Ames, IA 
Stable Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: mittbull Hole #6 (Taken 4/2016)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 213ft.   3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Gold Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Stable Run

5+    8/14/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: TakeTheLocalRoute
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: -Long and short tees AND pins
-Usually quiet, can get busy when the university is in session though
-Plenty of variety for shots
-Good mix of technical and open holes
-Well maintained, you can tell a lot of work goes into the course
-Friendly locals
-Most of it is tucked away in the woods so the wind isn't a big factor
-Hard to get lost, everything flows smoothly
-Hole 9 ends by the entrance so you can bail after 9
Cons: -The rough is ROUGH
-When it rains, this course will be really muddy and damp for a few days. I've seen pins completely submerged when the river floods (rare but it happens).
-Vandalism and trash. Some days are better than others
-They've been working on adding a second pin to hole 2 for what seems like several years.
-Parking lot has broken bottles in it constantly.
-Mosquitos are awful, bring bug spray
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my favorite courses. I've done this course close to 100 times and I always play it if I'm ever passing through town. It gets better each time but it's best in the summer when the college kids are gone.


Pretty good course for Lames, IA - Go Hawks

1    6/27/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: MitchMileHigh
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good sized parking lot. Walk down a short concrete hill into a park dedicated to disc golfers!
- A long tee and short tee on each hole
- Also a short/easier pin (Red) and a longer/difficult pin (Yellow) per hole
- Can play up to 4 different layouts - Short to red, Long to red, Short to yellow, Long to Yellow (I played long pad to yellow pin)
- Great mixture of different shot types throughout the round. You will use most of the discs in your bag.
- Shorter/technical wooded front 9 with a longer/let it rip back 9.
- I noticed that hole 1 tees,hole 9 pins, hole 10 tees, and hole 18 pins all start and end in the same area in case you only have time for 9 holes it makes it easier to decide which set of 9 holes you would like to play.
- Trash cans on almost every tee.
- Some holes run along a big creek with some decent views.
- Multiple lines per hole, choose your line and stick with it.
- Pretty good signage.
- Hole 12 has an elevated basket on a tree stump that has stairs you must climb to retrieve your disc from the basket.
- A couple long par 4's over 600ft each. Hole 16 and 18, makes for some tough holes coming down the stretch.
Cons: - Some signs are too close to the back right corner of the tee pad making a run up to the tee pad impossible - but I hear they are working on fixing this issue.
- Only one hole (hole 3) has any sort of elevation, mostly flat course.
- Lacking benches at teepads.
- Some areas a little overgrown but not bad.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a very fun course and I will continue to come back. If i had to make a choice between playing this course and Carrol Marty in Ames, I would choose this one. I would have rated this course a 4.5, but it is lacking elevation. If you live in Des Moines you need to make the drive up to Ames to play this beauty of a course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The better of two courses in Ames

5+    7/11/2016   3/26/2016
Review By: hotoatmeal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/12/2016
Pros: All holes have two baskets and two (concrete) pads.
Baskets were recently repainted and are nice and bright.
Recent work has cleared out some hanging branches and shrubbery, as well as created more defined fairways.
Some beautifully manicured fairways on the back 9.
Many holes force you to play a certain shot without being too narrow.
Doesn't get a lot of traffic (a plus in my book).

Cons: No water source. You need to bring it with you.
Many tee signs are literally an inch away from the pad. I have no idea who put them there because it makes no sense and can be pretty annoying.

Some sand from past flooding on 6 & 7.

Rough can get pretty bad in some spots. (To be fair, the recent uptick in course maintenance has taken care of most of this.)

Some of the new baskets have fewer chains and will punch out on a hard putt, but this is really nitpicking.

There isn't a very good "staging area". Most courses have a large area near the first pad for tournament central with benches and open areas. This course doesn't have a good area for when you're at the couse, but not playing. (Again, this is pretty nitpicky)
Other Thoughts: Short and technical front nine then you get to stretch it out on the back.
Hole 18 is 700 ft!
Is now handsdown, the better course in Ames.
IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED HERE IN THE PAST YEAR OR SO THEN YOU NEED TO COME BACK.
The amount of work recently put in really shows. Once word gets out about the recent coursework, it will become an actual draw from the Des Moines area.

 me likey!

5+    6/15/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 57  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New renovations and cleaning up of this course has made this course bareable again. Love the choice of 2 tee pads and 2 baskets on most of the holes. Can never get bored of this course. Has everything that carroll marty doesnt have. Long holes. A couple over 500 or 600 from the long to long. Every hole is laid out very nicely. Like the new long tee pad on hole 8 and the very short tee pad on hole 2 super short but still a little technical. 2 Nice additions
Cons: Even though the cleaning up of this course helped. The few holes by the river have a lot of poison ivy all over. Which is very annoying.
Other Thoughts: If you play carroll marty and like it i recommend stable run

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A gem in Ames

1    8/19/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 138  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great tees, multiple baskets on most holes, clearly marking which is long and short (different colors). Good mix of long and open and tight and technical.

Good signs. Pretty straightforward layout.
Cons: No real elevation to speak of. The course is fairly flat.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, it had a bit for everyone, and has a ton of replay value with the multiple placed baskets and tees. I could see spending a weekend playing this course at all the long and short baskets and tees, would be a pretty fun and different 72 holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 3rd course of the day

1    3/15/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: Earl Harbo
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course, open sunrise to sunset. Every hole has a red and yellow tee pad, as well as a red and a yellow pin, allowing for 4 different ways to play each hole. Very tricky shots through the woods. It is very easy to get around with numerous signs to point you in the right direction, as well as each sign at the tee pad is easy to read and gives you all the info you need to know about the hole. This course is among the top in the Des Moines/Ames area.
Cons: Very busy, wasn't too big of a deal this time of the year, but I can only imagine in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Congrats to..... oh ya... Me! I won this course on the 3rd course of the day on March 15th, in the epic Des Moines Frolf outing. The open sign is so sweet.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite in ames

5+    11/5/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the biggest pros about a course for me is one that has wooded shots, and open shots.
-First 10 are wooded
-Back 8 are more open, with two good par 4's on golds
-Winds back to the start after 9 and 18 holes so you can play the whole thing, or the front or back nine and still end up where you started.
-2 teepads and 2 baskets for the majority of the holes. It really helps, especially for us locals, to keep things interesting and different, having 4 different ways to play the course.
-Teepads are concrete and grippy
-Minor use of elevation where there is some, It's Iowa so we aren't going to have mountains, the course makes good use of what we have to work with.
-The flood cleaned out most of the dead wood, and then ISU poured quite a bit of money into cleaning the course back up. This summer had it looking the best its been in a while (2010).
-Practice basket tucked in around the corner from the entrance (behind hole 18)
-Not crowded like Carroll Marty
Cons: -Sign distances are off, since it's had changes after they were installed.
-Not enough trash cans, there are some and that's a pro, but often not enough.
Other Thoughts: I choose this course over Carroll Marty frequently, and I live within sight of CM. The shots are more difficult, to present more challenge, and you don't have supergroups in the summer like at CM.

Bring bug spray in the summer!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Kind of Course

2-4    6/11/2012   6/30/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees on most holes
-Good amount of parking
-Bathroom right before entering the course
-Detailed signs on every hole
-Easy to follow layout even if you haven't been here before
-2 baskets on each hole, red and yellow, make it so you can play so many variations of each hole. You can play 4 variations of most holes.
-Good mix of open and wooded holes although no holes are completely open. There is also a good amount of trees to make it challenging but not impossible.
-Clean course even with lack of garbage cans
-Not a lot of elevation but the few holes that have it use it well
-Good variations in distance; some nice medium range ace runs and some real long bombs especially if you play long tee and long basket
-Good locals, also a league that plays here or at Carroll Marty on the South Side of town
-Practice basket located to the left of hole ones tee box or after hole 18 long pin
Cons: -Can be flooded since it's right on the river
-A little chance to lose a disc in the river or woods
-Not many garbage cans, I saw just one
-Can be crowded when the course is in good condition, especially since a large university is here.
-Not a lot of elevation, only 2 holes use it much
-Buggy, muggy and overgrown at times in the summer, fall would probably be the best time to play here
Other Thoughts: I prefer this rougher, shorter type of course to the longer, more country club type of course like Walnut Ridge in Des Moines. This course and the other one in Ames are about similar quality and both highly enjoyable. Ames is right on I-35 so these two courses are a must stop!

Update as of 2 years after review: Stopped again and played the course when not flooded. It was still a lot of fun but I've played a lot of great courses since then. I realized that 4.5 was a little high. The front 9, when well maintained is certainly a 4.5 quality course but the back 9, even when maintained, is probably a 3.5. This is one of those legendary old courses that will always be good but it doesn't quite compete with the new courses and all they have to offer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Iowa State University Course

5+    9/10/2008   6/27/2010
Review By: jasonpunis
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice Mixture of Long and Short
Great combination of tight, narrow holes and wide open holes.
Cons: Can be muddy at times, some holes seem to run together.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. Great for beginners learning the sport, but also challenging for experienced disc golfers as well

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great challenge

5+    4/5/2010   5/2/2009
Review By: safg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 tees and pins on most holes creates a great variety of ways to play the course. Lots of trees and options on shots. Tight and technical front nine, longer and more open back nine. However, still plenty of obstacles on the back nine to make you think about your shots. Almost no waiting compared to the other course in town.
Cons: Not much elevation change at all. A lot of trees can create a very frustrating day if your having bad luck. The course gets really overgrown in the late summer/fall and it can become difficult to find your disc if it goes off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: The more disc golf I play, the more I like this course. When I played this course last year i really did not like it because it was just too difficult for me. But now I am much better and enjoy the challenge. Don't give up on the course after you play it just once or twice. Try a few different tee/pin combos and find what is right for you.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.