Aurora, IL 
Jericho Lake Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 212ft.   3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Pro Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 CO meets Jericho Lake

1    8/8/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: kythafrisfiend
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A lot of short holes that require different types of shots and a few ace opportunities if you dial it in right.
- A few open holes that let you air out a driver.
- Concrete pads and good marking on the basket.
- Plays fast. Two of us, drive even distance and skill, finished all 18 in 50 minutes.
Cons: Lack of mapping or signage makes the back 9 difficult to figure out...
- Hole 10, there is no marking to tell you to cross the bridge to get to the red tee pad. Even tougher to find the long/gold tee pad (instead of crossing the bridge walk along the bike path towards the bathrooms).
- Hole 11, the basket is well hidden (hard right bend into a cove of trees)
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course for a moderate player (playing once a week this summer) and my first round with over 5 birdies (6).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

low scores

2-4    12/30/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: compound disc golf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Although mostly open some holes call for shot shaping around large trees. The park is very well kept and the concrete tee pads are great. The course is great for new players and has some real "ace" opportunities.
Cons: for more skilled players it lacks challenging holes. I also wish the disc catchers were more visible, they need some colour.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 jericho

2-4    10/7/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 78  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -let get the norm stuff out of the way good pads. decent signs that tell distance but not where the basket is. in a nice park
-the first 4 holes are short but have lots of trees that make it still a decent challenge hole 2 and 3 being the harder 2 of the first 4. four has a decent chance of throwing a disc into the creek that is behind the first four holes. being on the left of the fairway on holes one and four
-holes 5,6,7 come out along the road that leads into the parking lot. 5 and 6 both have the road to the right and the creek to the left. five is the better of these two having several trees that make it harder to get up to the basket especially with the creek to the left. hole 6 is a little easier an with fewer trees and a small fence that helps to keep discs out of the creek on shots that are low to the ground. hole 7 is across the road but is similar to hole 6 but instead of a creek on the left hand side there is a field with some tall grassed behind a hedge. the hedge will keep a lot of discs out of the field. holes 8,9 are the last 2 holes on the east side of the creek.
-hole ten is a fun hole but only if you shoot from the pro tee that is still on the east side of the creek and shoots over to the west side
-the rest of the holes are mostly the same all shooting in a section of the park that is mostly a open field with groups of bushes and trees that still make for a few moderately tough shots. any decent player should have no problem shooting par even with a bad first drive but if you want to duce or have a chance at an ace you have to get a very good line through the trees.
Cons: - there are a lot of water hazards here holes 1,4,5,6,8,9,12 (if i remember right) and 18 have the creek or the lake bordering them but unless you are really wild you will be fine.
-holes 8 and 9 i am not a fan of hole 8 has the lake to the left of it and the parking lot road and 2 paved paths that make me hope that i don't lose a disc or ding one up on the pavement.
9 is just uneventful you tee off with the lake to your left (apparently some people lose discs here). and you just throw across an open field to a little opening in some trees not far away.
-the back side can get a little repetitive
Other Thoughts: -for me the water hazards do not really effect my shots at all because i am a left backhand thrower and fade away from all of them with the exception of hole , 12(i think) and 18
- the first time i went to this course i was not really a big fan but when i played it through a second time i am starting to like it more. if i play it a few more times i might come back and change this rating
- me and two friend visited this course the other day and it was a good enough challenge for me and one of my friends( we are both average to above average players) and was not to hard on my other friend who has only played a few times

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 GTG 2 Jericho

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a beginner like me, this course offers some good challenges and dangerous enough hazards to force prudent shot selection and punish recklessness. There are varying lengths, starting out with some relatively short holes, then stretching out a little bit. Hole 10 has a cool option to throw from the pro tee across the creek.
Cons: The back 9 was a little bit confusing, and as previously mentioned in other reviews, hole 17 features an (I assume) unintended swamp right on the fairway. Now, it wasn't visibly nasty when I was driving, but I almost landed right in the muddy nastiness (not one of my best drives lol). If playing this course for the first time, I recommend walking out on hole 17 to get a lay of the soft spots to make sure you're avoiding them appropriately.
Other Thoughts: I had fun at Jericho today, found myself challenged, and left with a smile on my face. That's all that matters right?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fine beginner course

1    1/15/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course actually has some really nice tees. I was surprised frankly. They're all level, and laid nicely, nothing to complain about.

-This course actually has decent shot variety. Several holes have alternate tees which do give the holes some different feels.

-Some holes have the creek at least somewhat in play, which adds some risk/reward to this course.

-There is a decent mix of distance here, from really short, to almost long. While there are no real bombers, it's not like everything is 200'.

-The course is also really well cared for. The local club does a great job with this.
Cons: -Several holes feel the same. For me, a RHBH player, I felt like I threw hyzers like 75% of the time from the regular tees.

-The flooding here is a huge deal, when I was there literally all of hole 17 was a sheet of ice. This made putting suck, and really was potentially dangerous.

-The flow here could use some work, but this is partly due to the signs. With only offering hole number and distance, this course can be tough to follow.
Other Thoughts: I really wish I could rate this course higher, because it was a fun time, but it just doesn't offer as much as other courses I've given 3.5s. I feel like with better signage, just to help the flow, this course could be worthy of that. But as is, it's a solid course, but nothing more.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/25/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jericho is an above average course set in a nice wooded park next to a large lake. Many holes play close to a creek that creates a water hazard and adds some risk to shots that are for the most part fairly easy.

The strength of the course is the land it plays through. The front nine begins with a series of short, mostly straight wooded shots, with a wide stream running behind, then along the fairway, of several holes. You'll have a chance to break out your driver on the last few holes of the front nine, before crossing the stream on the back nine.

Most of the back nine is similar in distance to the front, with one or two requiring a driver from the longs, but for the most part, these are shorter shots, with a few tee shots requiring an anny or small hyzer line. Some patches of brush, and a good amount of trees provide obstacles in this section, but I'd still classify this area as pretty open.

I really like the shots that play along the lake, and the creek is a nice touch of scenery as well. There is a lot of seclusion at Jericho, so if you like a course with a good nature vibe, you'll have fun here.

Each hole has two sets of concrete tees, and most intermediate level players and up, will want to pay the longs. The shorts are ideal for beginners. The signs are wooden posts located at the short tees with the distances for both the long and shorts. The long tees are unmarked, but usually easy enough to find. The long on #10 is on the front-9 side of the creek, and throws over the creek; a pretty cool shot, just know where the tee is before you go, or you won't find it.
Cons: I want to like this course more, but it's just too easy. Even from the longs, a good tee shot should put you well within deuce range, and most above average players should come close to shooting under pro par.

This would be one of, if not the most, beginner friendly 18-holer in the area because of the lack of distance and easy angles, but the water hazards on the front 9, and on #12 pose serious disc losing potential.

The creek here can also flood during high periods of rain, and from what I was told by some guys who play here regularly, this course was pretty much unplayable due to flooding earlier in the summer. This also makes it a haven for mosquitoes, so bring your spray.

The dual tees are very nice, but only the shorts are marked, so if you play from the longs and want to know the exact distance, you have to walk up the post on the short tee.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the Chicago area, this course is worth a stop. The seclusion and scenery are way above average for the area, and there is enough here for advanced and new players to have an enjoyable round. There is also an Ace Race hosted here during the fall that is worth checking out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 421  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Park is located next to a fishing hole, with few other park features. Some scenic views on a few holes, and nothing really interferes with the dg side of things.
- In general, the course uses mature trees as obstacles on almost all holes. There are very few wide open shots, and most require some line shaping. The various trees helped to keep each hole pretty fresh; it didn't feel like the same hole over and over again.
- Some elevation changes here and there to help add some challenge. Nothing too wild, just gentle up and down slopes.
- Water is present due to the lake and the good sized creek running next to some holes. These are avoided very easily. Water is definitely in play on #17, which has a swamp for a fairway.
- Alternate tees were pretty easy to find, or at least improvise. Teeboxes were in great shape, good baskets.
Cons: - This course plays pretty short even from the "pro" tees. There is some added challenge on some holes, but some holes are still very short with little challenge (190 and 147, for instance).
- A couple holes have the park's through street in play, which is always a negative in my book. Had to dodge some discs on the road on my way out.
- No maps at any of the tees, just the hole number and distance(s). It was pretty easy to figure out, only got confused going from #9 to #10, and identifying #11 (blind basket).
Other Thoughts: - This is a great course for someone who is just starting out, or even just polishing their game. The holes are short, but not that short, and the course is technical, but not that technical. It is a good mix of holes that you must birdie and holes that can make you work for par. A good course to hit up in addition to Oswego if in the area, for a warm up or cool down.
- More experienced players may get bored with this one, as there are not a lot of obstacles or distance, compared to a lot of other courses in the general area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun must play

2-4    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun and well designed
- Large Cement Pro and Am tees
- Creek is well used and provides a great obstacle
- Large trees do an excellent job of shaping fairways
- Lots of ace runs
- Easy to follow - After hole 9 cross over bridge for Am tee or go buy the bathrooms for the Pro tee
- Bathrroms
Cons: - Pro tee distances are on am pad tee sign.
- Majority of holes are easily birdie-able
- Pro tees are just longer don't really make it a different/harder shot.
- Several holes play around park road and parking
- Lack of trash cans around back 9
- Zero benches
Other Thoughts: This is really fun course to play. I love to play here. For the most part its a pitch'n'putt course with a few long holes from the Pro pads. Plays mostly through an open park with several patches of large mature trees. Theres fishing and boating on the Lake in the same park as the course. Eagle Ridge is only about 15 minutes away and Jericho makes for a good warm-up beforehand. I definitely worth making a trip to play.

Favorite hole #5 (pro) - Its a straight slightly downhill shot down a tunnel fairway with several large trees that force flat straight shot. The creek runs along the leftside of the fairway and the road along the right. Surrounding the basket is several more trees that can help or hurt you.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Aurora has nice feel and equipment.

5+    7/8/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 318  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is a very nice well kept park. There is a pretty lake on the east side of the park and a lot of people fish there. This is classic par 54 golf.

2 sets of nice concrete tees with a lot of variety. This course is a very beginner friendly.

There are a few places where water and rough come into play.

The disc golf course has great equipment and facilities.

Restrooms and pavillion near tee 1 & 9.

Tee signs with accurate distances.

Chainstar baskets are one of my favorite baskets.

There are nice sized cement tee pads for both short & long tee pads.

It's pretty easy to navigate.
Cons: Tee signs are basic with only the distance. No description of the hole.

This course is very short and lacks true challenge to warrent a higher rating.
Other Thoughts: The local club is very active. Post on the forum to find a playing partner.
http://foxvalleymetrodiscgolfclub.com/new/

It's about 10 minutes off I88. Make it a good day of golf and play Oswego as well.

Drop off your wife or girlfriend at the outlet mall at the Farnsworth exit and play all day.

Here is a link with a pretty good video of Jericho Lake.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2msXN68qsAE

Here is a link that has some nice photos of the course.
http://discontinuum.org/index...2_itemId=2051

Check out my Top 10 Illinois Courses.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun! Long tees a challenge.

5+    8/20/2008   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 232  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and long tees. Long tees provide some really challenging shots. Not a super long course, but it does give the opportunity for alot of different shots including rollers, overhand shots, forehand skips, over the top hyzers, and sky anhyzers. A little bit of water comes into play as well. A fun mix for a par 54 course.
Cons: Not alot of trouble out there. Short tees are super easy and short. Long tees still are not very long. Not many opportunites to let it loose. Not what you'd consider a really challenging course.
Other Thoughts: One of the most fun courses in the Chicagoland area. Worth the trip out here if your in the area!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.