Little River, KS 
Little River DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #8 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 316ft.   3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Small town pasture DG with a smorgasboard of OB

5+    8/22/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 330  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12.4 Years
Pros: Intermediate to advanced level private course set on two parcels of pasture land at the edge of a small town. Practically no crowds. Tall grass "rough" is OB (some understandably might consider this a con) on the majority of the holes. Many narrow fairways along with often blusterly winds require incredible precision to score well. If you shoot under 54 here, you're having a very good day. Basket in a tree (presently hanging from one of the branches) is a unique feature. In fairway "bunkers" (unmowed areas inside of your fairway) where you are required to throw upside down add even more challenge. Bucket of discs by tee #1 for people wanting to try the game out.
Cons: Some beginners who are new to disc golf might find playing the course by its established rules (granted, nothing is forcing you to) frustrating. Ditch/creek through the course can get nasty after a rain. Creek has several primitive crossings which aren't cart friendly. Fairways are very crammed together and there is a danger factor to groups on other holes (thankfully, this being a private course, there are seldom other groups outside of tournaments). Lack of trees on most holes (which is largely why the links style with OB's was chosen by the designer). Most baskets are single chain Lightning DB-5's and cause frequent spit backs if you putt too hard. Being a pasture, the tall grass in the back section gets "hayed" once a year and the course loses that distinguishing feature until it grows back.
Other Thoughts: Konen is the home course of one of my home clubs, the Little River Disc Golf Club. It offers a different and challenging style of golf compared to the more forgiving "park golf" courses in the area. You can just show up to play here. No arrangements with the land owners are needed, but it is on private land, so visitors should respect that and not cause trouble or drop litter. Leagues are held here most Sundays (currently at 11 AM), generally moved to afternoons during the winter. Just off Highway 56 and worth a stop if you're traveling between Great Bend and McPherson.

And just a personal note...this is my 100th DGCR review. I wanted to save it for someplace special.

  Hidden Gem

5+    10/28/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: Jaderston
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging, thought-out course. The course is well maintained, as the fairways are always mowed and the trash is emptied. The tees are switched every few weeks to create a slightly different course. About half of the holes remain the same, but the switched ones create some variance. Hole #3 is killer, but really cool. Hole #9 is also a highlight. For being a course in small town, KS, it is not easy, especially when you get the Kansas wind blowing 20+ mph.
Cons: Lacks concrete teepads. Most of the teepads have turned to dirt which is nice, however. The course may be slightly confusing for the first time user. The baskets are fine metal baskets, but they are a little unforgiving if you putt hard.
Other Thoughts: The owners of the course are super friendly. First time there they invited me to play with them. They obviously take pride in their small town course and it shows!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    1/19/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: jcarroll
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really appreciated the challenge of this "links" style course. While I do find it helpful to practice tight, wooded technical shots, it is easy to get frustrated when being unable to recover from a shot that has virtually no escape route. This course gives the thrower the room to put a long bomb out in the open, but must be careful not to stray from the carefully mowed fairways. Presents the challenge of maintaining accuracy and avoiding OB without the frustration of hitting tree after tree after tree. Very unique hole characteristics and shot selection.
Cons: While the lack of concrete pads might be the biggest "con" I didn't find much to complain about. Parallel fairways could be hazardous during tournament play, just have to remind players to watch for others driving. No bathroom facility on site.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the land. Props to the course designer for the creativity. Plays like a traditional golf course where the fairway hitter is king.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NIce Surprise

1    1/6/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Surprisingly challenging. A lot of open drives that will really mess with your depth perception. Many of the baskets were farther away than what they seemed to be. For being in a small town the course was surprisingly fun and challenging. A couple of holes provided some technical challenges that made me rethink my normal approaches. Basket three was really cool as well. It sat in a tree, I never saw anything like it before. Kudos to the designer for creativity.
Cons: My only two issues were the fact that the tee-pads were grass and the layout was kind of confusing. On the tee-pads i usually don't mind but after snow or rain it can get real muddy. A pair of cleats or a standing throw would be a good solution. As for the layout some changes were made and I was talking to the guy who designed the course. It sounded like it was still a work in progress. I think it won't be an issue for a long time. Also he gave me a map so i'm sure i'll be able to navigate it better next time. When you play make sure you have a map or someone who knows the course well.
Other Thoughts: I met the guy who designed it and the course sets on his pasture. It appeared he knew what he was doing when he built it. As far as I know anyone can come and play on it. I emphasize the important of respect. If you come out and play please don't leave trash or do other things that would damage the property. This is a good course and it'd be nice to see it stay here for a while.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.