Austin, TX 
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 735ft.   4 / 849ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The New Standard

5+    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -"ball golf" type course
-extremely well defined fairways, and you better stay in them
-amazing concrete tees surrounded for water run off
-long and challenging
-green(the putt) areas built specifically to help fight erosion, some solid putting ground
-enough traffic now that mulch is finally good and worked into the ground, better fairway throws now
-great canopy cover still allowing for height on throws while providing shade for the majority of the course=HUGE PLUS
-challenges your game to the fullest, a place to really test and improve skills in accuracy, holding a line, and ability to shape great shots
-extremely fair course, offering lines for leftys, rightys, backhand, and sidearm but all equally as difficult
Cons: -long walk to 1, long walk off, i suggest parking by softball fields where you exit out of 18 and make the extra distance to 1, you will be happy when your car is right there when your off the course
-no putt practice area
-bamboo grows fast and tall really clogging up fairways and putting areas, recently been maintained, so awesome now, but really frustrating when its overgrown
-tee sign distances are significantly off, consesus among the ppl i play with is they are anywhere from 8-12% off
Other Thoughts: a "true" golf course, a new standard i believe. championship calibur, people talk about the lack of elevation, but the course plays so difficult that i dont believe thats even an issue. pack your bag with stable to slightly understable discs, you can manage the course by shooting straight and staying in the fairway, and playing aggresively will require alot of big flexing slowly flattening annies and ones that break out and S out at the end of flight=alot of slight annie angles, and stable to understable hyzers that barely flip and then back to hyzer for extra left break that you cant get from overstable discs that want to find the ground to quickly. it seems they built the course to require the hardest shots in disc golf=AWESOME.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 LONG AND TOUGH!

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice layout
Well Groomed
Great signage on the course
Nice long walk along Austin's Colorado river bottom.
Cons: Hard to find. No signage in the park directing you to the parking adjacent to the first tee
Couldn't find a course map anywhere online
No warmup space or basket.
LONG, LONG, LONG
Because of the long yardage, seems like the designer set many of the holes up to favor RHBH throwers. As a LHBH thrower and my friend, a RH side arm thrower, we felt pretty disadvantaged.
Other Thoughts: I like the course itself, but they aren't kidding when they call it a championship level course.
If you can't reliably throw 300ft+ with good accuracy, give this one a miss. It'll just be a slog for you.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tired me out!

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Strategic layout of the course, challenging shots that test your accuracy, open enough on most holes to really let er' rip on drives, nice scenery, well manicured, concrete pads, benches on every hole.
Cons: Course is really flat, too many long holes, hole variety varies little. walk from hole 18 to hole 1 is long
Other Thoughts: This course will wear you out, the strategic layout catches you off guard, the holes are long and some very difficult. You think you have a lot of energy, then the course keeps getting longer and required a lot of throws. Other than the fact that it's tiring its a great course that is tons of fun. Go play it if you are in the Austin area.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too Long For a Lot of Players

1    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: greg_lange
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very nice course. There are clearly defined fairways on each hole. The course has very nice trees. The trees are tall with no low limbs. So, they mostly only interfere with shots that leave the fairway or those that are thrown too high. There was a lot of work put into this course and it shows.
Cons: The course is too long for average players. My group has been playing for about 4 years and we really struggled with the length. We aren't bad players. We just don't have the length to play this course. We played the short tees. However, they are not much shorter than the long tees.
Other Thoughts: Great course for players that have the length to play it.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    6/30/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of shade amongst the numerous trees. Nice layout with out much traversing adjacent holes. Pads are large and each hole is laid out beautifully. Signage is excellent with directions to the next tee box. A fare course but just long. Plenty of parking behind Krieg Fields.
Cons: No trash cans. They had a trash pickup crew in front of us for most of the back nine. Played at 9am, the crowds. Should shoot for 8 am or better to finish under 3 hours. Course was slow with lots of waiting to tee off & second and third shots. No potable water for golfers.
Other Thoughts: Not a course for the meek or beginners. I am an avid disc golfer with 20+years of playing and this course was tough. With an average arm you need precise shots (stay in fairway) and solid putting to score well. Great course Par 5's elsewhere are Par 4's. I wish they could move the "short" pads up on the Par 3's.

For first timers, unless you know exactly where this the course is located you should know that there are signs indicating where to go. Alas, they are behind the softball fields a Krieg, Parking is adjacent to sand volleyball courts.

Did I say this is a long course?

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed course for 2012

2-4    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 189  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Roy G is just about everything you could want in a Texas course. The concrete tee pads are very large with paver stones surrounding them to prevent erosion and provide throwers with solid footing before and after the concrete. The baskets are Innova DISCatchers with triple chains and the bright yellow top band that aids in locating baskets 800+' off the tee box. The holes are varied in both distance and lefty/righty mix. However, the course favors distance throwers with decent accuracy; that's probably a good thing for new course construction in this age of Blizzard technology. Many of the holes have multiple lines where a riskier line could reward you with a better second shot. The off-fairway rough is filled with trees but none of the nasty thorns and brush that make getting to your disc a nightmare; but throw off the fairway or hit a tree on the edge and there's a decent chance you'll lose a stroke. There's obvious paths, many lined in stone or logs, leading from one hole to the next; so no need for a course map, even for first timers. Stone benches at each tee box for setting your bag or your weary self to combat the inevitable back-ups that will occur at this soon-to-be uber popular course. The course is mostly blanketed by trees shelter you from the hot Texas sun. Maps on the tee signs provide a very accurate description of the hole layout and make finding the baskets easy. Dual tee boxes for long vs. short throwers. Nice steps laid out where necessary and logs placed in fairways to help control erosion. Hole #17 is a beautiful hole with the city skyline in the background.
Cons:
Not much to complain about on this brand spankin' new course. The issue that glares to me the most is the long vs. short tees are often insignificantly different which is a shame considering the large amount of effort that went into the beautiful tee pads. Seems like it would have been better to have the short pads be more than 50' different on holes 500-800'.

When I laser measured the distances from the long tees the were often far longer than what's posted on the tee signs. (Numbers on DGCR are updated with laser values.)

The very large mulch chips in the fairway can be ankle twisters if you're not watching your step. They also have the potential to generate some erratic disc skips. That'll fade over time.

Long walk between #1 and #18 will be annoying to shotgun start tournament players.

No real elevation or water in play.
Other Thoughts:
This is a pack-it-in/pack-it-out course so there are no trash cans. There's a parking lot convenient to tee #1 and another lot convenient to basket #18... so you get to chose whether you want the long walk before or after your round. Roy G is a great course and I enjoyed my round there a lot. The holes are challenging, but never did I feel like I was playing a "stupid" hole. The holes on which I carded big numbers were my own fault for bad shots and I knew it. This is a destination course if you're in the area, but do your best to play at the crack of dawn or you're likely to face mobs of players and 4+ hour rounds. Pack lots of water in the Summer because there's no where to refill on the course.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  Roy G first time out

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: DiscNinja72
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Not a bad course at all. Well manicured as would be expected of a new course. Some soon to be installed ponds are marked on some holes but even when they are installed the course does not play too tough. Well shaded holes for the most part.
Cons: Very little variety to the holes. Course traffic is high and builds quickly. Fair amount of trees but not a problem if you stay in fairways.
Other Thoughts: Need to get out early if you want to play a quick game otherwise you'll be playing up on groups all day long. Similar to Searight in this respect

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Heaven

1    6/22/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 30.8 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played a hundred courses across the country and this is the best. The tee boxes are absolutely the best anywhere. Each hole is challenging and fair.

There are usually at least two routes to the hole - and sometimes more - and multiple combinations involving these routes. It keeps you thinking and requires good shot making.

The mulch around the holes keep a long shot that lands close to the hole from skipping off in the wrong direction.

The natural beauty of the course is staggering. The view of Austin, the lake, etc. is amazing. I expect the course will actually become even more beautiful as the grass grows in now that the underbrush has been cleared.

Some people complain about the lack of water. This is not ball golf. It's one thing to lose a $1 golf ball in the lake. It's another thing to lose a $15 disc. That is just an invitation to go swimming in a pool of questionable safety. In my opinion, the lack of water is a good thing. There is plenty of challenge here for everyone.

I played on a Friday. No crowds. Just the opposite. I estimate there were fewer than twenty people on the entire course.

With all the underbrush cleared, you can get offline some and not be completely dead, just challenged by the trees. I've played too many courses that are unreasonably punitive if you get slightly off the correct line. This course got it right in my opinion. An errant shot is penalized, but not excessively so in most cases.
Cons: It may be a bit long, but this is hardly a complaint. It just extends the enjoyment. Hey, I'm sixty one years old and don't have quite the length I once had. I played this course in 98 degree heat. It was a good test, but it wasn't too long. OK, tomorrow I may be a little sore, but no complaints. If you're not a little sore the next day the course didn't really test you, right?

The real question is whether the holes are too long for the par indicated. Most holes are right on. But the course could be improved somewhat by adding a third set of slightly shorter tees for each hole.
Other Thoughts: This course sets a new standard for disc golf. Many years ago it was hard to find a par four hole. Ball golf may have some lessons for us. They usually have four par 3's, ten par 4's and four par 5's. I think this would be the mix to strive for in disc golf. This course doesn't quite get there, but it has the right idea in my opinion.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Very Nice, Very Long

1    6/20/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Emoedog1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout that requires every shot in your bag. Great tee pads and signs, along with nice stone benches to sit on and rest or wait on the group in front of you.

The lines on this course are some of the most beautiful I have seen, great variety of lines on almost every hole that really lets you play the game you are comfortable with.

The baskets are all very nice and protected on the majority of holes, and the paths to the next holes are easy to see and follow.

The course is on a beautiful piece of property that has a different look than most centex courses. No Cedar and no limestone mountains to climb or roll an ankle on.
Cons: No trash cans, I know its a pack in pack it out course, but no trash cans is a con for me because that means I will end up carry at least a 6 pack of beer cans in my bag by the end of the round that are not MINE.

Elevation change, there is none.

That's about all I can think of, the walk back to the parking lot as some have mentioned is not ideal, especially in the Texas heat, but knowing the background as to why the course is laid out how it is does not seem like a con to me, it actually seems like pro in the long run.
Other Thoughts: This course is long, this course is difficult, and this course is the future of disc golf. You either jump on board and do some field work or keep playing Searight and Zilker.

This is a must play top 3 course in centex imo.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 New and clean

2-4    6/12/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is nice and clean and pretty.

It is a very naturally pretty course. If you catch the light at the right times (sunrise and dusk), the shadows created and the way the light plays through the trees is really a treat.

The tee boxes are excellent. The seating is great. The cages have pads which is really awesome. The attention to detail here is very noticeable.

As far as playability, this course IS fun and IS challenging. To birdie you really need a very deep, very accurate drive. And I don't mean a big bomb over the trees that drops on the fairway. I mean a true drive, straight and low. If you don't have that shot, you will struggle here.

The grass on the fairways is awesome. People seem to be mentioning the woodchips as a con, claiming it's hard to get a foothold, etc. But the woodchips aren't really anywhere that you should be throwing from anyway. If you are in the chips it's because of an inaccurate drive. Don't blame the course for that.

One thing I do like about this course IS the 'rough' areas. If you don't play the o.b. rule, it doesn't mean that you will be climbing through a bunch of thicket and thorns and trying to throw out of a bush. It just means that you will have a very very difficult shot trying to avoid a good amount of tree trunks. It's pretty difficult to lose a disc here (except for 18).

Hole 17 is real pretty. You can see the river and the skyline, and the cage is up on a cool little rock formation.

Cons: It is new, so there are a ton of people playing it right now. It still bothers me that there are giant groups of 8 or more people (usually with kids and strollers etc). If you have a huge group, break it up into 2 or 3 groups, like you would with bowling. It makes everyone happy.

The woodchips. I'm kidding. I like the chips.

Variety. While there IS plenty of variety in shot types and each hole looks a bit different, I ended up feeling as if I was playing every hole the same way without having to think. Every hole was around the same distance. A drive or two, then a midrange or putt. Sounds like a golfcourse, you say. But I miss the danger. There is absolutely no change in elevation, and not even any water hazards. There are no holes (besides 17) where you have to think about your putt (if i miss this shot it could roll down into the creek, should i try and blast my driver up this big hill or lob it up with my midrange, etc etc).

The end of 18 is the only place I would warn about being overgrown and unkempt. Stick to the right/center of this hole for sure.

Once you finish 18 and exit the trees, you will find yourself a a good 200 yards away from your car. Do yourself a favor and park near the exit and walk the hike to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This course is getting a ton of awesome ratings right now because it is shiny and new, which is expected and honestly deserved because of how clean it is. But what I would suggest is to go play it now (and at an obscure time to beat the mass of people) because once this course has lost it's 'shine', the rating is going to drop.

Don't get me wrong, it is a fun and challenging course for pros and amateurs alike that people will enjoy for a long time. But for my personal taste in course design, there is nowhere near enough variety or risk/reward factor.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.