Austin, TX
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 735ft.   4 / 849ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tough Course

1    6/30/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 29.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of shade amongst the numerous trees. Nice layout with out much traversing adjacent holes. Pads are large and each hole is laid out beautifully. Signage is excellent with directions to the next tee box. A fare course but just long. Plenty of parking behind Krieg Fields.
Cons: No trash cans. They had a trash pickup crew in front of us for most of the back nine. Played at 9am, the crowds. Should shoot for 8 am or better to finish under 3 hours. Course was slow with lots of waiting to tee off & second and third shots. No potable water for golfers.
Other Thoughts: Not a course for the meek or beginners. I am an avid disc golfer with 20+years of playing and this course was tough. With an average arm you need precise shots (stay in fairway) and solid putting to score well. Great course Par 5's elsewhere are Par 4's. I wish they could move the "short" pads up on the Par 3's.

For first timers, unless you know exactly where this the course is located you should know that there are signs indicating where to go. Alas, they are behind the softball fields a Krieg, Parking is adjacent to sand volleyball courts.

Did I say this is a long course?

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Well designed course for 2012

2-4    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Roy G is just about everything you could want in a Texas course. The concrete tee pads are very large with paver stones surrounding them to prevent erosion and provide throwers with solid footing before and after the concrete. The baskets are Innova DISCatchers with triple chains and the bright yellow top band that aids in locating baskets 800+' off the tee box. The holes are varied in both distance and lefty/righty mix. However, the course favors distance throwers with decent accuracy; that's probably a good thing for new course construction in this age of Blizzard technology. Many of the holes have multiple lines where a riskier line could reward you with a better second shot. The off-fairway rough is filled with trees but none of the nasty thorns and brush that make getting to your disc a nightmare; but throw off the fairway or hit a tree on the edge and there's a decent chance you'll lose a stroke. There's obvious paths, many lined in stone or logs, leading from one hole to the next; so no need for a course map, even for first timers. Stone benches at each tee box for setting your bag or your weary self to combat the inevitable back-ups that will occur at this soon-to-be uber popular course. The course is mostly blanketed by trees shelter you from the hot Texas sun. Maps on the tee signs provide a very accurate description of the hole layout and make finding the baskets easy. Dual tee boxes for long vs. short throwers. Nice steps laid out where necessary and logs placed in fairways to help control erosion. Hole #17 is a beautiful hole with the city skyline in the background.
Cons:
Not much to complain about on this brand spankin' new course. The issue that glares to me the most is the long vs. short tees are often insignificantly different which is a shame considering the large amount of effort that went into the beautiful tee pads. Seems like it would have been better to have the short pads be more than 50' different on holes 500-800'.

When I laser measured the distances from the long tees the were often far longer than what's posted on the tee signs. (Numbers on DGCR are updated with laser values.)

The very large mulch chips in the fairway can be ankle twisters if you're not watching your step. They also have the potential to generate some erratic disc skips. That'll fade over time.

Long walk between #1 and #18 will be annoying to shotgun start tournament players.

No real elevation or water in play.
Other Thoughts:
This is a pack-it-in/pack-it-out course so there are no trash cans. There's a parking lot convenient to tee #1 and another lot convenient to basket #18... so you get to chose whether you want the long walk before or after your round. Roy G is a great course and I enjoyed my round there a lot. The holes are challenging, but never did I feel like I was playing a "stupid" hole. The holes on which I carded big numbers were my own fault for bad shots and I knew it. This is a destination course if you're in the area, but do your best to play at the crack of dawn or you're likely to face mobs of players and 4+ hour rounds. Pack lots of water in the Summer because there's no where to refill on the course.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Roy G first time out

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: DiscNinja72
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Not a bad course at all. Well manicured as would be expected of a new course. Some soon to be installed ponds are marked on some holes but even when they are installed the course does not play too tough. Well shaded holes for the most part.
Cons: Very little variety to the holes. Course traffic is high and builds quickly. Fair amount of trees but not a problem if you stay in fairways.
Other Thoughts: Need to get out early if you want to play a quick game otherwise you'll be playing up on groups all day long. Similar to Searight in this respect

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Heaven

1    6/22/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 30.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played a hundred courses across the country and this is the best. The tee boxes are absolutely the best anywhere. Each hole is challenging and fair.

There are usually at least two routes to the hole - and sometimes more - and multiple combinations involving these routes. It keeps you thinking and requires good shot making.

The mulch around the holes keep a long shot that lands close to the hole from skipping off in the wrong direction.

The natural beauty of the course is staggering. The view of Austin, the lake, etc. is amazing. I expect the course will actually become even more beautiful as the grass grows in now that the underbrush has been cleared.

Some people complain about the lack of water. This is not ball golf. It's one thing to lose a $1 golf ball in the lake. It's another thing to lose a $15 disc. That is just an invitation to go swimming in a pool of questionable safety. In my opinion, the lack of water is a good thing. There is plenty of challenge here for everyone.

I played on a Friday. No crowds. Just the opposite. I estimate there were fewer than twenty people on the entire course.

With all the underbrush cleared, you can get offline some and not be completely dead, just challenged by the trees. I've played too many courses that are unreasonably punitive if you get slightly off the correct line. This course got it right in my opinion. An errant shot is penalized, but not excessively so in most cases.
Cons: It may be a bit long, but this is hardly a complaint. It just extends the enjoyment. Hey, I'm sixty one years old and don't have quite the length I once had. I played this course in 98 degree heat. It was a good test, but it wasn't too long. OK, tomorrow I may be a little sore, but no complaints. If you're not a little sore the next day the course didn't really test you, right?

The real question is whether the holes are too long for the par indicated. Most holes are right on. But the course could be improved somewhat by adding a third set of slightly shorter tees for each hole.
Other Thoughts: This course sets a new standard for disc golf. Many years ago it was hard to find a par four hole. Ball golf may have some lessons for us. They usually have four par 3's, ten par 4's and four par 5's. I think this would be the mix to strive for in disc golf. This course doesn't quite get there, but it has the right idea in my opinion.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice, Very Long

1    6/20/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Emoedog1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout that requires every shot in your bag. Great tee pads and signs, along with nice stone benches to sit on and rest or wait on the group in front of you.

The lines on this course are some of the most beautiful I have seen, great variety of lines on almost every hole that really lets you play the game you are comfortable with.

The baskets are all very nice and protected on the majority of holes, and the paths to the next holes are easy to see and follow.

The course is on a beautiful piece of property that has a different look than most centex courses. No Cedar and no limestone mountains to climb or roll an ankle on.
Cons: No trash cans, I know its a pack in pack it out course, but no trash cans is a con for me because that means I will end up carry at least a 6 pack of beer cans in my bag by the end of the round that are not MINE.

Elevation change, there is none.

That's about all I can think of, the walk back to the parking lot as some have mentioned is not ideal, especially in the Texas heat, but knowing the background as to why the course is laid out how it is does not seem like a con to me, it actually seems like pro in the long run.
Other Thoughts: This course is long, this course is difficult, and this course is the future of disc golf. You either jump on board and do some field work or keep playing Searight and Zilker.

This is a must play top 3 course in centex imo.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

New and clean

2-4    6/12/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is nice and clean and pretty.

It is a very naturally pretty course. If you catch the light at the right times (sunrise and dusk), the shadows created and the way the light plays through the trees is really a treat.

The tee boxes are excellent. The seating is great. The cages have pads which is really awesome. The attention to detail here is very noticeable.

As far as playability, this course IS fun and IS challenging. To birdie you really need a very deep, very accurate drive. And I don't mean a big bomb over the trees that drops on the fairway. I mean a true drive, straight and low. If you don't have that shot, you will struggle here.

The grass on the fairways is awesome. People seem to be mentioning the woodchips as a con, claiming it's hard to get a foothold, etc. But the woodchips aren't really anywhere that you should be throwing from anyway. If you are in the chips it's because of an inaccurate drive. Don't blame the course for that.

One thing I do like about this course IS the 'rough' areas. If you don't play the o.b. rule, it doesn't mean that you will be climbing through a bunch of thicket and thorns and trying to throw out of a bush. It just means that you will have a very very difficult shot trying to avoid a good amount of tree trunks. It's pretty difficult to lose a disc here (except for 18).

Hole 17 is real pretty. You can see the river and the skyline, and the cage is up on a cool little rock formation.

Cons: It is new, so there are a ton of people playing it right now. It still bothers me that there are giant groups of 8 or more people (usually with kids and strollers etc). If you have a huge group, break it up into 2 or 3 groups, like you would with bowling. It makes everyone happy.

The woodchips. I'm kidding. I like the chips.

Variety. While there IS plenty of variety in shot types and each hole looks a bit different, I ended up feeling as if I was playing every hole the same way without having to think. Every hole was around the same distance. A drive or two, then a midrange or putt. Sounds like a golfcourse, you say. But I miss the danger. There is absolutely no change in elevation, and not even any water hazards. There are no holes (besides 17) where you have to think about your putt (if i miss this shot it could roll down into the creek, should i try and blast my driver up this big hill or lob it up with my midrange, etc etc).

The end of 18 is the only place I would warn about being overgrown and unkempt. Stick to the right/center of this hole for sure.

Once you finish 18 and exit the trees, you will find yourself a a good 200 yards away from your car. Do yourself a favor and park near the exit and walk the hike to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This course is getting a ton of awesome ratings right now because it is shiny and new, which is expected and honestly deserved because of how clean it is. But what I would suggest is to go play it now (and at an obscure time to beat the mass of people) because once this course has lost it's 'shine', the rating is going to drop.

Don't get me wrong, it is a fun and challenging course for pros and amateurs alike that people will enjoy for a long time. But for my personal taste in course design, there is nowhere near enough variety or risk/reward factor.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: NEW!
Perfectly groomed
Alternate tees
Map on every hole
Great flow
Some decent elevation changes
Allows you to work on every type of throw
Cons: No water fountain
No trash cans

Other Thoughts: This course takes a good 2 1/2 to 3 hours to complete so make sure you have the time and the fluids! Tons of signature holes, but the entire course is amazing. This is a MUST PLAY if you are anywhere near it!

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Guerrero finally HERE!

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: oldaustingolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.9 Years
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I AM AMAZED that the City of Austin actually fulfilled their promise to build a replacement for PEASE! Very nice landscaping done in the crucial areas of Tee boxes, greens and mulch-chipped areas. Pretty wide fairways for the most part. Benches and concrete tee pads are the norm here, which is great. Great idea to surround the basket with a large circular 'board' to maintain the surface. Course navigation easy for the most part; good flow with few exceptions and nice Hole Maps on Tee Rocks.
Cons: Not a lot of difficulty here except for the length of the holes relative to par. Many holes don't turn until after 200 ft, making it challenging to hold a good line. No trash cans yet; no doubt they'll be coming soon. No water hazards or elevation challenges either. I got a little confused on directions on Holes 14-16.
Other Thoughts: A rather long and flat course. Bring plenty of water. Parking was easy and I felt safe leaving me car in the lot. The course doesn't not compare to the late Pease course (it would be hard to), but it's nice to have a new course, especially in this area of Austin! Now go play it yourself and enjoy!

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    6/10/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: Mike12HawK
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: [1] new course to the rotation
[2] fresh mulch (no rocks in the FW)
[3] unique teepads (long and shorts)
[4] defined fairways
Cons: [1] lack of trashcans --- I know it's a "pack it in, pack it out course" but I'm afraid that the "casuals aka Lone Star bandits" will just leave their beer cans on the course.
Other Thoughts: [1] bring plenty of water
[2] should consider a cart since it is a long course
[3] parking - players should consider parking by 18 and make the long walk before the round, who wants to make that long walk back after a round anyways
[4] even though there are pro box's the short box's are just as challenging and you really have to earn your 3's for sure
[5] after 1 rd of play I can honestly say it's one of my top 5 courses in the area (in no order Cameron West, Circle C, Lion's, and WilCo)

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Look out Charlotte, here comes Austin!

1    6/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2013
27 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Roy G flies sweet, right out of the box. This course provides a strong challenge, an enjoyable walk, some very beautifully framed fairways, and a low chance of lost discs. The course has had a great opening as a virtually finished product. The designers and constructors are true professionals in their craft. The course has a broad appeal to all levels of players. If you're fortunate enough to have the opportunity to play Roy G, PLEASE leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

There are some amenities that stand out right away. The tee pads are the best that I've ever played on, hands down. The throwing surface is bordered with bricks to prevent the inevitable erosion and cracking that occurs on pads that aren't properly framed. The tee areas have several large benches that are well positioned. The tee signs are the industry gold standard. Many places on the course have large rocks that have been moved and arranged to increase the beauty of the course. The second half of the course offers a decent amount of tree canopy.

The designers have implemented many progressive erosion control measures. Having the foresight to anticipate future wear and implement solutions is another testament to their professionalism.

The fairways are appropriately wide for the required length of shots. There are no random pimp trees. The course is eminently fair and players are fully responsible for their success or lack thereof at Roy G. The rough is punishing on the score, but not the body and finding discs is fairly easy. There are two sets of tees to accommodate a range of player skill levels.

The holes are well spaced, providing adequate safety and visual buffer with only one exception. The routing flow is very intuitive and rock-lined paths draw players through the course with minimal effort. Roy G is the second best course in Austin, behind Circle C.

Some of the highlights include:

Hole 7 is a picture postcard from the tee. I stood there and imagined that I was living in a Monet. The hole is a dead straight, medium-long par 4 with two routes off the tee. Nothing tricky, just a gorgeous tree-canopied corridor and a fair challenge.

Hole 9 is a 340 ft par 3 that bends sharply left about halfway down. It is difficult to "park" the hole using an overstable disc. The optimal shot needs to be thrown with hyzer with a disc that will slowly flip up and bank gently left. Not enough disc golf holes require this degree of subtle disc flight manipulation.

Hole 10 is a 330 ft par 3 with one of the tightest routes on the course. It's played straight up the gut to a well-framed basket. It's not so tight to be unfair, but does produce some anxiety on the tee pad as it is much tighter relative to the rest of the course.

Hole 14 is a very demanding medium-long par 4. The tee shot is fairly tight for a power drive and requires a slight left to right shape to set up a realistic chance for a birdie 3.

Hole 15 is a 700 ft par 4 that plays looong. The tee shot is another picture postcard moment at Roy G. Take a moment to soak in how wonderfully framed this hole is from the tee. There are two main routes down the second half of the hole. The left route is much more direct, but tighter. It's one of the best risk/reward decision moments on the course.

Hole 17 is a beautiful reward for having played most of the way around this tough track. The hole is perfectly framed with the river behind the basket and Austin skyline in the distance.
Cons: I feel like I'm beating a dead horse on this issue, but the fact that this course does not have two loops of nine holes that bring players back near the parking area is a con. This could have been easily incorporated here, affording players the opportunity to play 9, 18, or 27 holes and replenish supplies as needed. The first tee is a good hike from the parking lot and it's also a long hike back from hole 18's basket.

The course is difficult to locate in the back of the park without any directional park signs. There isn't a main course sign, practice basket, or warm-up area near the first tee. Although the navigation is largely intuitive, there are a couple places which could use "next tee" signs.

I'm on the fence about the decision to not provide any trash receptacles at Roy G. The course has only been open for 3 days now and is quickly accumulating litter.

The course is not well balanced in terms of power and technical requirements. While it is by no means "wide open", it does over-reward power. The crush, crush, crush nature of the course gets a little redundant. Many of the blue tees are a bit too long and are actually gold. Likewise, many of the white tees are actually blue.

The course has only minimal elevation changes. The course offers very little in terms of dynamic putting situations with drop-off's near baskets.

While the course is beautiful, fair, and challenging overall, it falls short of Circle C, Austin Bible Ridge, and East Metro in terms of great memorable individual holes.

Hole 15's tee pad is right on the edge of hole 14's fairway and exposed to incoming shots.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

27 of 28 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.