Ames, IA 
Iowa State University (Stable Run DGC) Share



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Stable Run

5+    12/1/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: kevdiv48
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The ISU Course, also known as Stable Run, is secluded on a plot of land surrounded by water on three sides that offers a wide variety of hole types. The front 9 is on the shorter, more technical side, while the back 9 opens up a bit more. The majority of holes have 2 concrete tees with 2 baskets and signage for both, all of which are very good. Playing short to short is very good for beginners or for ace runs and long to long is still challenging for all but the best players out there. The course flow is pretty good, the only issue I've had is going from some of the long baskets on the back 9 to the long tee for the next hole. The usage of the available land is fantastic and the only place off the top of my head that be use a little more is to the left of #4's basket to incorporate an alternate pin and possibly and longer tee, too. 16 and 18 are great true par 4's. 18 is a fantastic finishing hole where you need to bomb it through the first bunch of trees and then thread it back into the narrow clearing where the long basket is. It is usually less crowded than Carroll Marty, which is south of campus. Good parking, restrooms and trash cans are all present.
Cons: The long teepad on 8 is facing directly behind a large tree. I don't know what the designer was thinking, but there is a fair, but challenging window to the right that goes right over the short pad. The rough at time can get pretty nasty in the summer, especially on the holes closest to the creek. The sand that was brought in from the flood in 2010 is still mostly there and is a bit of a turn off for me. I am not sure how much can be done to get some dirt back in, but that would be an improvement. There is also a majority of holes that favors LHBH and RHFH. The location of the practice basket is not the greatest as most people do not see it until they finish 18. It's about the best spot available, so maybe some signage to point players in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Stable Run is a great complement to the shorter, more elevated Carroll Marty that is on the other side of campus. SR requires your A game if you want to score well playing long to long. The tough pin locations, tight lines and varying lengths all present a great challenge that can be rather frustrating, but rewarding. If you've got the time, make sure to make the drive south to Des Moines to hit up their plethora of great courses too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course on ISU campus

5+    7/9/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: pjthediscgolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great location for course off of 13th Street near ISU campus
-Great variety of shots to test all of your discs from your bag
-I like the choice you have for each hole, 2 tee pads and 2 pins each. Which makes for 4 different shot options
-Trash cans located everywhere, very green course.
-Clean and mowed every time i've visited
-Good course for new or experienced players.
-Restroom at start of course
-Signs show where next hole begins and is very first-timer friendly
-Great course to grab yourself an ace on!
-Locals are very friendly and if you need to ask a question, don't hesitate!
-Hole 10 starts at the gate with end of 18 and beginning of 1 for easy access to front and back 9.
Cons: -Some holes have horrible lines which make for impossible shots (i.e. hole 4) which has no open room in between trees for a good line.
-No drinking fountains or vending machines on course or at start
-Quite easy to lose a disc, recommend only throwing 1 or 2 per hole
-Some beginner pins can be in your line to the advanced pin which can affect your shot mentally and possibly physically
-Kind of hard to find the course behind the gates and junk in the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Great course for having a quick round on one of the beginner routes or a fun round on the long advanced holes. Watch out on hole 15 for the tree in the middle of the fairway. It has a giant knot-hole in it that I got my Nuke SS stuck in. (: Thanks to a couple buddies, I got it back. HA. Anyways, Definitely a must do course if you are dropping by in Ames.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Ames!

2-4    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -In a big wooded area with a lot of trees. Great Challenge!
-Nice tees and fairly nice baskets.
-The tee signs were very helpful and always showed distance and where you are throwing at.
-There are 2 tees and 2 baskets one each hole, making for a nearly unlimited amount of ways to frolf.
-A few good holes to ace!
-A couple of big time bomb shots.. let your driver do the talking!
-Not as crowded as Carroll Marty.
-Shaded so it is nice and cool during the summer.
-Very little trash littered on the course.

Cons: -Very easy to lose your disc.
-Some of the holes were a little short, but that could be because I played the short tee most of the time.
-There is poison ivy on the course and quite a few bugs.
-Not always clear where the next tee is, so rather easy to get lost for a minute or 2.
-Lack of garbage cans, benches, and vending machines.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course very much! I prefer this course to Carroll Marty. Bring as many discs as you can because you might lose one, but if you're careful and conservative you more than likely won't have any trouble. If you happen to be in Ames, come here for sure!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 me likey!

5+    6/15/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New renovations and cleaning up of this course has made this course bareable again. Love the choice of 2 tee pads and 2 baskets on most of the holes. Can never get bored of this course. Has everything that carroll marty doesnt have. Long holes. A couple over 500 or 600 from the long to long. Every hole is laid out very nicely. Like the new long tee pad on hole 8 and the very short tee pad on hole 2 super short but still a little technical. 2 Nice additions
Cons: Even though the cleaning up of this course helped. The few holes by the river have a lot of poison ivy all over. Which is very annoying.
Other Thoughts: If you play carroll marty and like it i recommend stable run

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 13th St

5+    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: SlamThoseChains
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Diverse hole types
-I've seen maintenance crews working on the course multiple times
- Most holes have pro/am tees and short/long baskets, allowing for good replay value
Cons: -Can be closed due to flooding
-Lots of stinging nettle
Other Thoughts: Many people in the Ames area refer to this course as "13th St DGC"

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course

2-4    9/10/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and tee boxes, mostly shady, sweet mix of shot types, less crowded than Carroll Marty
Cons: can be closed b/c of flooding a few times a year,
Other Thoughts: Lots of memorable holes here, really fun to play, worth checking out for sure

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A gem in Ames

1    8/19/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tees, multiple baskets on most holes, clearly marking which is long and short (different colors). Good mix of long and open and tight and technical.

Good signs. Pretty straightforward layout.
Cons: No real elevation to speak of. The course is fairly flat.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, it had a bit for everyone, and has a ton of replay value with the multiple placed baskets and tees. I could see spending a weekend playing this course at all the long and short baskets and tees, would be a pretty fun and different 72 holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3rd course of the day

1    3/15/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: Earl Harbo
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course, open sunrise to sunset. Every hole has a red and yellow tee pad, as well as a red and a yellow pin, allowing for 4 different ways to play each hole. Very tricky shots through the woods. It is very easy to get around with numerous signs to point you in the right direction, as well as each sign at the tee pad is easy to read and gives you all the info you need to know about the hole. This course is among the top in the Des Moines/Ames area.
Cons: Very busy, wasn't too big of a deal this time of the year, but I can only imagine in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Congrats to..... oh ya... Me! I won this course on the 3rd course of the day on March 15th, in the epic Des Moines Frolf outing. The open sign is so sweet.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite in ames

5+    11/5/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the biggest pros about a course for me is one that has wooded shots, and open shots.
-First 10 are wooded
-Back 8 are more open, with two good par 4's on golds
-Winds back to the start after 9 and 18 holes so you can play the whole thing, or the front or back nine and still end up where you started.
-2 teepads and 2 baskets for the majority of the holes. It really helps, especially for us locals, to keep things interesting and different, having 4 different ways to play the course.
-Teepads are concrete and grippy
-Minor use of elevation where there is some, It's Iowa so we aren't going to have mountains, the course makes good use of what we have to work with.
-The flood cleaned out most of the dead wood, and then ISU poured quite a bit of money into cleaning the course back up. This summer had it looking the best its been in a while (2010).
-Practice basket tucked in around the corner from the entrance (behind hole 18)
-Not crowded like Carroll Marty
Cons: -Sign distances are off, since it's had changes after they were installed.
-Not enough trash cans, there are some and that's a pro, but often not enough.
Other Thoughts: I choose this course over Carroll Marty frequently, and I live within sight of CM. The shots are more difficult, to present more challenge, and you don't have supergroups in the summer like at CM.

Bring bug spray in the summer!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Cool layout, bring your machete

1    6/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variable skill course that meanders through a wooded area at the ISU campus. Dual tees and dual baskets on most of the holes. (The short baskets for the most part have a red frame, the longer ones have a silver one). Good tight, technical challenge on the front nine, with some longer back nine holes with pins that are blind from the tee, but for the most part, the shorter length shouldn't overwhelm rec players.
Cons: The undergrowth here has to be one of the worst that I've ever seen. You definitely need to keep an eye on your throws. If you get an errant shot (or even a good one that picks the wrong place to land), expect to be looking for it for awhile. I am told during other parts of the year, its not so bad. The dual baskets (not a common thing around here), may confuse players not used to seeing them.
Other Thoughts: Definitely the more challenging of the two Ames courses. I thankfully had the assistance of a local player who gave me the tour and had enough sense to bring a machete to whack away at the vines which were present. If not for that, this thing would have ate me up. A good play, but I would really advise first timers here to walk the course before they play it, especially if its looking wooley, if anything, to find which basket you want to aim at. A bit hard to locate, but its right in the center of town and worth the stop.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center