Pittsburgh, PA 
Linbrook DGC Share
Uploaded By: Booleyn Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
-- / --   3 / 247ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Gold Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course, I hope it improves

1    9/9/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: nytrate
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 10/23/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was well laid out, had some very technical holes, and was long enough to justify driving to and playing a 9 hole course. Some extreme turns, lots of elevation, and plenty of trees to avoid. A lot of narrow shots.

This is a great place to practice and get better at the sport.
Cons: Finding the first tee was difficult for me. Once you get in the woods, the gnats or whatever other bugs become somewhat unbearable. The tees are very rough, the brush is very thick (lost a disc on hole 2 by overshooting the basket, looked for an hour), and when I played the grass was long. Many of the fairways are filled with meadow grasses and weeds and make it very easy to lose sight of a disc. It is also troubling if you don't have high socks or pants on. I saw several snakes, spiders, and other crawlers in the grass in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: [EDIT: I have been playing the course regularly since my review. I really enjoy this course. To clarify my last review, I have no intent on coming and making modifications. I was unaware of the situation and just wanted to volunteer myself to help in case it was needed.]

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Has its ups and downs (literally)

1    11/10/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! What a nice nine-holer. Can people in the Pittsburgh area make a bad course?

The name of the game here is elevation. You have a nice balance of uphill (#1,6,9), downhill (#2,7,8), and level shots (#3,4,5). The elevation is aided by some nice lines that require some flex shots; this is especially true on holes 3,4, and 8. Other holes here require lazer accuracy on threading fairways.

The best hole, IMO, is #7--an incredible 800'+ downhill hyzer to a well-guarded pin. This hole would stand out on any course due to its length, elevation changes, and tight lines.

For being a new course, there's a lot of amenities that make it seem a little more mature. Multiple teepads (denoted by gold, blue, and orange flags), signs, next tee signs, a bathroom, practice basket, and flagged pathways all make playing here more interesting.
Cons: Most of the issues here are things that will be rectified by time (better teepads, official tee signs, defined walkways, etc).

There's a fallen tree on #2 that gets in the way of the fairway that will hopefully be removed shortly.

If there would be a way to use the park's land to incorporate some wide open long bomb shots, this would be a phenomenal course.

Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very pleased and found this course to be excellent despite its infancy. Its a well-balanced course that utilizes changes in elevation and a variety in doglegs and lines. In fact, it's one of the better 9 hole courses in Western PA. Kudos to everybody who evidently put a lot of time into this place.

I really hope this becomes 18 holes, as it would be an excellent addition for Worlds in 2015.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great start

1    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has excellent hole setups, multiple lines on a number of holes and a fantastic chance to grip and rip on hole #7. The first nine are both fair and very challenging, and as a full 18 course, this could easily be the crown jewel of the area disc golf courses.
Cons: Most of these cons result from the new nature of the course itself. First, the edges are still a bit rough, but will improve with play. Second, it needs some nice concrete pads. And third, it needs the other nine holes that are as good as the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Great start to what should be an excellent course!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New great course with rough edges

2-4    7/15/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly in the woods with lanes that you must drive through. Some good elevation change holes. The holes stand out and are unlike deer lakes or knob hill. A couple holes where you get to just rip your driver especially hole 7 which is a great downhill hole that slightly goes left
Cons: There are no tee pads yet and is tough to get footing on some holes (but when finished should be fine). There are not really any signs to help guide you or tell you about the hole ( which again should come when it is finished).
Other Thoughts: It is a great course even with a bunch of key things missing such as signs and tee pads and maybe cutting a few more trees down. I would recommend people play this course and I would highly recomment it when it is finished.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 LINSANITY!

2-4    6/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: JoshC
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As is such with all PGH courses, excellent use of terrain, necessitating all shots. Multiple tee/pin layouts. This is what you expect when playing golf in Pittsburgh. The first nine are all great holes.
Cons: It's just too new, MORE THAN PLAYABLE, just rough around the edges.
Other Thoughts: The placement of shots required on this first nine makes it so unique and a blast to play. Time is going to make this course stellar. Check these rough holes out as soon as possible, well worth it already.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

5+    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So Lori, myself and KB Clark along with the help from a few others and the awesome Franklin Park Road Crew, have been working on this course for the last 18 months. It will be 18-holes when completed. For now, we have 9-holes with baskets installed.

I hope that you all enjoy yourselves out here. We will do our best to complete the back 9 in the next year as well as have nice tee signs, tees and benches installed on the front 9 ASAP.


Lots of hills, Holes 4-6 will remind you of this constantly. But it is all worth it when you get to Hole 7's tee.
Cons: A little rough right now. Some thick rough off the fairways. Some lumpy fairways from the excavator.

No official tee signs yet (Hole 1 starts past the bottom fields, go over the bridge between the fields and as you are driving up the hill you will pass by Hole 1 on your left. Follow the pink flags to find your way around the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I hope that in time this will be a favorite for the locals.

Lots of hills, bring water.

For now, the longest tees are in the best shape. We will get the other sets of tees in good shape over the next few weeks. Give it some time and this should be a great place. As-is I still think it is great. It's quite a beautiful place.

THANKS FOR COMING.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.