Richmond, RI 
Willow Valley Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #17 (Taken 9/2016)
4 / 375ft.   4 / 452ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Wooded, tight, and fun

1    11/24/2016   11/24/2016
Review By: gabereif
Played: 38  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is on a beautiful plot of land. You park at a horse farm and walk a short bit to an area with many large rocks covered in moss, large trees, stunning rock walls, and great elevation. The setting reminds me of Highlands in Conway, MA (with slightly less natural beauty) and also Crane Hill in Palmer, MA (but a bit more wooded).

-Most holes are heavily wooded, but there are a few that play into open fields. Almost all of the fairways are very tight, but almost all of them are fair. The only fairway that really doesn't have a legitimate line is 17. This course is very technical and true beginners might be frustrated by it.

-These might be the nicest signs I've ever seen. They are accurate and beautiful -- painted onto slabs on rock. They clearly invested time and money into them and they're awesome!!

-The pin positions are excellent. There are several elevated baskets and several sit on large rocks, creating some good death putts.

-There are several par 4's, and a couple possible ace runs.
-Easy to find -- look for signs on the street.
-Brand new baskets on many holes that catch great.
-It sounds like there are plans to expand the course to 27 holes!
-No thorns or poison ivy (unlike the other two courses in southern RI). It's easy to find discs.
-Good amount of OB, which is well defined.
Cons: Tee boxes are natural and some of them are a little bumpy.

I had trouble with navigation. I played solo for the first 6 holes. I got lost after hole 1, but found some locals to show me where the tee box for 2 is. Then I joined up with those same guys at hole 7. If I hadn't, I think I would have gotten lost a couple more times. A course that charges money should make sure that navigation is super easy for those people who come from out of town and are playing solo (like me!).
Other Thoughts: I wasn't sure what to expect with this course since it has received some poor ratings from a few reviewers. I can say with confidence that as long as you don't get lost, you will have a highly enjoyable experience playing this quality course! (unless you've only played disc golf a few times in your life, in which case the course is going to be a bit too challenging. I'd recommend starting at South Kingstown DGC).

Overall, the design of the course is very good, the setting is outstanding, and the disc golf is challenging, fair, and fun. I would rate this course a 3.3 and I'm rounding up. The starting point to improve the course would be foolproof navigation and real tee boxes. If these things were in place and the course was expanded to 27 holes, it would easily be a 4.0. Kudos to everyone working to make this course what it is. Keep up the great work!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Course in The State

2-4    8/21/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: Zingelicious
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm giving this a 3.5 because I think it deserves a better rating that it has right now, and it's one of the better courses in the state.

-Full 18 holes
-The start is right near the parking lot and the last hole brings you right back to where you started
-Nice variety of holes
-a few par 4s, it provides a good challenge
-My favorite course in RI
Cons: -$5 fee per person, not that bad
-can be tricky to navigate to, but not a big deal
-a little confusing getting from hole to hole sometimes, the first time we played it we got mixed up once (follow the arrows), but the second time we didn't have much problem
Other Thoughts: The teepads are mostly natural, with two bricks in the dirt marking the end of the tee, which I kind of like. A few are sand/dirt teeboxes too. The tee signs are painted on rocks, which I find very cool.

Great course, they also host the Grey Sail Open tournament in late August, and it's on August 27, 2016 this year.
Website: http://www.pdga.com/tour/event/29865

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The woods of Sounthen Rhode Island

2-4    9/27/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots needed to navigate this one.
Awesome use of space.
The holes with pads have good footing and are in good shape.
Fair lines that will challenge even the best arms.
Course was in excellent condition.
Awesome tee signs.
Good seating throughout the round.
The Hoff
Trash bins.
Cons: Holes without pads have sketchy footing and in need of repair.
Baskets are single layer of heavy chains, makes even the short ones a tester.
A good amount of blind shots throughout the course can make single rounds tough finding disc at times.
Other Thoughts: Really had fun playing this one.
The use of space here is truly a plus. Lots of different looks.
Very tight lines. fair, but tight. Get that mid-range game going early.
With improved pads and updated chains, this course goes to an easy 4.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Rhode Island Monster!!!!

1    5/21/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Oh my god where to start? If you have played Ninigret and think this course is similar to that think again! It is completely opposite, and while Ninigret has it positives Willow Valley is far superior in many ways (not that this is a comparison).
Absolutely a monster of a course. At almost 7,000 feet with a good amount of elevation and lots of OB this course can eat even the most seasoned player alive. While still in its infancy this course has many positives going for it. What it lacks in final touches it more than makes up for in overall play, scenery, and toughness. There are lots of different shots that come into play. The course isn't righty or lefty biased, it's equally tough. OB comes into play quite a bit, but not so much its discouraging. The tees are the best natural pads I have ever seen. There are multiple routes to most of the baskets that aren't tunnel shots. Some of the coolest basket locations in New England highlight some of the trickier holes. They range from sitting on elevated knolls, a three foot tree stump, and rock face to name a few. The baskets catch really well for portables. The design couldn't be better. There are no switchbacks, no tees on top of previous baskets, and a road that runs near multiple holes makes it easy to shortcut to the more distant holes.
Cons: You have to have a guide (at this time it is Norm) to navigate. There doesn't appear to be much nearby to do but I could be wrong. There aren't tee signs or next tee signs yet and OB isn't marked. Some of the pads are a little small and narrow. Play will be limited to summer time for the foreseeable future. No real amenities but that should come with time.
Other Thoughts: While this course has only been in the ground since August it is looking incredible. A few more workdays and some signage and this is an easy 4.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.