
[3] parking - players should consider parking by 18 and make the long walk before the round, who wants to make that long walk back after a round anyways
[4] even though there are pro box's the short box's are just as challenging and you really have to earn your 3's for sure
[5] after 1 rd of play I can honestly say it's one of my top 5 courses in the area (in no order Cameron West, Circle C, Lion's, and WilCo)

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/10/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the first five disc rating I have ever given a course and I stand behind it 100%.

If I had to describe this course with one word it would be BIG! There are seven par 4 holes over 575 feet and that's if you're playing from the short tees.

The fairways are nice and wide, yet well defined on each and every hole. There are zero holes that could be considered unfair.

There is no real shule or punishing rough and zero cedar trees that I could find which means hitting a tree will cost you a stroke, not a disc too.

What I love about the design of this course is that the distances are such that if you hit a tree there is a very good likelyhood that it will cost you a stroke because you're not getting the distance you need to get to the pin. Most other courses you can hit a tree and still have a chance to save par.

The ample concrete teepads are surrounded by concrete paver stones. These pavers provide a few benefits: no drop off of the front of the tee, bigger runup from the rear of the pad on level ground, and erosion control around the pads.

This course has the best signs I have ever seen. They are mounted on huge pieces of quarried limestone instead of poles to give the local neighborhood thugs one less thing to destroy.

There are multiple benches on every hole. These are also huge chunks of quarried limestone to keep the destructo's at bay.

SHADE! This place has it. I played mid day at 99 degrees and was fine.
Cons: The only real con is the long walk back to the parking lot after hole #18.

The distances on the signs appear to be shorter than the actual distances. It might have been because the course is new to me or because it was so hot but a 1000 rated pro I talked to also thought the same thing.
Other Thoughts: There are no trashcans on this course and there never will be. It is a "pack it in, pack it out" mentality. If you can bring it with you why not take it out also? This is a new way of thinking but it's all about going green and having something that is easily sustainable for future generations to enjoy...so if you're out there and you see some trash that did not get packed out, pick it up and pack it out. If we all do it this course will stay beautiful.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 EPIC

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: kayaksun357
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17 Years
1 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: The fairways here are nothing short of "EPIC" wooded, tight, well defined paths to next box. Tee boxes are just what the doctor ordered,just right amount of grip,and nice run up room.
Cons: I know it is a positive thing, but at its current state the mulch is very chunky it makes footing difficult on approach shots.
Other Thoughts: Bring on Worlds This course is that good.

1 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Wowzers....Pretty Awesome

1    6/9/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: slicemaster
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a ton of pros so I will just highlight what I thought made it stand out.

1. Teeboxes - These are simply the best teeboxes I have ever played on. Players with long run-ups will enjoy being able to start on concrete vs. dirt or grass. They also look amazing.

2. Erosion Control - I am willing to bet cities will look at this course when building new ones for their areas. Each basket has a special care given to erosion control. You will never see a basket laying on the ground due to erosion. One of a kind.

3. Difficulty - While this course will play difficult for any pro it is not so hard that less experienced players will hate and curse its name. There are ample birdie holes but plenty of 5, 6, and 7's waiting for errant throws.

4. Layout and Flow - With the exception of the walk between #15 and #16 this course flows brilliantly. There is never a question of where to go and better than that none of the holes play that close to each other. While I was close to many other cards I was never in danger of being hit by errant discs. This is a big thumbs up IMO.

5. Fairways and Rough - These are the best designed fairways I have had the pleasure of playing on. This may be one of the only courses I have played where there is a clearly defined fairway on every hole. The rough is just that but not so much that you will lose a disc just throwing in the grass. ( I'm looking at you East Metro and Bart)

6. Variety - You can not be a one trick pony and do well here. Players that score high at Roy G. will need EVERY shot in disc golf. A good roller could make or break your round. Going to work on mine after this review.

Like I said before, there are tons of pros here. I will leave a the rest for the next reviewers who will no doubt paint a better picture than me.
Cons:
1. Elevation - It's flat for the most part. There is a slight chance of drop off on #2 if you go way right.

2. Lack of water - You work with what you have got I realize but I do enjoy me some water hazards. I heard from some Waterloo guys that there would be a pond installed on #1 soon.

3. Mulch - I know ultimately it is a positive thing, but at its current state it can make footing difficult on approach shots. Shouldn't be an issue in a year or so.

MAIN CON - IT IS SOUTH....I AM NORTH....BOO
Other Thoughts: My favorite holes were #7 and #17.
#7 plays right beside Riverside Golf Course and finding golf balls while looking for my shot was pretty funny. I think #7 has the best risk reward of any hole on the course. If you take the hyzer line to the right your approach will be difficult. If you stay left your approach is easier but there is OB on the left. I think everyone I played with played it differently.
#17 is destined to be this courses' trademark hole. Staring down the box and seeing the Austin skyline, Colorado River and bright yellow ring of a Discatcher could be one of the best things I have ever seen. Simply stunning.
I would like to thank the Austin PARD, Waterloo, and every person who made this course what it is. We are so blessed in this community to have so many options for top level disc golf and this is now the pinnacle. This is truly a course for the Austin disc golf community to be proud of.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.