Ames, IA 
Stable Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: mittbull Hole #2 (Taken 4/2016)
3 / 248ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 248ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Stable Run

5+    8/14/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: TakeTheLocalRoute
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: -Long and short tees AND pins
-Usually quiet, can get busy when the university is in session though
-Plenty of variety for shots
-Good mix of technical and open holes
-Well maintained, you can tell a lot of work goes into the course
-Friendly locals
-Most of it is tucked away in the woods so the wind isn't a big factor
-Hard to get lost, everything flows smoothly
-Hole 9 ends by the entrance so you can bail after 9
Cons: -The rough is ROUGH
-When it rains, this course will be really muddy and damp for a few days. I've seen pins completely submerged when the river floods (rare but it happens).
-Vandalism and trash. Some days are better than others
-They've been working on adding a second pin to hole 2 for what seems like several years.
-Parking lot has broken bottles in it constantly.
-Mosquitos are awful, bring bug spray
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my favorite courses. I've done this course close to 100 times and I always play it if I'm ever passing through town. It gets better each time but it's best in the summer when the college kids are gone.

Pretty good course for Lames, IA - Go Hawks

1    6/27/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: MitchMileHigh
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good sized parking lot. Walk down a short concrete hill into a park dedicated to disc golfers!
- A long tee and short tee on each hole
- Also a short/easier pin (Red) and a longer/difficult pin (Yellow) per hole
- Can play up to 4 different layouts - Short to red, Long to red, Short to yellow, Long to Yellow (I played long pad to yellow pin)
- Great mixture of different shot types throughout the round. You will use most of the discs in your bag.
- Shorter/technical wooded front 9 with a longer/let it rip back 9.
- I noticed that hole 1 tees,hole 9 pins, hole 10 tees, and hole 18 pins all start and end in the same area in case you only have time for 9 holes it makes it easier to decide which set of 9 holes you would like to play.
- Trash cans on almost every tee.
- Some holes run along a big creek with some decent views.
- Multiple lines per hole, choose your line and stick with it.
- Pretty good signage.
- Hole 12 has an elevated basket on a tree stump that has stairs you must climb to retrieve your disc from the basket.
- A couple long par 4's over 600ft each. Hole 16 and 18, makes for some tough holes coming down the stretch.
Cons: - Some signs are too close to the back right corner of the tee pad making a run up to the tee pad impossible - but I hear they are working on fixing this issue.
- Only one hole (hole 3) has any sort of elevation, mostly flat course.
- Lacking benches at teepads.
- Some areas a little overgrown but not bad.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a very fun course and I will continue to come back. If i had to make a choice between playing this course and Carrol Marty in Ames, I would choose this one. I would have rated this course a 4.5, but it is lacking elevation. If you live in Des Moines you need to make the drive up to Ames to play this beauty of a course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The better of two courses in Ames

5+    7/11/2016   3/26/2016
Review By: hotoatmeal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/12/2016
Pros: All holes have two baskets and two (concrete) pads.
Baskets were recently repainted and are nice and bright.
Recent work has cleared out some hanging branches and shrubbery, as well as created more defined fairways.
Some beautifully manicured fairways on the back 9.
Many holes force you to play a certain shot without being too narrow.
Doesn't get a lot of traffic (a plus in my book).

Cons: No water source. You need to bring it with you.
Many tee signs are literally an inch away from the pad. I have no idea who put them there because it makes no sense and can be pretty annoying.

Some sand from past flooding on 6 & 7.

Rough can get pretty bad in some spots. (To be fair, the recent uptick in course maintenance has taken care of most of this.)

Some of the new baskets have fewer chains and will punch out on a hard putt, but this is really nitpicking.

There isn't a very good "staging area". Most courses have a large area near the first pad for tournament central with benches and open areas. This course doesn't have a good area for when you're at the couse, but not playing. (Again, this is pretty nitpicky)
Other Thoughts: Short and technical front nine then you get to stretch it out on the back.
Hole 18 is 700 ft!
Is now handsdown, the better course in Ames.
The amount of work recently put in really shows. Once word gets out about the recent coursework, it will become an actual draw from the Des Moines area.

 Stable Run

5+    12/1/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: kevdiv48
Played: 112  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The ISU Course, also known as Stable Run, is secluded on a plot of land surrounded by water on three sides that offers a wide variety of hole types. The front 9 is on the shorter, more technical side, while the back 9 opens up a bit more. The majority of holes have 2 concrete tees with 2 baskets and signage for both, all of which are very good. Playing short to short is very good for beginners or for ace runs and long to long is still challenging for all but the best players out there. The course flow is pretty good, the only issue I've had is going from some of the long baskets on the back 9 to the long tee for the next hole. The usage of the available land is fantastic and the only place off the top of my head that be use a little more is to the left of #4's basket to incorporate an alternate pin and possibly and longer tee, too. 16 and 18 are great true par 4's. 18 is a fantastic finishing hole where you need to bomb it through the first bunch of trees and then thread it back into the narrow clearing where the long basket is. It is usually less crowded than Carroll Marty, which is south of campus. Good parking, restrooms and trash cans are all present.
Cons: The long teepad on 8 is facing directly behind a large tree. I don't know what the designer was thinking, but there is a fair, but challenging window to the right that goes right over the short pad. The rough at time can get pretty nasty in the summer, especially on the holes closest to the creek. The sand that was brought in from the flood in 2010 is still mostly there and is a bit of a turn off for me. I am not sure how much can be done to get some dirt back in, but that would be an improvement. There is also a majority of holes that favors LHBH and RHFH. The location of the practice basket is not the greatest as most people do not see it until they finish 18. It's about the best spot available, so maybe some signage to point players in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Stable Run is a great complement to the shorter, more elevated Carroll Marty that is on the other side of campus. SR requires your A game if you want to score well playing long to long. The tough pin locations, tight lines and varying lengths all present a great challenge that can be rather frustrating, but rewarding. If you've got the time, make sure to make the drive south to Des Moines to hit up their plethora of great courses too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course on ISU campus

5+    7/9/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: pjthediscgolfer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2016
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great location for course off of 13th Street near ISU campus
-Great variety of shots to test all of your discs from your bag
-I like the choice you have for each hole, 2 tee pads and 2 pins each. Which makes for 4 different shot options
-Trash cans located everywhere, very green course.
-Clean and mowed every time i've visited
-Good course for new or experienced players.
-Restroom at start of course
-Signs show where next hole begins and is very first-timer friendly
-Great course to grab yourself an ace on!
-Locals are very friendly and if you need to ask a question, don't hesitate!
-Hole 10 starts at the gate with end of 18 and beginning of 1 for easy access to front and back 9.
Cons: -Some holes have horrible lines which make for impossible shots (i.e. hole 4) which has no open room in between trees for a good line.
-No drinking fountains or vending machines on course or at start
-Quite easy to lose a disc, recommend only throwing 1 or 2 per hole
-Some beginner pins can be in your line to the advanced pin which can affect your shot mentally and possibly physically
-Kind of hard to find the course behind the gates and junk in the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Great course for having a quick round on one of the beginner routes or a fun round on the long advanced holes. Watch out on hole 15 for the tree in the middle of the fairway. It has a giant knot-hole in it that I got my Nuke SS stuck in. (: Thanks to a couple buddies, I got it back. HA. Anyways, Definitely a must do course if you are dropping by in Ames.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best in Ames!

2-4    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2015
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -In a big wooded area with a lot of trees. Great Challenge!
-Nice tees and fairly nice baskets.
-The tee signs were very helpful and always showed distance and where you are throwing at.
-There are 2 tees and 2 baskets on each hole.
-A few good holes to ace!
-A couple of big time bomb shots.. let your driver do the talking!
-Not as crowded as Carroll Marty.
-Shaded so it is nice and cool during the summer.
-Very little trash littered on the course.
Cons: -Very easy to lose your disc.
-Some of the holes were a little on the short side.
-There is poison ivy on the course and quite a few bugs.
-Not always clear where the next tee is, so rather easy to get lost for a minute or 2.
-Lack of garbage cans, benches, and vending machines.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course very much! I prefer this course to Carroll Marty. Bring as many discs as you can because you might lose one, but if you're careful and conservative you more than likely won't have any trouble. If you happen to be in Ames, come here for sure!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 me likey!

5+    6/15/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 57  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New renovations and cleaning up of this course has made this course bareable again. Love the choice of 2 tee pads and 2 baskets on most of the holes. Can never get bored of this course. Has everything that carroll marty doesnt have. Long holes. A couple over 500 or 600 from the long to long. Every hole is laid out very nicely. Like the new long tee pad on hole 8 and the very short tee pad on hole 2 super short but still a little technical. 2 Nice additions
Cons: Even though the cleaning up of this course helped. The few holes by the river have a lot of poison ivy all over. Which is very annoying.
Other Thoughts: If you play carroll marty and like it i recommend stable run

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 13th St

5+    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: SlamThoseChains
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Diverse hole types
-I've seen maintenance crews working on the course multiple times
- Most holes have pro/am tees and short/long baskets, allowing for good replay value
Cons: -Can be closed due to flooding
-Lots of stinging nettle
Other Thoughts: Many people in the Ames area refer to this course as "13th St DGC"

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course

2-4    9/10/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and tee boxes, mostly shady, sweet mix of shot types, less crowded than Carroll Marty
Cons: can be closed b/c of flooding a few times a year,
Other Thoughts: Lots of memorable holes here, really fun to play, worth checking out for sure

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A gem in Ames

1    8/19/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 138  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great tees, multiple baskets on most holes, clearly marking which is long and short (different colors). Good mix of long and open and tight and technical.

Good signs. Pretty straightforward layout.
Cons: No real elevation to speak of. The course is fairly flat.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, it had a bit for everyone, and has a ton of replay value with the multiple placed baskets and tees. I could see spending a weekend playing this course at all the long and short baskets and tees, would be a pretty fun and different 72 holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.