Pittsburgh, PA 
Linbrook DGC Share
Uploaded By: Booleyn Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 537ft.   4 / 580ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Gold Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nice wooded course, hard to follow.

1    5/13/2016   5/13/2016
Review By: Jags
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice wooded course with some technical shots. I rather enjoyed this course other the the below mentioned cons. Worth playing but play with someone who knows the course.
Cons: Tee pads are pieces of carpet. Holes have NO SIGNAGE to show pin placement. The only signs are wooden blocks with green spray-painted numbers on it which are hard to see being GREEN. Most holes I'd walk halfway to the basket to see where it was located. Course doesn't have the best flow to it. Their are some next tee signs with arrows pointing in general direction while other times it leaves you guessing. Course is very wet and soggy/muddy in places.
Other Thoughts: Much better signage and cement tee pads would make this a much more enjoyable course. I know I have more cons than pro's but if a couple issues were taken care of with some TLC this course would be quite the gem.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A wooded challenge, rough around the edges

1    3/23/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: leath
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is heavily wooded, with a number of tight fairways and elevation changes on every hole. It offers a very secluded atmosphere, which will be even greater when the trees and brush have leaves in the summer.
- Multiple tees on each hole, marked with colored flags.
- There are "next tee" signs near each basket, which makes navigation more manageable.
- Holes #1-6 form a clockwise loop and #7-9 form a smaller counter-clockwise loop. The baskets for #6 and #9 are both reasonably close to the parking lot, so you can stop at the car to rehydrate if needed.
- Variety comes in the form of both hole shape (left, right, or straight) and use of the hilly terrain (up, down, or some combination).
Cons: The course is pretty rough, and the locals I played with said that it isn't maintained all that well. Plan to spend some time searching for discs in the summer, especially if you get off the fairways into the rough - they looked pretty uninviting even in March.
- Tees are natural or carpeted, which is understandable; it would be really difficult to get gravel or concrete to some of those locations. Unfortunately, they weren't all level, which is harder to overlook.
- No tee signs. If I wasn't playing with locals, I would have spent a fair amount of time searching for the baskets, and probably the tee pads. I played in late March before the leaves were out, so I know it gets much worse.
Other Thoughts: I'd rather play a wild, wooded course than an open city park, so I definitely enjoyed my round here. But I probably won't make it a regular stop because of the lack of maintenance and because it's designed for advanced players, which I'm not. If there were visible tee signs and a set of white tees to go with the blue and gold, it would be appealing to a wider group of players.

Family friendly rating - 1.0
PROS: I think there are two different playgrounds at the park, one being near the start of the course. There are also a number of baseball and soccer fields, so plenty of space to run around. The 9-holes are made up of two smaller loops, so access to the parking lot is okay. With all the athletic fields, it seems likely that there is at least one restroom facility on site, but I was in a hurry and didn't think to look.
CONS: It is not stroller accessible, and I would not recommend taking small kids for a round here - you'll spend time in the rough, and no one will have a good time. You'll need someone to stay with the kids at the playground if you want to play a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Linbrook - An Underappreciated Course

1    12/13/2015   12/13/2015
Review By: Mark Sachon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was just a hop from the city of Pittsburgh and barren of anyone on a seventy degree day in mid December. The overwhelming ambiance was very naturalistic and organic. Very little noise from any vehicular traffic or off road activities. The rolling hills and valleys proved to be tricky and should not be taken fro granted for the player looking to breeze through a quick nine.
Cons: Some of the tees have aged and the markers distinguishing between blue and orange are hard to find on certain pins. If it's your first time there you'll have to do some scouting to find the pin.
Other Thoughts: It's an awesome course, tricky and challenging to tempt the pro but fun enough for the rank amateur. Don't miss it if you're in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Play Linbrook

5+    11/15/2015   11/15/2015
Review By: DaveSantoro
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great 9 hole course with changing elevations that winds through the woods. Challenging tee and pin locations makes you throw many different discs. Perfect for short fall days after work. Takes about an hour and 1/2 to play.
Cons: The course being situated IN the woods means there a lot of leaves and they can eat your discs so watch them closely. Also lots of ticks.
Other Thoughts: I love playing linbrook it's a great course that needs to be sued more. Also it serves as a great practice facility, because the 2 adjacent fields are open and large. So take out your new plastic and bomb away on the field then jam out a quick round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, I hope it improves

1    9/9/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: nytrate
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 10/23/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was well laid out, had some very technical holes, and was long enough to justify driving to and playing a 9 hole course. Some extreme turns, lots of elevation, and plenty of trees to avoid. A lot of narrow shots.

This is a great place to practice and get better at the sport.
Cons: Finding the first tee was difficult for me. Once you get in the woods, the gnats or whatever other bugs become somewhat unbearable. The tees are very rough, the brush is very thick (lost a disc on hole 2 by overshooting the basket, looked for an hour), and when I played the grass was long. Many of the fairways are filled with meadow grasses and weeds and make it very easy to lose sight of a disc. It is also troubling if you don't have high socks or pants on. I saw several snakes, spiders, and other crawlers in the grass in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: [EDIT: I have been playing the course regularly since my review. I really enjoy this course. To clarify my last review, I have no intent on coming and making modifications. I was unaware of the situation and just wanted to volunteer myself to help in case it was needed.]

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Has its ups and downs (literally)

1    11/10/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! What a nice nine-holer. Can people in the Pittsburgh area make a bad course?

The name of the game here is elevation. You have a nice balance of uphill (#1,6,9), downhill (#2,7,8), and level shots (#3,4,5). The elevation is aided by some nice lines that require some flex shots; this is especially true on holes 3,4, and 8. Other holes here require lazer accuracy on threading fairways.

The best hole, IMO, is #7--an incredible 800'+ downhill hyzer to a well-guarded pin. This hole would stand out on any course due to its length, elevation changes, and tight lines.

For being a new course, there's a lot of amenities that make it seem a little more mature. Multiple teepads (denoted by gold, blue, and orange flags), signs, next tee signs, a bathroom, practice basket, and flagged pathways all make playing here more interesting.
Cons: Most of the issues here are things that will be rectified by time (better teepads, official tee signs, defined walkways, etc).

There's a fallen tree on #2 that gets in the way of the fairway that will hopefully be removed shortly.

If there would be a way to use the park's land to incorporate some wide open long bomb shots, this would be a phenomenal course.

Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very pleased and found this course to be excellent despite its infancy. Its a well-balanced course that utilizes changes in elevation and a variety in doglegs and lines. In fact, it's one of the better 9 hole courses in Western PA. Kudos to everybody who evidently put a lot of time into this place.

I really hope this becomes 18 holes, as it would be an excellent addition for Worlds in 2015.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great start

1    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has excellent hole setups, multiple lines on a number of holes and a fantastic chance to grip and rip on hole #7. The first nine are both fair and very challenging, and as a full 18 course, this could easily be the crown jewel of the area disc golf courses.
Cons: Most of these cons result from the new nature of the course itself. First, the edges are still a bit rough, but will improve with play. Second, it needs some nice concrete pads. And third, it needs the other nine holes that are as good as the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Great start to what should be an excellent course!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New great course with rough edges

2-4    7/15/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 87  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly in the woods with lanes that you must drive through. Some good elevation change holes. The holes stand out and are unlike deer lakes or knob hill. A couple holes where you get to just rip your driver especially hole 7 which is a great downhill hole that slightly goes left
Cons: There are no tee pads yet and is tough to get footing on some holes (but when finished should be fine). There are not really any signs to help guide you or tell you about the hole ( which again should come when it is finished).
Other Thoughts: It is a great course even with a bunch of key things missing such as signs and tee pads and maybe cutting a few more trees down. I would recommend people play this course and I would highly recomment it when it is finished.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 LINSANITY!

2-4    6/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: JoshC
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As is such with all PGH courses, excellent use of terrain, necessitating all shots. Multiple tee/pin layouts. This is what you expect when playing golf in Pittsburgh. The first nine are all great holes.
Cons: It's just too new, MORE THAN PLAYABLE, just rough around the edges.
Other Thoughts: The placement of shots required on this first nine makes it so unique and a blast to play. Time is going to make this course stellar. Check these rough holes out as soon as possible, well worth it already.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

5+    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 196  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 23 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So Lori, myself and KB Clark along with the help from a few others and the awesome Franklin Park Road Crew, have been working on this course for the last 18 months. It will be 18-holes when completed. For now, we have 9-holes with baskets installed.

I hope that you all enjoy yourselves out here. We will do our best to complete the back 9 in the next year as well as have nice tee signs, tees and benches installed on the front 9 ASAP.


Lots of hills, Holes 4-6 will remind you of this constantly. But it is all worth it when you get to Hole 7's tee.
Cons: A little rough right now. Some thick rough off the fairways. Some lumpy fairways from the excavator.

No official tee signs yet (Hole 1 starts past the bottom fields, go over the bridge between the fields and as you are driving up the hill you will pass by Hole 1 on your left. Follow the pink flags to find your way around the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I hope that in time this will be a favorite for the locals.

Lots of hills, bring water.

For now, the longest tees are in the best shape. We will get the other sets of tees in good shape over the next few weeks. Give it some time and this should be a great place. As-is I still think it is great. It's quite a beautiful place.

THANKS FOR COMING.


13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.