Fountain Inn, SC
The Firecracker DGC Share
Uploaded By: JBryant Hole #6 (Taken 6/2012)
-- / --   3 / 240ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Firecracker go boom

2-4    11/23/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: 1DGer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great course. Not your typical kid course but it is perfect for the new player, average player, and advanced player.

Mandos and OB provide some added challenge.

Great tee signs on every hole.

The redesign has made this course much better. New shots are required. You can shoot low scores here.

Favorite hole is #5. Short but technical. It can easily jump up and bite you.

Plays quick. You can easily get three or four rounds in without any trouble.
Cons: Not close to other quality courses.

Not open during the week. This is understandable due to being on a school campus.

Some rubber tees get slippery. Not a real big deal but needs to be noted.

Other Thoughts: Great addition to the greater Greenville area disc golf scene. It's worth a play.

A fun course for beginners

5+    5/31/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: AlexClemmy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Uses all kinds of terrain. Creatively laid out around the school. Fun to play and very pretty. Particularly hole 10, the way the pin sits through the trees is just very alluring. It's a nice thing to have a new local course in the area.
Cons: A lot of brush. I've lost only one disc here thankfully, but still is an issue at times. The tees are sometimes very close to wooded areas, making things very prone to get shot into some weeds or thorns. And the second time around, the shots aren't too crazy different, which is okay, but takes some of the fun out of new perspectives of the course. Being closed during school hours doesn't help much, but isn't really a bother.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this course. As an on-off player for a few years, this was really exciting to have so close to my home. This course has brought my love for disc golf back in a much brighter flame. I like the shots and how they're starting to make me a much better player (For real, first time on this course I shot a 76, the most recent, I shot a 56. Huge improvement.) Though I really think some holes could get a bit more distance on them, I find this a great course for beginners to play and learn on, and really nice for some experienced people to just enjoy a round of disc. It's great. I am not disappointed by the course in any way, and I love the challenge it presents. Good job to Josh for all the hard work you put into designing this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Course

1    8/1/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: atay87
Played: 100  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Makes great use of the available land.
-The multiple tee pads lets you play a full 18 hole round on a otherwise 9 hole course.
-Good for beginners and kids but still fun for experienced players.
-Easy to navigate.
-Nice tee signs with distances listed.
-Nice new baskets.
-Starts and finishes at the parking lot.
Cons: -Not playable during school hours. (understandable)
-Some of the "back 9" are very similar to their front 9 counterparts.
-There was a good bit of mud on some of the rubber mats, and some were uneven.
-Brush to the left of holes 3/12. It is very dense. I went in looking for my disc and found three others.
-Like S.Cann said, there are no shots that turn right to force the RHFH or turnover shot.
Other Thoughts: The kids at the school should have a blast at this course. I wish I had something like this at my school to get me into disc golf earlier in life.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Your Typical Elementary School Course

5+    6/19/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 72  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has a couple of the prettiest holes off the tee. Hole 10 stands out the most which is longer and framed by trees on either side.

-This is a great place for lower level players to gain experience and learn the game.

-Amenities such as bathrooms and water fountain are readily available at the Recreation center during business hours.

-Baskets are brand new DISCatchers in excellent condition.

-This course has a great flow and plays in a circle. Parking is located right between holes 1 and 18.
Cons: -Although this aspect has improved, there are still only a handful of holes that play through the woods.

-Only a couple of long throws for the big arms.

-Rubber Mats are ok on most holes but there are a couple that are uneven that the ground below needs to be leveled out on. There is a possibility of slipping when pads are wet.

-The biggest con for the Firecracker is that there are limited hours of play. You cannot play the course during school hours. This limits you to after 6:00 pm on school nights. The course is only playable on weekends during the school year, but is open all day during the Summer months.
Other Thoughts: This course is nearly perfect for what it was designed for. This course places a premium on accuracy. The intention was to provide a great place for inexperienced players to learn, but also provide enjoyment for your more veteran players and this course does just that. The Firecracker will never host Worlds, but may be the starting place for a kid who one day plays in Worlds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.