Rock Rapids, IA 
Westside Park Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pretty good course.

5+    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Alexk2539
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is great. Its deceptively long, almost no elevation change, but where there is its used wisely. Free to play, new baskets.
Cons: The forest on the side of the course are pretty dense, can make finding a frisbee infuriating. No concrete drive pads.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course i've played in Iowa. Is deceptively difficult.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course!

1    3/3/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 337  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 37.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Surprisingly long...a good mix of hole lengths and good use of trees.
- Easy to play/navigate.
Cons: - I thought a few of the fairways are a little too close together.
- Parts of the course seem as though they might be very low and stay wet at multiple times throughout the year. (?)
Other Thoughts: This is a course I wish I could play again under good playing conditions (dry ground, light/no wind). Very good for the land they had to work with, and a lot of fun for the local players to frequent, I'm sure.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/10/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 107  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unexpectedly fun 9 hole course in a small Iowa town. The designer(s) did a good job with the land they were given to use. A good mix of short and long holes with plenty of mature trees to navigate around. You will need just about every shot in your bag to pick up those birdies. Not too much elevation change to be found, but the little elevation the park does have is used very well. Navigation is not an issue as this course just flows in a clockwise circle for the most part.
Cons: No multiple tee or pin placements. Tee signs were incomplete and did not have par and distances listed. The course is located in a small RV campground so campers could be an issue if the campground gets busy, although every time I have driven past it there was no one in sight. The baskets are new but not that great. They also wobble a little bit near the base.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth stopping by for a round or two if you are in the area or passing through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Long

1    6/7/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very long for city park, good challenge there
-Trees are a factor without being too hard. A few shots you have to throw right or left or keep it low. a good variety.
-Tees are marked by wooden numbered post and wood on the ground
-Good parking lot, bathroom, camping at the same park
-Not a big town so you are likely going to have the park to yourself
-Nice new disc nation baskets
-Very good flow and short walking distance between basket and tee. Always knew which basket I was throwing at without signage
-A few holes had a little elevation, I was surprised.
-Probably won't lose a disc here but the woods that border part of the park are pretty thick
Cons: -Is in a multi use city park so watch out for others
-Tees are natural.
-No signage at the start of course or on tees
Other Thoughts: I stumbled upon this course while looking for other courses. It was a pleasant surprise. It looks to be very new and not used much yet. The distance and trees will provide a reasonable challenge for most players. They used this land very well for disc golf. It is not ideal by any means but they did a great job. I would recommend a stop here for a fairly quick but challenging round. Maybe in the future they will put up signage and cement tees to further improve this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.