Disc Golf Store
Brighton, MI 
Chilson Woods - Standard Share
Uploaded By: BogeyNoMore Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
as vanilla as they come.

1    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- plays in a state recreation area in a DG exclusive area. Is a complete work in progress.

Teepads- Long and in good repair. I have two major complaints about them however. one, they have stupid pipes in them. I'm not sure why the state park areas all have piping in the teepads but it is a serious tripping hazard. two, they are so elevated from the surrounding, that falling off of the pad could seriously hurt someone.

Baskets- in nice condition, could be more visible in the thick woods.

Routing and nav- not bad, not good. with the weird numbering (for now) the routing is a bit wonky but it's easy enough to follow I suppose.

Challenge- decent amount of challenge here, mainly in the form of thick shule. Poison ivy is here, but not anywhere as bad as the gulch.
Cons:
Teepads- See above.

Variety- heavily favors lefties and forehanders (RH). the holes that are in the ground are all very similar and boring.

Rough- super rough, poison ivy, thorns.
Other Thoughts: I think this course seriously needs to be finished. the holes in the ground are mundane and monotonous. I was not sad to leave here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Course is coming along nicely

5+    3/24/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: rohrean
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several trees have been removed and the lines are becoming more possible. I wrote this course off a few months ago but then came back on a whim. I was pleasantly surprised with the clearing that has been done.
Cons: No ace run hole. More clearing still needed. Only 9 holes right now. Thick brush if you get off the fairway, wear long sleeves and pants.
Other Thoughts: Location has great potential and it needs to be understood that use will help break in this course. Come play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rough course and the trees are hard to deal with

5+    6/9/2013   11/12/2012
Review By: Redmones12
Played: 67  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has improved a lot, still very wooded hard shots but coming togther its funny how a course grows on you its a fairway from finished but looking better everyday. Great location, free to play with a state park pass nice parking.

It's improved more on a recent play glad to see that is still in process.
Cons:

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: a3wasp
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is located in a great area. It is a relatively new course, and has great potential if they were to get rid of a lot of the trees.
Cons: There is no real line on any of the holes, because of the trees and debris blocking the fairways. This course needs some serious work in order for it to be playable. You have to stay fairway while you play because if you veer off, you end up in massive picker bushes.
Other Thoughts: I'll check the course out next year to see if it has improved at all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potential Diamond in the (very) Rough... and improving

5+    6/23/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a quiet section of a large, beautiful state rec area; well secluded from other park activities.
• Nice balance of L/R/straight fairways - pretty good hole design.
• WELL wooded and challenging - favors accuracy over distance. Makes you find a line and challenges you to execute it. Features some well-guarded and tucked pin locations.
• Mostly plays flat, but mild terrain elevation changes come into play on a few holes.
• Lots of shade for hot summer days.
• Large textured concrete tees and tee markers w/distance and direction help aid navigation. Flows pretty well from hole to hole.
• New 24 chain Chainstars.
• Plenty of paved parking with pavilions and restrooms nearby.
• Nice views of lake, fishing permitted.
• Camping available in the park (both rustic/no bath and modern/fairly nice showers) about 1.5 miles from the course.
Cons: DON'T WEAR SHORTS... you have been warned.
• Rough: thick, nasty, thorny. I'd say it's brutal in spots, but it's more accurate to say there are a few spots where it's not brutal. I'm not sensationalizing this; 2-3 feet off the fairway can really hurt scores (and skin). Wear long pants and sturdy hikers.
• A couple of holes feel pretty "poke and pray."
• Several baskets not visible from tee - you may want to walk up the fairway to get an idea of how the hole you're on plays.
• Bugs: bring repellent with DEET.
• Course map linked here isn't 100% correct, but it should be useful if you haven't been here before.
Other Thoughts: Perhaps the tightest, toughest set of fairways in the area.
•STAY ON THE FAIRWAY - I'm not kidding - thorny hazards ABOUND.
• 9 legit, very well-wooded holes suitable for intermediate/advanced players, with plans for 15 more coming. This is why holes are numbered 1-4, + 20-24. Plan is for holes 5-19 to be on the other side of the pond, closer to Chilson Rd - not sure when they're going in, but my rating will improve as the course does.
• 6 shorter, open holes (visible from the parking lot) were specifically installed to be ADA compliant (handicap accessible), but are also quite suitable for young children, complete novices or even an Ace Race... makes for a superb warm-up putting green.
•About 6 miles from downtown Brighton; lots of great eateries and places to drink.

** UPDATE 1/28/13 ** bumped from 2.0 to 2.5: Concrete tees provide good footing and tee markers with distance and line make navigation much easier. Things are getting better. As of now, this is a solid and demanding 9 holer, with 6 bonus putter holes.

** UPDATE 3/29/13 ** Several trees cut down and debris has been cleared. These are tough (but doable) par 3's.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Check out the progress!

5+    3/15/2013   6/15/2012
Review By: ekauserud
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight wooded course, concrete tees, chainstar baskets, tee signs.

The park has taken awesome initiative to remove the intended trees per our original design. Once complete we are moving to the other side and clearing the next 15.
Cons: Only nine holes in right now. Still some fairway debris(currently being worked on).
Other Thoughts: There was some hatin' going on about the trees and the design. Why not go play it and see the progress?
Bill Gilbert was a solid work horse on this course and if it wasn't for him and a3 we would not have this course. Thanks!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.