Disc Golf Center
Austin, TX
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #15 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 729ft.   4 / 790ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Roy Tree Guerrero

5+    4/19/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: discgolfATX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well rounded course. Nice challenge of backhand and forehand shots.
It's newer so it has the new amenities (signs, tee boxes)
Easy to navigate you're not scratching your head to find the
next tee.
Blue/red separate tees.
They've improved since it's unveiling. They cleared up the bamboo on hole 15/16 I forget.
Every now and then you see some awesome wildlife. (Deer snake squirrels lizards)
Hole 7 is postcard worthy! SO beautiful.
Cons: The rough can have knee high grass or dead brush making it hard to find discs. I lost a yellow pfn Star Sidewinder on my 2nd throw on hole 1.
Not really a con but some holes are pretty lengthy.
It's pretty wooded. Beats up discs.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water and avoid the rough.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A well built course with a lot of length and the need for accuracy.

1    10/17/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: brittfrey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was very little pedestrian traffic to worry about, and the course itself was not crowded at all, even on a beautiful day. Pretty much the entire course is in woods, but the fairways are well cleared. There's no water to speak of, and the underbrush is light enough that you don't have to worry to much about losing a disc, as long as it's colored. I played a few days after heavy rains in Austin and only had one bit of mud, between holes 15 and 16 where you have to cross a creek.

Overall, the signage is very nice and it's easy to see the path to the next tee. The tee boxes and pins are well constructed, sturdy, and should last a long time.
Cons: Considering the combination of length and trees, I'd say that par on most holes was underrated by 1.

A few of the fairways could stand to be trimmed down.

It does get repetitive by the end, as someone else said. It's mainly long fairways through somewhat narrow tree clearings, but not a lot of strategy involved.
Other Thoughts: This may be the physically longest course I've ever played. Most of the 18 holes were over 600 feet, maybe even over 3/4 of the holes; several were over 700 feet. At a fairly steady pace with no lost discs, it took me about 1.25 hours to play the whole course.

The signage on hole 12 was missing, but someone helpfully drew on the stone to show you that the pin was about 315 feet and slightly to the left. Hole 17 signage was missing and there was other vandalism around the tee; it's 350 feet straight forward. The amateur tee box on hole 18 is missing signage, but the pro tee has it - 675/750 feet, pretty much straight ahead.

Buses 300 and 320 stop at the park entrance, about 1/2 mile from the tee for hole 1. They only come every 30 minutes or so, though, so try to keep an eye on the clock.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Championship length but not quite championship quality...

2-4    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is indeed of excellent quality, as several have mentioned. Great big tee pads, beautiful signs, and several great hole placements, #1 and #17 coming particularly to mind.

It's long and difficult, and usually pretty fair. It's a course that certainly you should have played if you live in Austin.
Cons: However, I do think this just isn't quite the level of a few other courses in Austin like East Metro, Circle C, or Bible Ridge.

As others have mentioned, the holes are extremely repetitive, particularly on the back nine. Look at the hole lengths - with one exception, all the par 3s are between 325 and 405, and all the par 4s are between 720 and 849.

Pretty much every hole that comes to mind on this course is on the front nine. It feels like more work went into that. I mean, hole #1 is a championship level hole on every level. It's gorgeous. #4 is great. #7 with its dual fairways is fantastic.

But the back nine is just a slog through the woods and gets a bit unfair. The particular problem I have is the number of holes with early chokepoints, which are basically just accuracy tests without adding any strategic interest to the course. And 18 is just obviously an "OK, we got to the picturesque hole, now we need to head back to the parking lot" hole.

And this isn't their fault but the total lack of elevation change really hurts the course. It very much plays into the lack of variety.

That's a loooooong way to say this is a great course with a few flaws that keep it from being the best in Austin.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Challenging and Scenic

1    5/27/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tree cover is great and does a good job shielding the sun and adding a lot of variety to the course.

The natural setting is top-notch and we saw lots of cool birds and it felt isolated even though it is surrounded by city.

Fairways are more like a golf course then a disc course and are well-kept and well-designed. Loved the way the trees are shaped on this course to force shots while also allowing for each person to play it in their style.

Best teeboxes I have seen (huge pads, stamped concrete makes it feel more natural, stone benches, great signs).

Great course that I think anyone can play and enjoy. Will be hard for a beginner but nothing too bad.
Cons: Signage between pins and next teeboxes need to be added for #5, #15, and #18. There are random signs posted saying "Smoke-free course" so not sure why having a simple sign saying "next tee w/arrow" added to those holes would remove confusion for 1st timers. Granted on each tee-box sign it has an arrow pointing in direction of next hole we did not even notice those until much later because almost all of the holes are easy to find.

Short-tees are really nice on most holes (especially the front 9), but a few holes seem less useful as the hole is 600+ and the tee barely felt any shorter; I think it would be cool if a 3rd tee was added to a few holes to give a different angle on the course (specifically #15).
Other Thoughts: I have only played the course once as I was visiting from Colorado. Reading the reviews I was prepared for it to be very long and be repetitive. After playing I was surprised at how varied the course is considering it is mostly long and flat. I am used to a lot more elevation change but the trees really made this course for me; big canopies forcing shots to be low, to huge dog-legs, to straight alley-shots, all added-up to be a very fun course that I hope I can play again. Even the big holes had quite a bit of variety and weren't just all huge hucks. Biggest challenge is ensuring your drive doesn't smack a tree as it is hard to recover after that.

First off the weather was near perfect while we played which helped immensely (recent heavy rains made the grasses really green, partly cloudy, mid 80's, mild humidity). We played on Memorial day starting at 10am and there was barely anyone on the course.

There was three of us and it took 2:30hrs which was us taking our time with a small puppy and one beginner player (and no one in front of us). Hole #1 is easy to find if you read the Local Directions. Also the walk back from 18 to the parking lot was no more then 3-5 mins and not a big deal at all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Roy Good!

1    3/24/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roy G. Guerrero is a very large multi use park near downtown Austin. The disc golf course is pretty much the only activity in that area. This is the new style of disc golf. Many par 4's.

The tee pads are awesome. Plenty large, flat, and 2 per hole. They have a nice brick outline around them too.

The tees signs are the best in the game. Houck tee signs rule!

Brand new shiny yellow Innova Discatchers.

Stone benches on every hole!

I brought a map but did not use it once. The flow was very easy to follow.

Having 2 tees per hole tests all skill levels. This is a wooded course but the fairways are very fair. If you keep it in the fairway you will score well here.

The view on hole 17 is very awesome. Check out the picture with Downtown Austin as the back drop.

The greens are very open, clear, and flat. If you are a good putter you are going to love the greens.

Most of the course plays under the trees so you are in the shade most of the time.
Cons: The course is rather flat and lacks some interesting characteristics to take it to the next level. Some holes become repetitive.

The walk from #18 back to the main parking lot near the bridge to #1 is quite long. Finding #1 can be a challenge.

You have no opportunity to stop by the parking lot. Once you get on the course you are there for the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The sign at the start of the course is very deceiving. It only took me about 1.5 hours to play the short tees by myself.

Unfortunately some D Bags have already vandalized the course in a few areas. They've ripped off a few tee signs and tagged some of the large stones. What a shame!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    3/12/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow this is a marvelous course. You can tell that they took a lot of time and effort to make this a top notch course. The course was clean with no trash anywhere.The tee signs are beautiful. They are big and colorful with distances for both the shorts and the longs. The tee pads are big and have bricks around it to fight the erosion. Also, the putting greens are nice and fight erosion as well. This is a long wooded course that make you put multiple shots together to shoot a good score. The navigation is really easy because they have paths that lead you between each hole. You know this is a good course when after hole 11 I said, " what I just finished hole 11? It feels like I just started." I think that is a good thing when playing a course because you are enjoying yourself that much. Hole 17's view was awesome. I appreciated the canopy keeping some of the sun from beating down on me but still not too tight that you can let a disc fly.
Cons: Finding the course was a complete nightmare. They need to put a sign in the parking lot. Even finding hole 1 is difficult. Also, it is quite a walk from 18's basket to parking lot. I always appreciate a mixture of longer and shorter holes. I felt like there were only longer holes. Like many have said before a few of the holes became repetitive, There were 2 tee signs missing and people already started with vandalism on some of the rocks that support the tee signs. If a short was missing its tee signs the long still had it but quit taking tee signs people. I'm sure this was fixed before texas states but the grass on 16 was very high.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course that with a few mild adjustments like signage to the first tee and even the parking lot could be competing with slaughter creek as the best in Austin. I wish I lived closer so I could play this often, I just hope vandalism doesn't trash this course like so many others (Z-Boaz in Fort Worth) because this course is gorgeous.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wooded and Long

1    12/18/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: C-Van
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great level of difficulty at this course, really challenges you to make plenty of different types of throws.
-Very long course, which I see as a pro. This means you don't have very many holes or fairways overlapping and you get to see more of the park. This also leads to less crowding
-If you like wooded courses, you have to play here. Personally I am a huge fan, so naturally that increased my level of enjoyment here.
-A couple of holes with long straight fairways, allowing you to absolutely rip your disc.
Cons: -A lot of the holes are very similar, I honestly thought that holes 12-16 were the same hole repeated 5 times.
-Lack of trash cans around the course, but I'm sure that should improve over time.
-Hard to find this course due to lack of signage at the parking lot in the beginning.
-Other than trees, there aren't really any obstacles. No water traps, elevation changes, etc.
-Right next to an actual golf course for about two holes, I almost got hit by an errant golf ball on hole 8 I believe.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall, but I don't think it quite makes up for losing Pease Park, which is what I believe the goal essentially was. Hole 17 is beautiful, as it overlooks the city of Austin across the lake. With a little more work on the signage in the parking lot and a few more trash cans placed around the course I would be willing to bump up this rating by about half a point.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The New Standard

5+    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -"ball golf" type course
-extremely well defined fairways, and you better stay in them
-amazing concrete tees surrounded for water run off
-long and challenging
-green(the putt) areas built specifically to help fight erosion, some solid putting ground
-enough traffic now that mulch is finally good and worked into the ground, better fairway throws now
-great canopy cover still allowing for height on throws while providing shade for the majority of the course=HUGE PLUS
-challenges your game to the fullest, a place to really test and improve skills in accuracy, holding a line, and ability to shape great shots
-extremely fair course, offering lines for leftys, rightys, backhand, and sidearm but all equally as difficult
Cons: -long walk to 1, long walk off, i suggest parking by softball fields where you exit out of 18 and make the extra distance to 1, you will be happy when your car is right there when your off the course
-no putt practice area
-bamboo grows fast and tall really clogging up fairways and putting areas, recently been maintained, so awesome now, but really frustrating when its overgrown
-tee sign distances are significantly off, consesus among the ppl i play with is they are anywhere from 8-12% off
Other Thoughts: a "true" golf course, a new standard i believe. championship calibur, people talk about the lack of elevation, but the course plays so difficult that i dont believe thats even an issue. pack your bag with stable to slightly understable discs, you can manage the course by shooting straight and staying in the fairway, and playing aggresively will require alot of big flexing slowly flattening annies and ones that break out and S out at the end of flight=alot of slight annie angles, and stable to understable hyzers that barely flip and then back to hyzer for extra left break that you cant get from overstable discs that want to find the ground to quickly. it seems they built the course to require the hardest shots in disc golf=AWESOME.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

LONG AND TOUGH!

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice layout
Well Groomed
Great signage on the course
Nice long walk along Austin's Colorado river bottom.
Cons: Hard to find. No signage in the park directing you to the parking adjacent to the first tee
Couldn't find a course map anywhere online
No warmup space or basket.
LONG, LONG, LONG
Because of the long yardage, seems like the designer set many of the holes up to favor RHBH throwers. As a LHBH thrower and my friend, a RH side arm thrower, we felt pretty disadvantaged.
Other Thoughts: I like the course itself, but they aren't kidding when they call it a championship level course.
If you can't reliably throw 300ft+ with good accuracy, give this one a miss. It'll just be a slog for you.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tired me out!

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Strategic layout of the course, challenging shots that test your accuracy, open enough on most holes to really let er' rip on drives, nice scenery, well manicured, concrete pads, benches on every hole.
Cons: Course is really flat, too many long holes, hole variety varies little. walk from hole 18 to hole 1 is long
Other Thoughts: This course will wear you out, the strategic layout catches you off guard, the holes are long and some very difficult. You think you have a lot of energy, then the course keeps getting longer and required a lot of throws. Other than the fact that it's tiring its a great course that is tons of fun. Go play it if you are in the Austin area.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.