Huntingburg, IN 
Dubois County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
course conditions much improved

1    8/4/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: DiscoBriscoe
Played: 151  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Grass is in good shape all over course now. Pictures of holes 6-17 are out of date-the grass is nice and mown and the dirt is firm.
Very nice benches and trashcans installed on several holes now.
Great signs and tee pads, along with professional hole design.
Very well taken care of all over. I saw no litter at all.

Not crowded. At 5:30pm on a Monday I was only guy on course. one walker/bicyclist [same person].
Cons: Not much shade on ~2/3rds of the course. trees and young and small
Not much parking, a quite a bit of walking

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date: 8/7/2014 Designer Response by: HB553
Thanks for the update and complement - new courses need time to "grow in" and it is good to here the park is being maintained as planned. HB - designer and installer of the course.

 

2-4    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: runningoz
Played: 55  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The course is still fairly new and going through the growing pains that most new courses will go through. The front 4 holes are around a lake and make you reconsider your shot selection, but as long as you play the holes smart you shouldn't have many problems. Hole 5 is a tight tunnel shot. The rest of the course is fairly open with a mix of trees and water shots on several holes. Good tee pads on all holes.
Cons: The course was still recovering from the reseeding last fall, but as long as the maintenance is kept up on the course it should grow in well. More trash cans needed. The course was clean, but with more use that might be a problem in the future. Benches along the course would also be a plus.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course to let it air out.

 not quiet ready

1    9/29/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: bradtollefson
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course has nice paved level tees which are easy to throw from. The course is also easy to follow.
Cons: we could not play most of the course. we are not pros and have some but not alot of control. We skipped the first 4 holes as we didn't want to lose our frisbees in the water. the course plays right along the edge of the water and your throw doesn't have to be off much to end up in the lake. Even a good throw with a bad bounce could easily roll in. We started at hole 5 and thought we were off, but at hole 6 the ground was so soft we sunk into it with each step. it wasn't wet, it's just needs pounding down and time for the grass to grow. Mid way through hole 8 we gave it up. It just wasn't fun.
Other Thoughts: This course will take a while before we consider it playable. Even when fairways are walkable, we probably won't return as 5-6 of the holes are too close to the water for us to feel comfortable playing. There is nothing in this course that would attract people to the game. And nothing for your average player who's not interested in losing a disc or can't make long throws. This is a pro course, probably built by and for pros.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    9/28/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of water shots if you like that kind of thing. The first four holes & #18 (built on existing parkland, as opposed to the rest of the holes, which are on land cleared specifically for the course,) are well-manicured. A couple of good elevation changes.
Concrete teepads on all holes.
Good signage.
Good, quality DGA baskets.
It is obvious that the local guys have put in tons of hours to bring this course to life, and if the parks department puts in an ongoing effort there is great potential.
Cons: Part of what I say here is personal preference and part is a result of the course being new, so take it for what you will.
There is a lack of variety on several holes, as they seem to just be open field shots, more or less.
There is also very little shade. This isn't an issue for some people, but guys in their 40s who aren't in the best shape (like me,) don't do well in the sunlight. As a matter of fact, I attempted to play this course the week it opened (in early summer,) and it was so hot I couldn't finish.
There also is no water (drinkable, that is,) or seating anywhere. If you're heading out here take water with you, as there isn't even a convenience store within 7-10 miles from the south (I'm not sure about what you might have coming from Jasper to the north.) Depending on your direction hit a store in Huntingburg, St. Anthony, or down by I-64 if you need to buy a drink.
I don't know if there are plans to add benches, but I think it would be difficult to put in water fountains.
A few of the issues will hopefully be taken care of when the course gets older. For instance, all the fairways have been plowed and are a mess if it's rained. I found it odd that I had the course to myself on a Friday afternoon, but when I stepped into the soup that was masquerading as the fairway on #6 I understood why--the locals knew to avoid the course. It has been seeded, and hopefully that will fix the issue next year; however, the plowing was done roughly, so I don't know how much the dirt will level out. I found myself trying to land just off the side of the fairway, but luckily the holes are mostly wide open enough to allow for that.
The teepads are great, but many of them are covered in mud that has washed over them.
The gnats were horrible the last 3 or 4 holes--it was almost impossible to walk, much less throw.
Other Thoughts: #1-270 feet. Straight shot with one big tree about 80 feet in front of the teepad. You have to throw low to get under it and you have the lake about 20 feet right of the basket. I threw a roller wide left and let it turn back to the basket (I throw left-hand forehand.)

#2-434 feet. Up and over a small hill with the lake along the entire right side of the fairway, and your approach shot will probably have to go over the corner of the lake. The basket sits behind several mature trees, and going through them is blind luck. You can go left of them if you want, avoiding the lake, but most will likely opt for a spike hyzer shot that goes over the water and dives back at the basket.

#3-440 feet. You're teeing off at one end of the retaining dam and the basket is at the other end of it so you have the lake the whole length of the fairway to your right. The level part of the dam is only about 15-20' wide and to the left of it is a very steep hill.

#4-363 feet. Tricky hole that makes you choose. You have a tree in front of you so you either have to swing a wide hyzer out over the lake to your right or go to the left around another tree (and there's a road to the left that's OB, as well. You have to have a clean shot either direction or you've got a good chance of ending up in the lake. Your approach shot is probably going to have to stay low, as the basket is tucked in behind some mature trees with a thick batch of trees to the right.

#5-240 feet. The only wooded hole on the entire course is a dogleg right. It's not a long hole, but the turn is fairly sharp and slightly uphill.

#6-291 feet. This one goes uphill, so it plays a bit longer than it is. You have to hit a fairly narrow gap at about the 150' mark, but a lot of people might throw high enough to miss the trouble until these trees get bigger. Past that gap the hill ends and the fairway is level; basket is fairly wide open.

#7 574 feet. Long, fairly wide open, little to get in your way. There is a road to the left that's OB, but it should rarely come into play.

#8-319 feet. This one is a bit deceptive when you look at it the first time because you see what looks like a sweeping left turn. In reality, the basket sits behind the trees that are more or less directly in front of you, so the hole actually plays left-to-right. It should be a pretty simple flick shot for most righties. If you don't have a huge arm you might find yourself throwing a thumber over the trees for your second shot. They're nothing an average player can't easily clear.

#9-478 feet. There is a bit of an hourglass form to the fairway, as there is a relatively narrow gap about 250 feet down the fairway, but you can get left or right of it and be OK, as well.

#10-487 feet. This one is slightly uphill, and there's a pond you have to cross on your second shot. The first time I played this hole it was hot and the pond was almost dried up, but the second time it was more than full. The basket doesn't sit more than 20 or 30 feet past the pond when it's full and there are a couple of smaller trees on the other side of the pond that could cause trouble.

#11-322 feet. This one plays as a slightly right to left and is downhill. There is some trepidation in "going for it" as the hill become fairly steep and if you were to end up rolling you'd have a good chance of finding yourself over a walking path (and perhaps all the way into the lake) and OB. This one will be an ace-teaser, as the downhill trajectory makes it easier to reach than most holes of this length.

#12-325 feet. For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction--that hill you just went down, you now have to head back up. This one is fairly steep, and whereas the downhill 322 plays short, this one plays much more than 325. The basket sits in some trees to the right at the top of the hill. The fairway in decent width, but not wide-open like a lot of the holes here.

#13-348 feet. Dogleg left. There's a couple of trees near where you'd like to make your turn that hinder the throw, but you can also get behind some trees if you go straight. The basket sits up an embankment that's about 4' high.

#14-493 feet. Pretty flat, pretty straight.

#15-380 feet. Also fairly flat and straight, with some trees to the right of the basket if you get too far.

#16-522 feet. Long bomber. There are some trees on both sides of the fairway, but you can still get fairly wide to either side and not be in trouble. The hole is a slight uphill incline most of the way but you do crest the hill and head back downhill a bit to the basket.

#17-375 feet. This one is a downhill right turn that will probably be a flick for most righties. Get too far without turning and you can end up in thick underbrush. I would have liked to play this one as a roller, but the condition of the fairway took that shot away. If you get too far past the basket there is a walking path, but it shouldn't be an issue most of the time.

#18-300 feet. Surely the signature hole of the course, the hole is over the lake. You can aim left of the hole and make it a shorter shot across the water, but then you have to contend with the possibility of going to far and over the walking path (OB,) and you will have to throw through several mature trees. Also, if you take the shorter option you run the risk of your second throw rolling downhill from the basket and into the water. The 300' distance honestly felt incorrect to me, as I usually feel lucky to throw that far--I threw the hole twice and easily cleared the lake both times, the second of which was right of the basket, actually traveling farther than the 300'. I was lucky enough to play it with the wind I wanted; it would be a completely different scenario under other conditions.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Brand New

1    6/12/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 203  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course just a few days after it opened.
The front four holes that play around the pond are beautiful.
1. small turnover/flick shot towards the water and under the Space Tree (this tree germinated in outer space, thats cool)
2. and 3. are both big bombs with the water on your right - 3. is a bomb as fairway along the damn holding the pond
4. is a cool blind hyzer or turnover next to the water

After that the course needs to grow. Hole 5 was a cutout turnover through the woods, in time this hole will come together.

Holes 6 - 16 - honestly i dont remember the difference between most of them. Lots of big shots, lots of open space, with small shrub trees to help define directions

17 was a great downhill turnover/flick
18 is a pretty 300 ft shot over another pond
Cons: I really dont want to con this course that much. It is brand new and it has great potential.

When I played it the grass was uncut for hole 6 - 17
The trees will grow and they will help to define more of the big open shots.

Summer time sorta sucks as there is very little shade.
Other Thoughts: As i said its a brand new course

Once the grass is cut, teepads are installed, other amenties are included - I am sure the rest of the course will begin to be a great as the first 4 holes.

When I finished playing I had little desire to run through the course again that day - but I would play the front 4 holes multiple times for sure.

I look forward to checking this place out again and upgrading its ratings, in time it will deserve it im sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Lovin this course!

2-4    6/7/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: potteiger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Big open fairways for all the peeps with the big arms and accomidating enough for the short technical players. Parking is also very friendly, a nice big lot . There are 5 water shots that are amazing; a few running parallel and one going over. Water shots are a blast! Can't wait till lake freezes on 18...skip aces off the lake. The course has great potential for A and B tier events!
Cons: Ticks are bad bad bad, take a shower in deet before u play! And carry a bottlle with you! Lots of young trees after hole 5 you will be lacking shade during the afternoon hours. Lots of thick weeds so all I need to say is to stay out of the rough and you'll have a good round. No real problem areas, it's a brand new course so a lill traffic will take care of the knee high weeds on some of the fairways. Wearing taller socks helps against the weeds and ticks, hence keep deet in bag. Clip on mosquito repellent might not be a bad idea but probably just through the summer months.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned earlier that the course has a lot of Potential for big events; and it really does, tournaments are just a matter of time . We are putting Saturday leagues together..text me 8126612794 and I'll show you the routes you want to hit .

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.