Indianapolis, IN 
Calvary Christian School DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #7 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Gold Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The basics, classically executed

2-4    11/22/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: This nine basket course boasts two tees for each hole, with #s 2, 3 & 4 actually having a different shot to execute. It uses the mild elevation (rollaway left green on 1, mound on 3 & 4), the limited greenery (1, 2 & 4), and the marsh (2) and pond (4) to reasonably good effect to challenge the casual player to execute some shots. The church folks were wise to consult an experienced player/ designer as they installed the wonderfully deep spiderweb baskets, and marked the tee areas (short - blue, and slightly less short - gold) with simple wooden tee signs and toe board.

You do have to shape a shot on three of the holes. 1 is a rhbh fade from either tee to a sloping green. 2 gold is over a marsh with some saplings actually getting a little tall for your otherwise simple tee shot, and 4 gold can hyzer (rhbh) over the pond or come in dry left to right. These shots could actually be a bit of a gut-check for new players, so there's a little added thrill. The rest of the course is pretty simply about gauging distances accurately and possibly adjusting for wind.

The course is really handy just off the highway, and presents a quick stretch of the legs and the spirit for travelers who come by when the church school isn't in session. The course is mostly open and short for newcomers, and is the kind of course I like to tease my family with when traveling: easy enough for them to throw with me, and if not, there are lots of restaurant choices nearby so I can whip through a new course bagged while they grab our quick stop lunch.
Cons: There isn't much here to really challenge players with tourney experience. Recreational level folks should deuce the majority of the holes from either tee. The gold painted baskets seem to me to have faded a little toward tan, which becomes an odd color in the fall and winter browning of the greenery. The tee signs are fading and wearing a bit, and I couldn't find any for 1, 7 or 9 gold, or 7 blue, but I used the map on here for a guide (by the way, 3 blue is actually out in the open, less than 100' from the basket).

The course appears to have more evidence of geese (marsh and pond, after all) than players (the grasses at the tees have not worn in at all). And being in the restaurant zone off the highway, windy and pretty open, there tends to be some trashy debris here and there. Otherwise, the grounds are well-kept. There are no 'extra' amenities (course sign, benches, trash barrels).
Other Thoughts: Overall, I can't knock a course that does what it was intended to do: provide a recreational activity for a church school.

 biased review, I lived across the street...

5+    3/18/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: corydbasementjams
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: what they said-"Baskets - 9 extremely grippy Spiderweb 3 baskets that are in great shape."...etc....
Cons: no tee pads, 4x4's in ground for markers, etc...
Other Thoughts: My friends and I played this course quite a bit because it was convenient and a good spirit lifter before the weekend tournaments around Indy. We play every other hole the short tees, so a round of 18 we play every tee. Makes it fun and gives guys a chance to catch the leader. Great for getting new friends started, except for the water. Also a great place to get a good practice in because there is never anyone there

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, short course.

1    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: ajbova
Played: 74  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - 9 extremely grippy Spiderweb 3 baskets that are in great shape.

Tees - Although they are natural tees, there are two per hole (gold long and blue short) to cater to different skill sets. The more this course is played the more visible the throw spots will be (still very grassy).

Water Hazards - Hole 2 (gold) plays over a marsh that has the potential to eat discs. Hole 2 (blue) has the same marsh playing along the right hand side of the fairway. Hole 4 (gold) plays over a pond.

Holes 1, 2, and 4. These 3 holes have trees that come into play. The remainder of the course is in the open. These were the toughest holes of the course although they were still relatively short and simple.

Easy to navigate.

Slight elevation on hole 1, 3, 4, and 7.

Not many people use the course when it is open to the public (closed during school hours) so it would be very easy to play safari golf.

This course is about 7 minutes from downtown and it is right off of the highway. Very easy to get to.

The entire course is an ace run for intermediate to advanced players even from the long tees.
Cons: The entire course is an ace run with minimal challenge. They are short holes with a lack of obstacles (except for trees on 1, trees and marsh on 2, and trees and pond on 4).

A lack of trees/shade - On a hot, sunny day there is not much shade to hide from the sun. I read that trees will be planted in the future! Trees would not only add to to the challenge of the course, but it would add shade and some more wildlife. An addition of 10-15 trees would boost this course to a 2.5.

Signage - I did not see a course map anywhere on the campus although it was extremely simple to navigate. At each throw spot, there was either a gold or blue sign that had the hole number with no information on the hole (distance, OB, etc).

Trash - There were no trash cans on the course. It was relatively clean at the time but there were some empty McDonald's cups on a few of the fairways.

Noise - This course is right next to the highway. The noise was annoying but did not mess me up. If you like courses that are secluded or in quiet parks, then this is not for you.

Lack of variety - I understand that this is a course for grades K-12 but planting a few trees on the open holes would alter the course greatly (at least in the future). Most baskets were directly in front of the throw pad with no obstacles in the way.
Other Thoughts: This would be an excellent course for a beginner to learn the game. It is also a great course to practice mid-range shots and putting for more advanced players. There are not many courses located in this part and it is about a mile from the University of Indianapolis.

With the way the course is right now, if I went back to play this course, it would be because of the Gold Tees on Hole 2 (over the marsh) and Hole 4 (over the pond) or if I wanted to get another ace.

This course is right off of the highway and there are several places to get a drink to cool down or food within a minute of the course including a Wal-Mart Grocery Store, McDonald's, Burger King, Wendy's, Dairy Queen and a Speedway.

If this course is too short for you or if you are looking for more of a challenge, Brookside Park and Washington Park are a 10-15 minute drive away. It would be quicker to take I-65 north to I-70 east to either Rural (Brookside) or Keystone (Washington).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/18/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This nine hole course is on the grounds of a Christian school and is open to the public. This short course has nice new baskets and two sets of tees which helps cater to a wide variety of ages at the school. The tees are marked with colored number signs and there's a 2x2 piece of wood in the ground at the front of the grass tee area. There is no hole diagram but none is needed; finding the appropriate basket and next tee is relatively easy.

While the space is mostly open (as it should be for a beginner course), the small hills were well incorporated into the design to make the putting greens interesting.
Cons: The course is mostly open, mostly flat except for a few small hills I mentioned earlier and there is no shot diversity. Although things like this probably aren't needed on a beginner course like this.

The pond on holes 2 and 4 might be a little close to the fairway for young kids, although anyone who has been playing for a while will have no problem at all.

There was quite a bit of litter on the ground when I played here.
Other Thoughts: Don't let my rating fool you, this course is great for what it is meant to do, introduce young kids grade K-12 to the game. It's also a great place to take brand new players. If this isn't the kind of course you're looking to play then skip it.

This course is literally right off the highway so if you're on long trip you can stop for a few minutes to play, stretch your legs and grab a bite to eat at one of the near by restaurants.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.