Pipestem, WV 
Pipestem State Park Share
Uploaded By: Pipestem State Park Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 155ft.   3 / 135ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mad Mix Beyond AmpiDome

2-4    4/19/2014   5/1/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Multiple tee locations per hole.

Clubhouse.

Two 9-hole loops. Easy to navigate.
Cons:
Many tees much too close to previous basket.

Parking lot and walking paths (even an amphitheater if you're quite wild) potentially come into play.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in the midst of a very impressive public park, primarily playing up, down, and across open grassy areas, occasionally playing into/within small batches of woods. The majority of the holes would be classified as open, either in their entirety, or with a couple of trees to miss late, or with a treeline along one side, forcing a swing around the other way. Only a few holes play within the woods in their (near) entirety, with the toughest holes being right-turning/across-slope/walking-path wide number-16, followed immediately be dead-straight/uphill/broader walking-path wide number-17.

While shared tees 1&10 are concrete, located in the midst of cul-de-sac (nice touch), overlooking the baskets (set some distance away on either side of the amphitheater), the remaining tees are natural (worn-out dirt spots). At times these tees (typically three), in addition to being too close to the previous basket, don't change the distance nor look-angle to any great degree.

Varied play, as there are few holes quite suitable for every level of player, but not very many for any in particular.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

High Expectations

2-4    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: murf1087
Played: 111  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of tight-wooded fairways, open fairways, doglegs left and right, uphill and downhill shots that require accuracy but not a great amount of power. Each hole is unique and dissimilar from all others.
Multiple tee pads on most holes, but not as much variation between them as there could be.
Easy navigation and good enough signage. Scorecards and map available at pro shop.
Quiet course on a beautiful Friday afternoon in mid-June.
Overall a well designed course for the limited amount of space provided.
Cons: Tee pads: At the time of the review, several holes (1,9,10,13) needed tree trimming in front of the tee pads. Overgrowth from trees which hang over the tee pads make the designed lines nearly impossible to take and quite frustrating. Being mid-June, the course should have been in prime condition.
Grass/dirt tee pads don't necessarily affect my review here because they are in good shape. Only slightly negative is that they can get worn down and muddy, of course.

I really disliked holes 8 and 18. It seemed like they needed to squeeze in two more holes to make a full 18, so short, tightly wooded, HARD dogleg holes were thrown in. I really would have liked to see a more epic 18th hole to end this course.

Other Thoughts: Only two holes I can think of are high risk, high reward drives (16 and 17). Both are tight fairways lined by trees with drop offs that will add strokes if you aren't accurate. Most holes will allow average players to stay in the fairway and score par. Seven of the holes have a good amount of trees to avoid that require accuracy. Not a lot of power is needed to score well here, accuracy and a bit of luck is needed to shoot under par here.

I can imagine non-disc golfers getting in the way on a few holes due to this park's popularity, but that does not negatively affect my rating. The design does a fairly good job at avoiding trails and common areas.

I did have high expectations due to the course photos and potential at this great park and left only slightly disappointed. I am a bit of a snob since I've played so many courses, but with so few courses in this area, this one is definitely worth traveling to. I had a great time and definitely plan to play it again, and again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad

1    3/14/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: knettles
Played: 72  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: -Nice baskets.
-Decent layout.
-Tees mostly flat.
-Good use of terrain and hills.
Cons: -Tees are grass/dirt (can get really muddy).
-A few holes feel too short/too sharp a dogleg.
Other Thoughts: The course wasn't bad, but I think I had higher expectations. The tees were mostly flat, but in places that retained water easily and got really muddy. As you probably know, teeing off from mud is a world of trouble. Also, some of the holes were really short, with a really sharp dogleg. It just felt kind of awkward. Best idea would be to play here on a dry day from the long tees. If you're down in the area, definitely check it out.

  Great Layout

5+    9/30/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: bishdne
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is laid out great! Has some easy birdie holes, but also several challenging holes. Course is always in GREAT shape!!!
Cons: Only con I can think of is I wish they would reposition the tee boxes from time to time. A couple of the tee boxes are in an area that doesn't get much sunlight, so they can be a bit slippery at times
Other Thoughts: I hope that sometime in the near future they may think about adding another 18-holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Play This Course

1    6/2/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: wvu1867
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a technical course without many opportunties to "let it rip" Well groomed with good signage. It is fun to play and wraps around the area well.Brand new and baskets and tee areas are in perfect shape.
Cons: It has several holes that require you to play more like ball golf , with needing to layup with extreme bends in the holes .Several blind holes that you will have to play the course to know where to throw.
Other Thoughts: It costs $3 to play but it was built and is maintained by the state and is part of state park. You can make a good day at the park with lots to do.The staff are very nice and helpful. If you are near the area stop in and give it a try , you will have a good time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.