Ames, IA 
Stable Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: mittbull Hole #14 (Taken 4/2016)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Gold Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 great challenge

5+    4/5/2010   5/2/2009
Review By: safg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 tees and pins on most holes creates a great variety of ways to play the course. Lots of trees and options on shots. Tight and technical front nine, longer and more open back nine. However, still plenty of obstacles on the back nine to make you think about your shots. Almost no waiting compared to the other course in town.
Cons: Not much elevation change at all. A lot of trees can create a very frustrating day if your having bad luck. The course gets really overgrown in the late summer/fall and it can become difficult to find your disc if it goes off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: The more disc golf I play, the more I like this course. When I played this course last year i really did not like it because it was just too difficult for me. But now I am much better and enjoy the challenge. Don't give up on the course after you play it just once or twice. Try a few different tee/pin combos and find what is right for you.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not so good anymore

5+    11/22/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 66  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 13.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has multiple basket and tee pads so you can mix and match a round however you want.
Cons: After the redesign of the course, it is no longer that great of a course.
Other Thoughts: I would skip this one and head over to Gateway Hills.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/18/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 193  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 20.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and multiple (permanent) targets on most holes. Fairly good balance of shot shapes. A good variety of short finesse holes and a couple of true par 4 holes. Flows well. Lots of trees. Looping 9's. Ample parking for events. Descriptive signage. Message board at entrance.
Cons: A bit flat. Slightly favors the left handed player. A few tees are buried by dirt after it rains. Signs are showing age from light vandalism and flood damage.
Other Thoughts: One of the two courses that serve Ames and ISU in particular, this is the course that will appeal to the more "serious" player. While the Red-Red course distance is geared to the novice player, there are still a lot of tree obstacles to knock down your throw.

With dual tees and dual baskets on most of the holes, the course can be played in 4 different configurations. The course was updated with new basket locations recently, adding length and difficulty to many of the holes. Two holes play to a par 4 for the average pro player. #16 is the signature hole, playing 606' from the gold tee to the gold target and was regarded as one of the best holes played during the 2004 World Championships.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/3/2005   6/3/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 177  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Super challenging and tight. No truely "open" hole. There are two pin placements up year round. Thats right theres the red baskets and the silver baskets. Am pads and Pro pads are very different shots. Accuracy a must. Long and short holes. Easy to navigate and great signs. Although relatively flat, use of the land was maximized. Tunnel shots common.
Other Thoughts: I've recently learned that the course has been altered. So my review is of its Worlds design.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ISU Stable Run DGC

5/19/2007   8/16/2007
Review By: ACurry916
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course with really tight front nine and open back nine!
Cons: Front nine can get frustrating but still its a good time!
Other Thoughts: It is a great course that will challenge the best but is still playable for beginners!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.