Geneva, NY 
Lakefront Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 400ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Course

1    10/19/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: DBurt
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: Nice Layout. Fun Holes to play. Nice signs. easy to follow course. nice view.
Cons: don't like the short rubber pads. Would rather dirt/grass.
walking up to see the signs then back to pro tee was annoying, but won't have to again I guess and nice for beginners to have the signs up there.
Other Thoughts: not much else. Enjoyed it. 12 holes is weird and if the town allowed I would think they could get another few holes in between the parking area and 1/12??


 Quick short course near the finger lakes wine region.

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little tee signs.
Clear rubber tee pads at Red and White location.
Gold tape on the basket points to the next tee location, making navigation a breeze with out a map.
Very family friendly, good beginner course.
Very nice DiscNation Baskets.
It appears that hole 3 had 2 baskets. I saw a basket marked 35 and assumed it was a longer pin position for 3.
Nice views of the lake.
Clear sign of maintenance, nearly litter free, many groundhog holes are spray painted orange for safety, and lawn was freshly cut.
Cons: Tee pads are quite short, but so is the course. Not a lot of variety in distance in the shorts. Holes 6-10 were ace runs where I used the same putter for each shot. The longs give a little more variety, but 7-10 are still short.
Only 3 of the tee pads really changed the shot, most just added a little distance.
Hole 7 is the only exception to the decent flow of the course. After hole 6 you walk by basket 7 and walk the length of the hole and play back to the basket.
Not sure how the distances were measured, but a few of the holes seemed far shorter than the distances on the signage.
Basket 35 is just confusion.There is no signage telling you how to use the basket and it is too far into the course to use as a practice basket. .
Other Thoughts: As others have said 12 is an odd number, but I think 18 on the land provided would be too cramped and become a con. I think the designer made a great decision, even if it was unpopular.
Wind comes into play on this course. It totally changes how you play hole 10, a short little slight right into a major headwind off the lake.
When it comes to bringing your kids: the course is stroller friendly, but while it is a park, there is no playground visable from the disc golf area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: renoob
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs and baskets.
Scenery is awesome, and the breeze off the lake is nice on a hot day.
It's the only course anywhere near Geneva, which kind of sucks, but the fact that this course exists means that there is disc golf in Geneva, which is a plus.
Nice use of the landscape. There aren't very many trees, but the ones that are there are taken advantage of to make the holes as interesting as possible.
For the most part, you can grip it and rip it without fear of losing your disc.
Cons: 12 holes is a weird number. The course is nice- I want more.
I had trouble finding my way around. I ended up parking in a weird spot on the advice of a state park employee I asked, and had to start on hole 6.
It's kind of annoying to have to walk up to the red tee to read the tee signs and then walk back to the white tee on every hole, but that's only a problem the first time you play.
There were guys there while I was playing putting up temporary snow fences all over the place, in some cases right through fairways. A couple times I had to throw over the fence, then backtrack and walk all the way around to get to my lie.
The rough on hole 4 is extremely thick and pretty close to the pin. If you throw into it you will most likely not find your disc.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by while doing some work in Geneva (I'm from Rochester) and had a good time. I'd definitely rate a little higher if there were 18 holes, but it is worth a stop if you're ever in Geneva for sure. If I'd had more time I would have gone through again from the red tees for some ace runs.
I wouldn't count this against the rating necessarily, but I find OB's in the middle of the course to be silly. To me, out of bounds means you're off the course completely. Throwing into the tall reeds is punishment enough. No need to call it OB IMO.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice layout

2-4    6/14/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was laid out to use the full potential of the wavey topography. This is a great course for those looking to learn or use the big arm but also has a few holes that require a bit of aim. I would say this course is a great place to work out that back hand or side arm muscle.
Cons: A little dissapointed that its only 12 holes but the total distance of the course is the same as some 18 hole courses. This course is so fresh that it could use some better markers to the next tee, but like i always have said.... gotta open your eyes and look around.
Other Thoughts: I will definately play this course again, its fun and smthing new to chuck my discs at.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  ...Another Proud Papa

5+    6/14/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: drslade
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course attempts to use the swales and foliage available to the fullest extent, without going too close to the road and without putting the holes right on top of each other. Two sets of rubber tee pads allow for bigger arms and shorter arms to both enjoy a round.

My wife throws ~225', and I throw ~325', and if we play our respective tees, the round can be quite competitive.

Descriptive tee signs at all holes (short tees). Finding the long tees is then a matter of back-tracking.

Several of the holes are quite beautiful (#1 especially)
Cons: The rubber tee pads are quite short, which either requires an abbreviated run-up or nimble footwork.

Several of the pads are lumpy... Which, again, requires some attention to your footwork, and may distract you from the shot at hand.

The tee signs are fairly small, and as the distances between green and the next tee are sometimes long, navigation may be an issue. Snag a course map before you go... (Or, if you are on hole #2, go over the embankment to get to #3. Hole #5 long tee is likewise over the embankment from #4. Hole #6 Long tee is past the cattails. Hole #8 tees are in the same stretch of woods as #7 green, just closer to the old road-bed.)
Other Thoughts: From the longs:

#1 is a breathtaking view of the lake with the basket through a tunnel and over O.B. from the tee. Toughest tee shot on the course.

#2 Only truly wide-open tee shot on the course. A chance to just let it rip without fear. Can you hit the target 400' away?

#3 Tight line on the anhyzer backhand tunnel. As a forehand player, there's an easy bail-out to the left, but if you want birdie, you're going to have to shape the shot. Shockingly tough 2 for what's only a ~240' shot.

#3.5 (No tee pad here, not an official hole). Tight tunnel shot, only ~205' or so between the tall trees. Tee off is from the flat spot next to the fence, fairly close to the #4 long tees. Direct line of sight to the basket, but a narrow path.
...Or use this basket as a safari hole.

#4 (520 #1!) Tee shot is deceptively wide open, as you do NOT want to be on the right side of the embankment, but the further left you are, the more difficult the approach shot becomes. Cattails short and left of the pin are very hungry for your disc.

#5 A very difficult tee shot due to the poor footing. Also, if you generally throw low, this is a very tight tunnel, where it is quite easy to throw an accidental roller or go over the fence. Putting your tee shot on top of the embankment makes for a very difficult approach as the ground falls away from you towards the pin.

#6 (520' #2!) How difficult do you want the tee shot to be? The closer you play with the cattails off the tee, the easier the second shot becomes. The green is exceptionally narrow at and past the pin as well. Plenty of 6's are made by going OB twice!

#7 What you see is what you get - do you like the hyzer backhand line? Feel like you can get it closer with the forehand line? Either way, the window you need to hit to get close is quite small. Easy 3, tough deuce.

#8 Deceptively tough hole. Quite short, but the mound in front and the canopy above require excellent height control. The green falls away to and past the hole, again, requiring steely nerves on any long putts.

#9 If you can hit a 310' gentle hyzer line, this hole is easy. If you are prone to griplock, things get a bit more interesting.

#10 The tunnel shot. If you hit the gap directly off the tee, then all you have to do is carry is 265' or so without going more than 12' high, or deviating much to either side. Consider a forehand here...

#11 380' long, with trees guarding the tee shot and green both. If the course has been mowed recently, strongly consider a roller here as the basket is tucked down in a slight depression. Else, this will require both an accurate drive and a tight approach.

#12 One last tunnel, one last chance at deuce. Once again, height control is of critical importance. Beware of OB lurking long and left. Hit the mando with a gentle right-to-left shot and you're home!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  One of several proud parents . .

5+    6/6/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: glsacks
Played: 71  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Stunning views of Seneca Lake throughout the course. In particular, the view from the long tee on #1 is as good a view for an opening hole as I have seen in the Northeast. Prompton Lake in PA is good competition.
- The embankment for the old US20 runs right through the course, which makes for an interesting visual.
- Variety of holes throughout the course. Straight, hyzer, and anhyzer tunnel shots. A couple of open bombs. Some relatively open holes with shots shaped by stands of trees or the embankment. And the Par 4s, discussed below.
- For the most part, its tough to lose a disc (except for the OB around #4 and #6, which can be dicey).
- Several holes play downhill, affording great views of your ace runs.
- Two solid 520' Par 4s (#4 and #6) with baskets surrounded by OB, which will make you think carefully about how aggressive you want to be on you first throws, and how much you want to leave for your second.
- Two tees, should be appropriate for beginners as well as advanced players.
- Easy to navigate . . . everything goes in a counterclockwise fashion. You stay close to the fence for Holes 1-5 on the way out, and play closer to the road for 6-12 on the way back in.
- Many holes offer multiple flight paths. #1 long (310'), for example, gives you the option to go right at the hole and hit a narrow gap but risk OB; or to take a big hyzer route, with no OB risk but a challenging line; or to layup in front of the short tee and leave yourself a 150' approach shot. The short tee on the same hole offers hyzer, straight, and anhyzer routes through trees.
- Close to downtown Geneva, so you can get something to eat afterwards. Or, go for a swim at the State Park.
Cons: - Ankle twisting groundhog holes throughout the course. Be careful
- No restrooms or water on the course, need to walk back towards the main entrance.
- There's a lack of hazards in several parts of the course. A few more trees would be nice
- Top pros (say, >980 rating) may not find enough challenge here, especially because it plays relatively open.
- 12 holes . . . I'm old fashioned, I prefer 18.
- OB can be pretty marshy-wet in the spring or after a rain.
Other Thoughts: - The short tees are fun enough such that I usually play 24 holes, short then long. Most experienced players will shoot a few strokes under par from the shorts, but its a good warmup.
- The course can be windy. Usually, winds come from the west, sometimes the north or south. Check out the Zoto's wind turbines behind Hole 6-7. If they are spinning much faster than 15 rpm or so, its going to be a rough day.
- Most of the course area was a swamp and served as a garbage dump a century ago. A canal also made its way through to downtown from the northeast tip of the lake. In the 1950s, the area was filled in to its current level. It appears that the OB area around 4,5,6 is relic of the canal.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.