Aurora, IL 
Jericho Lake Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 260ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Pro Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
CO meets Jericho Lake

1    8/8/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: kythafrisfiend
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A lot of short holes that require different types of shots and a few ace opportunities if you dial it in right.
- A few open holes that let you air out a driver.
- Concrete pads and good marking on the basket.
- Plays fast. Two of us, drive even distance and skill, finished all 18 in 50 minutes.
Cons: Lack of mapping or signage makes the back 9 difficult to figure out...
- Hole 10, there is no marking to tell you to cross the bridge to get to the red tee pad. Even tougher to find the long/gold tee pad (instead of crossing the bridge walk along the bike path towards the bathrooms).
- Hole 11, the basket is well hidden (hard right bend into a cove of trees)
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course for a moderate player (playing once a week this summer) and my first round with over 5 birdies (6).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

low scores

2-4    12/30/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: compound disc golf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Although mostly open some holes call for shot shaping around large trees. The park is very well kept and the concrete tee pads are great. The course is great for new players and has some real "ace" opportunities.
Cons: for more skilled players it lacks challenging holes. I also wish the disc catchers were more visible, they need some colour.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of birds

5+    5/26/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Glendor
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has excellent tee pads and the park is incredibly clean and manicured for a course. The holes have a good mix of holes favoring right and left handed back hand throwers. A lot of the throws are birds if you are an accurate thrower letting you easily score below par. Great course to practice throwing accurate shots to get at the base of the basket. I have played it 50+ times and still find it fun to play.
Cons: Several holes have slight water hazards though they are easy to avoid. There is no basket location information on the posts. Too easy for good players. By yourself you can easily play a round in 35-40 min could be a pro.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

jericho

2-4    10/7/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -let get the norm stuff out of the way good pads. decent signs that tell distance but not where the basket is. in a nice park
-the first 4 holes are short but have lots of trees that make it still a decent challenge hole 2 and 3 being the harder 2 of the first 4. four has a decent chance of throwing a disc into the creek that is behind the first four holes. being on the left of the fairway on holes one and four
-holes 5,6,7 come out along the road that leads into the parking lot. 5 and 6 both have the road to the right and the creek to the left. five is the better of these two having several trees that make it harder to get up to the basket especially with the creek to the left. hole 6 is a little easier an with fewer trees and a small fence that helps to keep discs out of the creek on shots that are low to the ground. hole 7 is across the road but is similar to hole 6 but instead of a creek on the left hand side there is a field with some tall grassed behind a hedge. the hedge will keep a lot of discs out of the field. holes 8,9 are the last 2 holes on the east side of the creek.
-hole ten is a fun hole but only if you shoot from the pro tee that is still on the east side of the creek and shoots over to the west side
-the rest of the holes are mostly the same all shooting in a section of the park that is mostly a open field with groups of bushes and trees that still make for a few moderately tough shots. any decent player should have no problem shooting par even with a bad first drive but if you want to duce or have a chance at an ace you have to get a very good line through the trees.
Cons: - there are a lot of water hazards here holes 1,4,5,6,8,9,12 (if i remember right) and 18 have the creek or the lake bordering them but unless you are really wild you will be fine.
-holes 8 and 9 i am not a fan of hole 8 has the lake to the left of it and the parking lot road and 2 paved paths that make me hope that i don't lose a disc or ding one up on the pavement.
9 is just uneventful you tee off with the lake to your left (apparently some people lose discs here). and you just throw across an open field to a little opening in some trees not far away.
-the back side can get a little repetitive
Other Thoughts: -for me the water hazards do not really effect my shots at all because i am a left backhand thrower and fade away from all of them with the exception of hole , 12(i think) and 18
- the first time i went to this course i was not really a big fan but when i played it through a second time i am starting to like it more. if i play it a few more times i might come back and change this rating
- me and two friend visited this course the other day and it was a good enough challenge for me and one of my friends( we are both average to above average players) and was not to hard on my other friend who has only played a few times

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Too short and open for my taste

5+    6/14/2010   9/4/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 172  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads with long and short pads. There are several cool and fun holes. This is a great place to bring beginners and to practice your upshot game. There are a few holes where you will need to pull out the driver. There is a decent mix of left and right turning holes.
Cons: This is a deuce or die course. Drive, putt, drive, putt etc. This wouldn't be so bad if the lines were more difficult but they are not as the obstacles are sparse trees.
Other Thoughts: The Fox Valley Metro DG Club usually holds their ice bowl here and it is always a terrific event with the biggest raffle around, a fire pit, and a provided lunch.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 99  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some 3.5 rated courses are rated as such because they are challenging and offer an intense round of disc golf for players. That is not the case here. Instead, Jericho Lake is just plain fun. I would describe my round here as very relaxing, but with enough variety in the holes to make it interesting. Specifics:

*Two sets of concrete tee pads! There are short tee pads for casual players, but if you want a bit more of a challenge there are longs tees that will make it a more challenging course. The tees are usually visible and their distances are marked on the teeposts of the shorter tees.

*Jericho Lake is a very nice park. It is clean, large, and the course is well separated from the soccer fields, playgrounds, and fishing spots. The lake itself is quite pretty.

*From the short tee pads, there are a lot of ace runs!

*A lot of interesting lines to hit, including a few that bring water into play. I found myself using just about all of my discs and every throw in my arsenal

*Great place to bring a friend who is new to disc golf
Cons: In reality, I'd say this rating is a bit high. Really, if 3.25 was an option I'd give Jericho Park one of those. Here's why:

*Not much challenge. Most of the holes have very short distances, especially from the shorter tee pads. The long ones are also mostly under 300 ft.

*Signs are just posts with distances on them. No pictures or directions. Additionally there aren't really any signs telling you where to go. This is bad for several reasons... 1) There is water brought into play on several holes, and it's not always visible from the tee. Thus, new people to the course should make sure to check the fairway on either side for water. 2) the flow here is pretty bad between holes. It would be nice if there were signs, especially since there are so many similar looking concrete tee pads it can be a bit confusing to look around and see 6 tee pads lying in the same vicinity.

*A few of the holes use a cement path as the tee pad, and this got very slippery when I was there after only a brief drizzle.
Other Thoughts: This is a very chill course. Not a super intense round of disc golf, but still a very fun one. Bring a beginner here to show them the ropes before introducing them to harder courses like Eagle Ridge in Oswego. If you're looking for more of a challenge, try the long tees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well maintained course

5+    4/26/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: JadosStalin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Jericho is a higher-end typical course; and a lot of times thats just what you should be looking for. Considering the lack of real challenge in a vast majority of the mid-suburbs courses this side of Joliet, it's in the higher lattitudes of fun and challenging. And you never have to spend more than five cumulative minutes looking for a lost disc. (in fact, if you lost one it's probably in the lake and in which case you'll be alongside me waiting for the summer to take a dip in and retrieve your sunken treasure) The pins are almost all visible from the tee or are at least obvious to their location even if you have to take a few steps onto the fairway. The setting is reserved, well-maintained, and almost no highway noise save Jericho road traffic on holes 6 and 7- which even then is just a county road.
Cons: The flooding is an issue, but can be counteracted by just wearing a good pair of outdoor footwear. The back nine get a little foggy as far as navigation the first time you play the course. I've never experienced overcrowding but the serene setting can get a little pitted with people. There also aren't any holes you really have to struggle on, which sounds like a positive but can get humdrum.
Other Thoughts: Jericho's best quality is that it's close to Oswego (Eagle Ridge Civic Center), and the two together will eat up a full day of playing. The course alone is engaging, not overly difficult, and flows very nicely. This is my home course and while I don't get to it as often as I'd like I've yet to not enjoy myself throughout.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 GTG 2 Jericho

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a beginner like me, this course offers some good challenges and dangerous enough hazards to force prudent shot selection and punish recklessness. There are varying lengths, starting out with some relatively short holes, then stretching out a little bit. Hole 10 has a cool option to throw from the pro tee across the creek.
Cons: The back 9 was a little bit confusing, and as previously mentioned in other reviews, hole 17 features an (I assume) unintended swamp right on the fairway. Now, it wasn't visibly nasty when I was driving, but I almost landed right in the muddy nastiness (not one of my best drives lol). If playing this course for the first time, I recommend walking out on hole 17 to get a lay of the soft spots to make sure you're avoiding them appropriately.
Other Thoughts: I had fun at Jericho today, found myself challenged, and left with a smile on my face. That's all that matters right?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wooo wooo

5+    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: cpoquette
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome Tees, pro and am, sick. Nice lake, and creek in play kinda... Once my friend found a glass chillum thing in the lake by the tee of hole nine, score. You can really let the disc rip on holes 7 and 8. Well maintained course, grass is always cut, and I am not afraid to walk barefoot there.
Cons: Gets super crowded sometimes, people play in groups more then four. Not a big variety of shots or techniques needed. Gets really buggy in the evening. People enjoying the park for other reasons get in the way of the golfers sometimes. It sucks bad when It rains. Sometimes holes 3,4,17,18 are not playable!
Other Thoughts: Overall a really solid course, its fun to swim in the lake if its super hot out. Good range of hole lengths. Oswego is super close, so make sure you play them both if you come out and have not played either!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fine beginner course

1    1/15/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course actually has some really nice tees. I was surprised frankly. They're all level, and laid nicely, nothing to complain about.

-This course actually has decent shot variety. Several holes have alternate tees which do give the holes some different feels.

-Some holes have the creek at least somewhat in play, which adds some risk/reward to this course.

-There is a decent mix of distance here, from really short, to almost long. While there are no real bombers, it's not like everything is 200'.

-The course is also really well cared for. The local club does a great job with this.
Cons: -Several holes feel the same. For me, a RHBH player, I felt like I threw hyzers like 75% of the time from the regular tees.

-The flooding here is a huge deal, when I was there literally all of hole 17 was a sheet of ice. This made putting suck, and really was potentially dangerous.

-The flow here could use some work, but this is partly due to the signs. With only offering hole number and distance, this course can be tough to follow.
Other Thoughts: I really wish I could rate this course higher, because it was a fun time, but it just doesn't offer as much as other courses I've given 3.5s. I feel like with better signage, just to help the flow, this course could be worthy of that. But as is, it's a solid course, but nothing more.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.