Pittsburgh, PA 
Linbrook DGC Share
Uploaded By: Booleyn Hole #8 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Gold Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Solid new course

2-4    7/18/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 100  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set up on a lot of land with plenty of variety in the holes. There are a few nice long holes with some elevation changes and also a couple of shorter holes that are challenging, but still possible to hit some 2's.
Cons: It would be good to see some more short holes, but since they aren't done with the back 9 this isn't really a big deal. There are also a lot of big chunks of dirt and unfinished landscaping, but again, it isn't a finished course yet. Not very good signs yet either, but i'm sure this will get taken care of when its all done.
Other Thoughts: All of the cons I mentioned will hopefully be obselete once this course is finished. My rating is also a little low only because it is unfinished. This has potential to be a very nice course once it is all said and done.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Babb-lin' brook

1    7/7/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 154  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 Discatcher baskets with multiple pin placements and tees. Practice basket by the pavilion. Excellent use of the elevation and terrain with big uphill, downhill, flat, and ravine shots. Choice of throwing lanes on a few holes with well defined fairways on all holes. Good variety of hole distances with some high risk vs reward off the tee on the shorter holes, while the longer holes are a little easier off the tee. There's no real blind landings even when you can't see the basket from the tee.
Cons: It's still new so the ground and rough is still rough, no signage or permanent tees yet(carpet for now). Navigation maybe a little tricky until the signs are done, but if you follow the flags you should find the next tee. Hole #1 is across the parking lot from the pavilion/practice basket and to the right and tees over the path. After holing out #7, go back up toward the left side of the fairway and you will see the flags and you will hike a good bit.
Other Thoughts: So you thought Pittsburgh had it all already?...Deer Lakes, Moraine, Knob Hill, 2 Mile Ext? Well as George Thorogood said, move it on over, and get ready for Linbrook! This course stacks up well to the surrounding courses and could very well end up being the best of them. So glad I got to play the front 9 of Linbrook twice while toured by Mr. Chris Dietzel! Hole 7 is an absolute beauty and beast, high risk/reward downhill dogleg left nearly 900' long and guessing 70' elevation drop, still dreaming about it! The course has been carved entirely out of the woods, so there's been a lot of work done here and still to go for the back 9. Can't wait to see Linbrook when all 18 holes are ready, it's already so sweet and only going to get better!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 LINSANITY!

2-4    6/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: JoshC
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As is such with all PGH courses, excellent use of terrain, necessitating all shots. Multiple tee/pin layouts. This is what you expect when playing golf in Pittsburgh. The first nine are all great holes.
Cons: It's just too new, MORE THAN PLAYABLE, just rough around the edges.
Other Thoughts: The placement of shots required on this first nine makes it so unique and a blast to play. Time is going to make this course stellar. Check these rough holes out as soon as possible, well worth it already.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

5+    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 195  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So Lori, myself and KB Clark along with the help from a few others and the awesome Franklin Park Road Crew, have been working on this course for the last 18 months. It will be 18-holes when completed. For now, we have 9-holes with baskets installed.

I hope that you all enjoy yourselves out here. We will do our best to complete the back 9 in the next year as well as have nice tee signs, tees and benches installed on the front 9 ASAP.


Lots of hills, Holes 4-6 will remind you of this constantly. But it is all worth it when you get to Hole 7's tee.
Cons: A little rough right now. Some thick rough off the fairways. Some lumpy fairways from the excavator.

No official tee signs yet (Hole 1 starts past the bottom fields, go over the bridge between the fields and as you are driving up the hill you will pass by Hole 1 on your left. Follow the pink flags to find your way around the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I hope that in time this will be a favorite for the locals.

Lots of hills, bring water.

For now, the longest tees are in the best shape. We will get the other sets of tees in good shape over the next few weeks. Give it some time and this should be a great place. As-is I still think it is great. It's quite a beautiful place.

THANKS FOR COMING.


13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.