Cape Girardeau, MO 
Cape County Park DGC - North Share
Uploaded By: DGfan68 Hole #9 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 163ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
could be so much more

1    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: zackery77
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: The first four holes and the last four holes are spectacular. A great balance of short demanding holes and long winding holes.
Cons: The middle of the course is horrible. Not marked at all, giant tree down in the middle of bottleneck fairway, teepads that range from dirt and logs to shabby concrete poured into forms that were not well set.
Other Thoughts: This could be an amazing course. It has a great flow to it, once you know where you are shooting, Sadly it is not well kept by the park and the tees and starting point are not easy to locate if you don't know where you are headed.

 Hometown Course

5+    4/18/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: Mr.TreeKiller
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Layout, visible baskets, mixture of challenging holes, variety of terrain, 18 holes, great upkeep, good scenery, and good tee pads.
Cons: it is easy to lose a disc in the woods if you make on e bad mistake but overall great course.
Other Thoughts: It has been a mission for the Missouri Conservation dept. to really keep the course clean and tidy and that is exactly what they have done and it's just a joy to play this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

2-4    10/26/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting near community lake. Pave stove tee boxes. Granite Hole Monuments that include arrow showing direction of next hole. No big arms required. Nice variety of holes. Wide open, slightly wooded, heavily wooded and dog legs.
Cons: A couple of the holes are still under construction in the wooded area and are not easy to find or play. If you skip them there are still 12 holes left. Lots of grade changes (hills) that can wear you out.
Other Thoughts: About 6 holes are wide open.
another 5 hug the woods line.
the other 7 are through the woods and under construction.

All par 3 holes. Restrooms on site.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good mix of wooded and non-wooded

5+    9/28/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 99  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: 1. Really nice concrete tee pads with granite tee signs
2. Chances for birdies and outside chance of aces on first few holes
3. Great variety of wooded holes after their first stretch of open holes
4. Course flow is overall very good
5. Great use of terrain and elevation changes
6. good risk reward shots
7. options to play different types of shots on the same hole from the same layout.
8. great use of distance and par's even though they are all 3 there are some easy ones some middle ones and some hard ones but yet all are parable if you make good shots.
9. very cool holes with many signature holes. for awile you go from one great hole to the next without any wasted holes
10. super nice park
11. not many spots to lose discs even though its a challenging couse
12. great mix of all different kinds of shots and a chance to lose alot of discs in your bag

Cons: Man i really cant think of any. maybe that its on the opposite side of where most of the stuff is at in the town lol
Other Thoughts: This course has it all! This is a course everyone will love no matter whether your a rookie or a novice or a pro. It's one of my favorites. I travel from about an hour away and try to play it atleast every month or two.



2-4    6/30/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is good course that is forgiving with throws. great layout with a lot of open space. t pads are nice with good visuals. the park was utilized well.
Cons: during summer days it can be hot, so stock up on water. little shade to hide from the sun.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Cape.

2-4    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: robotmasterdave
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is long and fun. :)
lots of elevation.
Cons: Back section is overgrown.
Needs a posted map for first timers.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun long and never crowded. Finding the holes the first time around is not as strait forward as o would have liked.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

About Time CGMO! & great job

5+    6/25/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: COMODG
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new course in Southeast MO. It is very aesthetically pleasing, the surrounding park is gorgeous and the tee pads are as well. There are brand new Mach 5 pins that are extremely visible. There are a lot of hard dog legs (L&R), but still some straight shooters. Don't worry because there are still obstacles on these holes. The flow of the course is fairly simple to follow, I didn't get lost my first time playing it. The fact that it is in a county park ensures it will be well maintained at all times (shouldn't ever be tall grass!). It is a challenging course. (which is always good!)
Cons: Currently there are only 12 holes. The existing holes are mainly out in the open, and in Southeast MO it gets quite hot during the summer (bring a lot of water). The use of pave-stones on the tee pads COULD be horrible for wet conditions (I didn't go as far as to pour my water bottle out on one to test them.). I do not believe there are more than one pin placement for each hole ( the course is brand new though so I am sure they will be figured out in the future.).
Other Thoughts: I am not sure the pave-stones are slick when wet, I am just assuming they would be due to their texture, and we all know what happens when one assumes. Cape Girardeau is where I grew up, and I started playing disc when I moved to Columbia for college. So, it is nice to see something like this finally in my hometown (It should have happened a long time ago.) Once the course is completed I will return and re-review it (and see if the pave-stones are slick when wet.). Overall I think this could be one of the nicest courses in Missouri. I plan on playing a lot of other courses in MO this summer, but I think it will be hard to beat this one.

Played it again 1-26-13. I was excited to play the full 18. To my frustration, it was still only 12 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New course still under development and construction.

5+    6/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: DGfan68
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is pretty well spaced out and lay of the land is used well. (Photos give good idea of terrain) The County Park's Commissioner took this project on and sees that it is well maintained including keeping maps and score cards readily available.
Cons: Lots of poison ivy if you go into the wood line which can tend to be thick and brushy. (They are working on thinning it out) Sometimes wild geese factor into the equation.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE!!! This course was to undergo upgrades bringing it to a full 18 hole course while it was closed for the holiday season. This did not, however, happen. During this time period the park as changed commissioners where the former commissioner was VERY supportive of the course, and the new one has yet to show the same enthusiasm. I know the local DG club is trying to generate as much support as it can, but only time will tell what the outcome will be.--I'm very disappointed.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.