Fountain Inn, SC 
The Firecracker DGC Share
Uploaded By: JBryant Hole #4 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great family course!

5+    10/26/2014   10/28/2014
Review By: garryj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety. Some grassy, some woods. Some holes long enough that you big throwers can air it out, some short enough that us rec players can pick up a par, or even an occasional birdie. Even though there are only nine baskets, the twenty-seven tee locations make you feel like you're playing bigger course.
- Family friendly. I usually take the grandkids, but we always yield the right of way if faster players come up behind us. The kids love it, even our three year old who constantly yells, "my turn".
- Well designed. It's obvious the designer has put a lot of thought and love into building the course.
Cons: Only a few minor cons.
- The holes that play through the woods (5, 8, 14, and 17) are extremely tight! I believe I read that PDGA guidelines recommend at least a twenty foot wide tunnel for fairways through the woods, certainly not the case here. Still, that's just me. Many of you will love the woods.
- Since the course is on school property, it's closed to the public during school hours. While this is understandable, it means that after daylight savings time ends, we'll only be able to play on weekends and holidays.
- Some of the signs are missing, probably vandals.
Other Thoughts: I think I've played every course within a 50 mile radius Greenville, but the Firecracker is my "go to" course. On a recent, beautiful, Sunday afternoon our family met up with Mr. Firecracker himself, Josh Bryant. Josh designed, built, and maintains the course. He was super friendly and spent extra time helping my 7 and 12 year old grandchildren as he played along with us. Check out his Facebook page, and if you haven't played the Firecracker, give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Way more than you'd expect!

1    10/25/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 47  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you think about a course built around an elementary school, it's like "yawn, why bother?" Well let me tell you something, this is one to bother! You can't get anymore use out of the available land than the designer did. Great use of the woods and land around the school.

The multiple tee pads didn't just make short, long and longer. they varied the angle of the shot, used mando's and trees to change the shot.

Most of the shots were fairly open, but there were enough trees at the top of the property to create some super tight tunnel shots.

There was a also one hole (8,15,22?) where you throw out of the woods toward, down a hill toward a basket. Nice 180' shot out of the woods and down a hill. On the final round it becomes an island hole with a 30' ring.
Cons: Can be tough to navigate, so first time out, give your self time to play
Other Thoughts: I gave this a 3.5 due to the course being very creative and a super course for beginning to intermediate players. Even though I've played a ton of tough courses, this one was challenging at times. Great course to play if your're traveling North toward Greenville from the Columbia SC area

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Firecracker go boom

2-4    11/23/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: 1DGer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. Not your typical kid course but it is perfect for the new player, average player, and advanced player.

Mandos and OB provide some added challenge.

Great tee signs on every hole.

The redesign has made this course much better. New shots are required. You can shoot low scores here.

Favorite hole is #5. Short but technical. It can easily jump up and bite you.

Plays quick. You can easily get three or four rounds in without any trouble.
Cons: Not close to other quality courses.

Not open during the week. This is understandable due to being on a school campus.

Some rubber tees get slippery. Not a real big deal but needs to be noted.

Other Thoughts: Great addition to the greater Greenville area disc golf scene. It's worth a play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fun course for beginners

5+    5/31/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: AlexClemmy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Uses all kinds of terrain. Creatively laid out around the school. Fun to play and very pretty. Particularly hole 10, the way the pin sits through the trees is just very alluring. It's a nice thing to have a new local course in the area.
Cons: A lot of brush. I've lost only one disc here thankfully, but still is an issue at times. The tees are sometimes very close to wooded areas, making things very prone to get shot into some weeds or thorns. And the second time around, the shots aren't too crazy different, which is okay, but takes some of the fun out of new perspectives of the course. Being closed during school hours doesn't help much, but isn't really a bother.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this course. As an on-off player for a few years, this was really exciting to have so close to my home. This course has brought my love for disc golf back in a much brighter flame. I like the shots and how they're starting to make me a much better player (For real, first time on this course I shot a 76, the most recent, I shot a 56. Huge improvement.) Though I really think some holes could get a bit more distance on them, I find this a great course for beginners to play and learn on, and really nice for some experienced people to just enjoy a round of disc. It's great. I am not disappointed by the course in any way, and I love the challenge it presents. Good job to Josh for all the hard work you put into designing this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Flinging at the Firecracker

1    2/16/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Firecracker DGC is a nice little course with many opportunities for birdies, if not ace runs. There are 9 Innova baskets, most of which have two rubber tee pads to make it 18 holes. Layout is fairly easy to follow, and rounds are quick and easy. A few sparse trees, some patches of dense brush and elevation changes add some obstacles. Course is placed on land surrounding a school, and makes good use of the available space. There is a water fountain, trash cans, and restrooms nearby at the recreation center.
Cons: The course is quite easy for an experienced player, and is somewhat repetitive. The alternate tee boxes do not change the shape of the shot drastically. I did turn around for a RH sidearm flick on 2/11, and 3/10 was a slight turnover, but otherwise RHBH hyzer city. I never found markers for 7/16, they may have been blocked by two workers and their truck who were spreading a large pile of mulch. Hole 8/17 has become somewhat risky, because a cluster of portable buildings now surrounds the target (not pictured on map). My shot wound up 6 feet under a classroom. Only hole I took a bogey on. I didn't play all 18, because of a very similar back nine, and snow began to fall after 9. The course is closed while school is in session.
Other Thoughts: Firecracker DGC is fun, but not as exciting as it sounds. I had fun on my visit here, and I'm glad I got to see it. Low level of difficulty makes this course great for beginners, and playable with only 2 or 3 discs. I would be happy to have it if I lived nearby, but this is not a destination course, there are several better ones not far away. In summary, any disc golf is good disc golf,

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Short Course

1    8/1/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: atay87
Played: 104  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Makes great use of the available land.
-The multiple tee pads lets you play a full 18 hole round on a otherwise 9 hole course.
-Good for beginners and kids but still fun for experienced players.
-Easy to navigate.
-Nice tee signs with distances listed.
-Nice new baskets.
-Starts and finishes at the parking lot.
Cons: -Not playable during school hours. (understandable)
-Some of the "back 9" are very similar to their front 9 counterparts.
-There was a good bit of mud on some of the rubber mats, and some were uneven.
-Brush to the left of holes 3/12. It is very dense. I went in looking for my disc and found three others.
-Like S.Cann said, there are no shots that turn right to force the RHFH or turnover shot.
Other Thoughts: The kids at the school should have a blast at this course. I wish I had something like this at my school to get me into disc golf earlier in life.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Your Typical Elementary School Course

5+    6/19/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has a couple of the prettiest holes off the tee. Hole 10 stands out the most which is longer and framed by trees on either side.

-This is a great place for lower level players to gain experience and learn the game.

-Amenities such as bathrooms and water fountain are readily available at the Recreation center during business hours.

-Baskets are brand new DISCatchers in excellent condition.

-This course has a great flow and plays in a circle. Parking is located right between holes 1 and 18.
Cons: -Although this aspect has improved, there are still only a handful of holes that play through the woods.

-Only a couple of long throws for the big arms.

-Rubber Mats are ok on most holes but there are a couple that are uneven that the ground below needs to be leveled out on. There is a possibility of slipping when pads are wet.

-The biggest con for the Firecracker is that there are limited hours of play. You cannot play the course during school hours. This limits you to after 6:00 pm on school nights. The course is only playable on weekends during the school year, but is open all day during the Summer months.
Other Thoughts: This course is nearly perfect for what it was designed for. This course places a premium on accuracy. The intention was to provide a great place for inexperienced players to learn, but also provide enjoyment for your more veteran players and this course does just that. The Firecracker will never host Worlds, but may be the starting place for a kid who one day plays in Worlds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Firecracker explodes with fun

5+    6/24/2013   6/20/2012
Review By: JBryant
Played: 70  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This coirse has had many updates since its inception. These changes include relocating a few baskets, new hole desihns, and an additional 9 tees. These changes have made the course more challenging and diverse. Now there are a variety of shots required and new wooded holes.

The baskets are DISCatchers and installed well. There are 27 different tees, 9 baskets. The flow of the course is about as good as it gets. Ample parking near hole 1's tee. You are more than likely going to get a private feel to this course.

The new Firecracker requires many different shots from your game. It was designed with flow in mind but with recent updates shot selection is critical. The wind plays a factor here and can punish bad shots.

This course is great or beginners and sets up as a great place to learn. Some of the newer wooded holes are a little more challenging which can also be good for people learning. Kids and families can play it, yet it provides enough variety, use of elevation, and land features to be fun for more advanced players.

OB on roads and curbs provides challenges but pin placements are not too difficult.

Signature hole: Ten probably is one of the most beautiful of disc golf holes out there. Given the fall season it stacks up to be a colorful hole.

Bathrooms/Water fountain at Rec Center. This is a plus when it is open so check hours of operation.
Cons: Summer 2013: briars are not a factor as no hole play near them. (Therefore not a con but added the info here so you know to stay away)

Shot selection is not too difficult here. It does test your ability to throw straight and shape shots on some holes. If you keep it in the fairway you should shoot well.

Quite a few open holes but given terrain this was the likely outcome. Elevation, wind, and OB present added challenges.

School property - When school is in no one can be on the school grounds. This is the biggest con.

No signage for the new nine tees. Follow the Facebook page @ The FirecrCker DGC for info on new tees.
Other Thoughts: New holes as of 2013: The map will be incorrect. Follow the flow after one.

When coming off hole 6's basket the tees for 7 and 16 are under the canopy in the opening of the building. You will see the sign on the brick. Play from the concrete slab that the sign is beside.

When coming off hole 8's basket walk around the gravel road to the front of the school to find 9 and 18's tees.

Tee signs are nice. Some footages are incorrect until updated stickers can be made. Rubber tees have been installed and some existing concrete is used for tee pads. Please respect all property.

Park in the main parking lot of the school at the very back on the right if looking at the front of the school. Then walk across the road to hole 1.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.