Austin, TX 
Roy G. Guerrero DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 635ft.   4 / 720ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/12/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow this is a marvelous course. You can tell that they took a lot of time and effort to make this a top notch course. The course was clean with no trash anywhere.The tee signs are beautiful. They are big and colorful with distances for both the shorts and the longs. The tee pads are big and have bricks around it to fight the erosion. Also, the putting greens are nice and fight erosion as well. This is a long wooded course that make you put multiple shots together to shoot a good score. The navigation is really easy because they have paths that lead you between each hole. You know this is a good course when after hole 11 I said, " what I just finished hole 11? It feels like I just started." I think that is a good thing when playing a course because you are enjoying yourself that much. Hole 17's view was awesome. I appreciated the canopy keeping some of the sun from beating down on me but still not too tight that you can let a disc fly.
Cons: Finding the course was a complete nightmare. They need to put a sign in the parking lot. Even finding hole 1 is difficult. Also, it is quite a walk from 18's basket to parking lot. I always appreciate a mixture of longer and shorter holes. I felt like there were only longer holes. Like many have said before a few of the holes became repetitive, There were 2 tee signs missing and people already started with vandalism on some of the rocks that support the tee signs. If a short was missing its tee signs the long still had it but quit taking tee signs people. I'm sure this was fixed before texas states but the grass on 16 was very high.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course that with a few mild adjustments like signage to the first tee and even the parking lot could be competing with slaughter creek as the best in Austin. I wish I lived closer so I could play this often, I just hope vandalism doesn't trash this course like so many others (Z-Boaz in Fort Worth) because this course is gorgeous.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded and Long

1    12/18/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: C-Van
Played: 86  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great level of difficulty at this course, really challenges you to make plenty of different types of throws.
-Very long course, which I see as a pro. This means you don't have very many holes or fairways overlapping and you get to see more of the park. This also leads to less crowding
-If you like wooded courses, you have to play here. Personally I am a huge fan, so naturally that increased my level of enjoyment here.
-A couple of holes with long straight fairways, allowing you to absolutely rip your disc.
Cons: -A lot of the holes are very similar, I honestly thought that holes 12-16 were the same hole repeated 5 times.
-Lack of trash cans around the course, but I'm sure that should improve over time.
-Hard to find this course due to lack of signage at the parking lot in the beginning.
-Other than trees, there aren't really any obstacles. No water traps, elevation changes, etc.
-Right next to an actual golf course for about two holes, I almost got hit by an errant golf ball on hole 8 I believe.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall, but I don't think it quite makes up for losing Pease Park, which is what I believe the goal essentially was. Hole 17 is beautiful, as it overlooks the city of Austin across the lake. With a little more work on the signage in the parking lot and a few more trash cans placed around the course I would be willing to bump up this rating by about half a point.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The New Standard

5+    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -"ball golf" type course
-extremely well defined fairways, and you better stay in them
-amazing concrete tees surrounded for water run off
-long and challenging
-green(the putt) areas built specifically to help fight erosion, some solid putting ground
-enough traffic now that mulch is finally good and worked into the ground, better fairway throws now
-great canopy cover still allowing for height on throws while providing shade for the majority of the course=HUGE PLUS
-challenges your game to the fullest, a place to really test and improve skills in accuracy, holding a line, and ability to shape great shots
-extremely fair course, offering lines for leftys, rightys, backhand, and sidearm but all equally as difficult
Cons: -long walk to 1, long walk off, i suggest parking by softball fields where you exit out of 18 and make the extra distance to 1, you will be happy when your car is right there when your off the course
-no putt practice area
-bamboo grows fast and tall really clogging up fairways and putting areas, recently been maintained, so awesome now, but really frustrating when its overgrown
-tee sign distances are significantly off, consesus among the ppl i play with is they are anywhere from 8-12% off
Other Thoughts: a "true" golf course, a new standard i believe. championship calibur, people talk about the lack of elevation, but the course plays so difficult that i dont believe thats even an issue. pack your bag with stable to slightly understable discs, you can manage the course by shooting straight and staying in the fairway, and playing aggresively will require alot of big flexing slowly flattening annies and ones that break out and S out at the end of flight=alot of slight annie angles, and stable to understable hyzers that barely flip and then back to hyzer for extra left break that you cant get from overstable discs that want to find the ground to quickly. it seems they built the course to require the hardest shots in disc golf=AWESOME.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 LONG AND TOUGH!

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice layout
Well Groomed
Great signage on the course
Nice long walk along Austin's Colorado river bottom.
Cons: Hard to find. No signage in the park directing you to the parking adjacent to the first tee
Couldn't find a course map anywhere online
No warmup space or basket.
LONG, LONG, LONG
Because of the long yardage, seems like the designer set many of the holes up to favor RHBH throwers. As a LHBH thrower and my friend, a RH side arm thrower, we felt pretty disadvantaged.
Other Thoughts: I like the course itself, but they aren't kidding when they call it a championship level course.
If you can't reliably throw 300ft+ with good accuracy, give this one a miss. It'll just be a slog for you.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tired me out!

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Strategic layout of the course, challenging shots that test your accuracy, open enough on most holes to really let er' rip on drives, nice scenery, well manicured, concrete pads, benches on every hole.
Cons: Course is really flat, too many long holes, hole variety varies little. walk from hole 18 to hole 1 is long
Other Thoughts: This course will wear you out, the strategic layout catches you off guard, the holes are long and some very difficult. You think you have a lot of energy, then the course keeps getting longer and required a lot of throws. Other than the fact that it's tiring its a great course that is tons of fun. Go play it if you are in the Austin area.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too Long For a Lot of Players

1    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: greg_lange
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very nice course. There are clearly defined fairways on each hole. The course has very nice trees. The trees are tall with no low limbs. So, they mostly only interfere with shots that leave the fairway or those that are thrown too high. There was a lot of work put into this course and it shows.
Cons: The course is too long for average players. My group has been playing for about 4 years and we really struggled with the length. We aren't bad players. We just don't have the length to play this course. We played the short tees. However, they are not much shorter than the long tees.
Other Thoughts: Great course for players that have the length to play it.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    6/30/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of shade amongst the numerous trees. Nice layout with out much traversing adjacent holes. Pads are large and each hole is laid out beautifully. Signage is excellent with directions to the next tee box. A fare course but just long. Plenty of parking behind Krieg Fields.
Cons: No trash cans. They had a trash pickup crew in front of us for most of the back nine. Played at 9am, the crowds. Should shoot for 8 am or better to finish under 3 hours. Course was slow with lots of waiting to tee off & second and third shots. No potable water for golfers.
Other Thoughts: Not a course for the meek or beginners. I am an avid disc golfer with 20+years of playing and this course was tough. With an average arm you need precise shots (stay in fairway) and solid putting to score well. Great course Par 5's elsewhere are Par 4's. I wish they could move the "short" pads up on the Par 3's.

For first timers, unless you know exactly where this the course is located you should know that there are signs indicating where to go. Alas, they are behind the softball fields a Krieg, Parking is adjacent to sand volleyball courts.

Did I say this is a long course?

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed course for 2012

2-4    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 193  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Roy G is just about everything you could want in a Texas course. The concrete tee pads are very large with paver stones surrounding them to prevent erosion and provide throwers with solid footing before and after the concrete. The baskets are Innova DISCatchers with triple chains and the bright yellow top band that aids in locating baskets 800+' off the tee box. The holes are varied in both distance and lefty/righty mix. However, the course favors distance throwers with decent accuracy; that's probably a good thing for new course construction in this age of Blizzard technology. Many of the holes have multiple lines where a riskier line could reward you with a better second shot. The off-fairway rough is filled with trees but none of the nasty thorns and brush that make getting to your disc a nightmare; but throw off the fairway or hit a tree on the edge and there's a decent chance you'll lose a stroke. There's obvious paths, many lined in stone or logs, leading from one hole to the next; so no need for a course map, even for first timers. Stone benches at each tee box for setting your bag or your weary self to combat the inevitable back-ups that will occur at this soon-to-be uber popular course. The course is mostly blanketed by trees shelter you from the hot Texas sun. Maps on the tee signs provide a very accurate description of the hole layout and make finding the baskets easy. Dual tee boxes for long vs. short throwers. Nice steps laid out where necessary and logs placed in fairways to help control erosion. Hole #17 is a beautiful hole with the city skyline in the background.
Cons:
Not much to complain about on this brand spankin' new course. The issue that glares to me the most is the long vs. short tees are often insignificantly different which is a shame considering the large amount of effort that went into the beautiful tee pads. Seems like it would have been better to have the short pads be more than 50' different on holes 500-800'.

When I laser measured the distances from the long tees the were often far longer than what's posted on the tee signs. (Numbers on DGCR are updated with laser values.)

The very large mulch chips in the fairway can be ankle twisters if you're not watching your step. They also have the potential to generate some erratic disc skips. That'll fade over time.

Long walk between #1 and #18 will be annoying to shotgun start tournament players.

No real elevation or water in play.
Other Thoughts:
This is a pack-it-in/pack-it-out course so there are no trash cans. There's a parking lot convenient to tee #1 and another lot convenient to basket #18... so you get to chose whether you want the long walk before or after your round. Roy G is a great course and I enjoyed my round there a lot. The holes are challenging, but never did I feel like I was playing a "stupid" hole. The holes on which I carded big numbers were my own fault for bad shots and I knew it. This is a destination course if you're in the area, but do your best to play at the crack of dawn or you're likely to face mobs of players and 4+ hour rounds. Pack lots of water in the Summer because there's no where to refill on the course.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  Roy G first time out

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: DiscNinja72
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Not a bad course at all. Well manicured as would be expected of a new course. Some soon to be installed ponds are marked on some holes but even when they are installed the course does not play too tough. Well shaded holes for the most part.
Cons: Very little variety to the holes. Course traffic is high and builds quickly. Fair amount of trees but not a problem if you stay in fairways.
Other Thoughts: Need to get out early if you want to play a quick game otherwise you'll be playing up on groups all day long. Similar to Searight in this respect

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Heaven

1    6/22/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 31.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played a hundred courses across the country and this is the best. The tee boxes are absolutely the best anywhere. Each hole is challenging and fair.

There are usually at least two routes to the hole - and sometimes more - and multiple combinations involving these routes. It keeps you thinking and requires good shot making.

The mulch around the holes keep a long shot that lands close to the hole from skipping off in the wrong direction.

The natural beauty of the course is staggering. The view of Austin, the lake, etc. is amazing. I expect the course will actually become even more beautiful as the grass grows in now that the underbrush has been cleared.

Some people complain about the lack of water. This is not ball golf. It's one thing to lose a $1 golf ball in the lake. It's another thing to lose a $15 disc. That is just an invitation to go swimming in a pool of questionable safety. In my opinion, the lack of water is a good thing. There is plenty of challenge here for everyone.

I played on a Friday. No crowds. Just the opposite. I estimate there were fewer than twenty people on the entire course.

With all the underbrush cleared, you can get offline some and not be completely dead, just challenged by the trees. I've played too many courses that are unreasonably punitive if you get slightly off the correct line. This course got it right in my opinion. An errant shot is penalized, but not excessively so in most cases.
Cons: It may be a bit long, but this is hardly a complaint. It just extends the enjoyment. Hey, I'm sixty one years old and don't have quite the length I once had. I played this course in 98 degree heat. It was a good test, but it wasn't too long. OK, tomorrow I may be a little sore, but no complaints. If you're not a little sore the next day the course didn't really test you, right?

The real question is whether the holes are too long for the par indicated. Most holes are right on. But the course could be improved somewhat by adding a third set of slightly shorter tees for each hole.
Other Thoughts: This course sets a new standard for disc golf. Many years ago it was hard to find a par four hole. Ball golf may have some lessons for us. They usually have four par 3's, ten par 4's and four par 5's. I think this would be the mix to strive for in disc golf. This course doesn't quite get there, but it has the right idea in my opinion.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.