Course Extinct
Charlton, MA 
Charlton Woods - Oakwood Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #9 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 147ft.   3 / 290ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short but not sweet

1    8/1/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: akaczowka
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little course with excellent baskets, some of which are placed nicely on stone structures. Nice use of mulch to mark the path and some very short but challenging holes, The white tees tend to be about only 40 feet longer than the yellow tees, but still make the drive much more challenging. Very easy to play for the first time as all the baskets are in view of the tee area. The owners have done a good job clearing the course of underbrush and debris, but more still needs to be done. They are also installing a second 18 holes and evidently working on the course alot so in the end this course may end up being a nice new addition to the area.
Cons: BUGS!!! Think like the plague of the Egyptians. My buddy and I used 3/4 of a can of OFF and they still wouldn't leave us alone making it impossible to concentrate. The course also could use one or two decently open holes with a long drive just to change it up. The course is also located kind of off the beaten path, but isn't too hard to find. Although it does have great baskets there are no tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Reserve the right to change my mind once they have developed the course more although the biggest problem is definitely bugs and I don't know how you get rid of those when they are this bad.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

improve your game

5+    8/2/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: Echoace21
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great design to challenge your short game and work on your accuracy.

Great walking paths and signage from hole to hole.

2 sets of tee pads which make for 2 different layouts.

Very clean, trash cans and seats everywhere.

Pro shop soon to be stocked with discs. Filled with snacks and drinks right now.

Great brand new baskets.

Plays through some really cool parts of the property. (Clubhouse/Yurts)

Very Private.

The more you play the course, the more your game will improve.

Housing on site for a great rate.
Cons: Some tee pads are rough..

Most have crushed gravel with painted rocks. (Really Cool)

They are constantly getting worked on and improved though.
Other Thoughts: The most amazing piece of property!

Some many great amenities on site.


The next (2nd) course will be in within a couple weeks!!

Keep Posted

www.charltonwoods.com

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Total Fun!

1    7/4/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: dclogic
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is all about FUN. Short but challenging holes. Really cool place to visit. Can't wait to play it again. ! The locals were very cool and friendly.
Cons: The bugs were a pain in the a** ! That was it
Other Thoughts: Play this course. Expect to have fun. It only took me an hour. I will play the course twice next time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Franky4fangaz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: most the holes are short but i actually found this a nice change then sum of the other courses in the area..this course is still very new but the potential is seen all around this could become a very nice course..i recomeded it if you are in the area
Cons: no signs ..but not a problem really only couldnt find 17 and a local helped us out...tee pads are dirt i did slip a couple of times during my drives..but it looks like they are preparing for rubber pads.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed playing this course the catchers are fantastic great woods you play through.. potential everywhere this is a huge property..all in all another good course in central mass

 This place is gonna be awesome.

2-4    6/3/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: Dylan Courtney
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Charlton Woods is a former summer camp that is making its transition into a recreation and disc golf destination. With close to 400 acres of beautiful land and a disc golf crazy family intent on using it, the possibilities are endless. Check the website for information on other activities (high ropes course!) and lodging available.

The first permanent course on site is beginner friendly while still offering more experienced players a fun time. Fairways are clearly defined with cushy wood chips on most holes. There is a nice mix of straight, left and right turning holes with trees to navigate around. Baskets are brand new and catch nicely (except the ace it spit out on 17!) The rough had quite a few spider/worm webs but not much thorns or poison ivy that I encountered. Signage and gold spray paint make the course fairly easy to navigate. Leave the Destroyers at home for now. This is a finesse course that I found myself backtracking to the basket on many holes even when driving with a putter. However, this is probably my favorite short course I've played so far.
Cons: Tee pads are uneven dirt (for now) so be careful with your ankles. However, no real run-ups or X-steps are really necessary due to the length of the holes. It's a wooded course near water = bring bug spray. This is probably the highest rating I can give a course under 3500 ft.
Other Thoughts: The family who runs the place has plans to create additional (much longer) courses in the future. With the amount of land, lodging, and other activities available this place has the opportunity to become a disc golfing Mecca in the years to come. Nicely done boys.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.