Dickinson, ND 
Optimist DGC Share
Uploaded By: Deke Guff Hole #2 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 395ft.   4 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Simple course

2-4    6/1/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: LevinTBlack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Terrain, elevation change and trees make it some what challenging on some shots. Course is in a nice park that is well maintained and tee areas are solid concrete slabs.
Cons: Short, not much of a challenge for an average player. Some tees point in a direction that leads to the wrong basket. Because of the high elevation changes some shots are pointless due to the constant heavy North Dakota wind. Teeing off uphill where once you crest the hill the wind grabs the disk and shoves it off course is unavoidable on multiple holes, even for experienced players like myself.
Other Thoughts: Good course to train on or for a beginner.


1    9/20/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 12 hole course plays throughout a well maintained city park that has a decent amount of elevation and foliage to contend with. The elevation is due to most of the park being on the slope of a large hill.

The layout of this course kind of diminishes the quality of this course (see cons) but the per hole layout is decent enough. There is a variety in hole lengths although the bombers have less obstacles to deal with but it is still nice to have the different approaches. Who doesn't love a couple ace runs on a course? Once you find the first teepad, the course is very easy to navigate!

The teepads are cement and in good condition, with each hole offering alternative, deeper teepads as well. The signs are decent and provide proper information, although I do wish the alternatives would also have a sign next to them so you don't have to walk to the shorter one to make sense of the hole and then walk back. The baskets are in good shape and visible from almost every pad.

The course is definitely beginner friendly and when I played I was the only one there so busyness doesn't seem to be an issue. However a few randoms were walking through the park, no biggie.
Cons: So the layout...first off, to find hole #1, walk behind the amphitheater and there is a bulletin board of information alongside the first pad.

The next issue is that some baskets are misleadingly in the way on certain holes... I.E. hole #1 has the basket for #6 or #7 (forgot which...) 50 yards in front of the pad, which is confusing and potentially dangerous.

Although it's not far off, hole #12 doesn't quite lead back to the parking lot but it is close. I did not deduct anything from the rating for this however.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole on the entire course was #1 even though it's a shorty. The basket has a few trees in the way as potential problems and Oh don't mind the war memorial with a lofted fighter jet right in the trajectory of any hyzering drive. I do think that it is terrible placement because I think it's wrong to be throwing discs at a memorial but it is a very cool obstacle. Sadly the jet has many dents in it, none from me though :)

I gave this course a 2.5 rating because although the ammenities are nice, the layout could have been done better, it's a very easy, beginner friendly course and it's only 12 holes. I have played many worse courses than this and if you want to get in a fast round this is great place to come. Don't be discouraged by it's lower ratings, give it a throw!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where did the pool go?

1    8/21/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park has long, trapezoidal tee pads that give you the opportunity to use the word "trapezoidal" during your X-step. There is a pretty good mix of distances, with many shorter holes but a few that require a solid drive and accurate upshot.
The course uses the trees it has, forcing certain lines when possible.
Cons: It appears the course is undergoing a re-design. Many holes seemed to have multiple tee pads, and some had "No" scrawled on them in chalk while others said "Yes," apparently indicating which one you ought to be using under the new configuration. Navigation was a little confusing (although it's not a huge park), and I nearly missed the last two holes.
Not a lot of memorable shots here.
Other Thoughts: My parents were walking at Rocky Butte Park across the street, and I went over to meet them and wondered why there wasn't a course there, given the great elevation and abundance of trees. Then I came across a couple baskets! But I never did see any sign of tees, even natural ones. I was pretty bummed because this would have been a very fun place to play a round (I guess I could have made up my own course). If you are a local, please PM me. I'd love to know the story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent warmup

1    11/30/2012   11/30/2012
Review By: Duncanator
Played: 108  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: More trees used here than other courses in the MT/ND area. Some elevation in play. Shots for both RHBH and RHFH as well as a variety of distances keep the course interesting.
Cons: Several holes throw toward roads, so just be careful on distances, and with the wind it can be a challenge to keep it safe and keep a solid score.
Multiple basket styles used, some single chains, some doubles, so putting styles need to change from hole to hole. Several signs missing on the holes.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to get out and play. Its located there in town near the interstate, but in a more residential area, so traffic is limited on the roads, but what is there can be a distraction for noise and for overshooting or pulling.
Close enough to Patterson Lake to be a warmup for those driving in from out of town.

 wouldn't go out of my way

1    4/29/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: SnowBlind
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In town, 12 hole quick play. Easy enough to navigate. good for beginners. Good terrain mix. At least a couple trees on most holes. Maybe a third with elevation change. Pro and am boxes.
Cons: Short, little challenge. a lot of the fairways are close to the roads.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.