Morristown, TN 
Cherokee Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 615ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful!

2-4    5/17/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: SikMonkey
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Probably one of the most well maintained courses I have played. Mostly open with a few technical shots thrown in. Not much of a chance for a lost disc. Makes great use of the open rolling hills. Has camping at the park and is set right on the lake.
Cons: Not much technical skill involved, mostly just grip it n rip it. Could use better directions between holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring an extra set of legs and an extra arm! There are some long holes and some nice long walks through the open hills!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where You Go To Practice Your Long Game

1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: lammersk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was recommended to me as "the" course to practice your long throws. It is. Lots of throws over big, open areas and even where there are tree hazards you can generally use a disc you can control a little better to get past them and go back to your long game.

Pins 5, 6, and 7 are really the only ones with any kind woods play, but they're really not the purpose of this course.

It's nice that the 9th pin ends you up at the parking lot again.
Cons: Major: Pin 5: The diagram shows an open corridor toward 5 and a dogleg. I didn't see it and neither did the people playing after me, unless it was supposed to be where the OB concrete path is. Basically, this is just a basket buried in a bunch of trees. Throw and pray. You might get lucky.

Minor: No signage: Generally, this park is so open you don't need it, but 2 to 3 needs a sign. Yes, I know there is a big board at the beginning of the course, but by that time, I was way too far away to go walking back. The tee I thought was 3 was actually 9. Luckily, some other golfers walked up to 9 and they directed me to three (other side of the road from 9's tee). The rest of the first 9 were simple enough to find and you better believe I studied that map before I started the back nine.

Very Minor: The course got a little boring after a while and the long walks and throws started to wear on me some.
Other Thoughts: If you are working through a group of courses (and apparently Morristown has plenty), this would be a good course to play once a month or so. If you want to really work on your long game, this would be a good course to play every other week. I just can't see playing it every week.

If you burn easily bring a hat and suntan lotion, because you will be taking long walks through open fields.

It's a solid course and I'd give it a little higher rating if they fixed 5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Stretch your legs!

1    3/27/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: Baysinger
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some great elevation changes. Hole 1 is a straight shot. Hole 2 is a drive across a long valley and then up hill. Hole 3 is a downhill shot that veers left. Hole 4 is an uphill shot. Right off the tee you know you are getting into a course that you are gonna work out your legs as well as use many different shots. Backhand, Sidearm, and Rollers can all be useful on this course. The whole course is full of constant elevation changes. Not at all predictable.
- When walking from hole 9 to 10 you pass where your car is parked.. this is good for if you want to grab another drink out of your car or switch up your bag a little.
- As all other Morristown courses, signage and tee pads are perfect.
- Nice mix of long and short holes... 635 ft being the longest and 260 ft being the shortest. Nothing shorter than 200 ft.
- Camping, fishing, playground, fish dock, walking trail, picnic area and more at the park to do. Great to take your family out for a day at the park and maybe throw a few holes while you are there.
- Very close to two other nice 18 hole courses
- Nice course map with rules of play on the back.
Cons: - If there are any major events like a concert at the ampitheatre going on holes 1, 2, and 9 would be unplayable.
- You are gonna be wore out after playing this course!
- A few spots where there is potential of hitting a car, a person, or a persons animal on this course. But as long as you respect others and hold off on your drive til after they pass you should be fine.
- Kind of a long walk between holes 9 and 10. Not too too bad but it can take your breath if you try to make the walk quick.
Other Thoughts: With this course being linterally on Cherokee Lake, I just wish there at least one water hole. Dont' get me wrong i'm not a fan of losing discs in the lake but it would have been nice to have at least one hole with a water hazard. Make sure you take the time to stretch your legs out before you play this course... if not you will be regretting it tomorrow! The day after you play Cherokee and your calf muscles are screaming at you.. remember... i told you so! Also, course maps / brochures available at all times would be a great addition to all the Morristown courses. Out of towners would really appreciate it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long, open course

2-4    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: blueblur
Played: 65  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 26 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park that is very well maintained. Quite a few long, open holes for those who like to throw with fewer obstacles. Good elevation changes. Mix of shots required to excel.
Cons: Not too good for beginner players who will have to throw over and over in open field to get to the basket. Limited bathrooms and water.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/4/2013   1/10/2013
Review By: motownACEslinger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This place is well taken care of. Better bring out the the big guns. This course i very open and long and hilly the minimum woods are very enjoyable. Great pads.a must play!!!
Cons: Not to many but a few suggestion more transh cans at tee boxes and maybe put red and white tee pads for recreational and families to difficult for amateur players experience needed

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

First time playing this course

1    11/10/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: RonnieHolbert
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well groomed lawn. Beautiful property.
Other Thoughts: No directional arrows pointing to next tee. Not enough parking. Not any parking really. I actually parked in the grass. Bathrooms were locked at 8:30 am on a Saturday. Basket 14 was not visible from the tee, it was a par 4, couldn't see basket until the 3rd throw. I am new, not sure if this is standard.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course

2-4    9/22/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fantastic course with lots of elevation changes and a mix of open and wooded holes. Many different challenges... had to use both hyzer and anhyzer shots off the tee boxes.... definitely not boring. Cement tee-boxes with hole map and distances at every hole. Entire course was mowed and well manicured, except for the wooded areas, of course. Several holes are at the edge of major drop-offs, so you have to be careful when "going for it" or it could cost you an extra 1 or 2 shots. Beautiful scenery around a beautiful lake. Lots of restrooms and trash cans. Just a very fun course to play!
Cons: The only negative I can think of is that a couple of the baskets and tee areas are close to pavilions or walk ways where people may be congregating, but this was not a big deal, even on a busy Saturday.
Other Thoughts: I would have to say this is among the top courses I have ever played. If you are near Morristown, TN, it is definitely worth checking out!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Green and Clean

1    7/28/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: byebyebirdie
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of long open fairways and holes throwing into or out of wooded areas. Bring discs for max distance but you'll also need discs for tight placement shots. Good signage and nice course flow. I was most impressed with the maintenance of this course. The grass was VERY well kept--no clumps of dead grass or tall seed heads to walk through. Lush green fairways cut at a perfect height.
Cons: Not too many cons here. Keep in mind this is a new course so I might expect to see things like benches/trash cans, etc. along the way. Lack of parking is a big drawback especially for the park's ability to host top a level tournament. Some of the baskets are close to the covered pavilions making it a little annoying when they are in use and people are walking around them.
Other Thoughts: This is a very family friendly park with a lake, campground, playground, amphitheater, and several covered pavilions. This would be an excellent tournament course if not for the lack of parking. Again, I cannot overstate how impressed I was by the maintenance and cleanliness of the park/course. It's nice to see a community take such pride in their parks and disc golf course. This is a must see if you are in the Morristown area. For a change of scenery also check out the Morristown Kiwanis course which is just a few minutes away.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bing your big boy discs!

1    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: curveball4
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great mix of holes here. There are open holes ranging from 400-600+ & shorter technical holes that require hitting tight gaps. There are also some good FH holes which is always a bonus.
The park itself was super nice. A lake, playgrounds, camping, large covered pavillions, very neat & clean.
New concrete pads & nice signs on every hole.
Elevation comes into play on almost every hole. Not sure I can remember one hole that was totally flat.
Basically had the course to myself. There were 2 other guys playing but that was it, never rushed & never had to wait.
Brand new practice basket by the parking area.
Cons: There aren't many cons. The main ones would be the lack of trash cans & benches. I don't remember seeing either except at the 2 or 3 pavillions you go by. There are some pretty big up & downs & a shady place to sit would have been nice. But this is a brand new course so hopefully that will change.
Another con is more of a nuisance & others may not see it as a big deal. On #10, there is a low hanging branch about 50 in front of the tee, directly in the line. It's a slightly downhill tee shot with the fairway sloping to the right & then back up to the basket. The two options I saw were to go at the branch & hope not to hit it solid, or go under. There's room under but with the slope of the fairway you're not getting much D before it hits. (EDIT- FIRST TIME THROUGH I NEVER SAW "THE" LINE. THERE'S A BIG GAP TO THE LEFT THAT ALLOWS FOR A BIG TURNOVER)
Another thing is parking. Right now it is in the grass by #1. Probably not a problem now but as it starts to get busy, or for a tourney, parking will be hard to come by.
Other Thoughts: Besides the fact that it was about 10 degrees hotter than the surface of the sun I had a great time. If you play it in the summer, BRING PLENTY OF WATER! I went through 2 33oz bottles just on the front nine!
Even the wide open, throw your shoulder out holes had enough elevation to keep them interesting. If you throw 500 ft then I guess they will be boring for you. There were a couple holes, 2 & 9, both long & downhill off the tee, I unloaded my bag. Noodle arms like to see the disc stay in the air for awhile!
As with most HB courses I've played there were some good FH holes. I'm mainly RHBH but FH keeps it mixed up, I get to use more discs with FH also.
If you're in the area I would definitely recommend stopping by. The park itself could easily keep a family entertained for a few hours & there was camping by the lake. The City of Morristown definitely takes pride in it's parks. Cherokee, just like Kiwanis every time I've been there, was very clean, trimmed up, definitely a family friendly atmosphere.
Another great job HB & Morristown. When Rotatry gets finished that should be 3 very solid courses in a very small town. I guess the fact that the mayor plays is never a bad thing!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty nice course, well use of available land

2-4    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: m34tba11
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Good mix of easy then technical then easy etc. You get to warm up some before just letting 'er rip.
* Not every wide open hole is easy (#1 example, if you overshoot it, you overshoot by a good 50-100 feet b/c there is a steep drop off directly behind the basket, so do not let that big yellow island in the open field fool you ;-)).
* Long open holes present enough of a challenge, especially when elevation comes to play.
* It would be a family friendly place given the surrounding campgrounds. I wonder if city rec would be open to "renting out" used plastic for the campers. I know i've got a stack of beginner friendly plastic I'd donate to the cause. There is that campers shed there b/w #10/11
Cons: * Wide Open, this is an issue in the summer months... (especially when we start flirting w/ those 100 degree days).
* Speaking of, water fountains off and bathrooms closed in a campground in summer? Mo-Town city parks might want to rethink their policy on this.
* Where do you park during a tournament? "park at the sign by #1/#10" is gonna get crowded come tournament time.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course makes really good use of the open strips of land that were otherwise unused. You start relatively easy on hole #1 (as noted, dont go long here, or it's a big uphill throw), and then you have to open it up for #2. #3/4/5/6/7 give you some challenge as you have to deal w/ tree lines, then #8/9 are open, #10 is sort of open, you have a few good lines coming off that pad, #11 is fun b/c you really need to S it thru and bring it back in (anhy-flick, etc..) #12 has one good straight line but the window is tight. #13 has it's own consequences, gotta love a good sink hole, #14 is open and long, #15 is technical, #16 is interesting, #17 and #18 are long and open. You dont really get bored, b/c as soon as you get tired of open fields you get thrown back into the trees. I am thinking that campground and Mo-Town/Hamblen County should//could get better involved, 1.00 for a camper to rent say a leopard and an aviar to kill a couple hours after dinner one night etc.

Overall this course is a great supplement to Kiwanis for people wanting to add distance to their overall game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center